SGX Counters, Discussion on Counters in the SGX

TSHansel
post May 19 2020, 03:49 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ May 19 2020, 11:51 AM)
https://www.todayonline.com/business/sats-b...se-centre-s110m

According to the link above, they do own the ferry terminal.
Tks bro,... then there would be revenue from here too, albeit very small now during these CB days,...
TSHansel
post May 22 2020, 12:59 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(ywliang96 @ May 22 2020, 12:03 PM)
Did u face any situation of mailing password? This one take too damn long man..
QUOTE(solstice818 @ May 22 2020, 12:12 PM)
Your delay is probably caused by their CB. You can contact their CS and they will inform you when it was sent out
Bros,... they are working,... I'll suggest something here : try asking them to give you a temporary password and release your account first. Tell them you need to buy something urgently before the price runs away. Tell them you can't wait for the password and the mkt dropped today.

They will understand.

Try,.. bros,.. I used to speak with Alicia,.. very helpful,...no need to mention my name though,...
TSHansel
post May 22 2020, 01:57 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(ywliang96 @ May 22 2020, 01:16 PM)
oh wow nice !!!! i didn't know this is possible. I watched DBS jump from 18 to 19.2 and i cant buy it when it was 18  mega_shok.gif
thumbsup.gif
TSHansel
post Jun 2 2020, 11:46 AM

9,361 posts

Bros,...

Vicom is having a share split with ratio : 1:4. Dates are next week.

Current price is $8.00, so, if this price holds till ExDate, each of the 'new' share will carry $2.00 value after splitting !

Any opinions, bros ??
TSHansel
post Jun 2 2020, 05:51 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 2 2020, 02:44 PM)
Thanks for sharing. VICOM (and Micro Mech) are the ones with solid fundamentals. ROA/ROE of around 20-22% with almost zero debt.

To me both are fully valued. P/BV of 4-5 times. But dividend yield of 4.5-5% is still okay.

Apparently, the stock split is to encourage more "small fishes" (like me tongue.gif) to enter, but still think it's too much for me. If you are off for the dividend, certainly a good one to pick.
Tq for replying, bro,... we all invest together for our success,...

If the price stays at 8.00 next week onwards right into the 'split' date, I wonder if,... on the day when the split shares start trading, will each resultant share open with a price higher than $2.00 ?

Understand Vicom is currently fully-valued,... but will investors be willing to pay a higher P/BV multiple since the price would be cheaper by then ?

The split ratio here is 1-to-4.
TSHansel
post Jun 3 2020, 12:56 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 3 2020, 09:25 AM)
Given the flux of market liquidity, would expect some small spikes on that day, but should die down quickly some time later. Just my 2 cents.

On another news, I am very worried about my holdings in blue chips REITs and shares. They (except SATS) are all in green, and REITs kind of give me double digit returns within 2 months.

Even the "overvalued" KDC REIT is now giving me 6% in 2 months.

Now I am wondering if they are overvalued...
Ok, bro,... I have started loading-up from this morning,... queued big before Keppel Pacific Oak eAGM started this morning,... I'll try,... I have confidence in their govt. Vicom is their Puspakom,... and Australia's MVR INspection UNit,... surely can make money,....

I think I know why all the REITs rose suddenly at 3.45 pm last week,.... finally I know why, rclxm9.gif

.... I kept pushing the threads over at ShareJunction (CapMallTrust and Sasseur Threads) on reasons why they rose,... And nobody replied me,... they just commented sideways,...

Edited by adding : bro,... just wanted to add this,... have confidence, have conviction, trust in their govt,... high can go higher,... jmho,...

This post has been edited by Hansel: Jun 3 2020, 12:58 PM
TSHansel
post Jun 3 2020, 01:03 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 3 2020, 10:23 AM)
DBS is now 21.17, nice.

i bought 2 days ago, monday 19.70.
I bought many rounds n the way up, bro,... I averaged ALL THE WAY down from $26.00 to $21.00+ when this pandemic started. Threw in more than 100K for just one counter sad.gif

Guessed I am late into DBS too,... was watching REITs and Forex (Forex Thread) all the time,... sad.gif shld have started averaging down earlier from 16.00 bucks a few weeks ago.
TSHansel
post Jun 3 2020, 02:35 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 3 2020, 02:28 PM)
Reasons for increasing?
QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 3 2020, 02:31 PM)
Eh, just rethink everything, I am a long-term investor, why should I be worried? bangwall.gif

Just hold on everything and average down if the worse happens. Blue chips are blue chips as long as fundamentals unchanged, have to learn from Ramjade!

DBS rose 5%. Huh. I will be closely watching at retailers and institutional flow of money.

So far, Nomura analysts suggest that we retailers are the winners. (https://www.sinchew.com.my/content/content_2282518.html)
I am too late into the Vicom game,.... asked here and there, then only queued at different prices. Not many units for sale today,... all funds tied-up queueing only,...don't think there is value anymore above 8.15 !

sad.gif
TSHansel
post Jun 3 2020, 02:44 PM

9,361 posts

Preparing for Keppel Infrastructure Trust eAGM starting at 3 pm,...
TSHansel
post Jun 3 2020, 04:16 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jun 3 2020, 03:07 PM)
I actually think that it will increase after the split given that it is more affordable for many to buy it and hence, pushing the price higher. Besides, I dont see how VICOM's business will be affected as their business nature is kinda unique and they have 5 outta 9 of the centres for car inspection.  Their location is also more strategic than their competitors.
Yeah,... the main purpose of a share split is to make it affordable for new investors to participate in the success of an entity. We need to be careful too, of course, but for Vicom,... I think it's risk-justified.
TSHansel
post Jun 3 2020, 04:40 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 3 2020, 01:31 PM)
this period has been a very tricky one for everybody.
too bullish, mistakes; too conservative, may miss all.
if someone had held on tightly, did nothing, i dun think it is a favorable position now.
becos most counters are still 20-30% down.
u gotta to be dem clever and lucky to sell all at the right time and bought back at right time!!

i dumped ALL my SGreits and US stocks in the middle of the pandemic... not at the best prices.
to my surprise, and to many... the SGreit counters i had recovered so quickly.
and the US counters rushed back up so quickly too, no coming back down!
it is only last few days when SG was open to reopen after CB that i thought may be worth getting in then.
after 3 days, result for SIA and DBS excellent... at least now i dun complain "i missed it"!
and i think still got some way to go higher.
Tq bro,....

For myself,.. on REITs and Stocks worldwide,... how I have played the game in the current pandemic is with four actions :-
1) I average down counters which I bought expensive and for which I believe the dpu will return after recovery.
2) I leave alone counters under my ownership to continue earning the dpu, and which I think will recover to their former prices after recovery.
3) I continue to search the universe for NEW REITs and stocks (which I have not held before) to buy, since there was a strong mis-pricing on Mar 23rd., 2020.
4) I cutloss on counters which I think will be risky and whose dpu may not be growing and/or which may not provide capital growth.

I provide below some examples of counters that I have acted on with the above 4 tactics :-
1) Prime US REIT and Sasseur REIT listed in the SGX.
2) KIT and FLCT in the SGX.
3) UOB, OCBC in the SGX and Slate REIT in the TSX.
4) Lendlease REIT and Netlink NBN Trust.

As we speak,... I still have some counters which are still in the red,.. a big eg would be MNACT, still in 22% red.

The mkt has certainly decoupled itself from earnings this time,... and has runaway,... as the mkt runs, the opportunity for investors to go in will be smaller and smaller,.. but I say this too,... there's nothing wrong to keep cash. Don't worry abt earning FD interest or bond coupons whatever,... we know the direction that these rates are heading in. I am wondering how long will the interest rate stay low.

I believed the mkt bounced up fast because investors the world over have learnt from previous crises, and secondly,... the monetary stimulus flowed down from many central banks truly did its work. Hence,... those analysts who kept referring to previous events of meltdowns to gauge how the recovery will be like will most likely be wrong this time round. But nothing wrong with being wrong, though,... you just miss the boat this time.

Just wait for the next crisis !

My portfolio is 25.21% green at this moment.
TSHansel
post Jun 5 2020, 02:01 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 3 2020, 05:57 PM)
Thanks for sharing.
Your have a big n high value portfolio to manage!
Can diversify, manage risks with more possibilities.
Most others have much less, unable to do much in terms of diff options and min meaningful holdings.

Like me, i try to get more sleep and not to have 100 counters. biggrin.gif
So, it is just a few.
Lucky me, got into SIA, DBS for the first time and profited.
SGreits looks toppish and capped at this time, will watch further b4 i go back in.
Actually, most look overbought, overpriced now.... what do u think?
Hi bro,

Sorry for replying late, been busy with Vicom,... kept chasing up the price,... shouldn't have talked abt Vicom too much here and there,... then I got left behind and needed to chase up. dry.gif

You may be right abt the above,... but I also wish to state that,... my observations in this crash indicated another thing to me : assuming if I have never entered into any counter at all prior to the crash, never invested at all,... I believed IF I entered upon the crash, I would have been able to buy many counters at cheap and then STARTED with a low average price.

But the argument would be,... if I have never entered at all, then I may not have the knowledge and the experience of what to do in this crash, and I would have missed earning on all the dividends prior to the crash throughout all these years. I wuld not have been able to take profit on part of my Parkway LIfe and all of my Netlink NBN Trust holdings.

There was one more action I took during this crash : I took profit on part of my Parkway Life REIT and Mapletree Industrial Trust holdings and profitted on all of my Netlink holdings. Netlink was not a cutloss, sorry,... it was a Take Profit.

Getting ready for UOB eAGM at 2.30 pm this afternoon !
TSHansel
post Jun 5 2020, 02:04 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 5 2020, 02:02 PM)
DBS... looks like it took a breather... poised to rise further... now 22.15.

i'm looking for 24. tongue.gif
I will continue to keep my DBS for the 'willingness to payout dpu' quality of DBS. smile.gif

It's so hard to enter these three banks when times were good,... why sell, bro ?

TSHansel
post Jun 5 2020, 02:22 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 5 2020, 02:08 PM)
to take some partial profit, will keep the rest.

there is still some risk ahead.... better have some spare cash always, just in case...
Ok,... there will always be risks,... it's what counter that we hold that will determine if our investment is resilient.

If the second wave does not trigger another meltdown (for which I doubt it will), then we are approaching the tailend of this crash, or BUY opportunity.
TSHansel
post Jun 5 2020, 02:28 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 5 2020, 02:23 PM)
i have been watching Singtel and Capitaland.

what do u think of them, holding any?
JMHO,...

Singtel is a telco,.. I feel Singtel has stil not found its footing yet. The telco industry is hard to do, it's cutthroat,...

Capitaland is a real estate developer,... fundamentally and structure-wise, it's strong, but I feel it manages its dividend policy quite tightly. I'm a dividend investor most of the time,.. though I may punt a bit here and there.
TSHansel
post Jun 6 2020, 04:27 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 6 2020, 04:00 PM)
better here...
i also think the banks still have some room to go higher.

what do u think of ocbc - compared to uob, dbs?

I.m not too sure, bro,... I intend to buy all three when the conditions are right. I entered the banks late, earlier I've been focussing on REITs and yield stocks everywhere, but NOT the banks,... guessed I missed this one,... sad.gif

I averaged down on DBS from $26 all the way down to $21.50,... and the price has just moved-up beyond 21.50 last two days. I wished I have not bought DBS earlier at preCovid times (average price was $26.00),.. then I would start with $19+ now, going in fresh !

I started fresh with UOB and OCBC, my strategy would be to go in everytime the price dips below my holding price.

A this moment,... I'm watching OCBC closely,.... this bank has just been called to defence in a court of law by an oil-trader,...

TSHansel
post Jun 6 2020, 04:41 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 6 2020, 04:32 PM)
hmm.... that's impt to watch.

perhaps that explains the dip yesterday, unlike the other banks.
Yes bro,...
TSHansel
post Jun 7 2020, 11:32 AM

9,361 posts

Huh ? Bros,.. I thought bro AV was talking abt OCBC only and not the whole STI. I think I saw OCBC dipped on Thursday back to near 0% rise compared to Wednesday close.
TSHansel
post Jun 7 2020, 01:17 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 7 2020, 12:17 PM)
last thu - ocbc, uob, dbs all had dips.

fri - all went green.

can't say the ocbc dip was due to the court case.
Hmm,...my memory tells me all the 3 bank counters closed GREEN on Thursday, because I was waiting for them to dip below my Average Buy prices for me to buy more. But they did not,... OCBC closed at the lowest green percentage,.. it opened high in the morning and climbed,... then dropped back from around late noon. UOB dropped too, but the drop was not as severe as OCBC - and I kept hoping for more drops !!! biggrin.gif

I'm a late-comer to the banks in this Covid19 crash,... I averaged-down my DBS to 21.48 now, and bought-in to UOB and OCBC in a few tranches and achieved holding prices now at 19.71 and 8.50 respectively.

Friday - all banks ran away,... nothing much could be done,...

I spent a large part of Friday watching and scooping up Vicom instead,...
TSHansel
post Jun 7 2020, 01:19 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 7 2020, 12:17 PM)
last thu - ocbc, uob, dbs all had dips.

fri - all went green.

can't say the ocbc dip was due to the court case.
If you look closely,... OCBC is still lagging the other two today,... it's the court case, but the effect is not severe enough to compress the price down into negative territory.

71 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.1684sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:43 AM