Income Tax Issues v4, Scope: e-BE and eB only
SUSDavid83
Apr 4 2019, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(turbopips @ Apr 4 2019, 11:15 AM) Thanks and i have read. But afraid that does not answer my question posted earlier on what is posted in the income tax explanation. Anyway, i called up tax dept for explanation, it seems that PIC also dont know how to explain and ask me to leave my contact no,  From what I remembered is 50% discount off not no need to pay income tax at all: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « In order to promote affordable accommodation to the needful, the Malaysian government through Budget 2018 offered a tax exemption of 50% on statutory income of rental received by Malaysian citizens who reside in Malaysia.
The conditions to be fulfilled would be:
1. the property is of residential type; 2. monthly rental received from each property ≤ RM2,000; 3. tenancy agreement has to be stamped, executed on or after Jan 1, 2018; and 4. the tenure of the rental is for any period during the calendar year 2018.
Residential property refers to houses, condominium units, flats and apartments which are built as dwelling houses. URL: https://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/466227There's a sample here: https://kickmeaway.blogspot.com/2018/11/how...e-for-lhdn.htmlThis post has been edited by David83: Apr 4 2019, 11:28 AM
turbopips
Apr 4 2019, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 4 2019, 11:25 AM) From what I remembered is 50% discount off not no need to pay income tax at all: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « In order to promote affordable accommodation to the needful, the Malaysian government through Budget 2018 offered a tax exemption of 50% on statutory income of rental received by Malaysian citizens who reside in Malaysia.
The conditions to be fulfilled would be:
1. the property is of residential type; 2. monthly rental received from each property ≤ RM2,000; 3. tenancy agreement has to be stamped, executed on or after Jan 1, 2018; and 4. the tenure of the rental is for any period during the calendar year 2018.
Residential property refers to houses, condominium units, flats and apartments which are built as dwelling houses. URL: https://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/466227There's a sample here: https://kickmeaway.blogspot.com/2018/11/how...e-for-lhdn.htmlOK thanks for the clarification. Say its pay 50% tax and not fully exempted
SUSDavid83
Apr 4 2019, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(turbopips @ Apr 4 2019, 11:43 AM) OK thanks for the clarification. Say its pay 50% tax and not fully exempted Yes. That's my understanding.
mekboyz
Apr 4 2019, 01:41 PM
I received email from LHDN (not letter) asking me to provide receipts for my claims within 30 days. mostly because i claim 7k for masters education, but they said its not for overseas studies. so what will happen in this case?
also got other stuff i not able to find the receipts.
SUSDavid83
Apr 4 2019, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(mekboyz @ Apr 4 2019, 01:41 PM) I received email from LHDN (not letter) asking me to provide receipts for my claims within 30 days. mostly because i claim 7k for masters education, but they said its not for overseas studies. so what will happen in this case? also got other stuff i not able to find the receipts. Pay back the over-claimed difference.
SUSyklooi
Apr 4 2019, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(mekboyz @ Apr 4 2019, 01:41 PM) I received email from LHDN (not letter) asking me to provide receipts for my claims within 30 days. mostly because i claim 7k for masters education, but they said its not for overseas studies. so what will happen in this case? also got other stuff i not able to find the receipts.  read post 4850, page 243 "..... a degree and above course outside Malaysia. The course of study and the college/uni must be recognised by the Malaysia government." the former mentioned "outside" and also is that Master course of yours recognised by the Malaysia govt? This post has been edited by yklooi: Apr 4 2019, 01:59 PM
DiamondRuby
Apr 4 2019, 02:11 PM

Hello Sifu,
For Borang BE.
As I aware, there;s a Column can deduct Tabung Persaraan (Skim persaraan swasta dan anuiti tertangguh) which can deduct RM3k.
Any advice, where can i get the best SKIM- persaraan fund?
Regards, RubyDiamond
DiamondRuby
Apr 4 2019, 02:12 PM

QUOTE(DiamondRuby @ Apr 4 2019, 02:11 PM) Hello Sifu, For Borang BE. As I aware, there;s a Column can deduct Tabung Persaraan (Skim persaraan swasta dan anuiti tertangguh) which can deduct RM3k. Any advice, where can i get the best SKIM- persaraan fund? Regards, RubyDiamond I Asking, which bank, Company provide the best fund with best interest?
MUM
Apr 4 2019, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(DiamondRuby @ Apr 4 2019, 02:12 PM) I Asking, which bank, Company provide the best fund with best interest? sorry, not a direct response to your query.... these PRS funds does not provides guarantee of a fixed interest.... they are basically sort of unit trust funds.... their returns may varies yearly as for the deferred annuity plan....they are basically an insurance plan issued by the insurance company who will invest the money for you guaranteeing a stream of income after a number of years. https://www.google.com/search?source=hp&ei=...i21.2lTNTHoHYcE
royalz
Apr 5 2019, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 3 2019, 09:01 AM) thanks...will check out..just found out bfore 2019 can get rm1000 incentive if invest in PRS for u, PRS or deferred annuity plan better if for tax relief purpose? This post has been edited by royalz: Apr 5 2019, 12:49 AM
carlitofreak
Apr 5 2019, 06:36 AM
Hi all,
me first time declare LHDN this year (2018 income) after 10 years of working. Taking the opportunity of LHDN Program Khas Sukarela.
I'm working as freelance without any Registered Business etc under my name. But every month I did receive basic allowance of RM3,500 (No EPF deduction etc). So in borang e-BE should I fill under "Pendapatan Berkanun Pengajian" or "Pendapatan Berkanun Faedah, diskaun, royalti, premium, pencen, anuiti, bayaran berkala lain dan apa-apa perolehan atau keuntungan lain"?
Or I should fill Borang e-B?
Hope u guys can help me
TIA!
MUM
Apr 5 2019, 08:06 AM
QUOTE(carlitofreak @ Apr 5 2019, 06:36 AM) Hi all, me first time declare LHDN this year (2018 income) after 10 years of working. Taking the opportunity of LHDN Program Khas Sukarela. I'm working as freelance without any Registered Business etc under my name. But every month I did receive basic allowance of RM3,500 (No EPF deduction etc). So in borang e-BE should I fill under "Pendapatan Berkanun Pengajian" or "Pendapatan Berkanun Faedah, diskaun, royalti, premium, pencen, anuiti, bayaran berkala lain dan apa-apa perolehan atau keuntungan lain"? Or I should fill Borang e-B? Hope u guys can help me TIA! what a coincident....just 2 days ago.... "How to file your income tax when you are freelancing" Published 2 days ago on 02 April 2019 https://www.malaymail.com/news/money/2019/0...lancing/1738872hope this article can shed some light into your query
carlitofreak
Apr 5 2019, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 5 2019, 08:06 AM) what a coincident....just 2 days ago.... "How to file your income tax when you are freelancing" Published 2 days ago on 02 April 2019 https://www.malaymail.com/news/money/2019/0...lancing/1738872hope this article can shed some light into your query Wah thanks for the head up 👍👍👍!
rinapua
Apr 5 2019, 08:49 AM

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 1 2019, 02:04 PM) Section B of your EA form including bonus, allowances, OT, shares tangible benefits (optical claim). for example: income like FD interest, share dividend...need to fill in at section B?
MUM
Apr 5 2019, 08:54 AM
QUOTE(rinapua @ Apr 5 2019, 08:49 AM) for example: income like FD interest, share dividend...need to fill in at section B? try read this while waiting for responses.... https://www.fimm.com.my/investment-strategi...taxbenefits.pdf
SUSDavid83
Apr 5 2019, 08:54 AM
QUOTE(rinapua @ Apr 5 2019, 08:49 AM) for example: income like FD interest, share dividend...need to fill in at section B? Interest from FD is tax exempted. Shares dividend has been taxed upfront under single tier taxation system No action required for both.
rinapua
Apr 5 2019, 09:02 AM

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 5 2019, 08:54 AM) Interest from FD is tax exempted. Shares dividend has been taxed upfront under single tier taxation system No action required for both. wow...noted. thanks.
rinapua
Apr 5 2019, 09:05 AM

mobile phone also can get tax relief, right?
this is apply to every year or what? every year change phone also can get tax relief?
SUSDavid83
Apr 5 2019, 09:06 AM
QUOTE(rinapua @ Apr 5 2019, 09:05 AM) mobile phone also can get tax relief, right? this is apply to every year or what? every year change phone also can get tax relief? Lifestyle tax relief up to RM 2500 per year.
tehoice
Apr 5 2019, 12:51 PM
Hi all,
I have a query on my side income as follows:
1. I have an investment which gives me passive income of say, RM1,500 per annum (thereabout, 20% of my gross investment). Invested the whole lump sump up front. This investee company actually issued me a CP58 Form which states that they have distributed this RM1,500 to me during the year 2018. Question: Must I declare this passive income?
2. Very similar as above, but let me just share with you, I bought a brand new national car as investment, leased it to a company who mange it and rent it out to those who wanna do grab/etc. The car was bought by using cash, without loan. This car was leased to the investee company, proper agreement executed, but was not stamped. This particular investment, gives me say a return of RM1,000 every month which is about RM12,000 per annum. This investeee company DID NOT issue me any CP58 form. Question: Do I have to declare this income?
Note: figures above is merely an illustration. However, this is the actual scenario. This is the first time I invest in such investments and so happened in 2018, so this is my first time filing with extras. Which will lead to another question:
a. if I declare, it means i will also have to declare yearly going forward. b. if I stopped declaring (legitimately, assuming if i stop investing).
Can you guys please shed me some advise? thanks!