USD/MYR drop, V2

Showtime747
post Sep 19 2015, 11:28 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 19 2015, 06:44 PM)
let's recap...! biggrin.gif

the usd strengthening or rm weakening started about a year ago, sometime in oct 2014 when rate was about 3.30.

on 6 jan 2015, a thread emerged on the subject:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3461956

that day, rate had already moved to 3.56.

today, it is 4.20. peak day closing was 4.339 on 8 sep 2015.

so, from a year ago, -27%.
from jan, i.e. 9 months, -18%.

let's not worry about how right or wrong anyone has been or how clever or silly some comments were since jan but spend more time on what has been useful in protecting one's blood sweat and tears rm savings.

i recall some methods thrown out. how useful or useless have they been?

let's not bother with rm denominated methods as there is no fx involved.

my take over the last 1 year:

1. us stocks/etf's - on average, there is zero cap gain, maybe a small loss. plain fx gains, excl transaction costs.

2. sg stocks/reits - stocks probably lower but with fx gains; sg reits not much cap gain but dividends and fx gains.

3. gold - flat in usd, no dividends, fx gain less buy-sell spread.

4. dual currency/foreign currency accounts; usd or sgd cash - pure fx gains less buy-sell spread.

5. european, asian, emerging markets stocks, unit trusts, other funds - pls comment as i hv no idea.

6. what else?

the clear and present danger: all this is not going away anytime soon. it may be only the beginning of a long period of volatility and uncertainty. there is still the fed rate hike issue, china's slowing economy, commodities supercycle at bottom, oil price may fall further, continued currency wars, etc. plus our infamous local politics, of course.

i personally have done a bit of 1 and 2, quite glad i did that. wish i had done more.

for the young with zero savings or debt but plenty of energy, the world is there for you.

for the about to retire, pensioners or wheelchaired, what you have is all you got; lose it, get robbed or get devalued, no one will help you.

even bnm governor has advised us to "adjust".

it is a major and serious issue that impact all of us.

lastly, saying "other countries also affected" does not help, we all already know, no need to dwell on that.
so, pls comment and share yr experience, plans and what not!
Good analysis thumbup.gif

Yea I agree that SGX stock is down and give -ve return YTD. But in RM term, it is still very good return.

Heck, on hindsight, it would be better just let the money sitting in sg bank and don't invest. Times changed. In low inflation period, keeping money is a good move as proven sweat.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 19 2015, 11:33 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 19 2015, 09:56 PM)
tis thread give much info / new views.. but Please refrain from any name calling. it's really making tis thread like kopitiam standard.

others than that. good job  icon_rolleyes.gif
You want unker to stop his style you might have better luck expecting RM back to 3.30 tongue.gif

It's his way of expressing. Don't be too serious about him and you will be alright. You can always taruh him back when there is a chance. I did and it is quite fun thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 20 2015, 07:41 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 20 2015, 01:07 AM)
Which is why never say never put in sgd or usd savings account!! biggrin.gif

For usa and sg stocks, it is possible to still have some net cap gain if trading was done well. E.g. I did trade a couple of sg reits a couple of times in the last 2 years, worked out ok. But equities trading is not what we want to discuss here.
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 20 2015, 07:54 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 20 2015, 06:54 AM)
bTW AUD, sgd & usd INVESTMENT, which will be a better choice?
In 5 years time my kid will most likely go to one of these countries for tertiary education and spend 500k, although I ask him to aim for scholarship. Oz is very dependent on Commodities, Spore on Asean, CHina n US economies and US is one of the biggest debtor in the world. Would their currencies still be as strong as now in 5 years time, and appreciated another 35% against MYR.

The above post suggested OZ and Spore will be in trouble too, so left with US only?

BTW OT, is it wise to entice a child to study hard to get a scholarship so that 500k will go into his pocket? tongue.gif  sign0006.gif
You got to put things in perspective. The above post is "mike meloney and those gold sellers" assertion. They have their interest to protect. Their views were very plausible during the QE times. But now that QE is over for USA, nothing happens tongue.gif I won't put that "theory" in mind when investing. If you believe, then buy gold tongue.gif

The is no "the best" choice. You can invest in all three Aud, Sgd and Usd if you are still undecided which country your kids will go to. The thing is if you are in stock market, U.S. dividends are taxed. Australia taxes both dividend and capital gain. Best is Singapore, tax free. (I stand corrected)

On economy, all 3 are stronger than Malaysia. Economy got ups and downs. Invest with long term view and those noise will even out
Showtime747
post Sep 20 2015, 01:07 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 20 2015, 01:01 PM)
enough la...

pls do not hijack and derail this rm thread.

pls start a new doomsday fiat thread if u wish.
Gold bug mah....
Showtime747
post Sep 20 2015, 11:47 PM

4,258 posts

Can feel a lot of negative energy from 99percent and unker dreamer. Everything is no good and hopeless in their perspective tongue.gif

I hope other readers will not be discouraged. Good times and bad times are part of investment. The path won't be smooth. We just have to do the right thing, hopefully ahead of the good and bad times.

But if you are not prepared and done nothing yet, then just have to manage the unexpected and minimize the damage to the lowest possible level. Like the damage to your RM, still not too late to salvage. All you got to do is find the window and opportunity in the volatile market and act bold and fast. Once you make your first step, even if it is a small amount, I am sure you will feel a lot better (because you did something)

Both good times and bad times will not last forever. Just that now is the bad times and we have to ride it through until the good times return. Zeti said not more than 18 months based on our past experience thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 21 2015, 12:47 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 21 2015, 12:18 AM)
Showtime747,

The richest countries in South East Asia during the 1960s were Burma / Myanmar and Philippine.  Hong Kong Chinese were so poor that many of them went to Philippine and worked as maid for Rich Chinese in Philippine.

So, where are them NOW?? Did they ever recover??

<<Zeti said not more than 18 months based on our past experience>>

Without Extra Oil Money, there will be no recovery this time.  There are no past experiences to go by since Malaysia was bailed out by Extra Oil Money past few times.

Dreamer
Unker,

It is simple modern economics. As proven in the economic recession/boom of many countries over the past few decades. Also the same for oil price for the past few decades as well. They rise and fall and rise back. They all experience economic cycles.

Burma and Philippines are more like lagging behind the other countries instead of "never recover". They progress at a much slower pace

Nothing, good or bad, will last forever.

Showtime747
post Sep 21 2015, 01:16 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 21 2015, 12:57 AM)
Showtime747,

<<Nothing, good or bad, will last forever.>>

1) It only need to last long enough to make a person bankrupt.  A person does not have UNLIMITED amount of money to survive that long.

2) A person does not live forever.
Be more positive. Death may be a good thing. You could go to heaven and meet your loved ones who went there before you (like parents etc). I would love to meet my grandmother again thumbup.gif

When a person is positive and open minded, the world is more beautiful. You never know death actually is a good thing. Think about it....

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 21 2015, 12:57 AM)
https://finance.yahoo.com/q/pr?s=VT+Profile

3) Why ONLY invest in ONE country?? Why put all your eggs into ONE basket??

The above ETF invest on the largest 7,500 public listed companies across 47 countries.  A person only need a few thousands USD to start.

Dreamer
Don't get me wrong. I am saying good or bad things don't last forever. But that doesn't mean we should not diversify our investment. Diversification is the management of our investment risk. We should do it even if times are good

My post you replied to was intended to encourage the readers because those posts by you and 99percent today have too much negative energy. It is bad for health tongue.gif The bad times might be here, but be more positive and everyone can make a better decision
Showtime747
post Sep 21 2015, 07:20 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 21 2015, 05:59 AM)
Showtime747,

My only NEGATIVE is about Malaysia and NOTHING else.  And, if a person look at how far had Malaysia gone down over this past 40+ years and still think it can recover, the person is not REALISTIC.

Dreamer
While I am no proponent of the current government's policy, please take a look at the following graph of GDP per capita for Malaysia

http://www.tradingeconomics.com/malaysia/gdp-per-capita Press the "Max" button for 1960 numbers.

Look at the ups and downs. It follows economic cycle, like all other countries in the modern times. On some years, a country may encounter set backs, but they recovered.

Does the graph occurs to you that "how far had Malaysia GONE DOWN over this past 40+ years...." ? Isn't that negative if you think so ?

However, if you say Malaysia is lagging behind other countries given the vast resources, then I fully agree.

Unker, if you don't mind me asking, how long have you migrated to the USA ?
Showtime747
post Sep 21 2015, 08:32 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 21 2015, 07:48 AM)
Showtime747,

<< Does the graph occurs to you that "how far had Malaysia GONE DOWN over this past 40+ years...." ? Isn't that negative if you think so ? >>

I am ONLY NEGATIVE about Malaysia.  Not about the rest of the world.  If you believe that Malaysia can and will recover without the help of oil money, I wish you best of luck.

I had divested from Malaysia.  I am prepared.

Dreamer
Even with an uptrend graph from a reliable source cannot convince you that Malaysia has not "gone down over the past 40+years", it shows only one thing : you still keep your "reputation" in LYN - the "unconvinceable never wrong guy" tongue.gif

Not only you divested from Malaysia lah. I am not 100% out of Malaysia, but I have enough outside of the country to tie me over all eventuality. Any seasoned investors should have looked at risk diversification be it good or bad times

Those who haven't done so should do it. Maybe not 100% leaving the country like unker, but a good proportion. The RM depreciation should be enough of a wake up call
Showtime747
post Sep 21 2015, 09:54 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 21 2015, 08:46 AM)
Showtime747,

Why argue and debate?? We will know soon enough.  Malaysia had ran out of Oil Money.  We will know soon enough whether Malaysia can recover without Oil Money.
Would you be able to set a timeframe ? Argue and debate on a specific event is meaningless without a time frame.

It's like saying "based on my opinion, you will get sick one day and never recover". Of course a person will get sick. And he has a chance to die as well. If you want the debate to be meaningful, then a timeframe would help a lot.

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 21 2015, 08:46 AM)
My goal was to save as many people from this sinking ship. 

A) If people do not see this by now, they had done nothing to prepare for this.  It is TOO LATE...  So, why argue??

B) If people had seen this, they would had done something.  I do not need to tell them.

In summary, I wish people best of luck.

Dreamer
I believe our discussion here is on your assertion that "Malaysia will be down and never recover". I have showed you historically malaysia, like any other economies, experienced ups and downs. And there is no occasion since its independence that malaysia was "down and never recovered". Same for oil. Look at the oil price history chart. Oil price never stay at the top and stay there, nor sink to the bottom and never recover. It has its own economic cycle.

Hence I conclude you have too much negative energy on malaysia's outlook.

On diversification, it is another matter all together. We should diversify our investment for risk management. I agree on this point. I have done that myself. For others who have not done so, I don't think it is too late. They should seriously look at it and take the opportunity when US$ takes a breather. Risk management is fluid and dynamic. We should re-balance based on the market movement. US$ maybe strong now, but it will have its bad times in the future, and we should do another re-balancing when that happens.

As we speak, the windows of opportunity on US$ on Friday has lapsed. It has gone up from 4.20xx. Now it is approaching 4.25 soon.

This post has been edited by Showtime747: Sep 21 2015, 09:56 AM
Showtime747
post Sep 21 2015, 02:48 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 21 2015, 10:20 AM)
while many "know" it, i think only a minority understand all the reasons and its coming impact.
most simply brush it off a temp, will return to 3.30 or has no impact on them.
partly becos they our ministers tell them that, and they believe.
can't help if that is the ingrained thought process.
in the absence of new major development, it will most likely hang around 4.20-4.30.
gdp or gdp per capita looks fine but once u look at debt/gdp or debt/capita, it doesn't look good - been using enormous debt to buy gdp.
we are not in recession and hope it doesn't.
if it falls into recession, it will be harder this time to bounce back - rising consumer prices, huge debt overhang, little room to move.
it will take massive cuts in big ticket items of the budget and we know bijan & co. will not do that.
i am of the view the economy and rm will get worse before they get better. not all doom and gloom but quick recovery will be elusive.
End of the day, there is no harm to diversify. Glad that we have been doing that before the depreciation. On hindsight, regret never did more tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 21 2015, 02:54 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 21 2015, 10:29 AM)
Showtime747,

<<Would you be able to set a timeframe ?>>

It is your money and your life.  You have to make the RIGHT BET before it is too late.  You have to live with your decision.  I had placed my bet.  You have to decide on your own.

I wish you best of luck. 

Dreamer
As usual, when I challenge the doomsayers to set a timeframe, no one has the balls to commit. Your kind of answer is expected

A : Bro, your health is bad, you will get sick and never recover
B : When will I get sick and never recover ?
A : 1 day...
B : rclxub.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 21 2015, 02:55 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Sep 21 2015, 10:34 AM)
icemanfx,

It will not.  Malaysia had reached peak oil production a few years ago.  So, even if the oil price did not go down, Malaysia will have less oil money.

Dreamer
Are you predicting oil price will stay in the $40+ range forever ?
Showtime747
post Sep 21 2015, 02:56 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 21 2015, 10:15 AM)
Nope. From what I have been following, he has migrated to the US. I could be wrong.
He never gave a definite answer. I have asked a few times. I assume he is in USA now
Showtime747
post Sep 21 2015, 03:24 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 21 2015, 03:02 PM)
No, I think he meant to say that Petrnas' oilwells are drying-up, and our E&P activities are not able to unearth more productive wells.

For me, this is highly classified. All news out there are just speculative. Even if no E&P agent is able to discover any oil now, they might dig 100m away from that analysed node and discover oil deep down there.
Looks like he has a lot of insider info tongue.gif

Sometime in 2008, I heard malaysia's oil well will dry up in 2014. My friends all panic tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 21 2015, 03:27 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 21 2015, 03:07 PM)
I fully agrees with this. But I think oil prices will always be below usd30/barrel to suppress shale oil.
The only permanent phenomenon in this world is "change"

When oil was >$140, people were saying oil will never come down below $100 ever. Same goes with gold when it reached $1800.

Ups and downs are part of economic cycle. Historical graphs have proven that
Showtime747
post Sep 21 2015, 03:29 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 21 2015, 03:10 PM)
diversify, spread yr risk u must!

do more... 20/80, 50/50 or 80/20? laugh.gif
Still very very far from the ratio I wish tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 21 2015, 03:30 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 21 2015, 03:15 PM)
I never counted to such details of ratio diversification. If I ever take the trouble to count, I'll have a headache. I just go by instincts only, when I see 'new' money in my accts, I will put here, or put there, or buy this or buy that. But of course, DD has been done earlier.

If nothing can be bought, then I just leave the money in the acct..
Roughly lah. You don't need to send the numbers for audit lah tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 21 2015, 05:21 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Sep 21 2015, 03:36 PM)
Mine was like myr 20:80 sgd including cpf in sinkapoh. Isn't good?
CPF cannot take out to use one until you get old....Still not good enough tongue.gif

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0410sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:53 PM