7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Why dont you convert?

TSmypetridish
post Nov 7 2006, 11:16 AM, updated 19y ago

1,313 posts

Sigh, it is impossible to ask your loved one to convert because of you. Maybe she would but that's not the way I wanted it done. She has to convert away from Christianity to Islam not because the love of me, but because of the love of Allah s.b.t.

Currently, I'm having my hopefully-future-spouse attend some of the Muslim Students Association meeting here and she even tag along out Jumaah prayer with the sisters. The talks make good sense, especially one that talked about the 5 pillars of Islam.

As a pious Christian, she could relate most of what we talked about with what she had learned. But it was quite complicated to explain why we believe that Jesus is a prophet, and not the son of God. We also pointed out that we all (Islam, Christian, Judaism) have the same God, Allah.

I actually had her wear the hijab and hey hey, she looked superbly gorgeous. laugh.gif

JHCJ, this is the same girl we used to talk about. This time I'm not luring her through myself, but through the beauty of Islam. smile.gif
mitodna
post Nov 7 2006, 11:19 AM

14,039 posts

Congrats, yeah yeah yeah, don't have hijab fetish, k?
happy4ever
post Nov 7 2006, 11:20 AM

(✿◠‿◠) Queen of Love ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
7,194 posts

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Nov 7 2006, 11:16 AM)
Sigh, it is impossible to ask your loved one to convert because of you. Maybe she would but that's not the way I wanted it done. She has to convert away from Christianity to Islam not because the love of me, but because of the love of Allah s.b.t.

Currently, I'm having my hopefully-future-spouse attend some of the Muslim Students Association meeting here and she even tag along out Jumaah prayer with the sisters. The talks make good sense, especially one that talked about the 5 pillars of Islam.

As a pious Christian, she could relate most of what we talked about with what she had learned. But it was quite complicated to explain why we believe that Jesus is a prophet, and not the son of God. We also pointed out that we all (Islam, Christian, Judaism) have the same God, Allah.

I actually had her wear the hijab and hey hey, she looked superbly gorgeous. laugh.gif

JHCJ, this is the same girl we used to talk about. This time I'm not luring her through myself, but through the beauty of Islam.  smile.gif
I believe words from man's mouth alone wont bring forth a conversion. She herself must be convicted by your God, then only then, she will be burdened to look deeper into your faith. If however she is convinced that her faith and that Christ is her messiah, then....too bad la.

it is the most difficult to convert a Christian to Islam, and vice versa.
Only time will tell.
Edi8888
post Nov 7 2006, 11:21 AM

MyViVa Owner
1,242 posts

die liao la...she cannot wear sexy anymore...she cannot hav sex any more..she need to cover her face liao.....
SUSSetsunahq
post Nov 7 2006, 11:24 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(Edi8888 @ Nov 7 2006, 11:21 AM)
die liao la...she cannot wear sexy anymore...she cannot hav sex any more..she need to cover her face liao.....
QFT and this message is too short
TSmypetridish
post Nov 7 2006, 11:26 AM

1,313 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Nov 7 2006, 11:20 AM)
I believe words from man's mouth alone wont bring forth a conversion. She herself must be convicted by your God, then only then, she will be burdened to look deeper into your faith. If however she is convinced that her faith and that Christ is her messiah, then....too bad la.

it is the most difficult to convert a Christian to Islam, and vice versa.
Only time will tell.
True that, I found my approach earlier was wrong and now I am trying to bring her closer to my god, although they are explicitly the same god. time will tell, definately, this time around though, if it doesnt happen I know it wont happen and will probably not try again.

She doesnt wear sexy. She's a true, pious Christian to begin with. She has been reading the bible for the past 1 year and told me there was something amiss about it. I introduced her to quran plus some not too healthy lifestyle which was wrong. And this time around it will purely be through Islam.

Edi8888
post Nov 7 2006, 11:27 AM

MyViVa Owner
1,242 posts

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Nov 7 2006, 11:26 AM)
True that, I found my approach earlier was wrong and now I am trying to bring her closer to my god, although they are explicitly the same god. time will tell, definately, this time around though, if it doesnt happen I know it wont happen and will probably not try again.
She doesnt wear sexy. She's a true, pious Christian to begin with. She has been reading the bible for the past 1 year and told me there was something amiss about it. I introduced her to quran plus some not too healthy lifestyle which was wrong. And this time around it will purely be through Islam.
god is good..she betray but god forgive her..

u try to cover from muslim to other and see....u will get throw stone untill die.. cry.gif
TSmypetridish
post Nov 7 2006, 11:29 AM

1,313 posts

QUOTE(Edi8888 @ Nov 7 2006, 11:27 AM)
god is good..she betray but god forgive her..

u try to cover from muslim to other and see....u will get throw stone untill die.. cry.gif
Im sorry but what is your point? I really couldnt get you.
SUSSetsunahq
post Nov 7 2006, 11:31 AM

128 posts

well, discussing religion in forum is bad news
Edi8888
post Nov 7 2006, 11:33 AM

MyViVa Owner
1,242 posts

QUOTE(Setsunahq @ Nov 7 2006, 11:31 AM)
discuss at where also same...so better close this topic

happy4ever
post Nov 7 2006, 11:36 AM

(✿◠‿◠) Queen of Love ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
7,194 posts

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Nov 7 2006, 11:26 AM)
Pious doesnt mean spiritual nor well grounded in the Bible.
If she is, your defination of the same God in Islam and Christianity is irrelevant to her...since Christians dont acknowledge the Islamic God as the same God. So your task is really an uphill task. Just dont push it too fast and hard. Get to know each other more. As much as you want her to know yr faith, be fair and show some interests in hers as well. Its not like " you can come to my islam, but Dont ask me to go to your church!". It wont work.

BTW, how long have you known her?
QUOTE(Setsunahq @ Nov 7 2006, 11:31 AM)
Its still better than having an Interfaith Forum live face2face and have over zealous gooks holding riot and going amok, jeapordising everyone's lives!

This post has been edited by happy4ever: Nov 7 2006, 11:37 AM
SUSSetsunahq
post Nov 7 2006, 11:40 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(happy4ever @ Nov 7 2006, 11:36 AM)
Its still better than having an Interfaith Forum live face2face and have over zealous gooks holding riot and going amok, jeapordising everyone's lives!
Well in forum it is my god pwn your god, your god suck my penis, your god is fake mine is real, god is a squirrel bla bla bla
Jcsy
post Nov 7 2006, 11:45 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

ok not to take Religion attacks or defends here but a word from the back of my mind

a true Christian will NEVER enter the world of another religion

it is quite simple really.. if u are REALLY a true MUSLIM , will u give up your AFTERLIFE (heaven/ hell) (if u believe that) to be with your love one on EARTH and then SUFFER for ETERNITY after that?

i am a Christian myself and ive not yet got it all figured out but
if some1 is TRULY a Christian / Muslim / <insert religion> they wouldnt convert over to another because of love

it is , VERY VERY DIFFICULT , or rather foolish

i am not condemning threadstarter ( i lazy type ur name , i type faster with common words ) but ask your self a few things and of course, if u dont mind , ask her a few things

things such as is she really a christian to begin with? are u doing the right thing?
i know in the Al - Quran that its BEST to get every other religion into Islam , but not OUT biggrin.gif

yes, it might be good, for u, but please do make sure it is for her...
would u exit YOUR religion? imagine the amount of ... (dnuno what u call it ) islam police chasing your tail?

besides, u might have to reconsider parents objections , those are not easy..

i have plenty more to say but.. OFFICE work does not permit so biggrin.gif

PS : I am a Christian, and I'm Chinese if thats to clear up where im coming from

Mgsrulz
post Nov 7 2006, 08:17 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Nov 7 2006, 11:16 AM)

JHCJ, this is the same girl we used to talk about. This time I'm not luring her through myself, but through the beauty of Islam.  smile.gif
do her parents know of her attending these events/gatherings?
or is she doing this behind their backs? sweat.gif

i love the ignorance in your post smile.gif
winkybear
post Nov 7 2006, 08:57 PM

489 posts

hopefully-future-spouse ?

Arent u a little too young.
TSmypetridish
post Nov 7 2006, 11:58 PM

1,313 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Nov 7 2006, 11:45 AM)
a true Christian will NEVER enter the world of another religion

it is quite simple really.. if u are REALLY a true MUSLIM , will u give up your AFTERLIFE (heaven/ hell) (if u believe that) to be with your love one on EARTH and then SUFFER for ETERNITY after that?

i am a Christian myself and ive not yet got it all figured out but
if some1 is TRULY a Christian / Muslim / <insert religion> they wouldnt convert over to another because of love

it is , VERY VERY DIFFICULT , or rather foolish

i am not condemning threadstarter ( i lazy type ur name , i type faster with common words ) but ask your self a few things and of course, if u dont mind , ask her a few things

things such as is she really a christian to begin with? are u doing the right thing?
i know in the Al - Quran that its BEST to get every other religion into Islam , but not OUT biggrin.gif

yes, it might be good, for u, but please do make sure it is for her...

besides, u might have to reconsider parents objections , those are not easy..
Hm, I dont want to turn this into a religious zealot war...

But like i said, I do not want to convert her out of her love for me, but out of love for my god, Allah sbt.

I know there will be a lot of obstacles, that's why Im not forcing her into this. She's coming to the meetings out of her own free will. She's even earing a hijab when she goes there, which isnt just a symbol, but to respect the muslim brothers from seeing part of women's aurat.

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Nov 7 2006, 08:17 PM)
do her parents know of her attending these events/gatherings?
or is she doing this behind their backs? sweat.gif
i love the ignorance in your post smile.gif
her parents do not know about this. she didnt want to tell her parents about this untulk she's sure whther this is right or wrong. suppose that she tells her parents straight away, they will directly influence her to stop... so right now she's just figuring things out of her own...

QUOTE(winkybear @ Nov 7 2006, 08:57 PM)
hopefully-future-spouse ?

Arent u a little too young.
why do you say that?
ButterCupS
post Nov 8 2006, 12:38 AM

28 posts

only one God ma... so why say love ur god leh...
Kelv
post Nov 8 2006, 01:06 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

No problem for her to convert to your religion at all...
What;s her name? Let's say Susan.

Susan -> Siti ... no problem! welcome! welcome!
Siti -> Susan ... let's create havoc at the church.

i don't mean to be offensive. just a joke from what happen in Ipoh.

back to topic, I think you and her SHOULD consult with her parents first.
TSmypetridish
post Nov 8 2006, 04:01 AM

1,313 posts

Ill consult with her parents when things are really quite going to happen.

if we were to talk to them now obviously they'll have us stop straight away which is not fair.

im letting her find out what fits her best. remember, she's coming here out of her own free will, im not forcing her to attend the jumaah prayers and listen the sermons
daijoubu
post Nov 8 2006, 04:23 AM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

What would make her a pious Christian? FYI, being a Christian is all about having a close relationship with God, not just reading the Bible and following what it says. One can read the Bible, follow what it says, call themself a Christian, but never know what its like to be a Christian. To be a pious Christian, is to have a close relationship with God, and out of the love, follow the things that He teaches.

So, if she is a pious Christian, she wont leave a relationship with God for a human relationship. Not to be offensive, because being a Christian doesnt mean you cant love man and marry. Its just that, if she is a 'pious' Christian, she'll know her priorities.

2ndly, be warry of her parents. Of course if it is out of her own free will she is doing those, then there is nothing to be said, but if far down the road, it ends up with her relationship with her parents gone bad, she'll lose her family. Tread carefully on these waters smile.gif.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:39 PM