WAY TOO MUCH THREAD IN NINTENDO, Please comment

bozerman
post Nov 14 2006, 03:56 PM

183 posts

Agree with what sihum said.
Way to much new thread, especially when a new game coming out.
Good idea for adding "Ninty Kopitiam a.k.a spam thread"
For "DS thread ( phat + lite + friend codes + upcoming games)" - That should have well be combine since the 1st day of DS lite release.

sihumchai
post Nov 14 2006, 04:04 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

Wow, somehow there's alot of old-timers coming back since this thread was made thumbup.gif

I'll leave this mess up to you guys.. I just want to see a CLEAN sub-forum.. Not too many pinned, the less the better.

DS/GBA Thread
Wii/GC Thread
Upcoming Games Thread
FAQ Thread = Mini-wiki style, NiWiFi, System Info, Friendcodes
Pasar Malam Thread
Nintendo Gatherings Thread

I've narrowed this down to 6, from 11 shocking.gif

Feedback feedback!

firstknight
post Nov 14 2006, 04:32 PM

2,681 posts

Haha.... for me... i will put few main topic... then under there sub topics... hehe.. i wont be writing wat i will be doing... cos that will take time for me to think... if i am doing.. i will start thinking la.. hehe.. since evoHan is on it.. let him do lor.. keke...
bozerman
post Nov 14 2006, 04:36 PM

183 posts

Well, i agree with sihum list.
But why put Pasar Malam Thread,
sihum...got no other better name meh... tongue.gif

Anyway, as long it is tidy and easy to get what we wanted, it shall be fine.
I still love to come and read the stuff your guy post.
Your guy are totally hardcore Nintendo fanboy.
sihumchai
post Nov 14 2006, 04:48 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

lol! Just a temporary name tongue.gif You know our mod likes funky names like "Nintendo Chamber of Commerce and Trade".. So.. let him decide tongue.gif

I'm glad you still come around here, hardcore Ninty fanboeys eh!? Bring on the torches and pitch-forks!!
bozerman
post Nov 14 2006, 04:59 PM

183 posts

Actually i like the "Nintendo Chamber of Commerce and Trade" name alot.
Hope i see more interesting name coming up.
I seldom play games nowadays, but i always drop by and read the post.
How i wish i'm still a college student. cry.gif
tongue.gif whistling.gif

Erhhh...why my post count never adding up geh??? Nvm la

This post has been edited by bozerman: Nov 14 2006, 05:04 PM
TSevoHahn
post Nov 14 2006, 05:20 PM

Mika !
1,711 posts

QUOTE(bozerman @ Nov 14 2006, 04:59 PM)

Erhhh...why my post count never adding up geh??? Nvm la
post in console couch doesnt count into your total post as a result of spamming few years back...when there's only Gamers Hideout... tongue.gif
Pr1me_Minister
post Nov 14 2006, 08:14 PM

314 posts

Now we we should bring this to the attention of the LYN staff. smile.gif
sihumchai
post Nov 15 2006, 11:48 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

BUMPED for attention!
Mudmaniac
post Nov 16 2006, 01:54 AM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

revuer: You volunteered to do the Nintendo FAQ but have not gotten back to me about facts I asked corrected since Oct 9th. I'm gonna need the rest of the FAQ including the sections about online connectivity.

sihum: your six thread suggestion looks good. i'll see what i can do about getting that set up. i wish tho, that people ACTUALLY submitted information here in a wiki-able manner like i had hoped for the wifi connection thread. eventually i just gave up on that. and it turned into another spam chat thread.

evo: thanks for the input. its good to hear what everyone thinks about this sub-forum.

In general i find that friend codes and chamber of commerce are littered with old codes and trades(respectively) that few people give me notification to delete or update. expect that i will be doing a lot of pruning and deleting soon.
reveur
post Nov 16 2006, 07:39 AM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

QUOTE(Mudmaniac @ Nov 16 2006, 01:54 AM)
revuer: You volunteered to do the Nintendo FAQ but have not gotten back to me about facts I asked corrected since Oct 9th. I'm gonna need the rest of the FAQ including the sections about online connectivity.

Aiyak, Sorry man. I never got around to do that. Let me get to it and get back to you.
Edit: Or maybe not. FAQ gone. Oh well. Since i have the time now. I think i can redo it

This post has been edited by reveur: Nov 16 2006, 07:41 AM
sihumchai
post Nov 16 2006, 08:36 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

Rev: You may use info found on wiki.. Just make sure to put the source. Don't have to be too descriptive, maybe you can plagarize around.

Looking forward to the 'cleaner' sub-forum, and thanks modmud.
Mudmaniac
post Nov 16 2006, 11:00 AM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

rev: its still there. just you cant see it. and wikipedia may indeed be a good source to derive some info. be careful of bias tho.
sihumchai
post Nov 16 2006, 11:11 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

I see some improvements.. One step at a time.

Now, to get rid of GC thread and be merge with Wii thread. Abit sakit hati tho'.. But the GC still lives in the belly of the Wii.

DS should be Nintendo Handheld Discussions right? Or should it be remained as DS thread(but with GBA talk too).

Should we have fresher names for our thread(s)? I think everyone might agree with a new 'look'.. I appoint Mr. Mud to do the naming wink.gif
zorocaster
post Nov 16 2006, 03:40 PM

50 posts

The new list of pinned topics is a bit disorientating at first, but it certainly looks neater. thumbup.gif

And you have my vote for "fresher names for our thread(s)" biggrin.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Nov 16 2006, 03:43 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

I agree wholeheartedly. Sometimes we get far too many threads on the ONE game, or issue (adapter, price, screen protector, etc).
azxel
post Nov 16 2006, 04:24 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

and here I thought we were tryin to out-Post the other console threads.. laugh.gif
personally, I think that things look ok so far... without threads, there won't be much to talk about... one of the reasons why I bought my NDS was because there was quite some info here to check up on and it's easy to read threads with 2-5 pages, rather than having to go through 40 pages of 'accesories' which would probably be filled with spam.
Pr1me_Minister
post Mar 23 2009, 11:02 PM

314 posts

I have decided to bump this 28 months old thread up again because the same problem has plagued this Nintendo subforum yet again.

The problem:
  • Too many pinned thread for the same thing, for example the DS and DS FAQ thread. And why the heck do we need 2 Friend Code threads!?
  • Most of the pinned threads are under-ultilised.
  • Too many new threads asking trival questions like prices, availability, and even your top games. Which is better posted on it's respective systems thread.
  • The Nintendo Chamber of Commerce is littered with old outdated tradelist and double posts, despite the warnings put on the thread description and the thread's R&R.
  • Mysterious illness that make some people display coughing like symptoms. *ahem* *ahem*

My proposal:
  • Reorganizing the pinned threads
    + Merge the Wii/ DS threads with its respective FAQ threads, with complete and updated infomations.
    + One single Friend Code thread for all Friend Codes (DS and Wii). Each member is allowed one post only to post (and updating) their FCs. After that they can link it to their signature, the same way everyone do with the sucessful trade list.
    + One thread for the upcoming games releases, with the first few posts reserved for cataloging LYN members ori games list for all Nintendo systems.
    + Nintendo Chamber of Commerce to be restarted every month similiar to the Playstation subforum's PlayStation Store.
    + A Nintendo WFC thread for Wii/ DS networking related discussion. (compatable routers for example)
    + Retro Nintendo systems thread!
    + A READ ME FIRST THREAD for forum newbies.
    + And of course, our Great LYN Nintendo DS Meetup thread. happy.gif
  • Redundant/ duplicate threads should be closed or redirected to suitable threads.
  • Users should report posts related to piracy instead of commenting on them. :/
  • WE NEED MOAR MODS!
Some could be hard to implement especially rewriting the entire FAQs for the new threads. And there're no indication when sihum will return, so we need someone to at least temporarily help in this subforum along with Mudmaniac.

So what's your opinions or suggestions on this?
bidfordun
post Mar 23 2009, 11:09 PM

2,234 posts

Still the same question. where is sihumchai currently?
why_79
post Mar 23 2009, 11:12 PM

63 posts

forget sihum, we need to close all thread regarding wii peripherals and accessories, it seems no one talks about games anymore here sad.gif

predictably so when it cost less than rm10 a pop it seems...

This post has been edited by why_79: Mar 23 2009, 11:13 PM

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:41 AM