USD/MYR drop, V2

AVFAN
post Sep 24 2015, 10:19 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 24 2015, 10:09 AM)
I do care IBs or stock brokers are right or wrong.
i used to care about what they say but no more.

local ib's, bankers in general, developers... all of them are eternal optimists w/o much objectivity and always "afraid" of telling bad news until it is full blown.

can't blame them for wanting to avoid a fate like that of the edge.
AVFAN
post Sep 24 2015, 10:39 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Sep 24 2015, 10:27 AM)
I wonder how we ourselves can track this.
not sure what u mean...

today is public holiday, rm not traded directly, no bnm figures.

but credit swaps and fx forward contracts continue. u can see what's going on right now:

http://www.xe.com/currencycharts/?from=USD&to=MYR
http://www.bloomberg.com/quote/USDMYR:CUR

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 24 2015, 10:09 AM)
BTW, what do you think of RM by this year end ? Just curious to know
i stopped putting a number to it.

like i said many times, as long as commodities prices stay low, usual gomen carefree spending, more bijan chronicles, putrajaya/bnm do nothing about int rates, it will just keep going in same direction. yes, for me, it's that simple. tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 24 2015, 10:47 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 24 2015, 10:41 AM)
I have a few IBs previously. Now I stick to 2. 1 in Malaysia and 1 in Singapore. This 2 bankers give me very good advice. They are not always optimistic. Sometimes, they ask me to do nothing. Although doing nothing will affect their business

I get weekly updates on major forex from them. Sometimes optimistic, sometimes perssimistic. I act on their advice and they are right more than they are wrong. So I trust them so far.
local reports - telling bad news may be seen by the powerful ones as act of saboatge, so i will not even read them. tongue.gif

given so much going on with usa fed, china economy, emerging markets fall, etc., i look for early hints from int'l reports.
AVFAN
post Sep 24 2015, 10:50 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Sep 24 2015, 10:47 AM)
I wonder how to calculate implied sovereign ratings based on credit-default-swaps and actual sovereign ratings.
this one, we don't know the details.

bankers/economists/rating agencies surely have their way of using models, possibly many models.

these are big orgs, brainy people with high pay, highly influential.

surely not hlib standard. laugh.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 24 2015, 11:11 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 24 2015, 11:02 AM)
While the professionals like IBs with much higher reputation is not afraid to do that in the open

I guess this is all about personal ego as big as a watermelon  tongue.gif
touched 4.40.

hlib needs to buy moody's model to do a better job. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 24 2015, 11:03 AM)
Fair enough. How do you make a decision when to invest. Curious to know...
no, i don't do fx trading.

i just hold whatever fx i hav, do sgreits, some small time crude trading.
i smell major fall in dow before year end. tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 24 2015, 04:20 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 24 2015, 03:47 PM)
Having said that, I think SGD will still be better than RM even for short term.
one possibility...

sgd will take over old usd rate... 3.30, then 4.00, 4.40.

ok, give it 5 years. tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 24 2015, 04:34 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 24 2015, 04:29 PM)
At least you give a time frame like a man with balls  tongue.gif
ok, i give more time sensitive detailed calc:

int rate parity => msia int rate need to be 7.3% against sgd's near zero to stay at current 3.1.

1.073@5 yrs, compound = 1.422; x today's 3.1=4.40.

just for brain exercise but maybe it just might come out that way, ya? tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 24 2015, 05:09 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 24 2015, 04:58 PM)
I hope we will not face SGD 4.40 in 5 years time...
in 5 yrs, i see best case will probably be 3.5, worst case 4.4.

here, not many things change over 5 years.

here, many things when they come down, they stay down or go down further.
AVFAN
post Sep 24 2015, 08:28 PM

24,454 posts

how low will the rm go?

how will it affect the rest of the economy?

why doing nothing will be a bad idea?

a clue may lie here - study brazil closely.

msia's situation is not all that different from brazil, imo.

good read:

The Anatomy of Brazil's Financial Meltdown
http://www.bloombergview.com/articles/2015...ancial-meltdown

Brazil desperately needs a circuit breaker to eliminate the mounting threat of cascading negative outcomes. The best way to achieve this would be a series of official decisions, designed by the government and passed by the legislature, that restore the country's growth dynamic, contain its fiscal deterioration and reverse mounting inflationary pressures.
For those who closely follow Brazil, and wish it to live up to its considerable economic potential, this moment evokes both hope and anxiety. The hope is based on the knowledge that, with improved governance, it wouldn't take much to turn this promising economy around. The anxiety is that the country's political class again may fall short in properly serving citizens, risking misery for the most vulnerable segments of the population.
This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 24 2015, 08:29 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 25 2015, 09:54 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 25 2015, 07:03 AM)
At the rate MYR is going, I think the govt should implement Capital Control. Currently many biz are affected, esp those who buy in USD and pay in credit, currency exchange loss would have kill the biz if it continues. The 1998 capital control turned out well, didn't it?
they have promised to the world the won't do that.
if they do that again, the little confidence left now will go to zero.

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 25 2015, 07:55 AM)
May be it is time to call all GLC n Malaysian abroad to do a National Service and to sell their foreign assets n repatriate back to Malaysia (~rm1 trillion). tongue.gif
these glc's more likely have been sending and keeping money abroad like 1mdb.

let it be free float, free fall, free rise to reveal and reflect all true strengths and weaknesses of the rm - fundamentals, governance, future outlook, investor confidence, etc. gomen have been claiming "strong fundamentals", now is right time to prove it, be it 4.0, 5.0 or 6.0!
AVFAN
post Sep 25 2015, 10:18 AM

24,454 posts

msia is now world famous.

int'l articles everyday.

new one:

Does Malaysia’s ringgit face 1997 all over again?
http://www.cnbc.com/2015/09/24/malaysian-r...1mdb-najib.html

The sell-off in the Malaysian ringgit, already among the world's worst performing currencies, may run further amid a toxic mix of shaky economic fundamentals and the spreading of what is being called the country's worst-ever political crisis.
"The ringgit depreciation has not strengthened exports or improved the trade balance at all," he said, adding he also expects foreign investors will begin unwinding their holdings of Malaysian government bonds once the Federal Reserve begins increasing interest rates, expected later this year. Foreign investors currently own 47 percent of Malaysia's rinngit-denominated debt that is currently outstanding.
HSBC doesn't believe the ringgit has reached its worst-case scenario yet. The bank is concerned that prices of palm oil, which accounts for around 8 percent of Malaysia's exports, are falling. Palm oil sales are denominated in ringgit, meaning a weaker ringgit doesn't improve the country's trade figures.

The weaker ringgit may already be boosting inflation in the country. Credit Suisse noted August inflation came in at 3.1 percent on-year, above its forecast for 2.8 percent, largely due to higher food prices as the weaker currency affected import prices. The bank expects the U.S. dollar will be fetching 4.50 ringgit in three months

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 25 2015, 10:24 AM
AVFAN
post Sep 25 2015, 11:02 PM

24,454 posts

the carnage for em currencies continue.

are the central banks of the worst hit countries doing anything?

yes - hike int rates, "increase onshore supply of dollars" (i wonder what that means??) and threat to use reserves to intervene. no one toyed with pegging so far.

To stem the slide, Brazil's central bank on Thursday warned it would use its foreign exchange reserves to defend the currency. These strong words bought some respite to the real, which bounced more than 5 percent and off a record low of about 4.248 per dollar hit earlier on Thursday.

Brazil isn't the only country bank taking action to shore up a battered currency. Indonesia's central bank on Friday said it will announce new steps to increase onshore supply of dollars – part of a move to support the rupiah, which has shed about 20 percent of its value this year.

Federal Reserve Board Chairwoman Janet Yellen speaks during a news conference December 17, 2014 at the headquarters of Federal Reserve Board of Governors in Washington, DC.

"What happened yesterday was that we had a classic central bank warning from Brazil which is similar to rate hikes in Turkey in 2014 and a rate rise in Russia late last year amid a ruble crisis," Piotr Matys, emerging market currency strategist at Rabobank, said.

http://www.cnbc.com/2015/09/25/its-carnage...ng-markets.html

AVFAN
post Sep 26 2015, 02:53 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 26 2015, 01:41 AM)
At the rate myr is depreciating, rate hike is almost a certainty. The question is how much is needed to stabilize the myr? 300 to 500 basis point?
at least 300bp to have any meaningful impact under current conditions.

but that will surely strangle the economy, will take it to recession.

when zeti said, "Everyone has to adjust. Individuals need to learn how to conserve and economise", i think she is telling people to accept the rm depr, will not go away so easily, purchasing power reduced, get thrifty.

even if bnm hike rates, it will be small steps, 25bp, maybe 2-3 times.

so, i don't see how the rm can return to 4.0 or better anytime soon.

more likely a scenario of "do nothing" while the slide continues.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 26 2015, 03:32 AM
AVFAN
post Sep 26 2015, 03:40 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 26 2015, 03:30 PM)
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...ays-kadir-jasin

If what it says is true, then RM may have perpetual "potential" to go further...

Remember when RM hit RM3.80 many people think it would be the limit ? They waited and thinking "everything will be fine" but eventually RM fell further.

Same scenario again now. Is RM4.40 now be the new limit and "everything will be fine" again ?
that article, while being sarcastic or satirical, does point to the highest possibility outcome.

one can sing, shout and thump chests, whatever...

the rm has only one direction to go, at least for the foreseeable future.

we are at what we are with some headwind.

imagine what it will be if a global hurricane hits.
AVFAN
post Sep 27 2015, 10:44 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 26 2015, 08:48 PM)
If you believe that, then, your only possible conclusion is Malaysia's economy is heading toward a crash.  The only question left is whether Malaysia's economy can recover from the crash without Extra Oil Money??  And, how long will it takes??  3 years, 5 years, 10 years, 20 years, 30 years...  For most people, 20 years or longer = never. 
to me, it crashed a year ago. but... crash means diff things to diff people.

to me, it is a culmination of things we have been saying for the last few years - high debt, low productivity, wastage, free-flow songlap and support for less than straight leaders.

there surely is a price to be paid. it is simply not possible to have all that yet no consequence. if that can be sustained, nobody on the planet needs to work - just borrow, songlap and feast everyday.

the impt thing is what comes next - 1, 2, 3 yrs... beyond that, hard to tell becos our politics are now completely driving the economics - that can take a turn for the better or worse alto i see the latter with much higher probability.

what is potentially tragic is some of the prolonged structural weaknesses may now be taking hold permanently and may become very difficult to reverse.

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 27 2015, 09:37 AM)
On hindsight, we see very clearly we should put our capital in US$ denominated investment now. But just a few year ago when USA experienced sub prime crisis, one will be dead wrong. USA decline from 3.8 to 2.8. How many % was that ?

on hindsight, one should be terrified by reading and listening to those who were spouting "will never cross 3.70", "with fat reseveres, will surely return to 3.30", "grossly undervalued", etc.

value of a currency, like respect, cannot be demanded. it is earned and given by others. unless u close yr doors to the rest of the world, diy 100% like in cavemen days.

world bank and others have warned putrajaya many times over the years - high debt, over reliance on commodities/low end manufacturing/cheap foreign labor, income disparity, middle income trap, governance. they warned there will be little room to move in a crisis. and here we are.

the individual can only do so much, but doing something is better than doing nothing. becos the higher powers are already doing nothing.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 27 2015, 11:14 AM
AVFAN
post Sep 27 2015, 02:10 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 27 2015, 01:03 PM)
I am sure many would think now it may be too late as RM has depreciated so much. However, the scenario now is it could still go both ways. Continue to depreciate, or reach its limit and appreciate. Frankly nobody can tell. But I agree on the quoted bolded part above. There must be some structural transformation to our political scene for real improvement. Otherwise, I think RM would depreciate further
right, just don't read hlib comments only.

read others, incl this one: tongue.gif

"The ringgit weakness is only helping to cushion the negative shock, rather than reviving exports and growth. There is no 'J' (curve) so far, only a flat 'U'. More risks lie ahead. The Fed's tightening cycle will likely lead to further unwinding of the high foreign ownership holdings (of about 47%) of Malaysian government bonds.

"We also cannot see a quick resolution or the end-game of the current 1MDB crisis. BNM governor Zeti's retirement in April next year is also a risk, given that the next Governor may fall short on meeting market expectations for upholding BNM's credibility and independence," said Chua.
http://www.thesundaily.my/news/1562158

AVFAN
post Sep 27 2015, 07:50 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 27 2015, 04:10 PM)
Went to a talk by FSM, d FSM guy said MYR fair value btw 3.8 to 4.3 so based your investment on that, d Aberdeen guy said some in their circle think MYR can fall to 5 if political situation doesn't improve. rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
just curious...

.. the fsm guy - did he describe what it will take to get back to 3.80?

.. anyone speculated it might even go to 6.0 and under what conditions?
AVFAN
post Sep 28 2015, 02:19 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 28 2015, 11:28 AM)
i am sending my daughter ti Melbourne early next year.
Proposed studies for 6 years in Architecture.

Just for discussion:

Where do you see the AUD: MYR at

a) next year

b) 2 years out

c) After that

??
a) next 1 year - little change.

b) 2 years out - start gain against rm, maybe 1-2%.

c) After that - continue to gain mildly against rm.

i say that based on commodities incl crude and iron oil not going anywhere for the next 2-3 years.

also, the continued low confidence and unchangeable politics in msia in the same period.

lastly, oz has cut int rate twice, will look to raise rates when it permits.

AVFAN
post Sep 28 2015, 02:57 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 28 2015, 02:48 PM)
Don't think so, what I gathered from the talk it is  better to invest in battered assets than toppish one like US. Recommended markets China, EM, BRIC & Japan but not Euro & US.
ok, thanks.

of those recommended, i am surely looking for a good entry point in china equities.

but not yet, china poor biz news still coming out.

rest of em, not so keen.
AVFAN
post Sep 28 2015, 06:49 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 28 2015, 05:46 PM)
1.00 USD  =  4.42 MYR

1.00 SGD  =  3.10 MYR

1.00 GBP  =  6.74 MYR
you did not photoshoppe these numbers? tongue.gif

18 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top