130 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Bottom

Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?

EtechZONE $
post Sep 7 2011, 08:44 PM

QUOTE(tehtmc @ Sep 7 2011, 07:08 PM)
Where the hotels can be booked online, they are almost always,  cheaper.

Many of the smaller hotels cannot be booked online.
so u mean booking hotel through online has cheaper rates compared to the rate when we checkin? (for same hotel)

Added on September 7, 2011, 8:45 pm
QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 7 2011, 07:03 PM)
Depending. If walk-in allow discount & you able to negotiate, for sure it wil be good.. but if during peak period & weekend, you walk-in, that's the time they will slaughter you..Even a guesthouse will charge ridiculous rate..
Just do a google search on cuti.com, agoda, mari & etc and check the online rate to the hotel own website..you will roughly know which is the cheapest option dy
thx for the info biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by EtechZONE $: Sep 7 2011, 08:45 PM
kazasho
post Sep 8 2011, 08:14 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

just came back from CH.
my first time going there,driving, and i cant remember when since(looong time ago)

my review
took the tapah road to CH. fuuuh.. menggigil kepala lutut... heart beating very fast at all corners, not because of the slope, but the thing that you cant see cars coming from the other side. not to mention the narrow road

but the road is getting worse when u go to sg. palas boh tea and mountain hill strawberry farm.

from tapah-->tanah rata-->brinchang-->tringkap-->kg raja-->spg pulai iinm

stayed at equatorial. very nice hotel. I prefer this rather than century pines since its on top of the hill, while century is in the middle of the town.

kea farm? when i read what u guys wrote, I thought it was like Mr Kea Farm with all his produce in a big farm.. well I was wrong, waay wrong.. kea farm is the place name, with lots of small shop.. the produce is cheap, I mean REALLY cheap..

went to sg. palas boh tea because need to survey that area for study purpose.. i guess u all already know about the road.. it gets worse when going to mountain hill strawberry farm(otw to gunung brinchang).. i like going to that farm, the workers(bangladeshi) knows how to handle visitors(+1 for their hospitality) and they have no minimum purchase.. unlike some, deposit rm25, mininum purchase strawberry rm20.. wtf

geforce88
post Sep 15 2011, 11:43 AM

2,841 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Sep 8 2011, 08:14 PM)
just came back from CH.
my first time going there,driving, and i cant remember when since(looong time ago)

my review
took the tapah road to CH. fuuuh.. menggigil kepala lutut... heart beating very fast at all corners, not because of the slope, but the thing that you cant see cars coming from the other side. not to mention the narrow road

but the road is getting worse when u go to sg. palas boh tea and mountain hill strawberry farm.

from tapah-->tanah rata-->brinchang-->tringkap-->kg raja-->spg pulai iinm

stayed at equatorial. very nice hotel. I prefer this rather than century pines since its on top of the hill, while century is in the middle of the town.

kea farm? when i read what u guys wrote, I thought it was like Mr Kea Farm with all his produce in a big farm.. well I was wrong, waay wrong.. kea farm is the place name, with lots of small shop.. the produce is cheap, I mean REALLY cheap..

went to sg. palas boh tea because need to survey that area for study purpose.. i guess u all already know about the road.. it gets worse when going to mountain hill strawberry farm(otw to gunung brinchang).. i like going to that farm, the workers(bangladeshi) knows how to handle visitors(+1 for their hospitality) and they have no minimum purchase.. unlike some, deposit rm25, mininum purchase strawberry rm20.. wtf
half the fun is the road trip going there mah..... laugh.gif
xtreme_paranoid
post Sep 15 2011, 08:19 PM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

im going to cameron highlands tomorrow biggrin.gif
what is the current temperature ya? it is rainy season now?
nglyping
post Oct 2 2011, 10:20 PM

36 posts

Father's & Gerald's guests house is only for angmoh.

I experience it and i google for the review. http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g2982...nds_Pahang.html

They really bias to locals.

This is my case...

Thank you once again for your e-mail.

If I have to justify not allowing you to stay, I will also have to justify to others why you will be allowed to.

I won't win either way, so I would advise booking apartments in the Cameron Highlands to accommodate your friends and family.

Thank you once again and have a good holiday in the highlands.

Best Regards,
Jason
Father's Guest House,
P.O Box 90, Tanah Rata,
39000 Cameron Highlands
Pahang, Malaysia.

Telephone: (6) 05 - 491 2484
Fax number: (6) 05 - 491 5484
Mobile Phone : (6) 012 - 588 5454

Visit our website at: http://fathers.cameronhighlands.com/

Visit our tours at : http://www.cameronsecrets.com/blogcategory/Local-Tours/

To: fathersonline@hotmail.com
Subject: RE: Booking Cancelled
Date: Sun, 2 Oct 2011 22:00:38 +0800

Dear Mr. Jason,

Thanks for your fast respond. As i mentioned earlier i would take 5 rooms which accommodate 10 people or i can take all 6 rooms also as i do not want to share with others. I really did not see any problem with a group of people. Aren't we are guest too?! I wish to have an explanation to justify it. Thank you.

Regards,
xxxx

To: fathersonline@hotmail.com; xxxxx@hotmail.com
Subject: Booking Cancelled
Date: Sun, 2 Oct 2011 13:41:48 +0000

Dear xxxxx,

Thank you for your e-mail.

As I mentioned earlier during our telephone conversation, both Father's Guesthouse and Gerard's Place are guesthouses.

As you have such a large group of people, we would advise booking an apartment or two for your stay here in the highlands.

Thank you once again and have a good holiday in the highlands.

for those tour guide who deal business with them pls advise them to specify "not for locals" in their webpage.

mimi1986
post Oct 4 2011, 09:59 PM

109 posts

Hi we r a group of 4 guys going up highland tis month end, is there any good papaya farm in CH ?
etigge
post Oct 5 2011, 02:41 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(mimi1986 @ Oct 4 2011, 09:59 PM)
Hi we r a group of 4 guys going up highland tis month end, is there any good papaya farm in CH ?
Your question sounds so .....so...... dirty. laugh.gif Or I think you are really asking about those papaya farms as in Betong or Golok. If youy are, then you will be dissapointed as there are no such farms there as in Cameron Highlands, the Queens in CH rules the place. nod.gif If you are asking about papaya farms as in paw paw, carica farms, you will also be dissapointed as there are also none there. icon_rolleyes.gif
stimix
post Oct 5 2011, 10:18 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Papaya is tropical fruit so cool highland place where got papaya. But hor got jagung farm for sure..The jagung in CH really juicy & sweet for sure..I think ladies will like it
markchan
post Oct 15 2011, 08:35 AM

Enthusiast!!!!!
2,382 posts

From: Malacca(KgLapan), Selangor(SungaiLong), KL(PuduRaya)

am on the way there what is the best hotel in kea? any idea?
and what should i visit there?
markchan
post Oct 15 2011, 08:47 AM

Enthusiast!!!!!
2,382 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Aug 29 2011, 12:27 AM)
Been up to this lovely place on 25th this month, using Raub road...

Bumpy road as usual near to Bertam Valley... They "kill" off the side parking in Kea Farm, so where do the car parks now? Although it smoothen the traffic during peak season, but it just make people to hard to park their car, or park down or further up, bit inconvenience.  sweat.gif

Visit my favorite Jin2 Steamboat at Butterfly Farm there, the steamboat not bad. Just RM17/pax. At least they didnt chop people like in the Brinchang town center. Try their Kiong See Fried Rice (Vampire Fried Rice) not bad, price if i m not mistaken is RM5.90/plate.

Been to many flower shop, cactus point, all sell plants and vase bit pricy. Plus it was raining that day, the temp there i m guess was about +/-18'C. Bit freezing especially your body is wet wet...

When I went there that day, they making a big bumper in d middle of the road ... facing the starbucks. They also eliminate side parking along the side of shop lots. Guess soon or later, they gonna implement the parking ticketing system.

Just some shopping tips:
- Please bargain, u may get such offer like me. Bought 19 batang jagung for RM10 only! In the end, bought 38 batang for RM20 and free 1/2 batang for instant fresh bite. Find a malay lady at 2rd/3th last shop towards Brinchang Town direction in Kea Farm.

- In Kea Farm, Cameron Orange usually sell RM7/kg or 5biji for RM10. Go for 5biji offer, coz 5biji its usually more than 1kg already.

- For their Cameron Apple (not Guava Apple) got two colors, one is light green another one is new species, purple color. The apple skin is not edible. RM7/kg in Kea Farm (you may get cheaper nearby Honey Bee Farm)

- In honey bee farm near to the road simpang to BOH Tea Plantation, along the side of the road there's many shop selling vege, fruits n so on. One of the shop situated inside the inner path along the street(dunno how to describe the location), towards right inner part, there's a shop selling RM5/kg for Light Green Non-Edible Skin Apple and RM7/kg for Purple Non-Edible Skin Apple.

- For Strawberries Plucking, try outside the entrance to Equotorial Hotel, RM20/500gram (bit pricy) but the straweberries are big and fresh ...

There's lots more to share... haha...
Well, I m guess the traffic Jam part always occur after Brinchang Town until Honey Bee Farm there...
Tata...
wow this i must save
markchan
post Oct 15 2011, 08:51 AM

Enthusiast!!!!!
2,382 posts

etech
these are my choices of hotels... i wanna stay 2D/1N ..can anyone share ur xperience in those hotels... which one will be nice?

1.century pines resort  - quite a nice hotel operated together with their sister hotels in Langkawi and Penang. Location is convenient and located in front of a nice park in CH. A walking trail is just beisde the hotel too.
2.La De Fern  -The newest addition of hotels in Cameron and since it is new, furnishing are new too. Located between the two most frequented towns, Brinchang and Tanah Rata. Good comments from forummers here.  Recommended.  thumbup.gif
3.Heritage Hotel - Built atop a hill in Tanah Rata near the school, there are some bad reviews of this hotel.
4. smokehouse hotel - Probably the most famous nostalgic hotel in Cameron. It is the place for afternoon tea in their gardens but their fame has also affected their staffs attitude towards visitors. Many complained about their  service though.
5.cameron resort  -  I think you mean Highlands Resort. Was the former Merlin Hotel but since tookover by YTL it has been refurbished and changed to Highlands. It should be a cosy hotel following YTL standards but too highly  priced for a non- airconditioned hotel. laugh.gif

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 5 2011, 10:45 AM)
I stayed b4 at Strawberry, Ex-Merlin Inn (CH Resort) & also Century Pine b4 new wing.

The best - Strawberry Resort. big room & also super huge batroom haha..You can even stay inside the batroom or work inside! haha but room already aged now.

Heritage - spacious but old room.. otherwise no complain actually.

Century pine - Clean & reasonable sized room (The one beside the stream. Too bad due to the proximity to the stream & also the mosque, it can be too loud..1st nite can't sleep bcos of the loud water flowing down the stream haha..and Morning auto morning call lor haha. The new wing should be OK kua?

Merlin Inn or now - CH Resort..(From a 2 star to 5 star resort)...Room super tiny. but that was b4 YTL took over..At nite there is some eerie/spooky feeling due to the overall antique condition of this hotel..well this is one of the oldest hotel in CH..  blink.gif
any of this hotel is near kea?

etigge
post Oct 15 2011, 09:16 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(markchan @ Oct 15 2011, 08:51 AM)
etech
any of this hotel is near kea?
The only hotels near Kea Farm is Equitorial Hotel and also Bala Chalets (which was reviewed as dirty and service provided is bad somewhere in these treads). There are also a new apartment blocks right in the middle of Kea Farm and there are many for daily rental. You juts have to drive in there and call the numbers on the sign boards hung on the balcony of the apartments. There are no other lodgings around Kea Farm other than those mentioned. icon_rolleyes.gif
markchan
post Oct 15 2011, 11:23 AM

Enthusiast!!!!!
2,382 posts

@etigg : thank you so much .. Hmm am at rawang rest area. So guess either equatorial or kea farms apartments
hirano
post Oct 21 2011, 10:05 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

Is there any good budget accommodation around rm100/night around tanah rata area? With good privacy one. Can recommend, guys? smile.gif

Tried Heritage before, was really good, but expensive for long stays. sweat.gif
etigge
post Oct 22 2011, 07:34 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 21 2011, 10:05 PM)
Is there any good budget accommodation around rm100/night around tanah rata area? With good privacy one. Can recommend, guys? smile.gif

There are a few budget hotels behind the row of shophouses that house CIMB Bank but avoid Highlander Hotel as it is really dirty. The others are OK. If you venture further in (near Maybank) there's a bungalow like hotel and I think it is less than RM100 per night and also on the way to Royal Lily there's also another one which will cost about the same. There's a new hotel, Traders Hotel (formerly Kavi Hotel) but I don't know their rates and it is on the main road but I think it should be within your budget. icon_rolleyes.gif
Samurai
post Oct 23 2011, 10:11 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 21 2011, 10:05 PM)

Hope the link its will help you to find the right accommodation with budget RM100...but i assume most of hotel at Tanah Rata more then RM200 per night. smile.gif

http://www.cameronhighland.my/

yong417
post Oct 26 2011, 10:31 AM

291 posts

Hi all,

need ur recommendations pls blush.gif (i've never been to CH be4...)

i plan to go CH on a day-trip, no overnight stays...

thinking of taking bus to CH from KL...(if i m not mistaken, the bus will stop @ tanah rata, right?)

any places of interest / activities recommended for a day trip?

do i need to rent a car to travel around?

any bicycle rental services up there?

or is it wiser to take up those one-day tour?? cool.gif

thank u in advance notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

etigge
post Oct 26 2011, 06:00 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(yong417 @ Oct 26 2011, 10:31 AM)
Hi all,

need ur recommendations pls  blush.gif  (i've never been to CH be4...)

i plan to go CH on a day-trip, no overnight stays...

thinking of taking bus to CH from KL...(if i m not mistaken, the bus will stop @ tanah rata, right?)

any places of interest / activities recommended for a day trip?

do i need to rent a car to travel around?

any bicycle rental services up there?

or is it wiser to take up those one-day tour??   cool.gif

thank u in advance notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
If you do day trips, it is possible if you drive up yourself but you won't be able to spend more time if you take a bus. The earliest bus leaves Puduraya at 9.00 am and arrives in Tanah Rata at 12.30 pm to 1.00 pm. This is using Unititi which is more punctual than the other one Kurnia Bistari which may even delay. Then the last bus departs Tanah Rata at 4.30 pm and this gives you a window of 3 to 31/2 hours which I doubt you can do anything much there except maybe walk around Tanah Rata. Or maybe take a taxi to Kea Farm or Boh Plantation and then head back to the bus station.

There are no bicycle shops in CH and you hardly see bicycles let alone rent one. laugh.gif

If you take the one day tour, they usually departs at 6.00 am and reach about 10.00 am and since the bus itself is the transport around CH, they can cover more places like the Sam Poh temple, Boh Plantations, Kea Farm, Bee Farm and they also can depart later, say 6.00 pm or 7.00 pm and head back to KL. I suggest you take the day tour![cool.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Oct 26 2011, 06:01 PM
yong417
post Oct 26 2011, 06:58 PM

291 posts

i see.. thank u etigge rclxms.gif

if so...then maybe i'll drive up there myself icon_rolleyes.gif

btw, just asking, any reputable 'day-tour' service providers to CH??

This post has been edited by yong417: Oct 26 2011, 06:59 PM
etigge
post Oct 26 2011, 08:29 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(yong417 @ Oct 26 2011, 06:58 PM)

i see.. thank u etigge  rclxms.gif

if so...then maybe i'll drive up there myself  icon_rolleyes.gif

btw, just asking, any reputable 'day-tour' service providers to CH??
I think the most effective day tours are those housing estates 'madam' who organize tours. They are also quite cheap and usually they charter a bus and sometimes 'Bas Sekolah'. Visit those taman coffeeshops and lok see look see. laugh.gif Tours companies also do CH tours but usually overnighter as they also need to untung from room rates and more meals. Unless you have at least 6 persons, it is quite hard to get tour company to do day tours.

So, what is stopping you from spending a night there. GF parents won't allow? icon_idea.gif

130 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:22 PM