44 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V10!

terence_nwb
post Nov 17 2015, 05:48 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(areza01 @ Nov 17 2015, 05:31 PM)
Will adding another RM500 to make it RM2.5K help?  Thanks
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 889
MSI B150M Bazooka D4 - RM 409
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 246
Leadtek GTX750 2GB GDDR5 WinFast - RM 485
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189
Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 139

Total: RM 2582 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

Downgrade to i5 6400 (RM 809) with lower clock speed to keep within RM 2500.
terence_nwb
post Nov 17 2015, 09:39 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kaai @ Nov 17 2015, 09:35 PM)
forgot to mention that my old rig is

p5ql pro asus (running in vista mode)
intel core 2 duo e7400
amd hd 2400 xt
power supply e-view 230v 4.0A
320gb HDD WD
4gb ram

is there anything i can savage from this to minimize the budget? sorry for burdening you and thanks for helping smile.gif
RAM (high chance can reuse if it is a DDR3) and HDD.
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2015, 08:51 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lolful @ Nov 18 2015, 08:38 AM)
Thanks !
1) According to the website of the PSU, it says that it supports only up to 4th generation, what does it mean? and will it affect me?
2) Is there another monitor that is 1080p but non-glossy? ( IPS or LED) but with around the same price?
3) Can i take my friend's windows 7 key to use it on mine then?

Thanks again !  thumbup.gif
1. The compability stuff written on the PSU is the low power state support during system idle in Haswell (C6/C7), even if it doesn't support the state, you still can run the hardware, probably just a few watts difference, so it is totally safe to use with Skylake.

2. Non-glossy as in matte, I think no, low end (< RM 400) monitor normally comes with TN panel (cheaper) and glossy type screen, if you want IPS, the cheapest I can find is AOC I2360SD (RM 499), not sure about screen type, you need to check on your own because a google search yielded no info on this for me.

3. If your friend's Windows 7 key is OEM key, then no, if it is retail then you need to deactivate the activation state on old machine so you can activate it on your new rig, you cannot have 2 machines online with same Windows key (sometimes a glitch might allow this, but rarely happen).
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2015, 03:33 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Arvip @ Nov 18 2015, 02:42 PM)
hai can suggest me for rig around rm4k mostly use for Gaming,my friends suggest me use skylake rig (im not sure for this one), or just normal build??

[Budget] RM4000 + Monitor

[Purpose] For gaming (Dota 2 high setting , COD,& latest game) + adobe photoshop illustrator & some multimedia software

[Personal preferences]

Nvidia Graphic Card ,Razer NZXT S340 Case (combo with my razer set)
Thank you
Since you have chosen to get an expensive case, you have to sacrifice on the specs (especially GPU).

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 896
MSI B150M Night Elf - RM 458
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 269
Leadtek GTX960 2GB GDDR5 Hurricane - RM 848
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB SSD - RM 209
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 186
NZXT S340 Razer - RM 479
AOC I2360SD IPS - RM 495

Total: RM 4049 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

If you want ATX form factor mobo, drop the SSD (buy it later when have money) and get Gigabyte H170 Gaming 3 (RM 575), because putting mATX mobo in S340 case is pretty ugly due to the amount of clearance available is huge compared to other case.
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2015, 05:47 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Arvip @ Nov 18 2015, 05:18 PM)
if i remove razer case & ssd , can i Up GPU to GTX970 ??
Can

QUOTE(si|verfish @ Nov 18 2015, 05:22 PM)
Hi guys, need suggestion for a gaming rig.

[Budget] RM5000 + monitor

[Purpose] Gaming - Fallout 4 and Skyrim (High/Ultra settings @ avg 50 - 60fps)

Is that achievable? Or do I need a higher budget?
Can, but Fallout 4 is somehow not really a fully optimized PC games, you might face FPS drops in city area.

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1399
Gigabyte H170 Gaming 3 - RM 579
Zotac GTX970 4GB GDDR5 ZT-90101-10P - RM 1479
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB SSD - RM 229
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189
Bitfenix NOVA - RM 149
AOC I2360SD IPS - RM 499

Total: RM 4994 (Techview price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2015, 06:18 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(GnarsAttack @ Nov 18 2015, 06:10 PM)
Good day. I need a little help here. My 2010 pc just died,and I need a quick replacement as my project is due in 3 weeks. Ive been looking around on lelong, and I found cheapest Skylake combo I could come up with. Here's the list:
Intel Pentium G4400 RM 285.60
MSI B150m Bazooka D3 RM 393

The mobo stated, it support ddr3. But I believe somebody said in this thread, ddr3 + skylake will have an issue in the long run. Do correct me if im wrong.
Btw, I dont overclock.

[Budget] Under RM 1k

[Hardwares that will be re-use] WD Blue 500gb, 2 x kvr16n11/4 (hopefully), aerocool vs3 casing, gigabyte hercules x580, palit gtx 660 2gb gddr5, 20" monitor, mouse, keyboard.

[Monitor resolution] Not sure. It's a 20" AOC e20-something,cant recall..

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Mainly Illustrator, Skyrim, M&B Warband, Sid Meier Civ V.

[Personal preferences] Skylake preferrably, upgradeable in the near future (mid 2016), Want to try mass effect.
Any suggestion appreciated.
Yes, reports say DDR3 (1.5/1.65V) RAM on Skylake mobo will cause damage to the memory controller but up to you whether to believe or not.

You can just pick up Haswell since the performance difference isn't huge and you don't have to bear the risk as well.

The Pentium G you picked is a dual core (without HT), I suggest you to go for i3/i5 instead for illustrator work and gaming.

Intel Core i5 4460 ~ RM 800
Asus H81M-K ~ RM 240
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2015, 10:02 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(GnarsAttack @ Nov 18 2015, 08:06 PM)
Are you suggesting me getting a good CPU, and upgrading Mobo later? Does this mean that I need to format the windows later?
Since ive been using socket 1155 for some times now,i was leaning toward latest platform. I think G4400 could still get the job done, but I maybe wrong. What if I grab this 4gb Gskill high performance ddr4 2133mhz for RM 129? It'll still be under the budget,and I get Skylake.
Thank you for your time.
You don't really need to upgrade the mobo, it is totally enough for normal consumer daily usage if you pick the Haswell I suggested (lesser SATA 3 ports and no PCI-E 3.0).

You don't need to format Windows also, just reactivate it with your retail key (if you have OEM key then sorry, you need to buy new key because OEM key is permanently tied to the first activated hardware ID).

G4400 is a very low end CPU, not suitable for gaming. It will still work if you use it for gaming but performance won't be good. If you are going for Skylake, I'd recommend you to get new DDR4 RAM, no need high performance RAM, it does nothing when the frequency is same as value RAM (2133MHz) and don't get anything beyond 2133MHz too, it won't benefit you if your mobo isn't a Z170 chipset mobo.
terence_nwb
post Nov 18 2015, 11:13 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Nov 18 2015, 09:14 PM)
Good day, looking for RIG only recommendation

[Budget] less than 2K

[Purpose] Gaming (GTA 5,Dota 2,CS:GO etc.), Video Editing/Rendering (Vegas Pro 11), Occasionally Image Edition (Photoshop)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] HDD most probably.

[Monitor resolution] 23"

[Games & software that use frequently] GTA V, Dota 2, Vegas Pro 11, Google Chrome, Photoshop

[Location] KL

[Personal preferences] Probably needs 8GB RAM. Prefer a case that isn't dust magnet.

Thank You smile.gif
Quite hard to squeeze in an i5 with 2k budget, since you are going to use the rig for rendering/editing, i5 is more recommended but Skylake i5 is more expensive so I'll go with Haswell i5, hopefully the little over budget is ok for you.

Intel Core i5 4460 - RM 830
Asus H81M-K - RM 240
Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189

Total: RM 2092 (Techview price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Nov 19 2015, 09:43 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Nov 19 2015, 09:27 AM)
Thank You for the recommendation. If budget is stretched till 2.5k what are the significant changes I can see?
Either Skylake i5 or better GPU. I'll go for better GPU because the GTA V is quite graphics demanding, GTX750 isn't enough for good graphics settings.
terence_nwb
post Nov 19 2015, 09:47 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ahwang12321 @ Nov 19 2015, 03:51 AM)
Hi guys, planning to make a rig for gaming. nver had a pc before .currently using lenovo y510p but not satiesfied with it

[Budget] rm2 - 3k. prefer 2.5k below

[Purpose] gaming/multimedia

[Hardwares that will be re-use] mouse logitech g502(thinking of upgrade to razer mamba chroma)/blackwidow chroma keyboard/dell s2340l/razer levianthan speker

[Monitor resolution] full hd..already have dell s2340l but any recommendation would be nice also

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Dota 2 and some pc games. already have a ps4 but would want something at least gta 5 graphics. photoshop and video software

[Personal preferences] nice cpu tower design(got lights better)/see through .ssd that is fast but not so expensive, lenovo y510p ssd feels like nothing..slow .windows 7 if still available,didnt like windows8/10 .

[Location] Cyberjaya

Windows 7 is still slower than Windows 8/10 in even if you install in SSD because 8/10 use fast boot technology like hibernating your PC when you shutdown.

Will go with Haswell (4th gen) because your budget cannot fit Skylake (6th gen).

Intel Core i5 4460 - RM 830
Asus H81M-K - RM 240
Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 209
Zotac GTX960 2GB GDDR5 - RM 840
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB SSD - RM 229
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189

Total: RM 2901 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

Add LED strip if you want light in your case and if you want to get a new Windows key, prepare more budget because it is not cheap or downgrade some of the parts suggested above to cover up the money for OS.
terence_nwb
post Nov 19 2015, 04:07 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(akmalmacho @ Nov 19 2015, 03:51 PM)
Hello sifus & otais,

need a preference:

1) i3 4130 + gtx 650  or  2) Pentium G3250 + GTX 660

which 1 is a better choice?
It depends on what games you play, if the games you play is more CPU demanding, option 1 will yield better result and performance.
terence_nwb
post Nov 20 2015, 12:16 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(pauerxi @ Nov 20 2015, 11:28 AM)
Hi guys,

[Budget] 2k max with monitor

[Purpose] Gaming, surfing, movie

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Football Manager, microsoft office. Dota2 (not frequent).

[Location] KL
Intel Core i3 4160 - RM 469
ASRock H81M-VG4 - RM 209
Kingston 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 199
Sapphire R7 250 2GB GDDR5 Boost - RM 349
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 400W - RM 129
Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 149
BenQ GL2023A - RM 309

Total: RM 2032 (Viewnet price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Nov 20 2015, 02:22 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Speedodevo @ Nov 20 2015, 12:31 PM)
Hi me again, friend next door also want rig recommendation

Budget 2k - 2.5k
Purpose - gaming, med to highest setting
Hardware reuse - none
Monitor resolution - 17" or 19" full hd
Software - we play a lot of in house red alert, cs sos, dota 2
Personal preference - i3 skylake (at least), prefer mini case that we can carry from room to meeting room where we host lan party, mobo that we can upgrade to higher intel or gc in future, ssd for window, hdd for storage
Location - Bintulu, Sarawak

Thanks all
If need monitor then some of the preferences won't be able to meet due to budget issue.

So is monitor included in the budget (you didn't state you have monitor or not in the list)?
terence_nwb
post Nov 20 2015, 04:38 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Speedodevo @ Nov 20 2015, 02:54 PM)
Oh sorry, hai. We can use the monitor we have in the office. Thanks
DDR4 based mITX mobo is very expensive, if you can accept mATX (larger) than the overall cost will be lower.

Intel Core i3 6100 - RM 517
ASRock H170M-ITX/ac - RM 576
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB SSD - RM 209
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 186
CM Elite 130 - RM 178

Total: RM 2606 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

terence_nwb
post Nov 20 2015, 04:40 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ahwang12321 @ Nov 20 2015, 03:56 PM)
But windows8/10 have this mandatory update  which is annoying

My budget is 3k below but i think i wanna save a bit
I think i stick to ps4 for high graphics game. Just wanna play dota high settings for pc
Oh well updates keep your PC safe from malicious malware and bugs, only Windows 10 Home edition has this mandatory update policy, others don't have.

terence_nwb
post Nov 20 2015, 04:46 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kyxxx @ Nov 20 2015, 02:48 PM)
Hey guys, i'm planning to make a gaming/multimedia rig soon.
Probably would like to see recommendations as of now.

[Budget] 2.5k ~ 3k (if can see the options for both with and without monitor it will be great)

[Purpose]
A heavy torrent downloader & uploader, online user and video user (720p minimum).
Occasionally convert HD movie to lower quality (unsure if it counts as video rendering?)
As for game, not a heavy gamer but i wish to play the below games:
Star Wars Battlefront (new)
NBA 2K16 (steam?)
Droid4x (android emulator)

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Friend is selling me a corsair casing for RM150 (i forgot the casing name)

[Monitor resolution]
Looking for above 20"
[Personal preferences]
Current budget recommendation from my friend is below:
CPU: RM800
Mobo: RM400~500
GPU: RM800~ 1k
Ram: RM200
HDD: RM300 (i requested that i need minimum 2TB HDD for storage)
SDD: ? (need?)
PSU: RM250
Casing: RM150

Basically already over 3k budget lol without monitor

[Location] KL

Wish to see more options from fellow sifus here =DD
I need to know the casing model name, else I cannot proceed because the form factor is unknown.

QUOTE(kaiwong1020 @ Nov 20 2015, 03:19 PM)

Have GC Sapphire TOXIC R9 270XX,
PSU Silverstone SST-ST50F(Should i change it? Still usable though hmm.gif )
SSD 120GB...(few T of normal HDD too  brows.gif )

Please suggest me MB, RAM, Processor...(AMD preferred! Intel also can la...)
Mostly for gaming and movie re-mux....
Budget 3K....  thks guys!!!
If gaming, don't go for AMD, performance is lower than Intel.

So 3K budget for 3 items only? You don't need that much.

Gigabyte H170 Gaming 3 - RM 579

Total: RM 1714 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

You can downgrade to mATX mobo like MSI B150M Bazooka D4 (RM 409) if you don't need the extra PCI-E slots from ATX mobo.
terence_nwb
post Nov 20 2015, 07:33 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kyxxx @ Nov 20 2015, 06:44 PM)
Hey man, the casing name is Corsair Carbide Spec 01
Zotac GTX960 2GB GDDR5 ZT-90306-10M - RM 840
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189

Total: RM 2798 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

Corsair Carbide Spec-01 - RM 150

QUOTE(lolful @ Nov 20 2015, 07:13 PM)
SSHD or SSD+HDD? just for faster load speeds when looking for files or booting windows!
I'll go for SSD + HDD because I've one SSHD, it barely makes any difference doh.gif
terence_nwb
post Nov 21 2015, 06:09 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kaiwong1020 @ Nov 21 2015, 01:51 AM)
Just few more questions, is the PSU enough? What if i want to change to a fully modular? any recommend ?
as for RAM... goes to 2x8GB first and i can add to 32GB later, no problem right ?  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Enough.

Can try Seasonic M12II EVO 620W, RM 409 and yes for RAM.
terence_nwb
post Nov 21 2015, 12:54 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(silentxoblivion @ Nov 21 2015, 10:32 AM)
This is what I've decided so far:

Intel Core i7 6700k
Cryorig H7
Gigabyte Z170XP-SLI
EVGA GTX970 FTW+ ACX2.0 / Gigabyte GTX970 G1 Gaming
Seasonic M12II-520 EVO

Need suggestions for the cheapest SSD and 2x4GB DDR4 RAM.

Also still can't decide which of the two graphics card I should go for.
It seems like you are buying from Idealtech, they only carry Plextor and Samsung SSD, last time got Liteon but not sure now still have or not, if still got, then Liteon S900 128GB/256GB is one of the best choices.

As for RAM, go for 1x8GB instead if possible, but I know Idealtech is selling 2x4GB instead of 1x8GB (if I am correct), either the value RAM (2133MHz, RM 249) or RipjawsV (2400MHz, RM 329) will do.

Both of the GPU you've listed are very expensive, nearly 1.9k for GTX970, well it doesn't look worth to me at all, top up another 300 and you can get GTX980 (Palit), some other shops are selling GTX980 below 2k and AMD equivalent card (R9 390 with 8GB VRAM) at 1.6k mark only, 1.9k can get you a R9 390X which is even better than GTX980.

Well your choice wink.gif
terence_nwb
post Nov 21 2015, 03:36 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Nov 21 2015, 03:23 PM)
[Budget] Rm 1500-2200

[Purpose] Gaming only

[Hardwares that will be re-use] old dell monitor (probably use my 32 inch not used tv for monitor)/windows keyboard but use ps2 connector port

[Monitor resolution] 1280x1024 old dell one

[Games & softwares that use frequently] currently on Skyrim (i know. that's consider old)

[Personal preferences] can play at least Witcher 3

[Location] Shah Alam

I'm a bit noob in building rig. This is my first time
Intel Core i3 6100 - RM 517
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189

Total: RM 2210 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

You can save roughly RM 250 if you downgrade to Haswell (4th gen) i3, the build above is using latest Skylake (6th gen) i3.

44 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0618sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:49 PM