Taobao Global Direct Shipping - experiences?, The good and the bad

lyc1982
post Nov 26 2017, 05:00 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Nov 26 2017, 04:53 PM)
anyone here knows hw they calculate shipping charges?

my item  55.42kg -->374.36yuan
B.30.0kg-60.0kg;  每 kg: ¥5.5
shouldnt it be 55.42kg = 304.81yuan
1-30kg = xx/kg (whatever is stated to your location)
55.42-30kg = 25.42kg
25.42 is rounded up to 26kg...hence 26kg x 5.5yuan for 30-60kg

looking at it...it's cheaper by half compared to my location EM

sad.gif
lyc1982
post Nov 27 2017, 01:52 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(yosheng @ Nov 26 2017, 10:54 PM)
if not mistaken , you still need to pay on the item gst .
yeap...you are correcto !

6% tax will be imposed on the item's price, excluding shipping charges

so you need to calculate sea freight vs air freight...sometimes air freight cheaper
lyc1982
post Nov 29 2017, 10:04 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(zeronas @ Nov 28 2017, 11:25 PM)
Guys, i wanna ask can i buy pc component like cpu processor and motherboard since some people r saying them sensitive item/product, can i buy them? And how much shipping fee if I can?
of course you can buy them...but not via taobao official shipping agents...

need to use 3rd party shipping agent such as ezbuy, and the cost will be higher
lyc1982
post Nov 30 2017, 08:53 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(bergstein @ Nov 29 2017, 10:52 PM)
CPU only but together with other computer stuff too.

I googled a bit and seems some third party agent claims any item with electronic chipset already considered sensitive.
But in my experience, I've bought quite many items with electronic chipset,
let me share my experiences (I only listed down those has electronic chipset):
1st time: surface pro keyboard (type cover), laptop keyboard (spare part), usb hub (with ethernet port), 2cm micro fan (I saw an agent website said fan is sensitive)
2nd time: bluetooth dongles, bluetooth keyboard (I'm surprised this passed because it contains battery actually), RJ45 tester, mini-dp converter
3rd time: processor, DP converter, tons of lighting cable
4th time: usb converter, car charger, hdmi converter, card reader

and I think there's one more time in between but somehow I can't find the history of that.

All of them I just bought like normal, nothing special operation.
I just follow one guideline, don't buy anything that contains battery (or ask the seller remove it if possible).

And if you use official shipping agent, if agent really think your item is sensitive item, they won't ship it (you have to return item and refund).

Price you have to refer to official shipping agent price (usually 1st kg around ~RMB23)

Then again maybe I was just really lucky??  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
any experience buying and shipping smartphones via official shipping agents ?
lyc1982
post Nov 30 2017, 03:54 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Nov 30 2017, 02:40 PM)
any ideas what will be my cheapest option for an items less than 5kg?

i chose DEX (sea shipping) and was charged Rm40+ for 2 items and when i asked DEX they mentioned that i will have to pay for the warehouse rental for sea shipping
never heard of the warehouse rental though under sea freight...
assuming your total parcel is 4kg...while sea freight is 15yuan/kg

that translates into 4kg x 15 = 60yuan (~rm40)
lyc1982
post Dec 1 2017, 11:12 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Nov 30 2017, 11:03 PM)
Good thing got cheaper option like flexipost international to send back to china if got issues

Btw, is dex still closing their air shipping? Only sea shipping on consolidate option
QUOTE(mafiq @ Dec 1 2017, 10:52 AM)
hello, did anyone notice air freight dex abx is no more on the consolidation list?
same here too...

maybe they are restructuring ?
lyc1982
post Dec 2 2017, 10:06 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(lancelyod @ Dec 1 2017, 03:44 PM)
My colleague's experience, she bought something from Taobao, they used ABX for deliver the items.
The deliver guy sent the item to wrong place, fake the signature of acceptance of goods and simply throw the items (the items packed in a box with fragile label)
My colleague filed complaint to them and no feedback, end up email to the branch manager. Guess what? The replied email was written in broken English(worse than Google translate). At the end, no compensation was given, my colleague said won't purchase anything from Taobao unless use other courier service than ABX Express.
QUOTE(alucard89 @ Dec 1 2017, 10:38 PM)
Been using their service for a while and i prefer them because abx is nearby if i need to pick up the parcel

What about the other consolidate?
Even zto is a bit slow now or still the 11/11 aftermath
i chose abx because is nearby my location...so far so good

lyc1982
post Dec 7 2017, 08:48 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(leetan33 @ Dec 7 2017, 07:53 PM)
I finally received my parcel after placing the order 11.11. All the goods are in good condition with no missing item.
which shipping agent ?
lyc1982
post Dec 12 2017, 11:57 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(MsPopcorn @ Dec 12 2017, 11:53 PM)
nice...finally ezbuy got banned  rclxms.gif

a good move when we are moving towards DFTZ

there's few 3rd party companies in msia gonna face the same too  rclxm9.gif
was about to subscribe for it’s Prime shipping until i read the news...
lyc1982
post Dec 19 2017, 10:32 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(marcus_bread @ Dec 19 2017, 09:34 AM)
shipping is really depend on luck.
some say this good but other said bad.
so i usually choice the cheap one. haha...
so far so good. touch wood....
same here...

i won't advice others to avoid any particular shipping agent as again it depends on luck also
lyc1982
post Jan 28 2018, 03:03 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(kento @ Jan 28 2018, 09:35 AM)
if u all want better experience with tbao, need to upgrade ur method using tbao chat with seller@shipping agent. Most of the time will prevent any mistake/incident
in other words...need to have good command in mandarin
lyc1982
post Feb 25 2018, 03:59 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(ky91 @ Feb 23 2018, 08:13 PM)
If using sea shipping, 6% GST would be imposed on the item you've purchased, and the tax amount is based on the value of your item before adding the shipping fees , it would be collected during consolidation payment,  i bought about 7.5 kilos of rack & pot actually for 100++, one of them is redeemed by point's, both of them not sensitive item so it less likely to get into trouble passing through custom.
you are correct
lyc1982
post Mar 8 2018, 02:44 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(Afiffar @ Mar 8 2018, 12:08 PM)
Hi sifuus

For TaoBao sea shipping of bulky item, will the item be charge with volumetric weight?
volumetric vs actual weight whichever is higher...
lyc1982
post Mar 12 2018, 11:15 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Mar 11 2018, 07:01 PM)
Becareful especially if you buy bulky stuffs like this.
This item usually have several packages when seller ship out the product.
If you choose Taobao sea shipment, the system can only record one tracking number.
If seller ship out several packages using different tracking number, the other packages will not be tracked, and hence they will "lost".

To estimate the shipping fee, you have to know both the weight and the dimension of all the packages.
Since they use volumetric weight, and will take whichever is heavier.

Since this item will ship out in several packages, the total weight will be added up from all the packages.
With this, it is hard to estimate the shipping fee.
But best is to ask the seller about the dimensions and also the weight of the item.

If I am you, I will engage third party forwarder to help me handle this kind of bulky purchase.
Last time this third party forwarder EZbuy has RM 8.80 international shipping fee for PRIME membership, regardless how big or heavy your total items are.
I utilized their trial PRIME membership to ship coffee table from Taobao, saved me almost RM200 of shipping fee.
I am not sure EZbuy still has this offer now, you may check other 3d party forwarder if they have similar thing.
i thought ezbuy already gg in terms of china shipping due to logistics issue ?
lyc1982
post Mar 14 2018, 01:57 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(Nub! @ Mar 13 2018, 10:19 PM)
My friend just told me next time use 4px instead of lazada. They do air shipping
lazada also do air shipping....

only abx do both air and sea shipping
lyc1982
post Mar 14 2018, 02:19 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(Nub! @ Mar 14 2018, 02:10 PM)
Lazada doesn't do air anymore. Their customer service told me they stop air ship from Dec of 2017.
that's odd...i ordered stuff in jan 2018...delivered via lazada air shiping by feb 2018
lyc1982
post Mar 16 2018, 03:40 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(biotin @ Mar 16 2018, 02:23 PM)
Hi Guys ,
First time buying from Taobao , I have 2 options Lazada sea freight and seller direct ship ... i selected Lazada sea freight option .

How long does it take with lazada sea freight  from CN to MY ?

Can I still cancel/modify the order to update the shipping method to direct ship by seller ?

minimum 1 month

and you can't cancel/amend since the item will be passed to different warehouses
lyc1982
post Mar 18 2018, 06:28 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(biotin @ Mar 18 2018, 08:11 AM)
I've managed to ask the seller to cancel the order and i re order using direct ship by seller.

Pheww.. thanks to google translate ..

Now waiting for them to ship. But i felt weird, i asked them if they able to lower down the custom value in the invoice , he said no invoice. LOL
oh the item hasn’t been shipped to warehouse yet then can lah
lyc1982
post Mar 29 2018, 10:47 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(dr0olingb0at @ Mar 29 2018, 10:12 AM)
Hey guys, I tried sea freight using TB consolidator the other day. The weight they estimated for me was almost double of the weight the whole package actually was (I have a heavy duty weighing scale). My sister also kena the same.

It's done on purpose? Or is there a reasoning behind?

So the lesson is: don't bother sea freight if you think it's going to be expensive using air. When they double your weight, the price is the same. Use third party for sea shipment.
3rd party will also charged based on volumetric weight...
lyc1982
post Apr 4 2018, 09:18 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(dr0olingb0at @ Apr 3 2018, 11:03 PM)
Well i don't know then. I paid for the "weight" they weighed on, i.e. 6kg but my parcel was only 3kg. And that parcel isn't so big it has to be volumetric. 3rd party was OK with small parcels like such though. Maybe I wasn't informed enough. I thought for small parcel not exceeding certain size I'll be charged on the real weight.
every shipping company works on 1 basis:

shipping fee will be charged on whichever is higher - actual or volumetric regardless of the size

This post has been edited by lyc1982: Apr 4 2018, 12:13 PM

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0273sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:14 PM