95 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Any guppy fans here?, come come come

tehoice
post Mar 1 2015, 01:01 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Mar 1 2015, 11:44 AM)
You mean the guppy on the left in second pic? I think just because of the way he swims. They all look fine in real life.

The tank hasnt been cycled though. I dont have other fish to cycle it with. So have to use the guppies. Gonna do frequent water changes as well. I hope the plants will help also.

My only concern at the moment, is the guppies are extremely active in the new tank. And they like to play with the water current from the pump, rather than wiggling along in the other half of the tank where the water current is minimal. They're behaving like a school of fishes as well. If one guy goes to one side of the tank, the rest will follow as well. One goes to the bottom, the rest will follow. Just wondering if this a sign of stress or is it normal behavior.
how many days have the water been running in the tank before you put the guppies in?
active is a good sign... no issue, but guppies are not schooling fish though...
danny_sp15
post Mar 1 2015, 05:25 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 1 2015, 01:01 PM)
how many days have the water been running in the tank before you put the guppies in?
active is a good sign... no issue, but guppies are not schooling fish though...
i let the water stand for 1 day, and run the pump for 1 day. on the first night, they seem restless and not feeding well. but the next day they're eating again.

yeah they're not schooling fish, which is why im wondering why are they always doing everything together in groups. maybe just bcos the tank is too small. sweat.gif
tehoice
post Mar 1 2015, 05:41 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Mar 1 2015, 05:25 PM)
i let the water stand for 1 day, and run the pump for 1 day. on the first night, they seem restless and not feeding well. but the next day they're eating again.

yeah they're not schooling fish, which is why im wondering why are they always doing everything together in groups. maybe just bcos the tank is too small. sweat.gif
should let the water cycle with the pump on for another day or 2 before putting them in.
hmm, try putting female fishes inside, see how would they react. haha...
danny_sp15
post Mar 1 2015, 05:52 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 1 2015, 05:41 PM)
should let the water cycle with the pump on for another day or 2 before putting them in.
hmm, try putting female fishes inside, see how would they react. haha...
yea, should've let the pump run longer. too eager back then. sweat.gif

i dont want them to breed anymore laugh.gif and so far this all-male tank seem ok. everyone's getting along quite well. i keep a daily lookout for any clamped fins, any torn fins, anyone biting each other, and whether they are able to rest at night. anything else i should keep a lookout for? they're really small and cant stay still, so i cant look at the scales or pectoral fins properly. laugh.gif
tehoice
post Mar 1 2015, 05:55 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Mar 1 2015, 05:52 PM)
yea, should've let the pump run longer. too eager back then. sweat.gif

i dont want them to breed anymore laugh.gif and so far this all-male tank seem ok. everyone's getting along quite well. i keep a daily lookout for any clamped fins, any torn fins, anyone biting each other, and whether they are able to rest at night. anything else i should keep a lookout for? they're really small and cant stay still, so i cant look at the scales or pectoral fins properly. laugh.gif
guess you are doing good there.... rclxms.gif
danny_sp15
post Mar 1 2015, 06:12 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 1 2015, 05:55 PM)
guess you are doing good there....  rclxms.gif
i think im just lucky. sweat.gif these guys arent too picky. i have 2 more males, different type (Delta tail i think), which like to harass others. tried putting them in the tank, but they werent doing so well. macam no mood, not swimming much. so i put back in the pond then terus active again. will try them again in a few weeks.

once i have more experience, might plan to get another and bigger tank later on.
tehoice
post Mar 1 2015, 11:13 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Mar 1 2015, 06:12 PM)
i think im just lucky. sweat.gif these guys arent too picky. i have 2 more males, different type (Delta tail i think), which like to harass others. tried putting them in the tank, but they werent doing so well. macam no mood, not swimming much. so i put back in the pond then terus active again. will try them again in a few weeks.

once i have more experience, might plan to get another and bigger tank later on.
okay, good luck to you. let me know if you are looking for pure strain guppies.. thanks.
goldfries
post Mar 1 2015, 11:28 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

tehoice you sell pure strain guppies? biggrin.gif

anyway guppies don't like strong water flow, for small tanks and using HOB filter, please take note of how the water falls.
goldfries
post Mar 1 2015, 11:28 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Mar 1 2015, 06:12 PM)

did you know that bigger tank is more newbie friendly than small tanks?
danny_sp15
post Mar 1 2015, 11:43 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 1 2015, 11:28 PM)
did you know that bigger tank is more newbie friendly than small tanks?
That I didnt know. Thought a bigger tank would require more maintenance, and also of course would cost more. The thought of getting a tank in the first place only crossed my mind when i saw the price of the small tank being quite reasonable. sweat.gif

The filter is kinda strong. Rate is 350L/hr. The valve can be adjusted though, already set to minimum. But still, tank is only 11L. Went to the shop to get a replacement but they dont allow cos already used. So probably gonna get another filter and sell this one. Lowest rating HOB i can find is 185L/hr with valve as well.

At the moment, only the area directly below the filter has turbulent flow. The other half of the tank is alright. The guppies only swim around the filter area during the day. By night they usually rest on the other side of the tank, between the plants.
goldfries
post Mar 1 2015, 11:49 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Bigger tanks cost more but they're less susceptible to sudden changes like say temperature or chemical composition.

HOB filters, even the small ones can produce quite some current in small tanks.

Just look at your guppies, if they're struggling then it's not good. If they're relaxed and can stay stationary then it's fine.
tehoice
post Mar 2 2015, 09:33 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 1 2015, 11:28 PM)
tehoice you sell pure strain guppies? biggrin.gif

anyway guppies don't like strong water flow, for small tanks and using HOB filter, please take note of how the water falls.
i got some, depending on what you are looking for. if not i can also find it for you. through friends.

danny_sp15
post Mar 3 2015, 01:28 AM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 1 2015, 11:49 PM)
Bigger tanks cost more but they're less susceptible to sudden changes like say temperature or chemical composition.

HOB filters, even the small ones can produce quite some current in small tanks.

Just look at your guppies, if they're struggling then it's not good. If they're relaxed and can stay stationary then it's fine.
Might get a slightly bigger tank if I can sell off my current tank. But not much difference, aiming for 18L. Cos space is a limitation. sad.gif

I changed the HOB filter to a smaller one, rated 185L/hr, valve set to minimal. Water is much calmer, and so are the fishes. They're not playing with the water current anymore since it's not as strong. Only concern now is the filter's intake is kinda short. So the debris at the bottom is not sucked in as much as before. Guess I'll have to vacuum the gravel more often. sweat.gif
goldfries
post Mar 3 2015, 01:31 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Even if your HOB filter intake reaches the bottom, it doesn't clean all those other areas.

That's why there's gravel filter (plastic base, place at bottom) but gravel filter can be dangerous, especially if you're using small gravel where fish can dig, some do get stuck in such filter.

Easiest is to get that type of tube where it sucks the debris from the gravel. I wouldn't be too picky about the dirt on the gravel though.
danny_sp15
post Mar 3 2015, 01:02 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 3 2015, 01:31 AM)
Even if your HOB filter intake reaches the bottom, it doesn't clean all those other areas.

That's why there's gravel filter (plastic base, place at bottom) but gravel filter can be dangerous, especially if you're using small gravel where fish can dig, some do get stuck in such filter.

Easiest is to get that type of tube where it sucks the debris from the gravel. I wouldn't be too picky about the dirt on the gravel though.
I think i've seen that kind of tube. Is it this one?

Thinking of converting to a planted tank. But still searching on how feasible it is. sweat.gif
tehoice
post Mar 3 2015, 02:28 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Mar 3 2015, 01:02 PM)
I think i've seen that kind of tube. Is it this one?

Thinking of converting to a planted tank. But still searching on how feasible it is.  sweat.gif
this is too big for your tank bro, 8 seconds your tank dry ad, just use the smaller one, to vacuum the dirt out. i do it manually often.

also, if you're looking to do a planted tank, i would suggest at least 2ft tank, that way, you have more room for error, and it's not so easy to get bored.
if the tank is too small, you will soon wanna upgrade again.
billabong
post Mar 3 2015, 03:12 PM

15 posts

just one month bela guppy fish..always mati sad.gif
danny_sp15
post Mar 3 2015, 07:21 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 3 2015, 02:28 PM)
this is too big for your tank bro, 8 seconds your tank dry ad, just use the smaller one, to vacuum the dirt out. i do it manually often.

also, if you're looking to do a planted tank, i would suggest at least 2ft tank, that way, you have more room for error, and it's not so easy to get bored.
if the tank is too small, you will soon wanna upgrade again.
2 feet memang no space. cos im keeping the tank in room. sweat.gif

just vacuumed the dirt manually. stirred the water a bit to bring up the debris so that can suck easier. turns out all the debris now stuck in between the cabomba plant. laugh.gif

Also manually calculated my filter rate. At lowest setting, it's filtering at 90L/hr. So that part kawtim.

This post has been edited by danny_sp15: Mar 3 2015, 10:17 PM
EternalC
post Mar 3 2015, 11:43 PM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

hey there
been thinking of starting an aquarium lately

i saw my friend's mini tank and he suggested me the same which is a 9.5" x 4.7" x 5.5" plastic tank without filter or pump

there's 7 guppy inside, 2 of it females.

gravels on bottom and minimal decors

he said when start, fill the tank, put in 2 cap of chlorine remover
few drops of :
-anti white spot
-fungus solution
-general aid

let the water be for a while before adding the guppies in

he has his for around few months. no casualties he said

feasible ka?

planning to put it on top of shoe rack which is inside the house, gets some sunlight but not direct

water change should be once a week?

might be feeding it once a day, perhaps dinner time

This post has been edited by EternalC: Mar 3 2015, 11:49 PM
tehoice
post Mar 3 2015, 11:58 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Mar 3 2015, 11:43 PM)
hey there
been thinking of starting an aquarium lately

i saw my friend's mini tank and he suggested me the same which is a 9.5" x 4.7" x 5.5" plastic tank without filter or pump

there's 7 guppy inside, 2 of it females.

gravels on bottom and minimal decors

he said when start, fill the tank, put in 2 cap of chlorine remover
few drops of :
-anti white spot
-fungus solution
-general aid

let the water be for a while before adding the guppies in

he has his for around few months. no casualties he said

feasible ka?

planning to put it on top of shoe rack which is inside the house, gets some sunlight but not direct

water change should be once a week?

might be feeding it once a day, perhaps dinner time
everyone has their own way of keeping, if you know what you're doing and you can handle it, then no problem.

but given the situation you mentioned above, i think it's quite a risk. i won't put my 200 bucks guppy in there/like this.

the killer part is the weekly water change. i would do at least 30-40 or even 50% of water change every 2-3 days.

95 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:00 AM