125 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v11, Grexit or not, Europe will sail on...

SUSyklooi
post Aug 30 2015, 01:55 PM

8,188 posts

I am no serious UT investor....but I guess serious investors does not get into UTs much (maybe just a small potion of their portfolio)
just imagine having a million Uts portfolio (would be subjected to initial SC and AUM of 2% that is abt $20 000 pa mgmt. fees rain or sunshine).....
hmm.gif guess that is how most of the FH make monies
hmm.gif guess that "final" risk is just too little to be of concerns, when compared to other risk of UT investing as in
General Risks of Investing in Unit Trust Funds
http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/Investor_...rust_Funds.aspx

This post has been edited by yklooi: Aug 30 2015, 02:16 PM
kimyee73
post Aug 30 2015, 06:04 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 30 2015, 11:42 AM)
FD is the best choice for that kind of fellow lor..
even then, how sure are U that i can get back my $2M in FD.. when insurance is only $250K per person per bank...
AND how sure are U that the insurance can pay up?
doh.gif
Is that a typo, $2M? I thought it is RM2.6B... oh wait... that was someone else.
Vanguard 2015
post Aug 30 2015, 11:27 PM

3,541 posts

Extract from the book, "All About Asset Allocation" by Richard Ferris at page 17,

"Young investors should have at the core a savings plan. Learning to save is more important than learning to invest at this stage. A young person will likely try different investment strategies and lose money on most of them. But this is the time to experiment. Young investors have the luxury of time on their side. Mistakes are not large, because these investors have little money in the game and plenty of time to make up losses. A $5000 loss on a $10,000 investment at age 25 is much easier to overcome than a $500,000 loss on a $1,000,000 investment at age 65".
Vanguard 2015
post Aug 30 2015, 11:31 PM

3,541 posts

I guess some members here have suffered paper loss from the global rout last week. But I hope you will not lose heart. Just take it as part of your investment journey.

You will succeed eventually!
Kaka23
post Aug 31 2015, 11:31 AM

8,259 posts

aiyoyo.. most Asia market down a little..
j.passing.by
post Aug 31 2015, 01:13 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Aug 30 2015, 11:27 PM)
Extract from the book, "All About Asset Allocation" by Richard Ferris at page 17,

"Young investors should have at the core a savings plan. Learning to save is more important than learning to invest at this stage. A young person will likely try different investment strategies and lose money on most of them. But this is the time to experiment. Young investors have the luxury of time on their side. Mistakes are not large, because these investors have little money in the game and plenty of time to make up losses.  A $5000 loss on a $10,000 investment at age 25 is much easier to overcome than a $500,000 loss on a $1,000,000 investment at age 65".
I don't see any losses unless he is talking about stocks, not UT, and about cutting losses.

The first mantra in UT is selecting those UTs that we can have 'faith' in. It is a known fact that the stock market will go up, down or stay flat.

So why choose to chicken out and cut losess in a down market, unless:
a) it is not chicken out... but part of an intention to get back in later at a lower point.

b) don't have 'faith' in the UT... because had blindly bought into the UT, maybe just following recommendations without considering whether there is any objective in the investment.

c) it was a short term investment, but choose not to monitor the market, and missed the chance to get out at the peak. Money is needed now, so have to cash out.

If there is faith in the UT, sit out the down market... no losses... maybe no much IRR but ROI is still there. tongue.gif

kkk8787
post Aug 31 2015, 01:19 PM

Julyd8th
2,526 posts

QUOTE(acromax @ Aug 29 2015, 08:07 PM)
They will send you email about transaction success or failed once you completed fpx payment.
ohh..if everytime it fails, Ill be informed then it is OK..
kkk8787
post Aug 31 2015, 01:22 PM

Julyd8th
2,526 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Aug 28 2015, 11:02 AM)
Reading through all the posts i am still not sure what to do at current economy..i have significant exposure in malaysia through kenanga growth fund..
i was thinking to top up malaysia some more but the specialist in fundsupermart advised against as my malaysia exposre already veey high..should i just sit through all these..lost quite a lot on paper in last 2 weeks
if follow heart, Ill top up whichever drops the greatest which are both Kenanga Growth Fund and Emerging Opportunity.
But My Malaysia precentage is almost 70% already...
Should I just top up Global Titans?
Asia Ex Japan is it a good time to top up?
I feel like topping up one of my funds above but dunno which to

This post has been edited by kkk8787: Aug 31 2015, 01:24 PM

j.passing.by
post Aug 31 2015, 01:23 PM

1,639 posts

Correction: If there is faith in the UT, DON'T sit out the down market... buy more!

nexona88
post Aug 31 2015, 01:37 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,506 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Aug 31 2015, 01:23 PM)
Correction: If there is faith in the UT, DON'T sit out the down market... buy more!
+1 rclxms.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 31 2015, 03:03 PM

8,188 posts

Well, what a week that was. The Dow Jones – a narrow and pointless index if there ever was one – tumbled to an 18-month low only to regain much of its losses towards the end of the week. Meanwhile the tech-heavy Nasdaq index was heading back towards positive territory for the year.
But if you had tuned into any financial TV broadcast a couple of days before, you would have been forgiven for thinking the apocalypse had arrived.
So in short we were doomed on Tuesday, but everything was just hunky dory by Friday.

What will investors learn from it? If history is any indicator, virtually nothing.

What people refuse to accept is that all investors – from people with PhDs in finance commanding huge salaries at investment banks, all the way down to ordinary people playing with their little portfolios at home – are gambling. Perhaps it isn’t gambling in the same way that hanging around all day at the track trying to pick a winning horse is, but it is wagering all the same. Investing money in a company is a bet that it will perform as or better than expected – how exactly is that not a gamble?

Investors can't go blaming China if they blow it all betting with bulls
http://www.msn.com/en-my/money/topstories/...ocid=spartandhp

hmm.gif me a gambler? still in denial mode? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Aug 31 2015, 03:05 PM
kkk8787
post Aug 31 2015, 04:02 PM

Julyd8th
2,526 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 31 2015, 03:03 PM)
Well, what a week that was. The Dow Jones – a narrow and pointless index if there ever was one – tumbled to an 18-month low only to regain much of its losses towards the end of the week. Meanwhile the tech-heavy Nasdaq index was heading back towards positive territory for the year.
But if you had tuned into any financial TV broadcast a couple of days before, you would have been forgiven for thinking the apocalypse had arrived.
So in short we were doomed on  Tuesday, but everything was just hunky dory by Friday.

What will investors learn from it? If history is any indicator, virtually nothing.

What people refuse to accept is that all investors – from people with PhDs in finance commanding huge salaries at investment banks, all the way down to ordinary people playing with their little portfolios at home – are gambling. Perhaps it isn’t gambling in the same way that hanging around all day at the track trying to pick a winning horse is, but it is wagering all the same. Investing money in a company is a bet that it will perform as or better than expected – how exactly is that not a gamble?

hmm.gif me a gambler? still in denial mode?  sweat.gif
so from now on its up up ? it seems to be recovering..I think if crude oil upwards, Malaysia Equity will go up as well...
T231H
post Aug 31 2015, 06:19 PM

5,143 posts

What Fund Managers Think About the Recent Market Correction in China..... August 28, 2015
The recent market correction in China has stirred up sentiments among global investors, taking many aback along the roller-coaster volatility.
This article summarises the views of different fund managers and our in-house insights on this topic......Author : Fundsupermart.com

http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/re...articleNo=10311

T231H
post Aug 31 2015, 06:20 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Aug 31 2015, 04:02 PM)
so from now on its up up ? it seems to be recovering..I think if crude oil upwards, Malaysia Equity will go up as well...
yes,..i think so too...if oil up will definitely have some positive impact to the Ringgit and KLCI.
kimyee73
post Aug 31 2015, 06:31 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Aug 31 2015, 01:22 PM)
if follow heart, Ill top up whichever drops the greatest which are both Kenanga Growth Fund and Emerging Opportunity.
But My Malaysia precentage is almost 70% already...
Should I just top up Global Titans?
Asia Ex Japan is it a good time to top up?
I feel like topping up one of my funds above but dunno which to
What do you actually meant by top-up? Top up to what level, do you have a target? Do you follow DCA, VCA, CDI or any other method?

- Do you top up so that value would be equal to your cost?
- Do you top up so that value would be equal to previous high?
- Do you top up so that value would be equal to target value?
- Do you buy more at arbitrary amount because of the market drop and you have extra cash to invest?
- etc.

Just curious as many here talk about top-up.
kkk8787
post Aug 31 2015, 06:38 PM

Julyd8th
2,526 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Aug 31 2015, 06:31 PM)
What do you actually meant by top-up? Top up to what level, do you have a target? Do you follow DCA, VCA, CDI or any other method?

- Do you top up so that value would be equal to your cost?
- Do you top up so that value would be equal to previous high?
- Do you top up so that value would be equal to target value?
- Do you buy more at arbitrary amount because of the market drop and you have extra cash to invest?
- etc.

Just curious as many here talk about top-up.
I using DCA via RSP.... but I tot on top of that want to add on some more
kimyee73
post Aug 31 2015, 06:46 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 31 2015, 03:03 PM)
So in short we were doomed on  Tuesday, but everything was just hunky dory by Friday.

hmm.gif me a gambler? still in denial mode?  sweat.gif
Uncle Looi. Why call you uncle uhh? I'm almost as old as you biggrin.gif
The question is how do you prepare so that you do not panic? As usual, need to have diversification and non-correlated holdings, some insurance, etc. Regular rebalancing so that you have sufficient ammo to top-up during market crash etc. Recognizing market condition ahead of the correction is also important as not to foolishly top-up while market still going down or perform unscheduled rebalancing and/or changing equity-bond ratio ahead of the correction. Almost all correction has tell-tale signs and took several weeks or months to realize.
T231H
post Aug 31 2015, 07:07 PM

5,143 posts

the media has harped on 1Malaysia Development Bhd (1MDB), it is not the only problem faced by Malaysia.
There are other equally disturbing things happening in Malaysia, so 1MDB should not be the only news put on headlines, he said.

In June, the World Bank released a report on Malaysia’s urban transportation system which revealed that Greater Kuala Lumpur residents spent 250 million hours a year stuck in traffic and travel 29km/h slower on average during morning peak hours, costing 1.1% to 2.2% of the gross domestic product (GDP) in 2014, or RM12.7bil to RM24.7bil in losses.

Said Teng Boo: “Yes we talk about 1MDB and the RM42bil debt. That is bad and I am not belittling the problem. But here we have a problem which is happening every year. This is RM12.7bil to RM24.7bil which is lost per year,”

He cites another example.
“Why was Sepang chosen to house the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and not Subang? The KLIA is 80km from Kuala Lumpur. Today the KLIA is the furthest airport from the city centre in the world. “Right now, KLIA receives some 20 million to 30 million passengers a year. The amount of money that needs to be spent on the taxi fare to the airport is roughly RM70 one way. Lets say some 10 million people use the taxi to and fro the airport. This easily adds up to RM1.4bil. How much subsidies are we subsidising the KLIA?” asked Tan.

“I have said this before. If we were to take a sleeping pill and sleep for 50 years, Malaysia may become Argentina if this continues. ” sweat.gif

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...imes/?style=biz

T231H
post Aug 31 2015, 07:46 PM

5,143 posts

Are emerging markets prepared for the eventual US rate hike?.... August 31, 2015 ....Author : Schroder Investment Management
http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/re...articleNo=10317

nexona88
post Aug 31 2015, 08:29 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,506 posts

What TTB is doing is to promo his 2015 Investor Day event rolleyes.gif
it have been few years he telling KLCI is overvalue, yet some of us did make profit from the previous years rally.
can see at icapital.biz thread how people are making fun of TTB laugh.gif

125 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:37 PM