Income Tax Issues v4, Scope: e-BE and eB only

GrumpyNooby
post Mar 3 2021, 04:29 AM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Mar 3 2021, 04:13 AM)
Just want to know let say i took professional cert (e.g. CCNA, Redhat, anything for professional study) - not from Udemy etc... this is from professional body/organization
Can i claim?
Refer to the list of recognized local institutions or approved professional bodies in Malaysia at the official portal of the Ministry of Higher Education Malaysia at https://www.mohe.gov.my.

GrumpyNooby
post Mar 3 2021, 06:42 AM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Mar 3 2021, 05:36 AM)
Wow, is that really the case? That would be awesome.  smile.gif

Well, I would like to err on the side of caution. Well, I may assume that I can claim the entire mobile phone annual bill (which includes calls, SMS and mobile data) under Lifestyle, but LHDN may strictly allow only pure internet bill (the amount, that excludes the amount for calls and SMS) to be claimed under Lifestyle. This is the risk of over claiming the tax relief, which is undesirable.

Yeah, as you said, my mobile phone bill does not provide the breakdown fee for mobile data.
Nota Penerangan BE 2020 or BE 2020 Explanatory Notes

http://www.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/Explanat...es_BE2020_2.pdf
Income Tax Act 1967
http://www.agc.gov.my/agcportal/uploads/fi...(30.9.2019).pdf
Explanatory Notes and Income Tax Act 1967 do not really specify whether we can claim bill for mobile phone bundled package under lifestyle.

Maybe, as you said, we can claim the entire amount of mobile phone bill under Lifestyle.
Claim first, deal later if being audited.
That's the mindset from this forum.

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Mar 1 2021, 09:50 PM)
I think it’s personal. To me it’s still an amount that I’m unwilling to part with to this government.
This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: Mar 3 2021, 06:43 AM
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 3 2021, 09:30 AM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Mar 3 2021, 09:20 AM)
I understand there's a RM6,000 exemption for petrol allowance (which I have as part of company benefit).
No need to put in meaning we deduct (B - F) only then put in the amount into the form?
Gross (B) minus Exempt (F) = amount to be filled in the form?
If it is taxable allowance/benefit, it will be listed under Section B. (Fill into e-BE as it is).

If it's tax exempt BIK, it'll be listed under Section F. (No action required).

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: Mar 3 2021, 09:31 AM
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 3 2021, 10:47 AM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(customer2 @ Mar 3 2021, 10:44 AM)
I bought company shares for amount USD 700++ at discounted 10%++ price in Oct 2020. Now the share price of my company had increased 50% since I bought but I haven't sold any my shares in 2020. In the 2020 EA form generated by my company, I was taxed for RM466 for Manfaat Skim Opsyen Saham Perkerja (ESOS). What kind of ESOS tax is this since I haven't sold any shares yet? If one day I decided to sell my shares, will I get charged for income tax again?
RM 466 is the amount of discount you get for buying the shares under ESOS/ESPP.
The 10% discount is taxable benefits.

When you sell the shares, you won't be taxed for capital gain (yet).
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 3 2021, 12:34 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ Mar 3 2021, 12:31 PM)
Vaccines are mentioned in slide 9https://www.bdo.my/getattachment/Insights/F...aspx?lang=en-GB

Is the information wrong?  hmm.gif

From YA2021.

Meaning spent this year, claim and file next year.
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 3 2021, 02:00 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(derebanz @ Mar 3 2021, 01:59 PM)
The penjana RM 2500 for laptop / phone if I claim for YA 2020, YA 2021 can claim again since it was extended? Or is it just claim once either in YA 2020 or 2021?
My understanding is per assessment year but I might be wrong.

May need to wait till Nota Penerangan BE 2021.
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 3 2021, 08:55 PM

12,387 posts

Income tax breaks for 2020

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...breaks-for-2020
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 4 2021, 11:58 AM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Mar 4 2021, 11:55 AM)
i have submit my refund
when expected i will get back the money?

Fastest will be 2 weeks time.
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 4 2021, 03:12 PM

12,387 posts

My colleague looks like being audited.
LHDN is asking for permohonan akaun terperinci, pengiraan cukai and dokumen sokongan.
He is being requested to sip coffee at the LHDN branch.

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: Mar 4 2021, 03:12 PM
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 4 2021, 03:22 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Mar 4 2021, 03:21 PM)
i oledi kena during year 2019, kena sekali dengan isteri  doh.gif
My friend complained that he cannot get 2019 EPF statement from portal/app.
Need to walk in to the branch to print out. blink.gif
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 4 2021, 03:42 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(iamloco @ Mar 4 2021, 03:37 PM)
EA statement cannot be proof for epf?
The officer said cannot.
EA statement can only be used as proof for penjawat awam.
I was perplexed with that statement also.

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: Mar 4 2021, 03:44 PM
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 4 2021, 04:12 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Mar 4 2021, 03:59 PM)
Property A - interest charges more than rental income
Property B - rental income more than interest charge

Can excess rental income from property B  be used to offset the losses  for property A?
I think you can combine both property to do the P&L as one.
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 4 2021, 05:04 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Mar 4 2021, 05:00 PM)
aduh, like that I rugi la. I have not been combining both properties for years because I thought excess in one property cannot be used to offset the loss making one.  sad.gif

btw can I claim back the last few years one?  biggrin.gif
I might be wrong. Google for some guide online as I did come across one guide on how to declare or file rental income from multiple properties.

This post has been edited by GrumpyNooby: Mar 4 2021, 05:04 PM
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 4 2021, 05:36 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(guanyu1109 @ Mar 4 2021, 05:34 PM)
Where to see this disifatkan?
Under e-lejar
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 4 2021, 06:25 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(Kyan0411 @ Mar 4 2021, 06:23 PM)
If i have a life/medical policy where it doesnt split into respective category, which category should i put it under?

This is the footnote from Allianz:
For a policy / rider where dread disease coverage is packaged together with term life coverage, 60% of the total premium paid may be allowed for deduction for Medical.

Mean 100% life or 60% to medical (the remaining 40% how?)
The remaining 40% should be either rider charge, administrative fee and non-claimable cost.
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 4 2021, 06:28 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(Kyan0411 @ Mar 4 2021, 06:26 PM)
So is 60% medical?
Yes, if you want to claim under Medical provision or 100% if you want to claim under Life provision.
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 4 2021, 06:35 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(Kyan0411 @ Mar 4 2021, 06:34 PM)
Thanks, you're lifesaver!
Have been filing for more than 20 years. laugh.gif
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 4 2021, 06:51 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(stinger @ Mar 4 2021, 06:48 PM)
Got a question on VSS tax exemptions : -
Assuming I have 2 EA forms now from 2 companies : old and new

Old company EA form : contains pampasan kehilangan kerja + etc = total amount of RM75k
New company EA form : like the usual = total amount of RM50k

So I've read that we can minus 10,000 per service year for VSS compensation tax exemption.
So assuming my "pampasan kehilangan kerja" was RM55k and my service year were 5.5 years.

So the final taxable income I should declare on BE form should be :

Statutory income from employment = 50k + 75k - 50k == 75k

Let me know if this is correct.
For YA2020 and YA2021, it'll be RM 20k per service year

GrumpyNooby
post Mar 4 2021, 06:58 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(stinger @ Mar 4 2021, 06:57 PM)
What?! Can you share the original document source?
Because I am reading it from here :
http://www.hasil.gov.my/bt_goindex.php?bt_...sequ=5&bt_lgv=2
http://www.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/Explanat...es_BE2020_2.pdf
GrumpyNooby
post Mar 4 2021, 07:21 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(stinger @ Mar 4 2021, 07:15 PM)
Okay,

So It will become : -
Old company EA form : contains pampasan kehilangan kerja + etc = total amount of RM75k
New company EA form : like the usual = total amount of RM50k

VSS compensation tax exemption for YA 2020 - 20,000 !
So assuming my "pampasan kehilangan kerja" was RM55k and my service year were 5.5 years.

So the final taxable income I should declare on BE form should be :

Statutory income from employment = 50k + 75k - 55k == 70k
Question will be Pampasan kehilangan kerja is listed under Section B or Section F of the EA form?

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Mar 3 2021, 09:30 AM)
If it is taxable allowance/benefit, it will be listed under Section B. (Fill into e-BE as it is).

If it's tax exempt BIK, it'll be listed under Section F. (No action required).

15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Top

0.2550sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:51 AM