44 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V10!

terence_nwb
post Nov 5 2015, 01:36 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(KhongChin @ Nov 5 2015, 01:17 PM)
If i want to change the whole CPU,
i reuse the 4gb ram
i reuse the intel i5-650 processor
i reuse the case also
exclude all this
1. Another 4GB RAM - RM 125
2. Zotac GTX950 Single Fan - RM 699
3. FSP Hexa+ 550W PSU - RM 189

a) How much more do i need?, i just need a motherboard that can support the graphics card.
b) is it possible to reuse the 4gb ram and i5-650 processor because i already used it for 4 years ?
CPU is your current i5 650, if you want to change whole CPU, you cannot reuse it. Maybe you don't understand the definition of CPU, CPU is the processor, some people misinterpret it as the whole rig.

So rethink again and let me know what is your next plan, either to keep using the CPU or change it.
terence_nwb
post Nov 5 2015, 02:22 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(KhongChin @ Nov 5 2015, 02:06 PM)
1. you say that cpu bottleneck might occur if i change the graphic card and the ram only, is cpu bottleneck a big problem ? assume now im using my old cpu
2. i think that the gtx 960 might be too big because currently im using ati radeon hd5570 and the fan is just directly above the graphic card.
It depends on what games you play for the bottleneck to occur, no issue on casual and light games, only when you play latest games such as The Witcher 3, GTA V then you can observe CPU bottleneck.

And for the clearance issue, measure your case clearance and compare it with the GPU to see if it can fit or not.
terence_nwb
post Nov 5 2015, 02:43 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(nsg86 @ Nov 5 2015, 02:37 PM)
hi, thanks for your advice .. I will take g3250 if that's the case, I do not need external graphic card right? due to processor already have integrated gc?

can I play some light game using this?
The iGPU should be enough for movie and browsing.

About gaming, casual and light-weight games are fine, but definitely not graphics demand games.
terence_nwb
post Nov 5 2015, 05:41 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(nobody12345 @ Nov 5 2015, 04:35 PM)
[Budget]
RM1500 - RM2000

[Purpose]
gaming, able to play far cry 4 and fallout 4. not necessary have to be high resolution

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Monitor, keyboard, mouse, speaker

[Monitor resolution]
1920x1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
FPS Games

[Personal preferences]
ITX Casing

[Location]
PJ
Thanks in advance
First, Far Cry 4 doesn't support dual core processor officially, meaning you need a manual "patch" from community to run the game. I am telling you this because your budget isn't able to fit an i5 (quad core). ITX build is also more expensive than standard ATX and mATX build as well.

Intel Core i3 4160 - RM 497
MSI H81I - RM 299
Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Value RAM - RM 209
Leadtek GTX750 2GB GDDR5 OC - RM 480
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189
CM Elite 130 - RM 179

Total: RM 2078 (Techview price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Nov 5 2015, 10:08 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Nov 5 2015, 09:38 PM)
Thank you soooo much Terence for helping me out.

May I know is there any alternative for ASUS H81M-K(Other model/brand),FSP Hexa+ 550W(Corsair/coolermaster would be more common at my local shops),Leadtek GTX750(Very rare to have Leadtek Brand here as well) and thermaltake Versa H25(Same goes to thermaltake,all bunches of coolermaster,corsair will be common)? As I'm located at KK sabah,some parts are difficult to find at my local shops.

Thank you so much for your effort,much much appreciate it  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
ASRock H81M-VG4/ASRock H81M-HDS

Corsair VS550

Palit GTX750/Gainward GTX750/Zotac GTX750

Case - you can make your own choice, they are many casings out there for you to choose, but please make sure the form factor is correct, i.e. don't get mITX case but your mobo is ATX/mATX, it won't fit in the case.
terence_nwb
post Nov 5 2015, 10:11 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(jamesl @ Nov 5 2015, 09:58 PM)
I made a tweak using the same concept , hopefully sensei can enlighten my tweaking ..
Processor : Core i5 6550 @ 3.2Ghz Skylake
MOBO : MSI B150M Bazooka DDR4
RAM : Kingston Hyper X Fury 8GB DDR4
GPU : Zotac GTX960 Dual Fan MGS
HDD : WD Blue 1TB HDD
SSD : Kingston Now V300 128GB
PSU : Seasonic S12 II 620W
Casing : Thermaltake Versa H25

Any advice from this spec ?
This spec will over budget (you have max budget of 2.5K right?)

SSD - change to Kingston HyperX Fury/Liteon S900 for better NAND quality.

PSU - downgrade to S12II 520W/M12II EVO 520W (for good quality PSU) or FSP Hexa+ 550W (for mid range PSU) to save some money, GTX960 doesn't consume too much power so PSU selection is much easier.
terence_nwb
post Nov 5 2015, 10:52 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(jamesl @ Nov 5 2015, 10:46 PM)
Manage to increase my budget .. Hehe ..
SSD - Hyper x Fury should be ok , as the price only increase by a bit ..
PSU - Noted .. What about the brand Thermaltake LitePower 600W @ RM201 ?? Its almost the same price as FSP Hexa+ 550W
Sometimes price cannot be use to judge the quality of an item, just like Corsair RM series, expensive than Seasonic M12II/S12II but yet its internal components aren't the top notch quality capacitors (mixed with Chinese/Taiwanese cheap capacitors).

I'll choose FSP over Thermaltake at anytime because FSP is more reputable and is the OEM for a lot of good quality PSU in the market.
terence_nwb
post Nov 6 2015, 09:00 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Nov 6 2015, 08:17 AM)
How about Samsung 850 EVO 250GB? is it a good SSD?  drool.gif
Good but expensive.
terence_nwb
post Nov 6 2015, 09:06 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Lenko @ Nov 6 2015, 08:53 AM)
Hi Sifus!
Need help building a new rig before Fallout 4 comes out!

[Budget]
RM3500

[Purpose]
Gaming

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Fallout 3, COD-BO3, Star Wars Battlefront...

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Will transfer most of my HDD over (3 of 5), will be used for storage smile.gif
So will need new 1 SSD for OS, and a new 1 TB
Monitor (philips 234cl) <-- might want to buy a new one, any recommendation? not part of the 3.5k budget.

[Personal preferences]
No DVD drive needed
lasts for next 3-4 years

[Location]
KL

Thanks!!!
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 875
MSI B150M Bazooka D4 - RM 409
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 289
Zotac GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1350
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB SSD - RM 229
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189
Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 139

Total: RM 3705 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

You have so many HDD, might as well just consider not to get a new 1TB first so it won't over budget?

If you can top up your budget, get a better PSU (like Seasonic) for more extra headroom for future upgrade.
terence_nwb
post Nov 6 2015, 10:05 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Lenko @ Nov 6 2015, 10:04 AM)
Thanks! Could always skip the 1TB.
Seasonic G-series modular 650W?
Seasonic M12II EVO 620W (more expensive) for fully modular cable or S12II 620W (slightly cheaper) for non modular cable.
terence_nwb
post Nov 6 2015, 11:10 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Lenko @ Nov 6 2015, 10:23 AM)
Great! Thanks, I'll go for the modular version

Any recommendation for a decently priced monitor to go with your recommended setup?
Any specific acceptable budget range for the monitor?
terence_nwb
post Nov 6 2015, 11:32 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Lenko @ Nov 6 2015, 11:21 AM)
Around the 1k mark
Can fit either with Dell's high quality IPS 1080p 60Hz monitor or AOC/Acer gaming grade TN 1080p 144Hz monitor.
terence_nwb
post Nov 6 2015, 11:52 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Lenko @ Nov 6 2015, 11:40 AM)
NICE!
Can I get the Acer TN 1080p monitor at TechView too?
This is Acer GN246HL right?
Nope, I don't think Acer MY got bring in this model.

And bumper too, Acer XB240H 1080p 144Hz monitor price increased to RM 1199 already, last time it was under 1k.

AOC G2460PQU 1080p 144Hz too, RM 1149 now.

I think you either top up budget or go with Dell U2414H IPS, should be able to find it under 1k at the moment.
terence_nwb
post Nov 6 2015, 12:43 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(binghb @ Nov 6 2015, 12:12 PM)
does 128 bit/256 bit has a huge difference if i am planning on this build

CPU: Intel Core I5 4460
MOBO: ASrock B85M-HDS
RAM: Avexir Core Green 2x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
GPU: Palit GTX970 Single Fan 4GB DDR5 256 bit OR Palit GTX960 Jetstream 4GB DDR5 128 bit
PSU: FSP HEXA+ 550W PSU
Chassis: IN-WIN 703 White
HDD: WD 1TB Caviar BLue HDD
SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 120GB SSD
970 is almost twice the performance of 960 FYI.

QUOTE(curaptz @ Nov 6 2015, 12:39 PM)
Just to let those DOTARIAN know..
Leadtek GTX750 2gb oc is good enough to max 1080p full setting in dota2.
you will get about 100fps averagely.

that gpu would recommend the resolution bigger such as 2175p or so (weird), makes thing even sharper, but the fps would drop to 40fps.
That's nvidia's DSR.
terence_nwb
post Nov 6 2015, 03:59 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Jchew57 @ Nov 6 2015, 03:49 PM)
hi sifu
Xeon or I5  for heavy graphics gaming?
It depends on which Xeon you are referring to actually, some Xeon CPUs are 2 core 4 thread (like i3), some are 4 core 4 thread (like i5) while some are 4 core 8 thread (like i7).

So if you are referring to 4 core 8 thread's Xeon then of course it is more preferable than i5. But Xeon is slightly more expensive than standard locked i5.
terence_nwb
post Nov 6 2015, 04:03 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Nov 6 2015, 03:56 PM)
Talking about monitors, any comments on Benq monitors bro?
Low/mid end (<= RM 500 range) is ok, like BenQ GW2255 and GL2460.

High end one is very expensive and not worth the money if you compare with other brands. For example, this model, XL2420G, RM 2899, I expect to see at least QHD (2K) resolution but it ended up with just FHD, TN panel somemore, top up another RM 200 and you can get the Acer Predator XB270HU with QHD GSync IPS monitor already.
terence_nwb
post Nov 6 2015, 04:05 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(nobody12345 @ Nov 6 2015, 04:00 PM)
Thank for the recommendation. if go for i5, do u think how much i need to be top up?
If stay on Haswell (4th gen), roughly RM 350 more is needed.

If upgrade to Skylake (6th gen), roughly RM 600 more is needed.

QUOTE(Jchew57 @ Nov 6 2015, 04:00 PM)
hi terrence,

Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3
Yes, it is better than i5.
terence_nwb
post Nov 6 2015, 04:08 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Nov 6 2015, 04:05 PM)
Right. What about this model though?

benq xl2411z

I found some places selling RM999 so just wonder is it a good deal.
XL2411Z is same tier as AOC G2460PQU and Acer Predator XB240H, all spot with a 1080p 144Hz TN panel, quite a good deal since it is still below 1k, AOC and Acer increased the price to nearly 1.2k already.
terence_nwb
post Nov 6 2015, 04:20 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Nov 6 2015, 04:12 PM)
Yea i saw TechView is having a promo at RM999 for that monitor so I thought of getting one to replace my old dell monitor. The original price for that monitor is RM1199 I think.
Not all GPU can push 144Hz at the moment, so if your GPU isn't powerful enough, perhaps you need to set the refresh rate to 60Hz/90Hz only when gaming, if not you will notice quite a lot of screen tearing.
terence_nwb
post Nov 7 2015, 12:28 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(huzaicarbon @ Nov 6 2015, 11:13 PM)
[Budget] RM3000

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] old monitor, keyboard and mouse.

[Monitor resolution] 1440x900p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] want to run latest games, but not necessarily at highest settings.

[Personal preferences] If can, having an SSD for the boot drive will be nice. Also a Cooler Master N200 Case.

[Location] Klang Valley
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 875
MSI B150M Bazooka D4 - RM 409
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 289
Gainward GTX960 2GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 799
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB SSD - RM 229
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 225
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189
CM N200 - RM 185

Total: RM 3200 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

Either downgrade to Haswell i5 or drop the SSD to keep within 3k budget, if you can top up extra RM 200, then it is fine.

44 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0454sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:56 AM