Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1

niel
post Aug 31 2010, 01:52 AM

321 posts

Scrolling through 10 pages++ of posting, heard about UT, Wintertime etc etc. These places are selling winter clothing with super high profits that you can't imagine. And still quality is just so-so, made-in-china? Maybe because winter clothing in Malaysia is for the affluent?

For budget-conscious, please try Metrojaya (I saw in Midvalley) winter clothing section. With the Raya discount going-on, you can get something good (about RM85) to withstand down to 0c. Good luck!

This post has been edited by niel: Aug 31 2010, 02:13 PM
niel
post Nov 11 2010, 10:56 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 11 2010, 10:23 AM)
As per the link, RM1 = 362.02 won as per Today.
i.e 1000won = Rm2.6627 liao...

damn good wor convert from RM to won at Korea..but dunno inc of commission or not
Sorry, but how do you arrived at RM2.6627 ?

RM1 = KRW362.02
KRW1000 = RM2.7623

As of now, Cash selling KRW354.8 = RM1. Translate to KRW1000 = RM2.8184 .

Still better than Wawasan's.

This post has been edited by niel: Nov 11 2010, 10:59 AM
niel
post Nov 11 2010, 11:29 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 11 2010, 11:12 AM)
The things is you risk not able to find exchange booth accepting RM or accepting RM but give lousy rates if you don't change to USD first. 

Safer to calculate based on USD first:

1USD =RM3.11 = 1,065.7 won
1000won=RM2.8383
Anyhow, I will stick to the usual way. Bring some cash enough for 1-2 days and withdraw the rest using Malaysia ATM cards. I always get the best rate this way. Furthermore, bank like Citibank charges you nothing for overseas withdrawal.

I hope Korea ATM Machine display in English though! biggrin.gif
niel
post Nov 20 2010, 09:37 PM

321 posts

As of 18th Nov, I withdrew from Citibank Korea at a rate of RM2.80 = 1000 won.

Personal opinion
Busan - not worth the trip, Seoul has so much more to offer! I am here for 2-3 days and can't wait to run out of it.
Jeju - More boring than Busan. If you have been to many other countries before, it is pale in comparison. Required a lot of walking if not on tour. Night time is a dead town.
Gyeongju - If you really have no place to go, come to see one temple and tombs. Day trip is sufficient. My 2 days trip here is quite a waste.

This post has been edited by niel: Nov 20 2010, 09:38 PM
niel
post Nov 20 2010, 09:54 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 20 2010, 09:50 PM)
Very good rate. Today, Money changer in front of BB Plaza qouting RM2.90 and Wawasan RM2.98.

BTW, Citibank charge you commission or not?
Citibank is free of charge, please check with the bank because I don't know if the same applies to conventional Citibank account. smile.gif
niel
post Nov 20 2010, 11:09 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 20 2010, 10:44 PM)
reporting from seoul.
Today, morning go Naryangin Fish Market. OMG, you must come this place. I don't how to describe the varieties of sea catches of this magnitude.

Seoul City Bus Tour. For just RM28, u get the same guided tour of what you would pay the travel agent RMxxx city 1 day tour. Not even need to pay tips, not even need to adhere strickly to schedule, just stay as long as you whant and the bus will pick you up at the designated stop every 30 min. Best of all, no "force" shopping visit by tour guide.
But got down side also....weekend very pack, always have to stand. One bus driver driven the bus like KL Bus Mini Wilayah driver. If you standing and he is driving....died liao...

Namdaemun, "The North Face" winter jacket selling for RM160 only. No need buy jacket in KL liao. Where thick thick then come buy here. "Branded" some more.   

Currency: I change USD in KL at RM3.15. Then change at airport at 1,099 won/USD. You sendiri calculate.
I will be in Korea for 10 days. Busan has a fish market - Jagalchi Fish Market but it is not as massive as Naryangin. So, I still advise people to think twice before coming down to Busan. I wasted many days here while I can enjoy my days in Seoul and surrounding.

Temperature in Seoul is crazy especially at night or early morning. Down to zero degree celcius. I have high tolerance of extreme temperature, can endure wearing only tshirt at 5-10c, but still can't stand the freezing temperature here. Bring and wear whatever you have! Jeans alone is not enough and long john is a must and please make sure your shoe is a leather and without ventilation holes or cushion because the cold wind will penetrate through it. Best is to have a thick pant also.

WiFi is easily available and some of them are "open" wifi, no key needed. Communication is not a major problem to us because signages are available in English. Bring along a pen and some papers so the Korean can write numbers for you... for eg. price of an item etc etc. I have even resort to drawing... it is FUN!

Shoot me anything and I will try my best to answer.

Added on November 20, 2010, 11:14 pmFound Adidas wind breaker (2 pieces, outter water proof is detachable type) for 199,000 won. RM580.. quite cheap.
In Malaysia, similar stuff Timberland brand RM999. No idea about Adidas price in Malaysia because they don't sell winter wear.

This post has been edited by niel: Nov 20 2010, 11:14 PM
niel
post Nov 21 2010, 11:41 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Nov 20 2010, 11:40 PM)
@Niel, is there a lot of Citibank branch over there? I meant is it easily located? Or HSBC?

Anyway, me I'm going to borrow winter clothing from friends. See any trendier and cheap one then only buy there.

I saw one type of Adidas before in Japan. It's quite lightweight and not that thick. Didn't buy during then and regretted until now.
The most is Korean bank ATM, almost everywhere. As for foreign bank, the most I saw is Citibank. No sign of HSBC. However, not easy to catch Citibank ATM, have to ask around and usually it is available nearby. There's no Citibank in the airport.

niel
post Nov 21 2010, 01:35 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(fraulein @ Nov 21 2010, 12:13 PM)
So.. here I shoot...
Is Naryangin in Seoul and easy to get there? I'm planning to book for residence so maybe can buy something there to try cooking  drool.gif Are the seafood cheap in this market?

How much would you recommend that we bring per person (exclude flights and hotel) if we're going for 6 days?
Its easy to get around in seoul. I even manage to take buses to zoom around. smile.gif

I budgeted rm200 per day for two pax inclusive of accommodation, foods and transport. On the 4th day now and still manage to stick to my budget. I eat light or finger foods for breakfast and lunch and something good for early dinner.

Try walk into Restaurant with plenty of korean youngster. Normally the price for these shops are reasonable. Guess how much I paid for a big portion of pxxk and beef meat for korean style grilling? Less than RM50. Enough for four person to eat. Kimchi, vegies etc are all FOC.

For accomm, I stay in hostel, dorm style... Which in my opinion beat any hotels out there. I dislike return at night in a lifeless hotel room. In a hostel, you might not used to sharing of facilities etc etc. But just see it as your own home. smile.gif you will get a living room, a kitchen, blazing fast internet with pc free for use and usually a friendly and accommodating hostel host.

One good example is namugh.co.kr check it out.

This post has been edited by niel: Nov 21 2010, 02:03 PM
niel
post Nov 22 2010, 09:20 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 22 2010, 09:01 AM)
Ye. It's OK..I got the Garak wholesales market coordinate liao...yeah just beside Rodeo street...(Gonna put this on 1st pg)

http://wikimapia.org/#lat=37.4942689&lon=1...73&z=14&l=0&m=b

The Naryangin Market can't find wor...where ha?

Nami Island good place to go? Thinking of skipping this too..not enuf time haha.

Today temperature start to drop again...Sub zero possible Tonite & coming days..take care
Nami Island, if you are into relaxing atmosphere/park, definitely a must go.
http://www.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/SI/SI_EN_3...jsp?cid=1003968 (Bus Info)

Temperature 5c, still feeling OK as long as Uncle Sun is up there shinning biggrin.gif Going to the outlets as suggested by another forumer to get a better shoe now smile.gif

Added on November 22, 2010, 9:21 am
QUOTE(Derwyn @ Nov 22 2010, 12:56 AM)
My friend is in Korea now and she said she have problems surfing the net using IE with her laptop  over there, it's like the IE won't function but skype and msn can be used, anyone faced such problems? =)
Isolated.

This post has been edited by niel: Nov 22 2010, 09:22 AM
niel
post Nov 23 2010, 08:29 AM

321 posts

I paid 15k won for direct shuttle. On the way now to nami tongue.gif

This post has been edited by niel: Nov 23 2010, 08:30 AM
niel
post Nov 24 2010, 02:27 PM

321 posts

1. Garak Wholesale Market - can skip if you dislike big "pasar" like the one in malaysia.

2. Munjeong Rodeo Factory outlets street - very limited... not much of shops.. 2 rows?

3. Nami Island - if you are going with bf/gf, please go. Nice place, but won't take you long. I arrived 11.30, walk around there in a very slow pace. Finished 2.30. Please don't take direct bus if you wish to go MyeongDong at ChunCheon. Please do not mistaken this with the MyeongDong in Seoul. ChunCheon one is the correct one for 'Winter Sonata' drama.

4. AMEX card rate 2.82 sad.gif

5. SGP Case for iPhone around 60+ only. Very cheap, similar case at Singapore will cost me 2xx. Made in Korea, original bought in Frisbee (Apple biggest Premium Reseller in Korea).

This post has been edited by niel: Nov 24 2010, 02:35 PM
niel
post Nov 25 2010, 01:29 AM

321 posts

1. withdrawal from citibank rm2.78=krw1000 today.
2. namdaemun - can skip if you are not into pasar malam stuff and very short of time. namdaemun is only about 10-15 mins walk from myeong dong. shinsega is within namdaemun and myeong dong, big brand like LV etc are all here.
3. hongdae area (hong-ik station line2), come here if you want some nice and cheap grilled bbq. two rows of shops for you to choose. apart from that, like other univ area, lots of stall selling foods! i prefer here over namdaemun. there's a citibank along hong-ik station.
4. give dongdaemun a skip also if you dislike lot10, sg wang, bukit bintang or pavilion style shopping.
5. stay here if you arrived late and want a decent dorm to stay, free airport pickup too. http://www.lazybirdguesthouse.com/
6. insa-dong, another better place to go. a row of souvenirs, try out their pan-cake... very very nice. perhaps chicken/pork skewer as well.
7. if time is not a problem, go hiking in mt sorak. breathtaking view. need 4-5 hours one way travel, plus around half day for hiking/cable car ride. i will pick this over busan anytime! however, this is only me, i like scenery/cultural style of travelling or perhaps stalking of local people here. i don't and rarely pay any admission ticket. so i skipped all palace/museum. to me those are very very small scale and pale in comparison with those in china, beijing in particular tongue.gif
8. download seoul metro and seoul travel apps from appstore if you are using IOS/iphone. you need something that can help you to search for station easily because seoul has a comprehensive subway system than singapore and hong kong. it takes time before finding your desire station on a metro map. the apps will help you calculate nearest or best route too.
9. for more adventurous type, don't worry about restaurant. i even went into restaurant without any english menu, just a slip full of korean for you to write down your order. i believe before you step-in any of the restaurant, there will be pictures showing the foods that you would like to eat somewhere outside of the restaurant. so you can pin-point or just walk around in the restaurant see and point what people are eating. some may find embarrassing, i find it fun... just be friendly smile.gif normally tourist area will definitely has english menu, but prices are usually higher and you can't adapt or immerse yourself with the local's culture. i went into this grilled bbq restaurant and found a group of white-collar enjoying their weekend grilling and drinking beers loudly, banging table etc etc. very very "korean", best experience ever!
10. more update later...

This post has been edited by niel: Nov 25 2010, 01:53 AM
niel
post Nov 25 2010, 03:40 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(mkaz @ Nov 25 2010, 02:34 AM)
halal food easy to get or not??
Not easy, but manageable according to my Sudan muslim mate.
niel
post Nov 25 2010, 12:07 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Nov 25 2010, 11:50 AM)
wah,seems like mt sorak and nami island is fun. lucky its inside my itinerary.
but i wanna try n tower too.. haihz cant ask for too much.
lazybird guest house seem pretty decent and affordable.!
n seoul tower just minutes away from myeong dong, won't take much time. go in the evening around 4.30-5pm, then you can catch sunset and also the 'light show'
niel
post Nov 25 2010, 11:26 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Nov 25 2010, 05:20 PM)
mt sorak and ski resorts are inside my itinerary i try to take some pic and post it here.
but i donno why they doesnt include N tower since im going to nami island,cos niel say very near only.
n seoul tower is not near to myeong dong street in chun cheon, but it is near to myeong dong in seoul.

niel
post Nov 27 2010, 01:02 AM

321 posts

jus returned from mt sorak. go there if you can withstand fast 2-3 hours/way of rock surface hiking, the last 1km is very very steep. otherwise just take a cable car. smile.gif
magnificent view, as noted by others. to me, it is still pale in comparison especially with those in taiwan smile.gif

http://www.visitkorea.or.kr/ena/SI/SI_EN_3_6.jsp?cid=309520
anyone manage to find the burger king (winter sonata)? i went all the way to chuncheon's myeong-dong and found no burger king at all. the local said there is no burger king in their town also.
from the above link, i am sure it meant to be in chuncheon's myeong dong instead of seoul's.

btw, chuncheon myeong dong is not as happening as seoul's, skip if you don't have much time, nothing special except for the hand prints of winter sonata's character.
niel
post Nov 30 2010, 10:21 PM

321 posts

Ulsanbawi Peak, Mt Seoraksan
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by niel: Nov 30 2010, 10:24 PM
niel
post Dec 5 2010, 07:56 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(spidergirl @ Dec 5 2010, 04:55 PM)
Good idea, Noodl35! I've already have a few jackets with me, so I can definitely layer it up and for the next day, get a proper jacket when I'm there. Most importantly I need jacket for skiing time. Is it still gonna be cheap?

Btw, I have booked a place called Seoulwise Guesthouse located near Hongik University stop. It costs me 18000 won/RM50 each person for mixed dorm room. They provide free wifi and breakfast. Has anyone been here?
very far from hong-ik station. not a good idea if you are in korea for a few days, have to get out early and back late night, enduring the cold with 15 minutes walk (normal pace).

This post has been edited by niel: Dec 5 2010, 07:59 PM
niel
post Dec 5 2010, 10:39 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(spidergirl @ Dec 5 2010, 08:57 PM)
Now that's a good relief! flex.gif

Man..I hope my 4 days trip can cover a good time ski-ing, outdoor ice skating and shopping. I heard its super cheap to skate there.
not quite. i am very familiar with hong-ik area, unless you run like how you would do for 100m olympics, then you can reach there in 5 minutes. there's a main road which you need to wait to cross also. a quick one will reach by 5-10 minutes. do note there's a nicely decorated bbq grilled near hana bank. it is also cheap and delicious! try it... don't be afraid to walk in.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by niel: Dec 5 2010, 10:47 PM

0.0444sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:36 AM