SGX Counters, Discussion on Counters in the SGX

TSHansel
post Mar 13 2016, 11:55 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Mar 11 2016, 08:00 AM)
yeah. i actually wanted to buy THAI BREWERY stocks in 2014...

thats Y lor.. S'PORE is call the FINANCIAL HUB OF ASIA!!!!
Yes,.. similarly, the Lippo Group listed First REIT, majority for their hospitals, and LMIRT for their malls and retail assets in Singapore. One reason for their action here is because when First REIT nd LMIRT were first envisioned, REITs were not available yet in the JSE as an investment class. However, President Widodo is envious of Sgp's success as a REIT centre, and is working-out plans to shift these'Indonesian' REITs back 'home'.

The income-generating assets can be anywhere in the world, but the listing and the fund-raising instrument can be somewhere else. The issuer's challenge is to convince the investors in the country-of-listing that there is good ROI if they invest into his (the issuer's) counter.
TSHansel
post Mar 13 2016, 12:19 PM

9,361 posts

Singapore Budget Speech on Thursday, March 24. IN Malaysia nd everywhere else in the world, for those who have access to ChannelNewsAsia, I recalled the speech will be televised live.

To start-ff, this video is very simple to understand,...it explains how a national budget is planned and finalized.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/specials/s...get-2016/#video
TSHansel
post Mar 15 2016, 01:11 PM

9,361 posts

Ascott REIT has confirmed on another acquisition - the second property in The USA, The Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel.

http://ascottreit.listedcompany.com/newsro...s_14Mar16_R.pdf

Pg 18 of the slides indicates that the DPU will be accretive, BUT,...the gearing has also gone up to 40%. Ascott REIT intends to continue investing into the US Market.

Edited : Forgot to mention, the DPU is yield-accretive, which means even after factoring in anyincreased number of units, and taking into account any further debts taken (if any),... the dividend given out is still accretive. This is good news.

For the metrics of an acquisition for a REIT, being DPU-accretive means a lot to unitholders compared to increase in Net Property Income.

I am glad I bought into Ascott REIT when it first started on its venture into the US market.

This post has been edited by Hansel: Mar 15 2016, 01:18 PM
prince_mk
post Mar 15 2016, 01:32 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 15 2016, 01:11 PM)
Ascott REIT has confirmed on another acquisition - the second property in The USA, The Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel.

http://ascottreit.listedcompany.com/newsro...s_14Mar16_R.pdf

Pg 18 of the slides indicates that the DPU will be accretive, BUT,...the gearing has also gone up to 40%. Ascott REIT intends to continue investing into the US Market.

Edited : Forgot to mention, the DPU is yield-accretive, which means even after factoring in anyincreased number of units, and taking into account any further debts taken (if any),... the dividend given out is still accretive. This is good news.

For the metrics of an acquisition for a REIT, being DPU-accretive means a lot to unitholders compared to increase in Net Property Income.

I am glad I bought into Ascott REIT when it first started on its venture into the US market.
I m also glad I follow your advise smile.gif

I have some of them too.
TSHansel
post Mar 15 2016, 01:51 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Mar 15 2016, 01:32 PM)
I m also glad I follow your advise smile.gif

I have some of them too.
I hoped we are both right for the next 10 years,... smile.gif
elea88
post Mar 15 2016, 05:43 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 15 2016, 01:51 PM)
I hoped we are both right for the next 10 years,...  smile.gif
just saw Ascott reit -4% today.. and its CUM DIV... why?
TSHansel
post Mar 15 2016, 06:22 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Mar 15 2016, 05:43 PM)
just saw Ascott reit -4% today.. and its CUM DIV... why?
I think it's because of the private placement where there are 97+Mil units placed out to certain investors and institutions at a price of between $1.055 and $1.085 a unit. Hence, the mkt adjusted itself downwards momentarily.

The price will move up again after Mar 23rd..... can buy now before the price moves up and before the Advanced Dividend Ex-D's,...
prince_mk98
post Mar 15 2016, 08:40 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 15 2016, 06:22 PM)
I think it's because of the private placement where there are 97+Mil units placed out to certain investors and institutions at a price of between $1.055 and $1.085 a unit. Hence, the mkt adjusted itself downwards momentarily.

The price will move up again after Mar 23rd..... can buy now before the price moves up and before the Advanced Dividend Ex-D's,...
when is the Advanced Dividend Ex-Date ? unable to find the date.

as far as I know, the coming ex date is 18 Mac 2016.
TSHansel
post Mar 16 2016, 09:07 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk98 @ Mar 15 2016, 08:40 PM)
when is the Advanced Dividend Ex-Date ? unable to find the date.

as far as I know, the coming ex date is 18 Mac 2016.
The details are in the Ascott website,... I think the Ex-Date for the Adv Distribution should be around Mar 18th..
prince_mk
post Mar 17 2016, 10:27 AM

2,679 posts

Ocbc keeping up, up and up. Today 9.05

This post has been edited by prince_mk: Mar 17 2016, 10:28 AM
prince_mk
post Mar 18 2016, 11:10 AM

2,679 posts

Any penny stocks that is good to flip over ? Mind sharing.
wlcling
post Mar 18 2016, 11:46 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

sold all my sg stocks today - which is just DBS... enough of banking stocks for me biggrin.gif
prince_mk
post Mar 19 2016, 10:32 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Mar 18 2016, 11:46 PM)
sold all my sg stocks today - which is just DBS...  enough of banking stocks for me  biggrin.gif
Putting all eggs in one basket?
wlcling
post Mar 19 2016, 01:36 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

Change to made in US basket biggrin.gif
prince_mk98
post Mar 19 2016, 08:36 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Mar 19 2016, 01:36 PM)
Change to made in US basket biggrin.gif
etf or US banking stocks?
wlcling
post Mar 19 2016, 09:19 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

tech stocks actually, more fun when reading the related news feeds smile.gif
TSHansel
post Mar 20 2016, 02:10 PM

9,361 posts

Yup,...........OCBC,...shareholders who bought earlier made money,....

A snippet from a major fund distributor and brokerage :-

Information snippet

Oil price

In December 2015, we have stated our opinion that oil will be facing strong downward pressure in the short-mid term. Since then, crude oil price had dropped sharply to a low of around $26 USD per barrel in Jan before rebounding strongly to just below $40 USD per barrel as of 15/03/16.

The sharp drop in price in January was mainly attributed to the lifting of Iranian oil export sanction mentioned in the previous snippet.

However, in February, Russia and Saudi Arabia - 2 of the world’s largest oil producers proposed a production freeze (cap production) to the major oil producers. This is viewed by many as the first step in curbing the oil production glut. This piece of news caused the rally of oil price to just below $40.

All cleared? Maybe not!

1) History of Russia’s collaborations with OPEC
There were several instances in the past where Russia has enacted some cuts in production, but the reductions have been brief and restricted.

2) Iran’s rejection
Iran (the country with the 4th largest oil reserves in the world), who has only rejoin the oil production market, has indicated that they will not talk about production freeze until they have hit 4 million barrels a day (3 mbpd as of February 2016).

Summary
A production freeze only means that the oil production level, which is already causing a supply glut, is kept constant. Adding on the fact that Iran will continue to increase production and the Russia’s past ineffectual collaborations with OPEC, we are of the opinion that the recent oil rally may have hit a ceiling.

Oil may have found its bottom around $26 USD region but a near-term strong breakthrough past $40 USD remains unlikely.

Oil may retrace back to around $35 USD region in the short term.

For long-term (1-2 years) view, we believe that oil has substantial upside after the production glut resides.
AVFAN
post Mar 20 2016, 10:16 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 20 2016, 02:10 PM)
Summary
A production freeze only means that the oil production level, which is already causing a supply glut, is kept constant. Adding on the fact that Iran will continue to increase production and the Russia’s past ineffectual collaborations with OPEC, we are of the opinion that the recent oil rally may have hit a ceiling.

Oil may have found its bottom around $26 USD region but a near-term strong breakthrough past $40 USD remains unlikely.

Oil may retrace back to around $35 USD region in the short term.

For long-term (1-2 years) view, we believe that oil has substantial upside after the production glut resides.
most other reports i read are in line with that.

bottomed, yes. unlikely it will go back to 25-26.

>40? it did cross 41 on fri but quickly retreated.

so, 35-40 is most likely scenario for net 6-24 months.

1-2 yrs or 2-3 yrs before a better recovery, that's the question.

one thing we must not forget - the efficient shale producers will return if it stays above 40; saudi does not like to shout but it is their strategic intention to put most shale and other higher cost producers out of biz - "inefficient producers need to get out".

given that, one can now go ahead and make investment decisions on o&g and related counters in s.e.a. bourses tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 20 2016, 10:17 PM
TSHansel
post Mar 20 2016, 10:50 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 20 2016, 10:16 PM)
most other reports i read are in line with that.

bottomed, yes. unlikely it will go back to 25-26.

>40? it did cross 41 on fri but quickly retreated.

so, 35-40 is most likely scenario for net 6-24 months.

1-2 yrs or 2-3 yrs before a better recovery, that's the question.
one thing we must not forget - the efficient shale producers will return if it stays above 40; saudi does not like to shout but it is their strategic intention to put most shale and other higher cost producers out of biz - "inefficient producers need to get out".

given that, one can now go ahead and make investment decisions on o&g and related counters in s.e.a. bourses tongue.gif
AV,... I bought the Wall Street Journal last Friday and I came across an article on the front page : The excess oil barrels are actually accounting errors, and in actual fact, there are not really that many excesses,...

Can you search out this article ?? It also said that the supply glut is not really that serious given that the so-called excesses are fictitious. The counting mechanism is not really that accurate i the international oil bodies,... If this article is true, then we are really in a market recovery mode.
AVFAN
post Mar 20 2016, 10:57 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 20 2016, 10:50 PM)
AV,... I bought the Wall Street Journal last Friday and I came across an article on the front page : The excess oil barrels are actually accounting errors, and in actual fact, there are not really that many excesses,...

Can you search out this article ?? It also said that the supply glut is not really that serious given that the so-called excesses are fictitious. The counting mechanism is not really that accurate i the international oil bodies,... If this article is true, then we are really in a market recovery mode.
simple google yields only this one:
http://www.wsj.com/articles/iea-sees-oil-m...pply-1453194130

maybe it's in the darknet? biggrin.gif

the excess nos. were from iea. if any "acctg error", they will be the first to talk.

330 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:28 AM