> Military Thread V18

BorneoAlliance
post Dec 7 2015, 08:27 PM

'I Still Can’t See Him!’

During the war with Iraq, reportedly more than 160 Iraqi jets fell prey to the F-14 and its deadly arsenal of Hughes AIM-54A Phoenix long-range air-to-air missiles.

In my new book Air Combat Memoirs of the Iranian Air Force Pilots, I compile first-hand accounts of some of these engagements. We’ve reprinted one story here — that of F-14 radar intercept officer Capt. Parviz Moradi.
Most of the time our combat air patrols were done within the distinct shapes of parallel triangles. The base of the triangle was towards our own soil, while the two other arms of the triangle faced the enemy territory. This tactic would give us a better radar sweep and plenty of time to detect incoming enemy aircraft.
Since we knew Iraqi SIGINT/ELINT posts were listening in on our conversation with ground radar controllers, I decided to hatch a plot to deceive the next Iraqi fighter. Through the intercom, I told Maj. Aslani of my plan. “Sir, I have a plan. We are going to ignore our radar controllers’ warnings and we are going to delay our eventual turn toward the enemy fighter as long as possible in order to draw them further inland. Also, I request to be doing all the talking with radar controllers from now on.”
The radar controller’s warnings were also helpful. His continuous warnings gave us the possible location of this specific intruder that by now had come far inland in the hopes of hunting us. Moments later while maintaining our radio silence, I mic’d to Maj. Aslani. “Now!” And he immediately went to afterburner, turned towards the enemy jet and started an aerial duel. Even though, I now could see the Iraqi jet, I declared on radio so all sides could hear it. “I can’t see the bandit. Where is it?”
My plan worked. Apparently the Iraqi side thinking we really couldn’t see him came closer and was now in our trap. He must have thought we had a radar malfunction or were complete idiots. But it was too late. I had been able to run [track while scan radar mode] on him. He had no chance. I did a quick radar lock and my pilot Maj. Aslani launched it. At the same time, ground radar was screaming at us to disengage and run back.

Our missile hit the Iraqi fighter head on as I shouted in the radio. “Enemy target destroyed. Long live Iran!” There was dead silence on the radio for a minute then we could hear the ground radar controllers breaking in cheers and clapping, which meant they were confirming our kill as well. It was crazy.

http://warisboring.com/articles/i-still-cant-see-him/
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 7 2015, 08:38 PM

Poll: Most Americans Say Send Ground Troops to Fight ISIS

For the first time in CNN/ORC polling, a majority of Americans (53%) say the U.S. should send ground troops to Iraq or Syria to fight ISIS. At the same time, 6-in-10 disapprove of the President's handling of terrorism and 68% say America's military response to the terrorist group thus far has not been aggressive enough.

CNN/ORC Poll conducted says 53% of Americans say the U.S. should send ground troops to Iraq or Syria to fight ISIS, Dec. 6 2015

Overall, 60% say the U.S. military action against ISIS forces in Iraq and Syria is going badly, that's actually an

http://edition.cnn.com/2015/12/06/politics/isis-obama-poll/
BorneoAlliance
post Dec 7 2015, 08:48 PM

The Pentagon's Flying Decoy Super Weapon Is About To Get Much Deadlier

Once launched, the AGM-160A's wings would pop out and its turbojet engine would ignite. It would then autonomously fly a pre-planned route and mimic a specific radar signature via is Signature Augmentation System (SAS). The SAS could accurately replicate radar signatures ranging from a lumbering B-52 Stratofortress to a stealthy F-117 nighthawk.
Another way the basic MALD concept could be used is by having a B-52 or even a C-17 load of MALDs fly low, towards an enemy's strategic stronghold, to the north of a threatening cluster of enemy SAM sites, mimicking low-flying F-15Es radar signature. This distraction would allow for a formation of stealthy, high-flying, super-cruising F-22s to streak by to the south of said SAM site unmolested, on their way to targets deep inside enemy territory.
A swarm of MALD-Js, even paired with standard MALDs, could overwhelm, confuse and blind a whole series of air defense installations along a certain route and during a certain period of time, thus allowing for attack assets to safely traverse the threat area on the way to their targets. Additionally, MALD and MALD-J are seen as key capabilities that will keep non-stealthy strike aircraft, like the F-15E and Super Hornet, effective well into the future, even against an advanced enemy.
This capability to dynamically control MALD-J in real-time from the cockpit of a combat aircraft will impact the Suppression of Enemy Air Defenses (SEAD) and Destruction of Enemy Air Defenses (DEAD) missions more than any other. Now, a F-16CJ can direct a MALD-J to toy with a enemy SAM site as they sling Small Diameter Bombs and Wind Corrected Munitions Dispensers at said SAM site from a different vector.

A ghost formation of A-10s here, jamming a tracking radar there, the MALD-J is a Wild Weasel's dream.
A networked MALD-J also brings America's air combat forces into the realm of unmanned aircraft 'tethering.' This is where an unmanned aircraft works as a facilitator for a manned aircraft while under direct control from that manned aircraft. Whether it be flying more weapons into the fight and acting as an 'arsenal ship,' dynamically attacking targets as directed or even by providing remote sensor information from a different location, this concept will bridge the gap between unmanned combat aircraft autonomy and the 'man in the loop' dominated unmanned systems we use today. This concept is currently being integrated into the AH-64E Apache fleet and was one of the main arguments for retiring the OH-58D Kiowa Warrior armed scout helicopter force.

http://foxtrotalpha.jalopnik.com/the-penta...-get-1669729445
SUSKLboy92
post Dec 7 2015, 09:03 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Dec 7 2015, 08:26 PM)
Essentially they can go where tanks can go. Although it looks bulky, Paladin SPH are far lighter than most MBTs, at around 25 tons (PT-91 weigh in at 45 tons) and have lower ground pressure.

As a rule of thumb tracked vehicles fare better in offroad situations than wheeled ones and make better all-round combat vehicles.
Yeah I get that, it was the dimensions I was thinking of, but its the same as Twardy anyhow...

Instead of getting MBTs which are assault units I would've thought a fleet of wheeled and tracked IFVs would be better for our purely defensive purposes. Not that we have a lot of armour in truth...

PT-91 is 45 tons? Thats not awe-inspiring, looking at the 65+ of M1A2...
MilitaryMadness
post Dec 7 2015, 09:08 PM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Dec 7 2015, 09:03 PM)
The difference in size between M1 Abrams and T-72 makes it obvious M1 will be far heavier. M1 probably around 1/4 bigger than T-72.

DDG_Ross
post Dec 7 2015, 09:12 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Dec 7 2015, 09:03 PM)
heavy class not suitable for msian soil as most infras in msia cant barely even support mc50 class vehicle (over 50 tons), one of the reason the requirement for the below 50 tons mbt of the pendekar

This post has been edited by DDG_Ross: Dec 7 2015, 09:12 PM
thpace
post Dec 7 2015, 09:26 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Dec 7 2015, 08:26 PM)
Essentially they can go where tanks can go. Although it looks bulky, Paladin SPH are far lighter than most MBTs, at around 25 tons (PT-91 weigh in at 45 tons) and have lower ground pressure.

As a rule of thumb tracked vehicles fare better in offroad situations than wheeled ones and make better all-round combat vehicles.
the tracked is preference for the formation of our armoured brigade

our army is still very much conventional, tank for support, sph will be back support and must be able to keep up with the tank regardless of the ground terrain. the personal carrier is wheeled because they need to fast to deploy upon successful assault
azriel
post Dec 7 2015, 09:28 PM

QUOTE(KLboy92 @ Dec 7 2015, 05:40 PM)
azrielNice pics. I think we should get Caesar rather than those Paladins, I know its not under armour but how capable is the Paladin of crossing our roads, fields and plantations?
According to Wiki the M109 weight is around 27.5 tons so I guess it is ok.

Anyway iinm the Indonesian Army decision to buy the Caesar 155mm SPH was that it can fit inside a C-130 Hercules.

This post has been edited by azriel: Dec 7 2015, 09:30 PM
thpace
post Dec 7 2015, 09:29 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

S400 Deployment

yinchet
post Dec 7 2015, 09:30 PM

If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Dec 7 2015, 09:26 PM)
the tracked is preference for the formation of our armoured brigade

our army is still very much conventional, tank for support, sph will be back support and must be able to keep up with the tank regardless of the ground terrain. the personal carrier is wheeled because they need to fast to deploy upon successful assault
We are missing attack heli to support our armoured brigade.

yinchet
post Dec 7 2015, 09:34 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Dec 7 2015, 09:29 PM)
S400 Deployment

Pantsir hiding there. biggrin.gif
thpace
post Dec 7 2015, 09:38 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Dec 7 2015, 09:30 PM)
that the issues.. all come in one but all we have is the bits and pieces

MRSS suppose to enable fast deployment of force but also tak ada

SPH suppose to support tank but 10years until now tak ada

MRCA suppose to enable better ground attack and the mkm will solely focus in air to air combat but also tak ada

Medium air defense to support advancing force.. but until now still with manpads. Starstreak is still a point defence system

attack helo.. aiyo... kesian also tak ada

azriel
post Dec 7 2015, 09:38 PM

QUOTE(yinchet @ Dec 7 2015, 09:30 PM)
Malaysia just signed contract for 6 MD-530G Little Bird.
thpace
post Dec 7 2015, 09:40 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Dec 7 2015, 09:34 PM)
Pantsir hiding there. biggrin.gif
they already have a layered defence placed there.. making any SEED operation super hard

now they only need eyes in the sky and that would complete their air defense system.. sadly the US have a better system in this section (E3) compared to the russian (A50)
azriel
post Dec 7 2015, 09:41 PM

QUOTE(thpace @ Dec 7 2015, 09:38 PM)

MRCA suppose to enable better ground attack and the mkm will solely focus in air to air combat but also tak ada

Medium air defense to support advancing force.. but until now still with manpads. Starstreak is still a point defence system

A reply from Marhalim regarding the Malaysia AH programme from his article.

Hope that procurement of attack heli like Tiger will be finalized in the next 5 years..

The AH programme is now dead in the water with the Little Bird contract

IReallyNeed Answers
post Dec 7 2015, 09:42 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Dec 7 2015, 09:38 PM)
Can be consider as attack heli meh?

At best light attack heli, but should just be light scout heli right?
DDG_Ross
post Dec 7 2015, 09:44 PM

27 posts

the little bird is only a light attack heli, its good for unconventional warfare but it wont survive long in conventional warfare
yinchet
post Dec 7 2015, 09:44 PM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Dec 7 2015, 09:38 PM)

Dun expect much from pussy politician lack of political will.
Worse another camp wanna cut military budget.
I guess when shot hit their backyard cause them to wet their pants only they understand we need to beef up of military and security

Not considered as an attack heli in my dictionary. biggrin.gif
thpace
post Dec 7 2015, 09:46 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Dec 7 2015, 09:41 PM)
A reply from Marhalim regarding the Malaysia AH programme from his article.
no suprise

budget cut is otw. What malaysia lack is the political will to spend more on defense
QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Dec 7 2015, 09:42 PM)
Can be consider as attack heli meh?

At best light attack heli, but should just be light scout heli right?
most likely to be used with special force only

6 biji.. considering operation senario.. most 3 will operational while the rest on standby before switching
thpace
post Dec 7 2015, 09:48 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Dec 7 2015, 09:44 PM)
Dun expect much from pussy politician lack of political will.
Worse another camp wanna cut military budget.
I guess when shot hit their backyard cause them to wet their pants only they understand we need to beef up of military and security
Not considered as an attack heli in my dictionary. biggrin.gif
The lahad datu incident also the same. Being poke also like no effect on the political

they more trigger happy on opposition having dinner with kiram daugther than to beef up security

even the recent beheading have little or no impact doh.gif

and best they epeect the armed forces to perform 110% with all those bits a pieces doh.gif

120 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0312sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:27 AM