123 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

USD/MYR drop, V2

x-frame
post Oct 1 2015, 06:16 PM

576 posts

QUOTE(Zanmai0146 @ Sep 9 2015, 10:43 AM)
I pity the Malaysian who earns MYR and sent their kids oversea. Gonna dig money to cover the foreign exchange cost
I don't pitty those kind of people, if they can send their kids to overseas, means they are already rich.

I pity those people that come to Msia to work... LoL!

They will rather stay at their country now...
nexona88
post Oct 1 2015, 06:20 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 1 2015, 06:13 PM)
well... we're better off than kazakhstan, syria, brazil or russia where prices probably more than doubled. tongue.gif

ok, we're fairly superior, no? tongue.gif
we're so "low" that we're group with those countries cry.gif
TSwil-i-am
post Oct 1 2015, 06:31 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 1 2015, 06:16 PM)
I suspect the full effect of the RM depreciation has not trickled down fully into all aspects of our society yet. Wait for a few more months....
Our retail petrol price was the 1st victim sweat.gif
Hansel
post Oct 1 2015, 06:31 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 1 2015, 10:02 AM)
indonesia may actually be fine with this move becos it does not have that much debt, <40% gdp compared to msia's >100%.
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...alaysia-suffers

moreover, it seems they have secured it from the proper banks.
if msia wants to do the same, will those banks say, "go find a donor"? tongue.gif
Having low debts does not mean the country will have an infinite timeline for it to turnaround (implement structural reforms and strengthen their currency) while borrowing more and more USDs trying to achieve this objective. Knowing the behaviour of this neighbouring country (look at the way they have been promising on what they will do with the haze situation but still no results), it will not be easy to change the people.

If the keep borrowing more and more USDs thinking they are in an advantageous position because of their low debt-to-GDP ratio, soon they will find they can't payback the loans when their supposedly sound structural reform plans do not yield the desired results.

Like I said earlier, if it's another country, I may consider that this tactic may eventually work out for them,... but Indonesia,... ??

Not forgetting too that today, a country cannot be a standalone entity. They need many external factors to support their reformation. If any of the external factors do not fall in their favours, eg China slowing down and hence not importing too much of their palm oil anymore,... their plan will fail.
Hansel
post Oct 1 2015, 06:34 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 1 2015, 06:20 PM)
we're so "low" that we're group with those countries  cry.gif
I might be wrong,... but I am predicting that when the full effects of the RM depreciation have trickled down to all of us, the restaurants in Paragon Plaza and Pavilion Mall will not be full of people anymore. Just wait,... say till the end of this year.
lunatique
post Oct 1 2015, 06:37 PM

Taking my sweet time reaching for the top
503 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 1 2015, 06:34 PM)
Just wait,... say till the end of this year.
Waiting is unnecessary. The effect is already upon us.
I have a relative who's in the sales dept for samsung printers. They have retailers in Lowyat who want to return the stocks to their suppliers instead of paying the invoice. shakehead.gif

xein
post Oct 1 2015, 06:38 PM

25 posts

ala... you guys already know this...but i'll write again.

prices will increase as long as no seller wants to decrease it.
Look at what happened since the petrol price floating.
When oil price increase, everything increase.
When oil price decrease, how many items' price decrease?

It is all up to the people.

Hansel
post Oct 1 2015, 06:39 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 1 2015, 06:31 PM)
Our retail petrol price was the 1st victim  sweat.gif
In the last few months, petrol price has been going up and down for Malaysian consumers. Hence, people are kinda like 'shielded' from the effects in a plus and minus way. Now imagine if petrol price starts to go up continuously,....

NOw imagine if GST is increased further,....

I have clients exploring bankruptcy protections and their advantages in the last few months already.... but they've not asked me to write in officially to the Insolvency Dept yet. Those are the signs I'm seeing.
nexona88
post Oct 1 2015, 06:39 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 1 2015, 06:34 PM)
I might be wrong,... but I am predicting that when the full effects of the RM depreciation have trickled down to all of us, the restaurants in Paragon Plaza and Pavilion Mall will not be full of people anymore. Just wait,... say till the end of this year.
well u could be right. people would spend less. no more fancy food sad.gif
Hansel
post Oct 1 2015, 06:40 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(lunatique @ Oct 1 2015, 06:37 PM)
Waiting is unnecessary. The effect is already upon us.
I have a relative who's in the sales dept for samsung printers. They have retailers in Lowyat who want to return the stocks to their suppliers instead of paying the invoice. shakehead.gif
This is the first wave.
AVFAN
post Oct 1 2015, 06:42 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 1 2015, 06:16 PM)
I suspect the full effect of the RM depreciation has not trickled down fully into all aspects of our society yet. Wait for a few more months....
surely.

some will hit bad with... fast food - burgers, buns, cheese, fries, pizza dough/flour - all imported ingredients.

students will be hit with price incr for books, stationery, calculators, shoes, uniforms - almost all imported.

old/sick folks will be hit with.. healthcare/medication - some will now turn to gomen hospitals 100%.

new parents will be hit for infant formula, diapers, cereals...

others.... pc's, tablets, car spare parts, house repairs...

nothing will escape, not even ikan bilis. maybe kangkung will stay cheap.

we don't really make or grow much here, do we?
Hansel
post Oct 1 2015, 06:42 PM

9,353 posts

Catch hold of a strong currency. When the time comes and you find that you do not have enough to spend using your RM, repatriate some funds back to Malaysia for everyday spending.

TSwil-i-am
post Oct 1 2015, 06:44 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 1 2015, 06:42 PM)
Catch hold of a strong currency. When the time comes and you find that you do not have enough to spend using your RM, repatriate some funds back to Malaysia for everyday spending.
Such as USD n SGD brows.gif
AVFAN
post Oct 1 2015, 06:48 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(xein @ Oct 1 2015, 06:38 PM)
ala... you guys already know this...but i'll write again.

prices will increase as long as no seller wants to decrease it.
Look at what happened since the petrol price floating.
When oil price increase, everything increase.
When oil price decrease, how many items' price decrease?

It is all up to the people.
u sound like u r holding the sellers responsible for price incr...?

are u in biz?

this thread is about value of rm, not just petrol price!
nexona88
post Oct 1 2015, 06:52 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 1 2015, 06:42 PM)
surely.

some will hit bad with... fast food - burgers, buns, cheese, fries, pizza dough/flour - all imported ingredients.

students will be hit with price incr for books, stationery, calculators, shoes, uniforms - almost all imported.

old/sick folks will be hit with.. healthcare/medication - some will now turn to gomen hospitals 100%.

new parents will be hit for infant formula, diapers, cereals...

others.... pc's, tablets, car spare parts, house repairs...

nothing will escape, not even ikan bilis. maybe kangkung will stay cheap.

we don't really make or grow much here, do we?
consumer / people suffer cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by nexona88: Oct 1 2015, 06:52 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 1 2015, 07:01 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 1 2015, 06:39 PM)
well u could be right. people would spend less. no more fancy food  sad.gif
Good. Let's see how such people adjust. I bet with you they will have a hard time. Imagine drinking starbucks everyday and suddenly starbucks increase. Or go fancy restaurant every weekend, suddenly price increase. Let's see how well they adjust.

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 1 2015, 06:52 PM)
consumer / people suffer  cry.gif  cry.gif
Good. This will "open" people's eyes. Fertilizer increase. Seeds increase. Wages stay the same. You know what I am talking about. whistling.gif
nexona88
post Oct 1 2015, 07:03 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,446 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 1 2015, 07:01 PM)
Good. Let's see how such people adjust. I bet with you they will have a hard time. Imagine drinking starbucks everyday and suddenly starbucks increase. Or go fancy restaurant every weekend, suddenly price increase. Let's see how well they adjust.
for u easy leh.. u don't go to those fancy places.. save $$ from start.. others "suffer" lor tongue.gif
MGM
post Oct 1 2015, 07:04 PM

18,411 posts

wa, so negative, I want to get out. cry.gif

The budget shortfall may be "in the region" of 1% of gross domestic product at the end of the decade compared with a current deficit of 3.2%, the New Straits Times reported, citing Najib’s comments to fund managers and investors in New York. - See more at: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...h.BtJ4wTvd.dpuf

This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 1 2015, 07:07 PM
AVFAN
post Oct 1 2015, 07:19 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 1 2015, 07:04 PM)
wa, so negative, I want to get out. cry.gif
The budget shortfall may be "in the region" of 1% of gross domestic product at the end of the decade compared with a current deficit of 3.2%, the New Straits Times reported, citing Najib’s comments to fund managers and investors in New York. - See more at: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...h.BtJ4wTvd.dpuf
hmm... this one seems to say there'll be many more years of budget deficit.

no surprise.

make yr own judgment where the rm will go...
AVFAN
post Oct 1 2015, 07:28 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 1 2015, 07:01 PM)
Good. Let's see how such people adjust. I bet with you they will have a hard time. Imagine drinking starbucks everyday and suddenly starbucks increase.
this one, some of these franchisees will just give up, close down.

then, cheaper kopi "shops" will emerge.

rm10 a coffee becomes rm5, still can make a profit.

standard and gaya, no more la....

123 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:29 AM