crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 7 2006, 10:57 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(seryoung @ Dec 7 2006, 10:49 PM)
crazymouse, i just visited pets family @ tmn megah. i saw the rats, the plain white ones are the only ones tamed while the hooded rats are not. is there. cute fellas. is there any way they can be tamed? also, i should've thought of it earlier, i wanted some of ur glider mix but all ur COD also not convienient  sweat.gif
I can put the mix at Pet Family... you can take from there hahahah.... if convienient for you lah.

I think coz older liao... so not that tame... Yah, got ways wan. Handle everyday, sure become tame... mine also like that. Now they recognize me.
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 8 2006, 12:08 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Dec 8 2006, 12:04 PM)
I wonder wat will happen if its a real doggie...............
Har? It is a real dog lah hahahahah
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 8 2006, 12:22 PM

12,047 posts

Hahaha... never tipu... my dog very like small animals wan hahahah.... she like to play with rats and sugar gliders and hamsters.
crazymouse_yyh
post Dec 11 2006, 11:59 PM

12,047 posts

Faster!!!! Pet Family got new rats!!!!
crazymouse_yyh
post Jan 29 2007, 01:46 AM

12,047 posts

Rats rats rats.... now got 5 hahaha... of course 1 small male is actually up for adoption lah. Anyway, I have been MIA kinda long lol.... but my rats have grown bigger but living outdoors now... pity them... no choice since the smell is bad lah. They eat about 35g of food each.... so I kinda need to feed a lot to 5 rats... summore 1st class diet LOL...

Tikusniaga... any nice coloured rats for adoption ah?
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 7 2007, 09:45 PM

12,047 posts

today I brought my 2 rats, Cheezels and Onion.... wah, damn funny... guys were the ones freaking out while the gurls came up and handled my rats while saying so cute. Cuddling them summore.... hahaha... what happen to guys lah?
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 8 2007, 09:32 PM

12,047 posts

My college, only things cannot bring are firearms, drugs, alcohol.... no rules for animals. People bring animals for assignments so this is why we are allowed to bring. As long not large dogs or dogs that cannot sit quietly in bags.
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 15 2007, 08:15 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Feb 15 2007, 01:13 AM)
how nice... now if only my office would allow pets....hehe.. then I would get an SG. I think the most my office can tolerate is a betta or 2, lol....
Keep quietly cannot meh? Heheheh...

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Feb 15 2007, 01:53 PM)
Hi guys, how u manage to remove the flea on ur Rats body?
Fleas? My rats got no flea. If your rats have, you can bath them with medicated cat shampoo that kills fleas... but first, your rats are not for snakes rite?
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 15 2007, 11:01 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Feb 15 2007, 10:35 PM)
I also think on same way..bathing with shampoo or medication. However this is not a pet rats/ feeder rats for snake etc. They are rats for laboratory purpose. Maybe got flea from other cages/rooms because in total, we have more than 500 rats in this animal house and i only manage to handles 50 of them biggrin.gif ..not all student care about they lab rats..
Bathin with shampoo would be the most economical for you loh. That's good that you care for the lab rats. A bottle of shampoo can cost you only Rm16 plus.... a bottle of Frontline is like RM30 plus... so better shampoo lah.... a bit more work but saves you cost.
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 26 2007, 08:37 PM

12,047 posts

PLease keep purchasing things thru PM.
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 28 2007, 08:25 PM

12,047 posts

Hhaha... flying mouse.... got like what kembara said lah... flying fox, flying squirrel, bats, flying fish, flying gecko... hmmm... anything more? I can't remember hahahah....

2 days ago my mouse gave birth to 11 babies hahahah... very nice new zealand cow colours... also got myself 3 more female mice yesterday.... new wives for my single male hahahah... straight away he got lovey dovey with them. My fancy rats still no pups or pregnancy yet... sigh...
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 28 2007, 09:10 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(bizen @ Feb 28 2007, 09:07 PM)
I want to ask... what's the differences between mouse and mice?? Its the same right? unsure.gif
Basic english loh.... 1 mouse, 2 mice, 3 mice, 4 mice.... we don't say 4 mouse or 4 mouses mah.... it is like 1 goose, 2 geese, 3 geese....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 5 2007, 08:38 PM

12,047 posts

I just bought a rat care book... and I found something really really interesting...

It seems male rats can live peacefully together in a colony or male group provided the space is big and when there is only a single dominant male.... anyway... a colony can have many many young males and they are known as the "testers". Funny rite? All females are breeders in the colony, but the males cannot mate(only alpha can) so they become the colony's official food testers.

Let's say you place poisoned food... only 1 tester will eat it first while the whole colony waits in hiding.... after an hour or so, if the tester is alive then only the colony would venture out to eat.... if the tester dies then no rat would touch the food.

Young rats or weaned rats would only eat food that has been nibbled by adults. This is to make sure it doesn't kill them....

Weird rite? This is why rats have been surviving for such a long time. Damn smart animals hahhaha....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 5 2007, 09:21 PM

12,047 posts

I bought the book at 2nd hand bookstore.... too bad no hamsters or rabbit books... got a few guinea pig books.... cheap also. Normally Rm20 to RM40 for those books... the shop selling like RM8 to RM15 only....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 5 2007, 09:32 PM

12,047 posts

Go Ampang Point Pay Less bookstore... all 2nd hand and cheap.... I bought 2 rat books LOL.... but didn't realize same author... but different edition and very interesting to read.

Right now I plan to buy a 3 tier cage.... scared to DIY since the wire fencing in Malaysia is quite poisonouse for rats and rodents.... sigh, cage gonna cost RM250 I think... but it would be better for my rats I guess...
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 7 2007, 08:12 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(tikusniaga @ Mar 7 2007, 03:02 PM)
Interesting.

BUT when I am going to feed them , all of them come at the same time fighting over food.
Hahah... that one maybe can say will only be seen in wild rats. The rats we keep already know that we are the source of food so they do not really care heheheh... makan means makan lah.

I just changed a new diet for my rats..... man, they eat better than me heheheh....

Muesli mix that got coconut, sunflower seeds, dried papaya, dried apples, dried banana, peanuts, almonds, walnuts, rolled oats and wheat sticks.... wah... so sedap... RM12.90 for 1kg heheheh err... I think it's 1kg....

Then they get habitrail mixed with Prestige and Harry Hamster... then got California natural dog kibbles...

Then they also get 500g of raw pasta...

Then about 400g of brown rice.

Wahh.... my rats will become fat in no time heheheh....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 21 2007, 11:43 AM

12,047 posts

Such a good question hahahah....

Now I must get ready 2 other cages since.... 2 more females pregnant already... wahahahah....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 21 2007, 09:08 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(tikusniaga @ Mar 21 2007, 12:16 PM)
HUN, Someone might read a book about this. As for me , I can't read their mind and therefore I have no idea.

What if , mother rat got only 2 tits ..... probably they won't steal anymore. With 12 tits  sweat.gif ....they need to steal pinkies to keep all tits accupied?
Not very sure.... my rat book doesn't say anything about this.... it says normally female rats would share the responsibility of raising their young.... but my rat, Tamarin, she ah.... gave birth to 8... but i took 1 pinkie so now left 7... anyway, with 7, she wanted Cheezel's 12 pinkies.... then now she snatched Ginger's 12 pinkies also....

I just went out to get 2 large storage boxes... so Cheezel and Ginger are safe in their own box with their 12 pinkies...

Well... I'm now awaiting for my next rat, Onion to birth hahahah..... wow, gonna have so many rats soon....
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 21 2007, 09:28 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Mar 21 2007, 09:20 PM)
I've always wanted to keep rats but never did knew where to buy them. I don't trust those that are being sold in pet shops. Does anyone know of a breeder who breeds rats? tongue.gif
Wuuu.... you didn't notice my post meh? Got so many babies just born hahahaha..... anything can PM me.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 21 2007, 09:49 PM

12,047 posts

Hahah... what I wanna do with 40 young rats later? LOL....

Anyway... rats are more social.... They do act a bit like sugar gliders and rats got bigger brains so you can teach them some tricks like stand, come when you call their names and jump... Of course the smell of the rats pee is a bit smelly... ok, can say smellier than hamsters hahahah.... But it would be alright to keep their cage or tank outdoors provided the rats got good ventilation and a hidebox.

Gerbils.... well, they smell less, smaller than rats, less cleaning than rats and they got actie personalities heheheh....

A single rat can get lonely so 2 rats are great. Females smell less than males.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:34 AM