Sofas, Sharing your experience of buying sofa

Creamypotatoes
post Mar 23 2021, 10:48 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(tgwkt @ Mar 23 2021, 08:58 AM)
Anyone bought sofas from Soffurni? Never heard of them before this but their sofas felt pretty good to me. They even have a few brances open already.
I've been to their Ekocheras branch and the people are nice. Really helped me get to know the brand.

For their sofas, I'm on the edge because they are comfortable but design-wise, not my cup of tea. I also don't see the appeal of movable/adjustable back-seating. But this is all personal preference.
wira1979
post Mar 23 2021, 12:55 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(Creamypotatoes @ Mar 23 2021, 10:47 AM)
From their Facebook page, the full aniline sofa is RM5,500. I think that's quite a bargain since its full allegedly "good" quality leather. Still very much cheaper compared to the high-end brands like Kings. Seem like too good a deal actually..hmm..

I'm not sure whether you have answered this question before but why fabric over leather? I read that fabrics apparently more comfortable but the trouble of maintenance is such a chore, as compared to leather where you can just wipe with a damp cloth.
You'll definitely get better value when you compare the local manufacturers against imported brands. The premium you pay is probably for the extra warranty, original design, metal frame (for King Living at least) and better advertising.

I'm currently looking at fabric mainly because I've used a leather sofa for the past 10 years and would like a change of look (fabric is cheaper as well). The funny thing about leather is that the more expensive the leather is, the less 'durable' it is. Which is converse to fabric, whereby the expensive ones tend to be more durable, have stain protection, etc. So if you get the basic or mid-tier leather, then what you say is true, maintenance is pretty easy and you can just wipe stains with a wet tissue or something similar.

If you have rowdy kids/pets or are a bit clumsy, I wouldn't recommend the aniline leather though, especially if you like the lighter colours. Although undoubtedly really really nice, unless you treat the leather with some form of protection upfront (which may darken the colour a little), the leather will display virtually all battle scars such as water marks, scratches, colour bleed from clothes, and others. Some actually like to have this on their leather products but some don't. Just something that everyone should consider if you're dead set on the aniline leather from Tekni.

Another thing to consider in more expensive and softer leather is that it tends to stretch the more you use it. So depending on sofa design, you may get the dreaded 'folds' on your sofa, whereby the leather looks loose.

TL;DR: The nicer the leather, the more the maintenance. Fabric is the other way around.

Creamypotatoes
post Mar 23 2021, 02:21 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Mar 23 2021, 12:55 PM)
You'll definitely get better value when you compare the local manufacturers against imported brands. The premium you pay is probably for the extra warranty, original design, metal frame (for King Living at least) and better advertising.

I'm currently looking at fabric mainly because I've used a leather sofa for the past 10 years and would like a change of look (fabric is cheaper as well). The funny thing about leather is that the more expensive the leather is, the less 'durable' it is. Which is converse to fabric, whereby the expensive ones tend to be more durable, have stain protection, etc. So if you get the basic or mid-tier leather, then what you say is true, maintenance is pretty easy and you can just wipe stains with a wet tissue or something similar.

If you have rowdy kids/pets or are a bit clumsy, I wouldn't recommend the aniline leather though, especially if you like the lighter colours. Although undoubtedly really really nice, unless you treat the leather with some form of protection upfront (which may darken the colour a little), the leather will display virtually all battle scars such as water marks, scratches, colour bleed from clothes, and others. Some actually like to have this on their leather products but some don't. Just something that everyone should consider if you're dead set on the aniline leather from Tekni.

Another thing to consider in more expensive and softer leather is that it tends to stretch the more you use it. So depending on sofa design, you may get the dreaded 'folds' on your sofa, whereby the leather looks loose.

TL;DR: The nicer the leather, the more the maintenance. Fabric is the other way around.
Thanks for the heads up and summary on the pros and cons of fabric vs. leather.

I didn't know the cheaper the letter, the more durable it is. Which really blwos my mind. But I do love the look of aniline though, the creases and all. I've seen sofas that are made of leather that are 'perfect', i.e. dont have created, it's just smooth surface, and I'm not a fan of the look.

Though. The dreaded 'folds' do put me off a little. Was planning to get a cat but that plan's probably out of the window since I'm deciding between aniline and fabric. Both super susceptible to scratches and water stains, and such.

Anyways, please let us know which sofa you end up picking! Maybe it'll help in my indecisive sofa journey ha.

merci
post Mar 25 2021, 09:18 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Mar 23 2021, 12:55 PM)

Does this means fabric is better than leather if we have pets eg cats?
Currently I'm using leather sofas but full of scratches, cat scratches. I plan to buy a more expensive leather sofa as I'm thinking expensive means thick leather and scratch resistant. So I'm wrong then?

wira1979
post Mar 25 2021, 12:31 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(merci @ Mar 25 2021, 09:18 AM)

Does this means fabric is better than leather if we have pets eg cats?
Currently I'm using leather sofas but full of scratches, cat scratches. I plan to buy a more expensive leather sofa as I'm thinking expensive means thick leather and scratch resistant. So I'm wrong then?

Hey buddy

My post was more towards normal wear and tear that a sofa goes through on a daily basis, and by normal I mean kids, spillages, abrasions, etc. If you have a pet, then everything goes out of the window unfortunately. Unless the fabric on the sofa is made of bulletproof kevlar, claws will still be able to damage a fabric sofa.

In terms of leather for sofas, the more expensive leathers are usually the softest and more delicate ones, as the priority is on comfort and looks, not on durability. Cheaper leathers (split, bonded) are normally thicker and therefore more scratch resistant.

Have quite a number of friends who are really into cats, and unfortunately none of them have sofas that have survived the battle intact. Most just get sofas with easily replaceable covers (using thicker fabric) and change the covers every few years, which is probably what I'd do if I were you.

Best of luck.

merci
post Mar 27 2021, 09:23 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Mar 25 2021, 12:31 PM)
Hey buddy

My post was more towards normal wear and tear that a sofa goes through on a daily basis, and by normal I mean kids, spillages, abrasions, etc. If you have a pet, then everything goes out of the window unfortunately. Unless the fabric on the sofa is made of bulletproof kevlar, claws will still be able to damage a fabric sofa.

In terms of leather for sofas, the more expensive leathers are usually the softest and more delicate ones, as the priority is on comfort and looks, not on durability. Cheaper leathers (split, bonded) are normally thicker and therefore more scratch resistant.

Have quite a number of friends who are really into cats, and unfortunately none of them have sofas that have survived the battle intact. Most just get sofas with easily replaceable covers (using thicker fabric) and change the covers every few years, which is probably what I'd do if I were you.

Best of luck.
Ohhh... anyway, thanks for the feedback.
takwee
post Mar 28 2021, 01:44 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Mar 22 2021, 04:53 PM)
Probably what you see is similar design, but not exactly the same thing. This is because Zolano is a manufacturer themselves just like Yew Hoong/Hugo, not a retailer buying from 3rd party manufacturer, hence they only sell the sofa produced in their own factory.

I think one advantage of buying locally manufactured sofa is that you can easily repair your sofa in the future since the factory is here.
Just went to Tekni Direct today and found out that Yew Hoong=Hugo=Tekni Direct. Sofas’ design are quite modern and nice. Pricing wise it is on the above average level but I believe you get more than what you are paying out in the market because they are also selling to some local branded furniture retailers. A lot of customization options in regards to fabrics, leather, sofa sizing etc.

This post has been edited by takwee: Mar 28 2021, 01:45 AM
GuyM
post Mar 28 2021, 06:37 PM

1,787 posts

Am very interested with the below design sofa which comes with Aqua Clean fabric and according to SA the frame is made of solid meranti wood. Comes with 10, 3 and 2 years warranty for the frame, cushion foam and mechanism (pushback). This is fro Crown Living Dsara with only miserable 10% discount. Size is 12 x 10. Current living room has 3+3+2 leather seats

Any adv where, what's the best price for this similar type in KV?

This post has been edited by GuyM: Mar 31 2021, 08:14 AM

tony_mw
post Mar 28 2021, 08:25 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(takwee @ Mar 28 2021, 01:44 AM)
Just went to Tekni Direct today and found out that Yew Hoong=Hugo=Tekni Direct. Sofas’ design are quite modern and nice. Pricing wise it is on the above average level but I believe you get more than what you are paying out in the market because they are also selling to some local branded furniture retailers. A lot of customization options in regards to fabrics, leather, sofa sizing etc.
Hey guys, I’m currently searching a 3seater sofa for my first house and I definitely need some advise here.
Was eyeing at this Soderhamn in IKEA at first but it sold out since January till now. sweat.gif

Therefore, I’ve decided to find an alternative as my move in date are closing by(targeting somewhere in July). After read thru few pages from this thread, found some names here (Yew Hoong/Hugo/Tekni Directs). Is it possible for me to get a 3seater sofa(preferably washable fabric) for not more than 5k from any of these furniture stores? Will there be any mid year clearance sales approaching soon?

Thanks! notworthy.gif
wira1979
post Mar 30 2021, 09:03 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(tony_mw @ Mar 28 2021, 08:25 PM)
Hey guys, I’m currently searching a 3seater sofa for my first house and I definitely need some advise here.
Was eyeing at this Soderhamn in IKEA  at first but it sold out since January till now.  sweat.gif

Therefore, I’ve decided to find an alternative as my move in date are closing by(targeting somewhere in July). After read thru few pages from this thread, found some names here (Yew Hoong/Hugo/Tekni Directs). Is it possible for me to get a 3seater sofa(preferably washable fabric) for not more than 5k from any of these furniture stores? Will there be any mid year clearance sales approaching soon?

Thanks! notworthy.gif
Shouldn't be a problem but design dependant of course. You could get a leather sofa for that price from Tekni Direct.
takwee
post Mar 30 2021, 06:24 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ Mar 30 2021, 09:03 AM)
Shouldn't be a problem but design dependant of course. You could get a leather sofa for that price from Tekni Direct.
They currently only have 1 leather sofa on sales at that price range, the rest is pretty premium pricing.
tony_mw
post Mar 30 2021, 09:40 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(tony_mw @ Mar 28 2021, 08:25 PM)
Was eyeing at this Soderhamn in IKEA  at first but it sold out since January till now.  sweat.gif

Thanks! notworthy.gif
Just came back from Tekni Direct & Hugo Casa and I'm torn between the 3 sofas in Tekni Direct now as 3 of them has different pro. rclxub.gif
1 with back mechanism system but lack in design, 1 with preferred design but least comfy due to straighter back support and 1 with best comfort out of 3(mix of goose down & HR foam) but basic design.
But I definitely don't regret to drive more than 40mins to Semenyih as I find they have much better option than most furniture store I went in downtown. thumbup.gif

Btw, any sifu here has purchased any sofa that contain goose down from Tekni Direct? Will it sink easily? notworthy.gif
GuyM
post Mar 31 2021, 08:15 AM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(tony_mw @ Mar 30 2021, 09:40 PM)
Just came back from Tekni Direct & Hugo Casa and I'm torn between the 3 sofas in Tekni Direct now as 3 of them has different pro.  rclxub.gif
1 with back mechanism system but lack in design, 1 with preferred design but least comfy due to straighter back support and 1 with best comfort out of 3(mix of goose down & HR foam) but basic design.
But I definitely don't regret to drive more than 40mins to Semenyih as I find they have much better option than most furniture store I went in downtown. thumbup.gif

Btw, any sifu here has purchased any sofa that contain goose down from Tekni Direct? Will it sink easily?  notworthy.gif
Are there plenty fabric or leather sofas?
wira1979
post Mar 31 2021, 09:36 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(takwee @ Mar 30 2021, 06:24 PM)
They currently only have 1 leather sofa on sales at that price range, the rest is pretty premium pricing.
Didn't know that. Regardless, have a look at Rozel as well.

They're having their Raya sale and got some pretty good leather sofa deals in the +/- RM5k range.
tony_mw
post Mar 31 2021, 10:01 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Mar 31 2021, 08:15 AM)
Are there plenty fabric or leather sofas?
The showroom spaces are quite huge IMO and there’re roughly 15-20 different sofas were displayed.

Most of the display in the showroom are in leather but you may opt for fabric customisation for any design that you’re keen instead. There’re more than 15 types of different fabric choices.

This post has been edited by tony_mw: Mar 31 2021, 10:05 AM
takwee
post Mar 31 2021, 12:46 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(tony_mw @ Mar 31 2021, 10:01 AM)
The showroom spaces are quite huge IMO and there’re roughly 15-20 different sofas were displayed.

Most of the display in the showroom are in leather but you may opt for fabric customisation for any design that you’re keen instead. There’re more than 15 types of different fabric choices.
Yes, the showroom is pretty big and there any many customization options. Some of the sofas are modular too. I have placed a booking and they need 2 months lead time to make the sofa.

Jitty
post Apr 1 2021, 02:38 PM

1,046 posts

Anyone using KINSEN sofas?

how was it ? Good?

Initially I plan to go with IKEA Ektorp series.
i had tried other series but just love the soft bounce feel for the IKEA Ektorp series.

But don't know why, I had been waiting for months and yet ikea has yet to restock the stock for EKTORP.

End up, I went to KINSEN to try their sofa.
price and design seem not bad.

Quality need to ask all sifus here.
Can than 5-10 years ?
normal use
Snoy
post Apr 1 2021, 02:51 PM

~SIMPLE~
1,203 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Mar 28 2021, 06:37 PM)
Am very interested with the below design sofa which comes with Aqua Clean fabric and according to SA the frame is made of solid meranti wood. Comes with 10, 3 and 2 years warranty for the frame, cushion foam and mechanism (pushback). This is fro Crown Living Dsara with only miserable 10% discount. Size is 12 x 10. Current living room has 3+3+2 leather seats

Any adv where, what's the best price for this similar type in KV?
Last July, I bought my L-shape, 12' sofa with AquaClean (Nordic) and Meranti wood frame for RM4.7k.
The shop is Mzi Gallery, Setia Alam.

Your sofa is L-Shape corner type which should be more expensive... but I'm not sure if it really worth that much.

GuyM
post Apr 2 2021, 02:11 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(takwee @ Mar 31 2021, 12:46 PM)
Yes, the showroom is pretty big and there any many customization options. Some of the sofas are modular too. I have placed a booking and they need 2 months lead time to make the sofa.
How much is this set?
QUOTE(Jitty @ Apr 1 2021, 02:38 PM)
Anyone using KINSEN sofas?

how was it ? Good?

Initially I plan to go with IKEA Ektorp series.
i had tried other series but just love the soft bounce feel for the IKEA Ektorp series.

But don't know why, I had been waiting for months and yet ikea has yet to restock the stock for EKTORP.

End up, I went to KINSEN to try their sofa.
price and design seem not bad.

Quality need to ask all sifus here.
Can than 5-10 years ?
normal use
Which outlet you went to?

QUOTE(Snoy @ Apr 1 2021, 02:51 PM)
Last July, I bought my L-shape, 12' sofa with AquaClean (Nordic) and Meranti wood frame for RM4.7k.
The shop is Mzi Gallery, Setia Alam.

Your sofa is L-Shape corner type which should be more expensive... but I'm not sure if it really worth that much.
Will drop by cos staying nearby
takwee
post Apr 2 2021, 03:52 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Apr 2 2021, 02:11 PM)
How much is this set?

Which outlet you went to?
Will drop by cos staying nearby
RM8.1K

31 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 >Top