125 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

cherroy
post Mar 14 2008, 10:36 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Mar 14 2008, 06:36 AM)
The NAV price are increasing after the elections :-) those who invested last week untung a bit already
Please post some constructive comment which is based on the actual and real market situation. This is not the first time that your statement come with misleading fact.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 14 2008, 10:36 AM
Jordy
post Mar 14 2008, 01:40 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Mar 12 2008, 12:31 AM)
Today i manage to get 30k cash investment :-) so happy hehehe hope this weeks rocks smile.gif
How is this related? Please do not include unrelated information in this forum.
We're discussing on the funds performance here, and not your performance.

QUOTE(MX510 @ Mar 13 2008, 09:09 AM)
CIMB or not doing very well many of my investor already with CIMB move to PM, and their consultant also moving from CIMB to PM :-) my brother who invested with CIMB showing me the statement there's no profit in it. So you can decide which one to choose smile.gif.
Please refrain from posting biased comments. Comparisons are made by investors, not by us.
We are at no stance to comment on other company.
We are only supposed to comment on our own company because we don't know much about others.
MX510
post Mar 15 2008, 10:20 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Will not post that anymore sorry for the missleading facts.I hoping this thread can discuss more open regarding all the funds, I'm posting the true facts about CIMB, do your own reasearch if u wish so :-). I just don't like investor loosing their money. As agent my target is not just doing lot's of sales but to monitor their investment and let them know when is the time to invest and etc. Hope no heart feelings regarding my statement.

This post has been edited by MX510: Mar 15 2008, 10:24 AM
cherroy
post Mar 15 2008, 11:34 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Mar 15 2008, 10:20 AM)
Will not post that anymore sorry for the missleading facts.I hoping this thread can discuss more open regarding all the funds, I'm posting the true facts about CIMB, do your own reasearch if u wish so :-). I just don't like investor loosing their money. As agent my target is not just doing lot's of sales but to monitor their investment and let them know when is the time to invest and etc. Hope no heart feelings regarding my statement.
As long as posting some constructive information, then it is always welcomed.

You are free to post whatever you think and opinion, just whatever opinion need to be supported by facts and concrete information. Just like you said CIMB fund is poor then you need to bring out some statistical facts about it and make comparison with PM funds, then it is more convincing rather than say it is bad which readers will find no clue about you are saying.
You are UT agent, so too say others bad, while only yours one is good, it only makes bad impression to others. No offence.

For example
one forumer posted ABC fund is good. (The end)
Another one posted XYZ fund is good (The end)
Another posted RST fund is bad better buy ABC fund that is good. (The end)

With these kind of posts, it brings no purposes at all. All readers won't be benefitted nor getting useful information from it.

Also, past performance doesn't mean future performance will be the same. It depends on how market evolves in the future, different funds has different portfolio, sometimes, depends on situation, one might outperform the other in certain time period and vice versa.

In a down trend market, no one will gain through equities unit trust. PM has also got a fair share of poor performance UT recently, particularly related to China funds one. I don't deny PM or Pb series got some sterling performance funds over the long term, instead I highly regard the PM and Pb series fund, but not all are performing equally good one, there are some bad apples as well.

Just my 2 cents.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 15 2008, 11:37 AM
bploh
post Mar 15 2008, 02:30 PM

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 15 2008, 11:34 AM)
As long as posting some constructive information, then it is always welcomed.

You are free to post whatever you think and opinion, just whatever opinion need to be supported by facts and concrete information. Just like you said CIMB fund is poor then you need to bring out some statistical facts about it and make comparison with PM funds, then it is more convincing rather than say it is bad which readers will find no clue about you are saying.
You are UT agent, so too say others bad, while only yours one is good, it only makes bad impression to others. No offence.

For example
one forumer posted ABC fund is good. (The end)
Another one posted XYZ fund is good (The end)
Another posted RST fund is bad better buy ABC fund that is good. (The end)

With these kind of posts, it brings no purposes at all. All readers won't be benefitted nor getting useful information from it.

Also, past performance doesn't mean future performance will be the same. It depends on how market evolves in the future, different funds has different portfolio, sometimes, depends on situation, one might outperform the other in certain time period and vice versa.

In a down trend market, no one will gain through equities unit trust. PM has also got a fair share of poor performance UT recently, particularly related to China funds one. I don't deny PM or Pb series got some sterling performance funds over the long term, instead I highly regard the PM and Pb series fund, but not all are performing equally good one, there are some bad apples as well.

Just my 2 cents.
Totally agree smile.gif.

Equity fund's performance is very much reflected by the general market performance. So don't expect to see good return in market like today in short-term. But this volatility gives us some good opportunity to take "some" positions. Start to accumulate if you feel that the market is cheap (it doesn't have to be "cheapest). We do not know when the market will go up. And we can't be sure if the market will go down further. But from historical data. "What goes up must come down, and what comes down must go up" smile.gif. So stay invested for mid to long term is very important. If you have the time to wait and understand your risk appetite. The likelihood of you making money is much higher...

leekk8
post Mar 17 2008, 10:06 AM

1,059 posts

Unit trust past performance is a reference for the ability of the fund manager, but when we compare, we should compare with same category funds or the benchmark. A fund which lose 10% in a year is considered good if all the same category funds lose 20% in that year.

Past performance does not indicate the prospect of the fund, so beside referring to the past performance, the most important thing is, we must understand the investment strategies of the funds and choose the most suitable fund for yourself.
ableze_joepardy
post Mar 17 2008, 07:47 PM

*w0ot*
1,061 posts

im looking for CIMB UTC at Ipoh/Batu Gajah/Sri Iskandar area to open an acc. plz do contact me.

n anyone knows whats the highest price for DALI week before GE n lowest price a week after GE?
SUSDavid83
post Mar 19 2008, 08:05 AM

52,874 posts

New AmInvestment fund sets high target

KUALA LUMPUR: AmInvestment Bank Bhd is targeting for its AmGlobal Emerging Market Opportunities fund, which taps on the cream of emerging markets, to outperform the MSCI emerging market index's 33% annual returns.

Managing director T.C. Kok said emerging markets such as Brazil, Russia, Turkey, South Korea and Thailand were set for strong growth and would continue to outpace the mature economies.

"With their natural resources, rising middle class, low-cost labouras well as massive economic and structural improvements in recent years, the emerging markets have outpaced the developed markets," he said at the launch yesterday.

Kok said as the emerging markets were less reliant on the US and developed market, they would, therefore, be less affected by the downturn in these countries.

Being a feeder fund, AmGlobal Emerging Market Opportunities will invest a minimum of 95% of its net asset value (NAV) into Schroder International Selection Fund (ISF) Global Emerging Market Opportunities while maintaining up to a maximum of 5% in liquid assets.

The target fund would be managed by Schroder Investment Management (S) Ltd.

Kok said the target fund would have a unique investment strategy and an absolute return target as it sought to take an aggressive approach in both bull and bear markets.

He said that the fund - AmInvestment's second to be launched this year - would fully invest in the most attractive stocks within the selected top six emerging markets globally if the macro outlook for the emerging market was positive.

"When the economic outlook is uncertain, the fund has the flexibility to strategically move up to 30% into cash and 30% into bonds," he said, adding that this distinctive investment strategy was more dynamic than a typical emerging markets fund.

AmGlobal Emerging Market Opportunities has an authorised fund size of 300 million units.

The fund is offered to the public at RM1 per unit during the initial offer period from March 18 to April 9.

The minimum investment amount is RM1,000 while the minimum additional investment is RM500.

URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...98&sec=business
Processsoboring
post Mar 20 2008, 10:49 AM

48 posts

I'm personally think that Public Mutual China Fund (PCSF, PCIF...) fund manager performance is bad.. Juz look at the benchmark, i'm really upset with them...

Wat u all think?
Medufsaid
post Mar 20 2008, 11:44 AM

3,494 posts

Well. They followed the benchmark quite well until the last week or so. I think this is because there was a massive money outflow to outer conservative funds thanks to panic switching.
Jordy
post Mar 21 2008, 12:01 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Processsoboring @ Mar 20 2008, 10:49 AM)
I'm personally think that Public Mutual China Fund (PCSF, PCIF...) fund manager performance is bad.. Juz look at the benchmark, i'm really upset with them...

Wat u all think?
I believe China market's boom was not spread over the board, but were affected by only some counters. The fund managers' portfolio was wider spread, so that could be why you see some gap there. Mind you that fund managers are required to diversify the portfolio.
howszat
post Mar 22 2008, 04:08 PM

2,932 posts

I was looking at a new fund PACIFIC DYNAMIC TRADER FUND and saw the following:

Towards the end of the Fund's financial year (or earlier depending on financial market conditions or returns generated by the Fund), the Fund will liquidate all its investments converting them into cash. The cash will then be parked in a non-interest bearing current account for the entire duration of the ensuing 10-day Entry-Exit Window Period. As such, there will be no fluctuations in NAV during the Entry-Exit Window Period.

Does this mean that they have to sell the equities by a year-end, regardless of the price? What happens after the 10-day period - do they buy the equities back again, regardless of price? Looks crazy to me. rclxub.gif

kingkong81
post Mar 22 2008, 09:32 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Mar 22 2008, 04:08 PM)
Does this mean that they have to sell the equities by a year-end, regardless of the price? What happens after the 10-day period - do they buy the equities back again, regardless of price? Looks crazy to me. rclxub.gif
From wat is quoted there, it seems to be like that....but it did not make sense if they hv to sell off their equities at every financial year end...

So, it seems like after every financial year end, they will renew their investment portfolio/strategy again.
But if that means selling off good profit-making equities isn't that at an disadvantage for the Funds?

Mayb u hv to further enquire with any agents/bank for this fund to get more info.

This post has been edited by kingkong81: Mar 22 2008, 09:37 PM
Darkmage12
post Mar 22 2008, 09:42 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(Processsoboring @ Mar 20 2008, 10:49 AM)

Wat u all think?
actually the fund managers for all the funds are roughly the same just that some designated fund manager for that particular fund might under perform due to lack of experience for international market then again every fund have been in red recently if that's ur concern
howszat
post Mar 22 2008, 10:58 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Mar 22 2008, 09:32 PM)
Mayb u hv to further enquire with any agents/bank for this fund to get more info.
I don't think they would want to talk to me since the entry requirement is RM 3 million... biggrin.gif

That's probably why it doesn't make sense to me, but it might to someone with 3 mil.
kingkong81
post Mar 22 2008, 11:14 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Mar 22 2008, 10:58 PM)
I don't think they would want to talk to me since the entry requirement is RM 3 million...  biggrin.gif

That's probably why it doesn't make sense to me, but it might to someone with 3 mil.
Yup...true oso...maybe that is why they needed to sell off their equities during their financial yr end...

All r big holders sweat.gif
cherroy
post Mar 23 2008, 10:29 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Mar 22 2008, 04:08 PM)
It looks like similar to hedge fund in overseas, which is very very risk one. 10x much more risky than normal UT fund.

It makes sense also, better read careful about their term. They (the fund objective) are traders, strategy is not as same as normal conservative fund. <-- similar to hedge fund, they are more speculative in nature.

As the fund can be 100% invested, they might have no cash in hand for any redemption one. So the 10 days period of entry-exit is meant for investors in this fund to liquidate their position. I believe there is some restriction or penalty if redeem the fund not in the 10 days period, in between the year as it would mean disruption of the fund trading side, just my guess.

Better search through its details in officially brochure or prospectus. But may be it won't be dispateching to ordinary people as min criteria is to have at least 3 millions of asset. Even 1-2 millions also not qualified. <-- again similar to hedge fund.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 23 2008, 10:40 AM
SKY 1809
post Mar 23 2008, 08:09 PM

23,851 posts

It is big surprise that despite the worldwide uncertainties, investors are generally not educated to preserve their wealth.

Wealth Creation for high Network people is good provided they have set aside enough money in the wealth conservation fund first. It is very important at this point of time due to the uncertainty worldwide. Asset Allocation is also another important issue that needed to be examined further.

Also investors are perceived to understand the ( high ) risks involved . Miscalculations do happen from time to time such as sub prime issue.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Mar 24 2008, 08:02 AM
MX510
post Mar 23 2008, 10:42 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Got a lot of non business day for this month for PM China funds

This post has been edited by MX510: Mar 23 2008, 10:50 PM
fulusman
post Mar 24 2008, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Nov 18 2006, 12:32 AM)
I thought it should be the other way round? buy bond fund when the equities market is going downwards n vise-versa? unsure.gif
if you think you don't want to hit by the market ups and down you can buy flexi fund like maaklmutual eagle flexi fund .It follow the market ups and down less risk

125 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:26 AM