Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1

aeiou228
post Nov 22 2010, 08:09 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 21 2010, 09:13 PM)
AEIOU, possible give the wikimapia of these two pasar ah..interesting to me too..
Ye (Korean: Yes), Will do that once comback. This Korean languange IE very susah to use.

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 21 2010, 09:56 PM)
lol so converse cheapest is at lotte la? haha.
Dae (Korean), saw it at the underground shopping at Jamsil station (Lotte world station).

Home coming today. Arriving KL the next morning.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Nov 22 2010, 08:11 AM
stimix
post Nov 22 2010, 09:01 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ye. It's OK..I got the Garak wholesales market coordinate liao...yeah just beside Rodeo street...(Gonna put this on 1st pg)

http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.4942689&lon=1...73&z=14&l=0&m=b

The Naryangin Market can't find wor...where ha?

Nami Island good place to go? Thinking of skipping this too..not enuf time haha.

Today temperature start to drop again...Sub zero possible Tonite & coming days..take care
zstan
post Nov 22 2010, 09:18 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Derwyn @ Nov 22 2010, 12:56 AM)
My friend is in Korea now and she said she have problems surfing the net using IE with her laptop  over there, it's like the IE won't function but skype and msn can be used, anyone faced such problems? =)
hmm..was using safari with my ipod touch..works well..
niel
post Nov 22 2010, 09:20 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 22 2010, 09:01 AM)
Ye. It's OK..I got the Garak wholesales market coordinate liao...yeah just beside Rodeo street...(Gonna put this on 1st pg)

http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.4942689&lon=1...73&z=14&l=0&m=b

The Naryangin Market can't find wor...where ha?

Nami Island good place to go? Thinking of skipping this too..not enuf time haha.

Today temperature start to drop again...Sub zero possible Tonite & coming days..take care
Nami Island, if you are into relaxing atmosphere/park, definitely a must go.
http://www.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/SI/SI_EN_3...jsp?cid=1003968 (Bus Info)

Temperature 5c, still feeling OK as long as Uncle Sun is up there shinning biggrin.gif Going to the outlets as suggested by another forumer to get a better shoe now smile.gif

Added on November 22, 2010, 9:21 am
QUOTE(Derwyn @ Nov 22 2010, 12:56 AM)
My friend is in Korea now and she said she have problems surfing the net using IE with her laptopĀ  over there, it's like the IE won't function but skype and msn can be used, anyone faced such problems? =)
Isolated.

This post has been edited by niel: Nov 22 2010, 09:22 AM
fraulein
post Nov 22 2010, 11:02 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(niel @ Nov 21 2010, 01:35 PM)
Its easy to get around in seoul. I even manage to take buses to zoom around. smile.gif

I budgeted rm200 per day for two pax inclusive of accommodation, foods and transport. On the 4th day now and still manage to stick to my budget. I eat light or finger foods for breakfast and lunch and something good for early dinner.

Try walk into Restaurant with plenty of korean youngster.  Normally the price for these shops are reasonable. Guess how much I paid for a big portion of pxxk and beef meat for korean style grilling? Less than RM50. Enough for four person to eat. Kimchi, vegies etc are all FOC.

For accomm, I stay in hostel, dorm style... Which in my opinion beat any hotels out there. I dislike return at night  in a lifeless hotel room. In a hostel, you might not used to sharing of facilities etc etc. But just see it as your own home. smile.gif you will get a living room, a kitchen, blazing fast internet with pc free for use and usually a friendly and accommodating hostel host.

One good example is namugh.co.kr check it out.
Thanks niel. Definitely putting these into my notes. RM200 for 2 pax? Glad to hear that . I was worried about food expenses initially.
atah
post Nov 22 2010, 04:15 PM

633 posts

1 more important info before i forgot. pls be prepared if the flight is delayed. our flight was delayed for 1 hour and causing us to missed the last subway train as it's already over the operation hours of that day. we managed to get the arex to gimpo but the subway from gimpo to our destination only stop somewhere in between as it's already the last train. got no choice but to take taxi to the motel, luckily not too expensive, about 20k won for about 20 minutes ride, no too bad for midnight rate. the taxi also accepts t-money.

also the taxi driver didn't speak english at all, luckily we rented a local handphone at the airport, so managed to call the motel and let the driver talk to them directly in korean.

SSJBen
post Nov 22 2010, 04:52 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

I highly recommend everyone to get T-money.
Reload about 20-30k won inside.

And really like I said, don't go to Lotte World... it's really, nothing special.
Want to go, go Everland... otherwise really, I think it's better to just not go to amusement parks.
Maybe next year when the Cabi park opens, then it'll be a better choice to go there instead.
atah
post Nov 22 2010, 05:17 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 22 2010, 04:52 PM)
I highly recommend everyone to get T-money.
Reload about 20-30k won inside.
yes, it very convenient and money saving as well. used it a few times to change between subway and bus and i only need to pay for 1 fare. but must remember to touch in and touch out.

20-30k won will be enough for about a week max based on my experience.

stimix
post Nov 22 2010, 05:23 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Is it better to buy the T-Money card or the Soul City pass bcos from my humble understanding here

http://www.seoulcitypass.com/jsp/citypass/citypass_eng.jsp

This card is not refundeable & abit pricey compare wth T-money which can be used almost anything? So what is the benefit on this esp you might not be using the cards 20 times per day kua?

mingyew
post Nov 22 2010, 05:37 PM

4,177 posts

Back from Korea, share 2 cents experience:

1. Language not a problem of communication there, as long you doing enough home work, eg: The place name you want to visit in Korean word.

2. Subway is cheapest way to travel around, 2 hours subway not more than W2000.

3. Bus and train have 100% time accuracy, and very frequent schedule as well, so need not worry about transportation.

4. Driving in Jeju island is best way to visit around the island, all the rental car have Korean GPS, but don't worry, you just need to enter phone number u want to go then will redirecting you. Type korean wording is easy for people who know to write mandarin, worst case, ask korean people type for you.

5. Korean food portion very big, if restaurant allow, you just need to order 1 person food, although is weird in korean, but just ignore them.

6. I most like the town name Sokcho, a town near mt. sorak, cycling there is most fun.

any other thing need to know, can ask.

atah
post Nov 22 2010, 05:40 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 22 2010, 05:23 PM)
Is it better to buy the T-Money card or the Soul City pass bcos from my humble understanding here

http://www.seoulcitypass.com/jsp/citypass/citypass_eng.jsp

This card is not refundeable & abit pricey compare wth T-money which can be used almost anything? So what is the benefit on this esp you might not be using the cards 20 times per day kua?
there are 3 types:

1) T-money - just a basic pre-loaded card, sold for 2.5k won per card

2) Seoul Citypass - for 20 times a day as per the website you posted, but as you said, not likely benificial to everyone. sold on per day basis

3) Seoul Citypass+ - similar to T-money card, with additional advantage of some discounts at some places, sold for 3k won per card. as it's only 500 won more than normal t-money card, that's why i decided to get this card for the additional discounts.

more info here: http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/TR/TR_EN_5_4.jsp

"Seoul City Pass Plus Card also has the functions of a transportation card in addition to all the functions of a Seoul City Pass Card. This card is all that tourists need to move around Seoul.
The sales, recharging, and refund of the card are handled at nearly every convenience store in Korea, including Family Mart, GS25, Seven-Eleven, Buy The Way, and MINISTOP. Payment can also be made with the card at the four major palaces (Gyeongbokgung Palace, Changdeokgung Palace, Changgyeonggung Palace, and Deoksugung Palace), Jongmyeo and convenience shops. Various discounts are offered at about 60 affiliated stores, including cultural & tourist sites, attractions, restaurants, and eyeglass and beauty shops.
In short, it has T-money card plus discount benefits on a single card. Since the T-money Card is 2,500 won, you can enjoy various other benefits for just an additional 500 won, including discounts on admission fees and a 5% discount on the Seoul City Tour Bus."

This post has been edited by atah: Nov 22 2010, 07:10 PM
SSJBen
post Nov 22 2010, 07:18 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Well... from my own experience and oppinion, T-Money is the way to go.
Just get it and forget the hassle, because it is standard it'll work on anything that allows it to work.

2500 won pre-loaded isn't too much to ask isn't it? biggrin.gif
Just reload 20k won or so and you likely won't have to worry about the card ever in your trip.
stimix
post Nov 22 2010, 07:30 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Aigooo..now dunno to get Seoul city pass+ or just T-money...The Seoul citypass got student discount or not for those <19 as T-money?
koinibler
post Nov 22 2010, 07:30 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 22 2010, 09:18 AM)
hmm..was using safari with my ipod touch..works well..
Does this mean a capacitive touch screen phone work well in a cold condition?

QUOTE(atah @ Nov 22 2010, 04:15 PM)
also the taxi driver didn't speak english at all, luckily we rented a local handphone at the airport, so managed to call the motel and let the driver talk to them directly in korean.
I would like to rent a local handphone too. Mind telling me/us about it smile.gif
atah
post Nov 22 2010, 08:39 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Nov 22 2010, 07:30 PM)
I would like to rent a local handphone too. Mind telling me/us about it smile.gif
sure, just go to visit korea website, there are 3 companies providing the service. i use s-roaming as their rate is the cheapest, only 1400 won per day. u need to fill up the online form to get the promo price. 3 days before your arrival, you will be given the cell phone number in korea, so that u can inform your family and friends about it. they can use italk to call the korean number, so the rate will be very cheap.

http://www.visitkorea.or.kr/ena/RE/RE_EN_1_2_4_1.jsp

zstan
post Nov 22 2010, 09:07 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 22 2010, 07:30 PM)
Aigooo..now dunno to get Seoul city pass+ or just T-money...The Seoul citypass got student discount or not for those <19 as T-money?
the thing is, T-money can be used almost everywhere, not only taxis, even at some shops as well, meaning you can carry less cash with you around. some might find it safer. if you are just visiting Seoul alone like me, then yes, T-money is not really a necessity but it is really convenient if you move around to a few cities.

what's your definition of cold? during my trip the lowest it went was about 3 degrees? still working fine. but most of the time if i use wifi its in a very comfy shop. do note that you cannot use it with gloves on though. quite freezing at times for my fingers. haha.

don't need rent la. thanks to iphone 4, just go to shop and buy a GSM sim card put in your phone and you are good to go.
koinibler
post Nov 22 2010, 09:36 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 22 2010, 09:07 PM)
what's your definition of cold? during my trip the lowest it went was about 3 degrees? still working fine. but most of the time if i use wifi its in a very comfy shop. do note that you cannot use it with gloves on though. quite freezing at times for my fingers. haha.

don't need rent la. thanks to iphone 4, just go to shop and buy a GSM sim card put in your phone and you are good to go.
doh.gif need to buy iphone first lol wink.gif
but suppose you're right, can't use capacitive screen while thick glove on...
i've tried with normal rubber surgery gloves, its work rolleyes.gif

SSJBen
post Nov 22 2010, 09:59 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 22 2010, 07:30 PM)
Like I said, T-Money.
The discount atleast IMO, is irrelevant. I'm NOT saying I'm rich (still far from that), but the discounts isn't really that huge of a deal.

My phones work fine.
Even my rather old LG KS20 (first generation capacitive touch screen) works without issues.

Otherwise, all iPhone users in Korea (and there are ALOT of them there) all will use public phones for the next 4 months already.

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 22 2010, 09:07 PM)
the thing is, T-money can be used almost everywhere, not only taxis, even at some shops as well, meaning you can carry less cash with you around. some might find it safer. if you are just visiting Seoul alone like me, then yes, T-money is not really a necessity but it is really convenient if you move around to a few cities.

As long as you don't lose the card....

QUOTE(koinibler @ Nov 22 2010, 09:36 PM)
doh.gif need to buy iphone first lol  wink.gif
but suppose you're right, can't use capacitive screen while thick glove on...
i've tried with normal rubber surgery gloves, its work  rolleyes.gif
Take off the gloves and use la? lol..

zstan
post Nov 22 2010, 11:23 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 22 2010, 09:59 PM)

Take off the gloves and use la? lol..
i tried doing that while at the streets. hands went numb in 2 minutes. laugh.gif should be even faster now as its more colder tongue.gif
zstan
post Nov 23 2010, 12:16 AM

15,856 posts

Day 3, Back to Seoul, Streets of Itaewon & Taking the subway

At about 11am, the tour guide came to pick us up from the hotel. And like any tour guide, he brought us to another so called duty-free shop.

My comment is, DO NOT FREAKING BUY FROM THIS SHOP!!!! I bought 3 bookmarks here which costed 3000 won each. I saw the same bookmark at Dongdaemun for 1500 won and 2000 won at Insadong! Total rip off!

DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM HERE UNLESS NECESSARY

And so..i arrived at our hotel. Four star. Very impressive i must say.

Decided to go to Myeongdong, hence the beginning of a really long walk to the Itaewon subway station.

A snapshot of a seller before getting chased away by her. =X Looks so comfy in there.

After about 20 minutes walk, we arrived at the subway.
Tourist information centre, good thing most of them can speak english

The ticket

The train arrives very punctually. =D

..but damn cramped during peak hours..

Don't forget to collect your deposit of the tickets before you leave! 500 won!

125 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:28 PM