The Rat Thread V1, Come in and join the World of RATSss

crazymouse_yyh
post May 9 2007, 11:51 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ May 9 2007, 11:33 PM)
yeah .. i love my rats ... but arr ... rhian like to bite my right ear larr . sit quietly at my neck and suddenly ... ngap ! hish .. and reidon ? cannot train her anymore .. this one abit garang.
Garang? How she act garang lah?
crazymouse_yyh
post May 10 2007, 10:06 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ May 10 2007, 05:32 AM)
@ hun : garang laa .. scratch my arm , bite my ears, kacau my cat .

@ snow : phew. lucky ..

@ carenys55 : sure can but becarefull ar . rats urinate alot . belive me .. i knoooww ..
HAhahah.... your pets like to bite your ears.... maybe got sweet taste? LOL....
crazymouse_yyh
post May 10 2007, 06:16 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ May 10 2007, 05:37 PM)
last time u meet rhian u can see la right . she keeps tasting my right ear.
Yah, I saw her gigit your ear.... playing lah hahah.... maybe you must put some hot minyak angin on your ear, maybe the rats won't like the smell and taste hahaah....
crazymouse_yyh
post May 10 2007, 08:23 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ May 10 2007, 08:15 PM)
minyak angin ? then rhian mouth gonna feel panas for hours . don't want lah . if she wanna nip , it's ok .. if bite really hard, then i use ur method. poor rhian ..

btw, how to cut the rat nail ? very sharp la . just the edge ? all four leg or just the hind leg ? i also hve trouble cutting chika nails. later my ferret pulak . haih ..

i have the nail clipper for small animal . but i scared la . afraid i might cut their vein in the nail. they can't sit quietly. especially rhian .
Yah, it is easy to cut.... can see the vein. You must really do it under a bright light. Maybe ask someone to hold them for you lah while you cut.
crazymouse_yyh
post May 15 2007, 03:13 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(carenys55 @ May 15 2007, 03:04 PM)
I lost my black rat....She ran away...
I'm so sad!
Har? How did she ran away? She should still be in your house. CFP found his lost rat a few days after he lost it.... so you should be able to find it if you lost her at home.
crazymouse_yyh
post May 15 2007, 03:17 PM

12,047 posts

If lost indoors, should be able to find... Coz rats when they escape, they won't run that far from their cage or tank.... most likely to just hide around and will come out when hungry.
crazymouse_yyh
post May 15 2007, 03:25 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(carenys55 @ May 15 2007, 03:21 PM)
She was in my room,
i think she ran out to the small living room outside.
Hope she will turn out...
I miss her!
Do you have a rat trap at home? Maybe you can catch her back. The trap you hang a piece of chicken bone, if she is hungry enough, she will go in and eat the bait.

I hope you find your Oreo again.

We all will miss lost pets too. But I have a strong feeling she will turn up.
crazymouse_yyh
post May 15 2007, 08:37 PM

12,047 posts

Ah, lucky you guys can find your rats.... 2 rats of mine escaped and never came back.... this is coz outdoors.... now all cages and tank really escape proof already hahah... but I miss my 2 rats...
crazymouse_yyh
post May 23 2007, 09:47 PM

12,047 posts

Rats rats rats.... hahahah.... now in training, 2 rats in my room. Shiro, my white rat and Kincha, my agouti rat.

Here are some sites on Rat nutrition.

http://www.ratfanclub.org/diet.html

http://www.ratsrule.com/diet.html

http://ratguide.com/care/nutrition/diet.php

How about a rat treat?

If you like to dabble in a little baking, do try these recipes:

Rattie Cookies

Ingredients:
3 cups flour
3/4 cup of chicken broth (No MSG)
1/3 cup margarine
1/2 cup powdered milk
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoon sugar
1 egg beaten
1 clove garlic, minced

*For a meaty texture, cooked chicken meat or cooked livers can be used but must be minced in a food processor after it is cooked.

Directions

In a large bowl, pour the chicken stock over the margarine.
Then stir in powdered milk, salt, sugar, egg and minced garlic.
Add flour 1/2 at a time, mix well after adding each 1/2 cup of flour.
Knead the dough till stiff and clean.
Roll in to half inch thickness.
Cut into your favourite shapes and place on a greased cookie sheet.
Bake at 325 degree for 45 min. in the oven.

*if using minced chicken meat or chicken livers, add into the mixture before the flour and mix well. If the dough appears too dry, add a bit more chicken broth or plain water.
crazymouse_yyh
post May 23 2007, 11:11 PM

12,047 posts

Heheh... thanks.

You should try baking them since you got an oven.... a proper oven. I have to study how to work the microwave I have first before can bake cookies for my rats.... I was also thinking of making a staple cookie if I can get the right recipe and ingredients. I wonder... where to get bonemeal?
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 22 2007, 01:02 AM

12,047 posts

The best is DIY your own rat cage.
crazymouse_yyh
post Aug 30 2007, 10:21 AM

12,047 posts

wow, nice cage. Your rats are living like sugar gliders hahahah. But great, lots of space there.
crazymouse_yyh
post Aug 30 2007, 05:56 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Aug 30 2007, 01:30 PM)
was going to say the same thing .

i also hv put a hammock but they bite until putus .  sweat.gif
Bite till putus? Wahhh.... your girls ganas lah hahahah.
crazymouse_yyh
post Aug 30 2007, 06:07 PM

12,047 posts

Pet Family no more selling them already. When did you see them?
crazymouse_yyh
post Aug 30 2007, 09:06 PM

12,047 posts

Rats do eat alot. Everyday each of my rats get about 50 to 70g of food.... damn alot of food hahahah.
crazymouse_yyh
post Aug 30 2007, 11:59 PM

12,047 posts

Rats just love to eat. They like fresh vegies too.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 25 2007, 11:42 PM

12,047 posts

Cage can be anything... you can use a bird cage and DIY yourself ramps and shelves for them, can use an old cupboard to convert into a cage, some people use guinea pig cages, some use cat cages.... if the bars too big can cover with wire mesh. You use your own creativity LOL.... for me, mine nothing to see coz I use storage box. Since I am breeding, keeping in a storage box is safer for the pups.
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 10 2007, 09:28 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Oct 10 2007, 03:30 AM)
thread died edi ... sigh ..

p/s: why my rats like to bite their hammock ar ? tired la asyik jahit balik ..
They like to do that wan... chew chew to redesign their home hhahaha...

No gambar ah? Sure they are big and fat now hahahah.... good rats.
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 11 2007, 08:23 PM

12,047 posts

Pretty Pretty rats.... Now I got no more Agoutis hahah.
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 16 2007, 01:11 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(tikusniaga @ Oct 16 2007, 12:04 PM)
Hun, Agoutis? Plenty mah ... running all over streets and longkangs. I think they are ugly but my rats are all pretty. smile.gif
Hhaha... agouti hooded mah... not those longkang ones.... but then a few longkang rats did come to visit my females LOL.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0182sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:48 AM