44 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V10!

terence_nwb
post Nov 12 2015, 09:16 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Nov 12 2015, 09:11 AM)
Hi there!

Let's take it for RM3k case.. I might be able to squeeze that (max)
Thanks for the suggestion tho..but I have 128gb SSD..and it's always has <10gb storage  (makes me paranoid seeing the red bar)
hehe  icon_rolleyes.gif
3k can grant you either Skylake i5 or GTX960 (pick one).
terence_nwb
post Nov 12 2015, 10:01 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Nov 12 2015, 09:43 AM)
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 875
Asus H81M-K - RM 229
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM - RM 220
Gainward GTX750Ti 2GB Golden Sample - RM 579
Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 409
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189
Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 139

RM2865

I think GC is ok enough right?

terence_nwb
You need to change mobo and RAM also if you move to Skylake.

MSI B150M Bazooka D4 - RM 409
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 289

GPU should be enough, I never played MMORPG games before so I am not sure what is the graphics requirements, but I checked the site, seems pretty low on requirements.
terence_nwb
post Nov 12 2015, 10:23 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Nov 12 2015, 10:07 AM)
I see.

So here updated one

Gainward GTX750Ti 2GB Golden Sample - RM 579
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189

Total up to RM3114.

I think in the future if I want to make an upgrade, I will just need to upgrade the GPU yes?
Since the others are pretty much updated..

Also..A question.. how much is a good wifi card to put in a desktop? Since i will be using wifi..
(cable too far)
You downgrade to i5 6400 (RM 809) to save money if you wish to do so.

About upgrade, it depends, but from the current selection, GPU upgrade is more likely to happen.

TP-LINK TL-WN881ND PCI-E WiFi adapter (Dual antenna) - RM 63

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Nov 12 2015, 10:24 AM
terence_nwb
post Nov 12 2015, 11:32 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lolful @ Nov 12 2015, 11:22 AM)
Thanks ! but iis the 2400MHz RAM really necessary? Kinda pricy for that
The base clock of DDR4 is 2133MHz, Techview is selling Kingston/Corsair DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM at RM 249.

Some people don't like the appearance of Value RAM because it doesn't have the enclosure (chips exposed), so they will opt for HyperX Fury series instead due to the cheap price tag, only RM 40 difference.

But if you are ok with it, go for it, since you cannot benefit from the extra speed too due to chipset limitation.
terence_nwb
post Nov 12 2015, 04:48 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Nov 12 2015, 04:34 PM)
Is it good to settle for the GC, but in return take 128gb SSD first..
And buy good HDD for better game loading? <--I am not sure about this though..

The only reason why i chose SSD is to load faster when using PC.. and loading screen in games  blush.gif
Normally I will focus on GPU first, loading time is not a main consideration factor for me, it is just either slower or faster (the game will still load), but for GPU, once you bought it, you are stuck with the performance forever unless you upgrade it.
terence_nwb
post Nov 12 2015, 04:57 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Nov 12 2015, 04:51 PM)
Is Zotac GTX960 good enough for any latest game though? If i happen to be interested into it..mainly Fallout 4.
Hmm. Now i am going to change my mind for a bit  nod.gif
Decent enough for mid-high settings in 1080p.
terence_nwb
post Nov 12 2015, 05:11 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Thiansc @ Nov 12 2015, 05:06 PM)
Im Looking for a rig for 3D (not complexity model, building only by sketch up), Vray rendering(CPU) and lights photoshop process workstation, budget around 4k

Im looking 4cores 8 Threads (i7 6700 or i7 4790 or Xeon)
compatible economic graphic card, as my modeling is simple which currently able to be handled by my laptop (AMD HD6300m)

Thanks in advance.
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1389
Kingston HyperX Fury 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 569
Leadtek GTX750 2GB GDDR5 WinFast - RM 485
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189

Total: RM 3814 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

terence_nwb
post Nov 12 2015, 05:33 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Nov 12 2015, 05:28 PM)
What do you think about this..
Zotac GTX960 2GB GDDR5 Single Fan - RM 819
Liteon S900 128GB SSD - RM 269 / Liteon S900 256GB SSD - RM 409
Seagate Barracuda 2TB HDD - RM 299
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189
TP-LINK TL-WN881ND PCI-E WiFi adapter (Dual antenna) - RM 63

With 128gb SSD = RM 3351

With 256gb SSD = RM 3491
Good to go thumbup.gif
terence_nwb
post Nov 12 2015, 05:39 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Nov 12 2015, 05:36 PM)
Thanks  sifu for guiding me!

Much appreciated  flex.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
If you are worried about the single fan temperature, you can get the dual fan version at RM 840 (MGS:GZ version), not sure still got stock or not.
terence_nwb
post Nov 12 2015, 08:08 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Xypheria @ Nov 12 2015, 08:00 PM)
The dual fan only for MGS version? I am a bit scared if the temperature will get too hot anytime soon
Nope, they are more actually, the MGS:GZ version is under promotion last time, not sure still got stock or not, if don't have, you can get the normal AMP version at RM 899.
terence_nwb
post Nov 12 2015, 10:36 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(th3hat3r @ Nov 12 2015, 09:02 PM)
[Budget] Let's say its not a problem. 12k++

[Purpose] [High End] FSX/XPlane Simulation

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None.

[Monitor resolution] Triple or Quad Monitor Setup optimally.

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Mainly used for FSX/XPlane

[Personal preferences] Include flight peripherals ie. yokes, etc

[Location] KL
Flight peripherals aren't easy to find in normal PC shop, you need to find specific shops for that sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post Nov 13 2015, 08:54 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ Nov 13 2015, 08:01 AM)
You might not aware that it is not a normal PC shop that sells PC hardware and parts, it is more like a shop that sells games accessories, you cannot find a desktop processor or GPU there.
terence_nwb
post Nov 13 2015, 01:02 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(masternobody @ Nov 13 2015, 12:07 PM)
[Budget]: RM2000

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] GPU (7870), Chasis

[Monitor resolution] 1920x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Dota 2, CSGO, New games (fallout 4, witcher 3)

[Personal preferences] need SSD for boot up. Hope I can get skylake from the budget

[Location] Kuala Lumpur

Im going to reuse HD7870 since its still a good card for most games. I just want to play new games (fallout 4, star wars battlefront) on medium settings at least.

Kindly give me suggestions. Willing to increase the budget to RM 2500
I assume you have monitor to reuse.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 859
MSI B150M Bazooka D4 - RM 424
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 212
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB SSD - RM 219
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 204
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 199

Total: RM 2117 (SSD and PSU is from Viewnet, others are Cycom price inclusive of GST)

Drop the HDD if not necessary.
terence_nwb
post Nov 13 2015, 03:46 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(jackchong890 @ Nov 13 2015, 02:32 PM)
Hi everyone,

was long time dint assembly any PC... the last time I install PC is 5 year ago.. now was totally outdated need ur guy help to suggest

Budget] RM2000

[Purpose] Gaming only

[Hardwares that will be re-use] My monitor 23 Inch

[Monitor resolution]My monitor 23 Inch

[Games & softwares that use frequently] GTA 5 , and call of duty the latest i think? hehehe

[Personal preferences] I think last time i install my PC i use motherboard cheap one but my game still running fine (at least not gaming type),
so maybe i prefer

Motherboard (Ok ok one enough, not need super GENG)
8 GB ram
1TB HBB  (dont need SSD)

Please suggest me a graphic card which got FAN... the more FAN better. LOL ...bad experience last time using heat SINK type graphic card immediate die after one month use.. LOL
[Location] KL
Thanks everyone for help!:)
Intel Core i3 4160 - RM 500
Asus H81M-K - RM 229
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM - RM 220
PowerColor R9 270 2GB GDDR5 TurboDuo - RM 529
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189

Total: RM 2031 (Techview price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Nov 13 2015, 05:54 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(jackchong890 @ Nov 13 2015, 05:41 PM)
hi , thanks for suggestion... for i3? will be slow ? because in my mind i3 is the basic entry for PC?
Desktop i3 is equivalent to laptop i5. But if you can spare another RM 300, then you can get Haswell i5.
terence_nwb
post Nov 13 2015, 07:05 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Nov 13 2015, 06:27 PM)
i3 with GTX 750 Ti will fit your budget and will have better performance compared to i3+270
Nope, don't look at minimum figure, the average/highest FPS is what we are looking for when we search for suitable hardware.

In overall, R9 270 will still yield better frame rate compared to GTX750Ti, provided no Gameworks is involved.
terence_nwb
post Nov 14 2015, 12:34 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lolful @ Nov 14 2015, 10:49 AM)
Okay thanks! Warranty includes if GPU overheat and spoilt anot? Is it a nobrainer that the Zotac 960 would outperform the Gigabyte 950 Xtreme ?
Warranty should cover it since overheat isn't really caused by you purposely hmm.gif

960 always > 950.

By judging the price of 950, don't even bother to get it, not worth the money. If you are worried about the temperature, you can get the dual fan version (MGS:GZ version) at RM 840 from Techview.
terence_nwb
post Nov 14 2015, 04:30 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lolful @ Nov 14 2015, 03:53 PM)
Thanks ! Their website was down for some apparent reason
It's lelong issue with their webserver, been not stable for these few days.
terence_nwb
post Nov 14 2015, 10:45 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(jackchong890 @ Nov 14 2015, 09:51 PM)
hi ... may i know if i need for build in WIFI motherboard? which one you will suggest?
You can buy PCI-E WiFi adapter like TP-LINK TL-WN881ND (~RM 65) and install it.
terence_nwb
post Nov 15 2015, 12:46 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(nemesisz @ Nov 15 2015, 06:46 AM)
Still researching, my main usage is to watch movie and gaming(LOL, DOTA2, diablo and maybe some new release game). Priority is to get a good monitor(24-27 inch). Budget maybe around 8k. But since my place got really limited pc stock thats why I have to buy online everything. Btw, since I didnt play FPS game, is 60hz IPS monitor good for me? I think only got one acer monitor with 144hz and IPS display but the priced is really sky high  rclxub.gif . Other 144hz is TN display, the color is not so good. Any good recommendation on the monitor?

[Budget] Around RM 8000

[Purpose] Movie watching and Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None, my old pc is like 16yo already using windows 2000 n dead.  doh.gif

[Monitor resolution]Hoping to get a nice monitor for movie watching (23-27 inch)

[Games & softwares that use frequently]  LOL,DOTA2, Diablo, Assasin Creed syndicate, WItcher 3...I love to try new game  tongue.gif
[Personal preferences] Wanna buy with Idealtech since my place so hard to get new stuff. Big pc size doesnt matter since I rarely move around. Want a good pc for future upgrade. Priority is a good monitor.

Since I dont need to rush, is it better to wait until early next year for new stuff? hmm.gif
Asus also released a new IPS 144Hz 165Hz G-Sync monitor, a successor to the previous ROG Swift but as expected, more expensive than Acer one laugh.gif

Not all GPU can push 144Hz in all games, you mostly end up with 60Hz cap when playing those triple A titles, so I guess 60Hz is enough for you at the moment unless you are getting a G-Sync/FreeSync monitor. Dell U2414H is not a bad choice.

Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1325
Gigabyte H170 Gaming 3 - RM 589
GSKill NT 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 249
Palit GTX980Ti 6GB GDDR5 Jetstream - RM 2999
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD - RM 509
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W - RM 409
Fractal Design Define R5 (Window) - RM 469
Dell U2414H IPS - RM 1065

Total: RM 7833 (Idealtech price inclusive of GST)

Case can be changed to any ATX form factor case (according to what you like). You have some money left for Windows license key if needed.

Edit: not 144Hz, is a whopping 165Hz.

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Nov 15 2015, 12:50 PM

44 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0489sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:50 PM