121 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Nokia N80 Club Reborned!, Continue all our discussion here...

kenneth87
post Dec 14 2006, 02:12 AM

~~"\(0.0)/"~~
956 posts

QUOTE(xeNOS @ Dec 14 2006, 12:07 AM)
hi, does any1 has problem with the vibrating alert? i realised that the n80 sometimes doesn;t vibrate to incoming calls or msg n i hv to restart the fon to make it work. thx !

i'm using 4.0623.0.41.
Currently still havent face that kind of prob before..... hmm.gif hmm.gif
nk3371
post Dec 14 2006, 08:34 AM

4 only ah?
536 posts

Hello there...
I'm new here...
I was planning to buy n80 soon due to joystick damage on my 3250...
So I want to ask you guys...

1. Was there a n80 with black housing...?(except for Internet Edition la)
2. Does the n80IE price is more expensive than the NE...?
3. Are the latest AP price is still around RM16++...?
4. What will we get (accessories) in the boxset when we purchased it...?
TSSurvivor
post Dec 14 2006, 08:38 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(barney @ Dec 14 2006, 12:03 AM)
If it is a AP n80 set, can we still upgrade the firm ware from the site you gave here?

http://www.nokia.com.my/nokia/0,,96606,00.html

Or original sets only can be upgraded only at Nokia site?
AP N80 set also can upgrade the firmware from the site, as long as it is a Nokia phone. The AP set is also made by Nokia mar, just that it is not distributed by the authorized distributor only... thumbup.gif

hi, does any1 has problem with the vibrating alert? i realised that the n80 sometimes doesn;t vibrate to incoming calls or msg n i hv to restart the fon to make it work. thx !

i'm using 4.0623.0.41.
Haven't face this kinda problem so far... smile.gif

Jemi
post Dec 14 2006, 10:14 AM

688 posts

i'm using 4.0623.0.41.
Havn't encounter that problem with my phone. cool2.gif

kenneth87
post Dec 14 2006, 10:29 AM

~~"\(0.0)/"~~
956 posts

QUOTE(nk3371 @ Dec 14 2006, 08:34 AM)
Hello there...
I'm new here...
I was planning to buy n80 soon due to joystick damage on my 3250...
So I want to ask you guys...

1. Was there a n80 with black housing...?(except for Internet Edition la)
2. Does the n80IE price is more expensive than the NE...?
3. Are the latest AP price is still around RM16++...?
4. What will we get (accessories) in the boxset when we purchased it...?
Answer:
1: y not?
2: i think will b slightly expensive.. mayb RM100 + -
3: yeap!!
4: 1 X n80, earphone HS-23, audio jack converter AD-15, charger, 128 memory card, cable and manuals....

think thats all la...
joenjill
post Dec 14 2006, 07:12 PM

1,015 posts

just wanna ask, if i update my phone at malaysia nokia website~ isnt got chinese input or support chinese word?
Lipsy
post Dec 15 2006, 01:36 AM

Hi all,

Juz spent almost 4hrs reading this thread + checking some of the links provided. Im planing to get a N80 too, hopefully next week. But im wondering will it be cheaper when N95 launch. And i cant afford to hv a Ori N80, Amedion's price list tag AP price at RM1,508.

Anyway, im no experince user of Symbian OS or mobile fans. Im still using my 7yrs old mobile, those black & white phone. However, due to work related I think its time to get a more powerful mobile, and i hope my IT network background helps. Still i hv some questions, please answer them. Thanks in advance and forgive me for my stupid Q.

01> What are the codes i need to key in to check the manufature date? #06#?
02> is there any program i can download mails in my Outlook Express into N80 using Wifi/bluetooth? Some sort like a data sync.
03> in case of system corrupted/virus attack, is there anyway to restore the system without sending to service? Or is there a some sort of config backup?
04> is the miniSD hotswap? I mean , can i pull the miniSD while the phone still on? Or i need to shut it down, before i can take it out?
05> software are installed in the phone's memory or can i specify it to install on the miniSD instead? like PC, can specify to install on other drive instead of C: ?dun wan to burden the phone's memory.
06> can N80 play RealPlayer files? RM? RMVB? Does it need an additional programs?
07> Do i still need to backup, if i bought my N80 and upgrade its firmware on spot?
08> Do N80 come with a default software to configure WiFi? Or i need to install the WLAN wizard.
09> Antivirus, is there any free or cracked version? I read Nokia offical site said u can get 1 mth free trial antivirus.
10> Is there anyway to hide your bluetooth without disconnecting it? I heard virus can be spread thru BTooth, especially you are using a BTooth handsfree. But i will want to get a BTooth handsfree and dun wan others to exploit is as loopholes.
11> Have anyone tried its Infra-Red function? I do still have equipments using IR. It will be nice to transfer data without bringing up my old laptop.
12> The only flaw i see in this N80 is the battery. Other than cut down the dual netowrk searching & WiFi, wat are the steps can be taken?
13> Any other way except for Survivor's way to add tapes to handle the "slide" problem. I suck at doing this delicate stuff.
14> Which 2GB miniSD goes well with N80? I heard Kingston is lifetime warranty, but is it good with N80?
15> Which BlueTooth handsfree work the best with N80?

So far tht's all, sorry for long questions list. But being a novice in this smartphone, i gotta ask.

And again, thks in advance.

This post has been edited by Lipsy: Dec 15 2006, 01:38 AM
genexon
post Dec 15 2006, 08:07 AM

35 posts

May i know who is the authorized dealer of N80 beside zitron. Are the internet edition being release to malaysia market ? 10S
TSSurvivor
post Dec 15 2006, 08:33 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Lipsy @ Dec 15 2006, 01:36 AM)
Hi all,

Juz spent almost 4hrs reading this thread + checking some of the links provided. Im planing to get a N80 too, hopefully next week. But im wondering will it be cheaper when N95 launch. And i cant afford to hv a Ori N80, Amedion's price list tag AP price at RM1,508.

Anyway, im no experince user of Symbian OS or mobile fans. Im still using my 7yrs old mobile, those black & white phone. However, due to work related I think its time to get a more powerful mobile, and i hope my IT network background helps. Still i hv some questions, please answer them. Thanks in advance and forgive me for my stupid Q.

01> What are the codes i need to key in to check the manufature date? #06#?
02> is there any program i can download mails in my Outlook Express into N80 using Wifi/bluetooth? Some sort like a data sync.
03> in case of system corrupted/virus attack, is there anyway to restore the system without sending to service? Or is there a some sort of config backup?
04> is the miniSD hotswap? I mean , can i pull the miniSD while the phone still on? Or i need to shut it down, before i can take it out?
05> software are installed in the phone's memory or can i specify it to install on the miniSD instead? like PC, can specify to install on other drive instead of C: ?dun wan to burden the phone's memory.
06> can N80 play RealPlayer files? RM? RMVB? Does it need an additional programs?
07> Do i still need to backup, if i bought my N80 and upgrade its firmware on spot?
08> Do N80 come with a default software to configure WiFi? Or i need to install the WLAN wizard.
09> Antivirus, is there any free or cracked version? I read Nokia offical site said u can get 1 mth free trial antivirus.
10> Is there anyway to hide your bluetooth without disconnecting it? I heard virus can be spread thru BTooth, especially you are using a BTooth handsfree. But i will want to get a BTooth handsfree and dun wan others to exploit is as loopholes.
11> Have anyone tried its Infra-Red function? I do still have equipments using IR. It will be nice to transfer data without bringing up my old laptop.
12> The only flaw i see in this N80 is the battery. Other than cut down the dual netowrk searching & WiFi, wat are the steps can be taken?
13> Any other way except for Survivor's way to add tapes to handle the "slide" problem. I suck at doing this delicate stuff.
14> Which 2GB miniSD goes well with N80? I heard Kingston is lifetime warranty, but is it good with N80?
15> Which BlueTooth handsfree work the best with N80?

So far tht's all, sorry for long questions list. But being a novice in this smartphone, i gotta ask.

And again, thks in advance.
Answers to your question: smile.gif

1) *#06# will only show the EMEI number...I m not sure on how u can check the manufactured date of the phone. Anyone know please share wink.gif

2) I think u can certainly sync ur Outlook with N80, but i never try before. Anyhow, I'd setup my N80 to receive mail from my Gmail inbox though, it works great!

3) You can refresh ur firmware by using the Nokia software update.

4) Yeah it is hotswap.

5) You can specify where u wanna install the program, either in the phone memory or the memory card. Anyhow, some programs have no option but to install it in phone memory but majority of them have the option to choose.

6) N80 can play .rm file using the Real Player. Not too sure about the RMVB though.

7) You must backup ur phone before u upgrade the firmware. You'll lose all the data in the phone once u performed a firmware upgrade.

8) Well, wifi is not that hard to config in N80 though. But WLAN Wizard definately helps!

9) As far as i know only FSecure antivirus is available for Symbian 9 v3 (N80). I personally don't think you really need antivirus software in ur phone though tongue.gif

10) I think there is an option to hide ur bluetooth status.

11) Never tried the IR...hehe tongue.gif

12) Hmmm....a spare battery maybe? tongue.gif Anyhow, I can live with daily charge wink.gif

13) No comment as I done it the Survivor's way tongue.gif

14) I m using the OEM 2G miniSD bought from fellow LYN forumer. Works like a charm so far thumbup.gif

15) No comment as i don't use BlueTooth handsfree tongue.gif
TSSurvivor
post Dec 15 2006, 08:34 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(genexon @ Dec 15 2006, 08:07 AM)
May i know who is the authorized dealer of N80 beside zitron. Are the internet edition being release to malaysia market ? 10S
I-mobile is another authorized dealer of N80.
genexon
post Dec 15 2006, 09:26 AM

35 posts

How about SAMART? Is it same with i-mobile?
TSSurvivor
post Dec 15 2006, 11:25 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(genexon @ Dec 15 2006, 09:26 AM)
How about SAMART? Is it same with i-mobile?
Yeah they are the same....refer here
Lipsy
post Dec 15 2006, 12:22 PM

Thks Survivor,

Anyway, i read some more in the forum and found this,

Waranty Code *#92702689# [*#war0anty#]
Menu:
1. Displays Serial Number.
2. Displays the Month and Year of Manufacture (0698)
3. Displays (if there) the date where the phone was purchased (MMYY) you can here set the Purchasing Date
(Warning: You can only do this once - so be careful what you write)
4. Displays the date of the last repairment - if found (0000)
5. The next screen has Transfer User Data? (the same option as the 8110)
6. To exit turn the phone off and then back on.

Taken from this Link

I wonder this will help to chk the manufaturing date. Can u confirm for me?

Im so glad miniSD is hotswap, as im alwiz in the rush.

As for antivirus, how rampant is the phone virus anyway? I really need to secure the phone as much as possible. Hoping to reduce my load by leaving my digital camera, laptop and MP3 player by getting a N80. I can't wait to work with my company's server, LAN and WiFi system.

This post has been edited by Lipsy: Dec 15 2006, 12:24 PM
kenneth87
post Dec 15 2006, 01:05 PM

~~"\(0.0)/"~~
956 posts

QUOTE(Lipsy @ Dec 15 2006, 12:22 PM)
Thks Survivor,

Anyway, i read some more in the forum and found this,

Waranty Code *#92702689# [*#war0anty#]
Menu:
1. Displays Serial Number.
2. Displays the Month and Year of Manufacture (0698)
3. Displays (if there) the date where the phone was purchased (MMYY) you can here set the Purchasing Date
(Warning: You can only do this once - so be careful what you write)
4. Displays the date of the last repairment - if found (0000)
5. The next screen has Transfer User Data? (the same option as the 8110)
6. To exit turn the phone off and then back on.

Taken from this Link

I wonder this will help to chk the manufaturing date. Can u confirm for me?

Im so glad miniSD is hotswap, as im alwiz in the rush.

As for antivirus, how rampant is the phone virus anyway? I really need to secure the phone as much as possible. Hoping to reduce my load by leaving my digital camera, laptop and MP3 player by getting a N80. I can't wait to work with my company's server, LAN and WiFi system.
There is a function for hotswap...... It will close all application and let u to remove the memory card. Besides, since u r a heavy user here, i dont think the battery life is sufficient for u. It is advisable to get an extra battery or jz bring ur charger along with u anytime no matter in car o building...
Lipsy
post Dec 15 2006, 02:15 PM

yea, u r rite, i will be at least a moderate user. Planing to hv a car charger, yet it will do more damage to the battery in the long run. Gotta remind myself to chk the price of spare batt.

Anyway.. as i mentioned before, the only flaw i see in N80 is battery. Other than that, it fits all my basic requirements. And a little bit more built-in memory would be nice.
tazmania spurs
post Dec 15 2006, 02:17 PM

what is the latest price of n80 internet edition?where can i buy it in low yatt for best price & best servive hmm.gif
speedguy10
post Dec 15 2006, 02:20 PM

~Do not look at my avatar~
1,828 posts

Maybe u can try asking in the

Mobile Phones and PDAs Price & Dealers Guide or Garage Sales -> Handphones & Related accessories

There got a lot of dealers try ur luck, GL thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by speedguy10: Dec 15 2006, 02:21 PM
kenneth87
post Dec 15 2006, 02:24 PM

~~"\(0.0)/"~~
956 posts

QUOTE(speedguy10 @ Dec 15 2006, 02:20 PM)
Maybe u can try asking in the

Mobile Phones and PDAs Price & Dealers Guide  or Garage Sales -> Handphones & Related accessories

There got a lot of dealers try ur luck, GL thumbup.gif
FInd amedion... I think he is seling it with dealer price..... smile.gif
TSSurvivor
post Dec 15 2006, 04:47 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Lipsy @ Dec 15 2006, 12:22 PM)
I have read in some forum and review that it is very hard for a virus to attack Symbian OS Series 60 (S60) 3rd Edition platform as they already implementing totally new security features, among them is the signing of the software which software developer really hates. Thus the Symbian OS Series 60 (S60) 3rd Edition doesn't really benefit from the anti-virus software because the OS itself is already a big "ANTI-VIRUS"... hehe biggrin.gif

This is a link from a forum i found discussing about anti virus in S60 v3...Hope it helps smile.gif

This post has been edited by Survivor: Dec 15 2006, 04:52 PM
Lipsy
post Dec 16 2006, 02:25 AM

Thx Survivor, now i understand more about S60v3 OS. I wish bluetooth have much more secure options. But on 2nd thought, i dun really use BTooth much. Except for a BT handsfree, but the idea of using a AAA battery turn me off.

My next post should be a N80 proud owner... if i hv no more questions.

121 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:27 AM