SGX Counters, Discussion on Counters in the SGX

TSHansel
post Jul 5 2018, 12:15 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 5 2018, 09:37 AM)
1-2% drop you want to buy?  Wait la at least, 10% drop. Bull market still in tact,  nothing to see.
You're wrong ,... must wait for 50% drop-ma,... look at my postings below :-

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3727515/+3440

If you buy at 10% drop,... then you got no confidence in your conviction of waiting for a PROPER correction,... how can 10% drop only ??? NO face like that already, bro,.... biggrin.gif
TSHansel
post Jul 5 2018, 12:21 PM

9,361 posts

Well,... for myself,...during this period of Trade War,... I'm going for FD only,... I have enough dividends coming in every month to wait,...

And I'm not waiting, perse,... I'm going for FD,...
TSHansel
post Jul 5 2018, 12:28 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 5 2018, 12:20 PM)
Not if company is strong. In correction, good quality stock get sold off as there's panic selling. All panicking like headless chicken. Never thought of that eh? If company is weak, yes expect dividend to be cut!!
50% drop also good buy. 10% is where things start looking interesting. Does the dividend yield = the price drop? If yes, can buy small amount. If not, just wait some more. Again what's the rush?
You put in all your convictions that this company is strong and that company is weak,... then you based your buying patterns on your conviction. You do NOT have enough risk mitigation kungfu. You do not have enough safeguards against a possibility that your conviction of a good or a bad company MIGHT BE WRONG.

Does the dividend yield = the price drop ? - YOU ARE LOOKING AT A LAGGING EFFECT HERE !!!!!!! THIS WAY TO ANALYSE IS WRONG !!!!!!!

Rushing also got got me 60c per unit average price of UMS,... so what do you think ? Rushing is good or not,...

By the way, also many quarters of dpu already,...
TSHansel
post Jul 5 2018, 12:29 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 5 2018, 12:27 PM)
For me, I am unlocking my warchest for anything which may be cheap. That elusive SATS for eg. If it fall to 4.5x, I will grab.
Please continue to wait !
TSHansel
post Jul 5 2018, 12:34 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 5 2018, 09:56 AM)
If price goes up = I will buy at lesser share. Dividends is based in DPU = get lesser dividends.

Eg. By paying SGD1k for the counter,  I can get 6% yield vs SGD1k for same counter at different prices which my yield maybe only 5%, why should I take the cut in 1% dividend when both my modal is the same (SGD1k for the same counter at different ptuce). I might as well wait to get 6% yield.

A very good example would be UMS. Buying  UMS at SGD1.20 vs buying at SGD0.80, dividend received on my modal would be vastly different even though say I put in SGD5k each.
Has it ever occured to you that :-

1) UMS may not drop back to 80c ? If you answer me look what happen today,... then you're NOT an investor.

2) Has it ever occured to you you would have earned dividends too for the shares bought with $1.20 earlier ?

3) Has it ever occured to you that the price may not drop back to 80c, but may rise even higher which will lock you out even further from your 'wait' price ?
TSHansel
post Jul 5 2018, 12:37 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 5 2018, 12:16 PM)

Sorry bro. I have patience which apparently you do not have. biggrin.gif  I don't want to be caught in a severe correction with no money to buy. Better I have money to buy then rather then no money to buy. That's a very sad case.

Slow and steady accumulating my warchest. No discount, tell me why should I buy? Buy because of FOMO? No thank you.
People like me with no patience and hence, a low quality investor also can catch UMS at 60c. YOU must be holding UMS at 50c now ? Are you ?
TSHansel
post Jul 5 2018, 01:00 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 5 2018, 12:20 PM)
Does the dividend yield = the price drop?
QUOTE(Hansel @ Jul 5 2018, 12:28 PM)
Does the dividend yield = the price drop ? - YOU ARE LOOKING AT A LAGGING EFFECT HERE !!!!!!! THIS WAY TO ANALYSE IS WRONG !!!!!!!
By the way, also many quarters of dpu already,...
Just to add,...

The right way to make the above judgement is to predict as accurately as possible the dpu moving forward, and from here, the possible yield that will come from a particular REIT.

In the current period of rising interest rate environment, this skill is especially going to be very important. I'm too struggling over this now,.... blush.gif

TSHansel
post Jul 6 2018, 10:52 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 5 2018, 03:15 PM)
Of course it have occurred to me.
1. Of course but as I said a big big correction will reset all stocks price. So regardless of how high the stock run up, if you have a repeat of 2008, (yes repeat will happen as they didn not solve the problem, they delay it simply by printing money) all stocks gain get wipe out.

2. Yes. But ask your question are you comfortable with the dividend at that price? I am not. So why should I pull the trigger to buy. Again as I said, there's no rush to buy.

3. Yes. But see my answer in (1).
Nope because I did not have account when UMS was at 50c. I had account when UMS was at 90c +. But you do have some FOMO.
You're wrong abt me - I did not buy at all when the price was at 50c. My prices were higher - but what do you think caused me to have such a low average price of 60c now ??

What is FOMO ?
TSHansel
post Jul 6 2018, 10:53 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jul 6 2018, 04:35 PM)
wah.. Great Singapore sale liao..

Anybody shop anything?
Not me,... funds are being put into FD,... biggrin.gif
TSHansel
post Aug 22 2018, 12:35 PM

9,361 posts

“The ability to trade in multiple portfolio currencies will enhance risk management and access to our securities market, which is home to many international issuers and investors,” Chew Sutat, SGX’s executive vice president and head of equities and fixed income, said in the statement.

The SGX is enhancing its capability to give us more convenience to invest in the republic.... Link as below :-

https://shentonwire.net/2018/08/21/sgx-ties..._eid=0a3711f528

Good luck, investors,... thumbsup.gif
TSHansel
post Aug 22 2018, 12:36 PM

9,361 posts

“The ability to trade in multiple portfolio currencies will enhance risk management and access to our securities market, which is home to many international issuers and investors,” Chew Sutat, SGX’s executive vice president and head of equities and fixed income, said in the statement.

The SGX is enhancing its capability to give us more convenience to invest in the republic.... Link as below :-

https://shentonwire.net/2018/08/21/sgx-ties..._eid=0a3711f528

Good luck, investors,... thumbsup.gif
TSHansel
post Sep 13 2018, 01:27 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(donhay @ Sep 13 2018, 11:41 AM)
masuk some FIrst Reit today
thumbsup.gif
TSHansel
post Sep 13 2018, 02:49 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Sep 13 2018, 02:04 PM)
First Reit keep dropping due to weakness in rupiah. I will avoid for the time being.
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 13 2018, 02:38 PM)
You are forgetting first reit income is hedge in SGD  tongue.gif
Hedged in SGD also will require MORE Rupiahs to generate the SGD rental to pay,... this is also not a good thing,...

But FREIT will pull through, hence, this dip is a buying opportunity.
TSHansel
post Oct 15 2018, 01:09 PM

9,361 posts

Hehe,... I noticed my name being mentioned multiple times up there,....
TSHansel
post Oct 15 2018, 01:17 PM

9,361 posts

Back to topic,... emm,... I noticed the Astrea IV PE Bond Fund keeps steady or appreciates in price when the mkt meltdown days took place recently,...

I managed to catch a number of units at 1.00 recently when this bond fund IPO'ed. At 1.00 par price, my yield is at 4.35%, plus capital appreciation too.

Hence, if I have spare SGD, I can buy more of this bond fund,... and though I would be averaging up, my holding price is still low because my IPO price kept 'covering' the higher Buy prices.

Even if I continue to average up my prices here, my yield will still provide me above 4.10% return, paid out twice years, and with no lock-in period like an FD,... I can sell whenever I want,...

Well, that's my plan above for my idling SGDs now,....

The other plan for my idling SGDs now would be to give to my girlfriend,... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Try to impress her a bit to show her that I cared for her,....
TSHansel
post Oct 21 2018, 10:18 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ Oct 18 2018, 07:06 PM)
best alternative ever thumbup.gif

by the way, how to buy Astrea IV PE Bond Fund? via broker as shares/reits?
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif thumbup.gif

You can sell,... don't listen to Ramjade,.. look at the volume everyday, and buy within limits of the volume,....
TSHansel
post Oct 21 2018, 10:22 PM

9,361 posts

If you can't sell at the highest price competing with the front=end sellers, sell at a lower price and move up. So long as your price is low enough,you can still make money.

And secondly,... we are using this way to park money and earn a higher coupon rate while waiting to deploy the funds. The redemption date is very far away. Before the date arrives. I estimate we would have a turning point already in the current mkt,...
TSHansel
post Oct 25 2018, 09:17 AM

9,361 posts

Sold Keppel Corp at 6.11 this morning. Need to let go already. Last night, in The US :-

1) The DJIA and the S&P500 LOST ALL THEIR GAINS FOR 2018.

2) The NASDAQ in declared to be in Correction Territory.
TSHansel
post Oct 25 2018, 10:44 AM

9,361 posts

This morning,.....

YOUR PHILLIP SUMMARY

U.S. stocks plummeted Wednesday, with the Nasdaq falling the most since 2011. Treasuries rallied for a second day on demand for haven assets. The S&P extended its October rout to 8.8 percent, making it the worst month since February 2009. The Dow tumbled 600 points, and the Nasdaq Composite Index lapsed into a correction.

The yield on the benchmark 10-year Treasury note fell to 3.117 percent, while the yield on the 30-year Treasury bond was lower at 3.336 percent. Worries about a slowing economy under pressure from rising interest rates grew after the Commerce Department said new home sales fell to a two-year low. The data also hit homebuilder stocks.
TSHansel
post Oct 25 2018, 11:55 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Oct 25 2018, 10:47 AM)
Is it ok for enter UMS at 0.65? For medium term and for divy?
For myself,... if I do not have UMS in-hand now, then YES, if willing to hold long term. But if, say,... like me, my holding price is around 0.60, and it has already constituted a large part of my portfolio, then I can't enter anymore.

Just an opinion,... be careful,...

71 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:50 PM