Proton PrevĂ© V23, Livin la vida loca

ChokenBako
post May 3 2016, 02:00 PM

QUOTE(myteam94 @ May 3 2016, 01:16 PM)
Have any of you guys encountered stalled engine
(preve CFE)
I start the car normally ( push 2 times, depress brake and start engine)
Everything turn on as usually , temp was good
I didnt rev or anything yet
But as i put into D gear
the car stalled with *Gear Indicator turn on*
Is it normal?
No, it's NOT normal. But it shouldn't be a big problem either. Just have your car checked at the service centre. I think all it needs is a little clutch adaptation.
kaifahalas
post May 3 2016, 03:10 PM

109 posts

I already hit 81,000 km kena tukar brake pads belakang. how about you all guys ? can you strecth it further to say 100k km?

price about rm295.00 expensive for 2 pieces

This post has been edited by kaifahalas: May 3 2016, 03:12 PM
TS:3mushy:3
post May 3 2016, 03:24 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(kaifahalas @ May 3 2016, 03:10 PM)
I already hit 81,000 km kena tukar brake pads belakang. how about you all guys ? can you strecth it further to say 100k km?

price about rm295.00 expensive for 2 pieces
Are you sure 295 for 2 pieces? I changed all of mine for 260 something.

This post has been edited by :3mushy:3: May 3 2016, 03:25 PM
kaifahalas
post May 3 2016, 03:32 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 3 2016, 03:24 PM)
Are you sure 295 for 2 pieces? I changed all of mine for 260 something.
yes that is what i see in quotation. that mean you got lots of discount . you doing it outside proton dealer/branch?

my brake pads already make sound grong! grong !, have to go to the nearest dealer, kena scim disc lagi rm80 ranting.gif

This post has been edited by kaifahalas: May 3 2016, 03:34 PM
SportyHandling
post May 3 2016, 05:54 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 2 2016, 12:13 PM)
Well, I can tell my other (Conti and Japs alike) cars are also displaying unreliable measurement. It all depends on how refined the system and the conditions of your driving is.

I have never trusted these readings, I much more rely on how much of the fuel left. I don't think Proton engineers are going to spend resources on fine tuning the system too, maybe for future Proton cars, it will be more reliable.
I have no comment whether certain cars display "unreliable" figures, but if comparing between the Proton Preve Turbo and another continental car that I own, the Ford Focus, I find the electronic measurements shown in the display of the Proton Preve Turbo, particularly the "kilometres left" before the fuel tank goes empty to be inconsistent.

Just this afternoon I was observing the changes of the "km left" on the Preve Turbo when I was driving back from the office. When I started the engine, the display showed "462 km". I drove for about 5 to 10 km but the numbers dropped very fast, showing 440 km. Then I continued driving and the display showed 429 km. This was the point it got interesting. When the display showed 429 km, I drove for about 10 km and the figure did not change. It stayed at 429 km. After about 5 km, instead of dropping the number went up from 429 km to 430 km. After I drove for another 4 to 5 km, the display went up to 431 km until I reached my house.

It's not a big issue and it's not that the display is not correct or the computer programming is defective. It's just an inconsistency pattern that I observe in this car. In the Ford Focus, the numbers (km left) will never go up. They will only go down as more mileage is clocked. And when the numbers drop, it won't be a drastic sharp drop, but a gradual drop. I find the computer programming of the numbers shown in the display of the Ford Focus to be more consistent, maybe more reliable than that of the Preve Turbo.

I am solely commenting on the display that is showing the numbers for the "kilometres left". I rarely have the display showing the instantaneous fuel figures or other figures, so I cannot offer much experience on that.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: May 3 2016, 05:55 PM
SportyHandling
post May 3 2016, 06:01 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ May 3 2016, 01:16 PM)
Have any of you guys encountered stalled engine
(preve CFE)
I start the car normally ( push 2 times, depress brake and start engine)
Everything turn on as usually , temp was good
I didnt rev or anything yet
But as i put into D gear
the car stalled with *Gear Indicator turn on*
Is it normal?
Do you mean you have successfully started the engine, but after you switch the gear from P to D, the engine went dead? If that's the case, it's not normal.

I can always start the engine, but most of the time, the engine sounds like it is having a difficult time to start. Instead of a clean start, sometimes it will drag 1 to 2 seconds with a weak engine starting sound before the engine comes to life. However, in all instances there is no problem starting the engine. I suspect, in my case, the battery may be weak and will need replacement soon (the battery is now 2 years 9 months old).

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: May 3 2016, 06:01 PM
myteam94
post May 3 2016, 06:44 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ May 3 2016, 06:01 PM)
Do you mean you have successfully started the engine, but after you switch the gear from P to D, the engine went dead? If that's the case, it's not normal.

I can always start the engine, but most of the time, the engine sounds like it is having a difficult time to start. Instead of a clean start, sometimes it will drag 1 to 2 seconds with a weak engine starting sound before the engine comes to life. However, in all instances there is no problem starting the engine. I suspect, in my case, the battery may be weak and will need replacement soon (the battery is now 2 years 9 months old).
Same here, sometime the engine drag for 1-5 seconds with weak engine starting sound before come to life
Plus i'm not sure it occured to you or not
When i try to start the engine, there is a time where the engine struggle to start up, it cranked for awhile and went dead for a second, then it restart itself again (occured usually during cold start or sometime randomly)

I did check my battery status with SC during my 20K service
They said it fine
My car currently 1y 5m
Now waiting for 35k service
SportyHandling
post May 4 2016, 04:41 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ May 3 2016, 06:44 PM)
Same here, sometime the engine drag for 1-5 seconds with weak engine starting sound before come to life
Plus i'm not sure it occured to you or not
When i try to start the engine, there is a time where the engine struggle to start up, it cranked for awhile and went dead for a second, then it restart itself again (occured usually during cold start or sometime randomly)

I did check my battery status with SC during my 20K service
They said it fine
My car currently 1y 5m
Now waiting for 35k service
Up to 5 seconds, very rare, but it did happen once or twice. Weird that this can happen. I wonder if others experience the same thing? But most of the time, it is fine. Just occasionally the car will show slight difficulty to start, a weird sound as if the engine is struggling to start, but eventually it will start.

When the time comes the engine totally cannot start, then it will be time to replace the battery.
maan
post May 5 2016, 11:09 AM

163 posts

hi,

Any problem with your bearing and causing noise ? Is it under warranty? my car is already 4 year plus..

The headlamp light is really dim and not bright enough; Any one doing "improvise Relay Wire Harness" to your headlamp?
Any difference? what is the cost ?
Any accessories shop in puchong provide the service?

thanks..
yokoloco
post May 5 2016, 11:43 AM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(maan @ May 5 2016, 11:09 AM)
hi,

Any problem with your bearing and causing noise ?  Is it under warranty?  my car is already 4 year plus..

The headlamp light is really dim and not bright enough; Any one doing "improvise Relay Wire Harness" to your headlamp?
Any difference? what is the cost ?
Any accessories shop in puchong provide the service?

thanks..
my car also about 3 or 4 years.. headlamps keep burning out.
so just switch to HID now lol
post May 5 2016, 11:45 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(yokoloco @ May 5 2016, 11:43 AM)
my car also about 3 or 4 years.. headlamps keep burning out.
so just switch to HID now lol
What model and what kind of mod? I've been wanting to try HID after I saw one nicely done on Preve, unlike others I've seen that HID mod wasn't blinding and pleasant to the eyes.
yokoloco
post May 5 2016, 11:50 AM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 5 2016, 11:45 AM)
What model and what kind of mod? I've been wanting to try HID after I saw one nicely done on Preve, unlike others I've seen that HID mod wasn't blinding and pleasant to the eyes.
proton preve cvt. i just switched out the bulbs with HID, no other modifications.
ask the accessory shop adjust the beam to aim more towards the road, instead of pointing straight up so not blinding.
post May 5 2016, 12:11 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(yokoloco @ May 5 2016, 11:50 AM)
proton preve cvt. i just switched out the bulbs with HID, no other modifications.
ask the accessory shop adjust the beam to aim more towards the road, instead of pointing straight up so not blinding.
I mean what model/brand of the HID. Damage done?
yokoloco
post May 5 2016, 12:17 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ May 5 2016, 12:11 PM)
I mean what model/brand of the HID. Damage done?
oh i forgot. i think just some china brand HID, nothing fancy. already got rid of the box lol.. about rm300.
batman_82
post May 5 2016, 03:46 PM

Anyone knows the boost of the turbo is set at?
Also anyone did the wastegate spring mod?
Seen photos of it but is there is no info on the spring rate or what type of spring to use.
Anyone know of the spring to use?
The boost after that is increased?
maverickng
post May 6 2016, 12:10 PM

62 posts

my preve already 4 year 100k+ km now..so far so good rclxms.gif
5 years waranty is for gearbox n engine only,other bodypart all 3 years

thing i have done for the past 4 year
3 time change engine mounting(when u start engine when feel vibrate,time to change mounting)
2 time change driver seat
gearbox oil leaking(3 time change oil pan gasket,1 time change oil hose)
gear knob patah 1 time
1 time dunno what sound loudy at front driver side when travel uneven road,complaint then fixed..i dunno what they done(under waranty)

other normal service saja..nothing major happen.. notworthy.gif

HenryJay
post May 7 2016, 11:16 AM

285 posts

Hi All,

May I ask which part of our engine's PVC valve and breather hose?
A?B?

I would like install the OCC(Oil catch can)myself, and does the below installation figure is correct?

spiritz09
post May 7 2016, 07:54 PM

19 posts

hi all, i'm new to Preve Exec..
just a silly question, can Preve Exec change/convert to Preve Premium's CFE Engine?
CVT engine sound is getting noisier at high rpm... or worst come to worst, any proofing parts can be installed to minimize the sound from "penetrating" into car cabin?
post May 7 2016, 08:06 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(spiritz09 @ May 7 2016, 07:54 PM)
hi all, i'm new to Preve Exec..
just a silly question, can Preve Exec change/convert to Preve Premium's CFE Engine?
CVT engine sound is getting noisier at high rpm... or worst come to worst, any proofing parts can be installed to minimize the sound from "penetrating" into car cabin?
Err not doable, you need to change at least the engine, ECU and transmission.
-light-
post May 8 2016, 06:28 PM

How often mounting needs to be changed? How much per piece? Cos my warranty ending soon, not sure should I claim one new pair mounting... Car no vibration now

269 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0376sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:23 AM