121 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia N80 Club Reborned!, Continue all our discussion here...

TSSurvivor
post Sep 8 2006, 05:26 PM, updated 18y ago

I will survive...
795 posts

Since the existing thread is already being closed by the tread started...i guess i would open up a new one for the N80 community to share comments and tips on N80...

N80 Technical Specifications:

Firmware Informations:
Latest firmware of N80: v4.0704.0.7 Latest!
Previous firmware: v4.0632.0.38
v4.0623.0.41 Changes

v4.0623.0.42 Changes

v4.0632.0.38 Changes

Upgrade firmware link: Click Here

Estimated Phone Price:

Latest Original Price: ~RM1600
Latest AP Price: ~RM1200 Latest!

Links & Other Information About N80:
Official Nokia N80 Page: Click Here!
My-Symbian.com (Info about Symbian OS S60 3rd Edition): Click Here!
General information about S60 3rd Edition devices: Click Here!
Themes for Symbian Phone: Click Here!
Various Downloads 1: Click Here!
Various Downloads 2: Click Here!
N80 Software Downloads: Click Here!
N80 APAC Product Codes (provided by vampiric) NEW!!!:

These are new software by Nokia for the N80:
1. WLAN Wizard - Click Here!
2. Nokia Podcasting - Click Here!
3. Yahoo! Go - Click Here!
4. Gizmo VOIP - Click Here!
More Details about Gizmo VOIP - Click Here!
5. smart2go (Nokia Mapping Software) - Click Here!
6. Nokia Time Zone Upgrader - Click Here! NEW!!!
7. Barcode Reader - Click Here! NEW!!!
8. Nokia Zip Manager - Click Here! NEW!!!
9. Hotspot Finder - Click Here! NEW!!!

N80 Various Settings:
Maxis 3G Automatic Web Configuration: Click Here!
Celcom 3G Configuration: Click Here!
Digi WAP & GPRS Configuration: Click Here!
N80 E-Mail Settings Tips: Click Here!

Other Tips & Tricks:

To show phone EMEI: *#06#
To show phone firmware: *#0000#
To display device mac address: *#62209526# (*#mac wlan#)
To fixed N80 loose sliding mechanism (my own post in "My Three Supers" thread):

To turn off the flashing blue light which keeps you up at night?
Settings > Display > Sleep Mode > Off
Be warned, having Sleep Mode ON will help conserve your battery.
-from ParmMann from AV Forums

Proud Owner of N80: Updated on 14/8/2007

Let me know who's the owner and i will update the list smile.gif

Newly create N80 Black/Silver/Bronze banner for owner to use in their signature!!! New!

user posted image NEW!!!

Whoever wanted to change their N80 ribbon, kindaly contact forumer kit_kit.

This post has been edited by Survivor: Jan 14 2008, 10:04 AM
vickyrao
post Sep 9 2006, 03:54 PM

1,531 posts

a suggestion...maybe u can update ur first post to have neccessary information for n80 users.and maybe include links for downloads.

i contribute some la...

http://www.mobile9.com
http://www.zedge.net

and also maybe post up links to review sites.
TSSurvivor
post Sep 11 2006, 02:38 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Sep 9 2006, 03:54 PM)
a suggestion...maybe u can update ur first post to have neccessary information for n80 users.and maybe include links for downloads.

i contribute some la...

http://www.mobile9.com
http://www.zedge.net

and also maybe post up links to review sites.
Thanks for the advice man....have been bz this weekend...any suggestion is welcome n i will be improving this thread! Thanks for the support! Come on N80 users, let's make some noise here!!! rclxms.gif
haka
post Sep 11 2006, 05:34 PM

439 posts

http://www.ownskin.com/theme
here oso can download themes.

n press *#0000# to check version.

Carmen00
post Sep 11 2006, 11:40 PM

111 posts

can i know which website can dl dictionary for N80??
n can install the Msn messenger to N80 also??
TSSurvivor
post Sep 12 2006, 08:23 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(allrightall @ Sep 11 2006, 05:40 PM)
n 80 user here smile.gif been using for quite some time now, my complain is that the phone likes to give me the out of memory error when web surfing using the nokia browser, maybe cos my mini sd card is only 128MB. the browser also likes to crash when downloading a page that is more than 1.3 MB, maybe a newer firmware will fix this but i am not sure, my firmware is v3.0614.0.1 31-03-2006  RM-92.

anyway i like this phone much, when connected to pc very stable connection to digi edge  rclxms.gif transfering pictures to and from is also very easy.

was planning to get the e70, but it never appear so i got this phone.

watch out for the small screen, not very comfortable for  long hours web browsing but quality is good. hi res amazing screen.  thumbup.gif
I faced that too last time but not so in the new firmware. Go and flash ur firmware. I believe the memory card capacity has nothing to do with the memory usage. The one u need to watch out for is the operating memory.
TSSurvivor
post Sep 12 2006, 08:24 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(Carmen00 @ Sep 11 2006, 11:40 PM)
can i know which website can dl dictionary for N80??
n can install the Msn messenger to N80 also??
For MSN messenger, you can try to search for eMSN on the various download links or My-Symbian link I provided smile.gif
nairud
post Sep 12 2006, 11:30 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Nokia announced N80 Internet Edition...tempting leh. Due on mid sept.

The Nokia N80 Internet Edition comes out of the box ready to create, connect, consume and interact with some of the internet's most popular services. Use Yahoo! Search in the Mobile Search application to conveniently search for and find most anything on the web, and use the Mini Map functionality of the internet browser to enjoy the pages you find.  Browse through thousands of items at Amazon.com, or scroll though a book with Amazon's MobiPocket Reader. You can also share your moments online - snap a photo and send it directly from your device to your Flickr site for your friends and family to enjoy too. Connect to the Yahoo! community using the Yahoo! Go for Mobile application. Be it shopping with Amazon, photo sharing on Flickr or simply searching for a restaurant with Mobile Search, the Nokia N80 Internet Edition can provide you convenient internet access when you are away from your PC.

"Mobilizing the internet is a major strategic focus for Nokia and I'm excited to see how people can participate on the internet using the Nokia N80 Internet Edition," said Ralph Eric Kunz, vice president, Multimedia, Nokia. "The internet has evolved from static web pages to communities and people sharing experiences. I believe it will be multimedia computers, such as the Nokia N80 Internet Edition, that will be primary devices for people to participate in this phenomenon, in addition to PCs."

The Nokia N80 Internet Edition comes loaded with Nokia's new Download! client. Clicking on the Download! folder allows you to see what new applications are available for your multimedia computer, as well as keeping other selected applications current.  The fully featured Nokia Web Browser with Mini Map makes browsing the internet easy and you view the web pages just the same way that PC web browsers display web pages.

If you do not know where to go to chill out for the evening, no problem, just use the local search function in the Mobile Search application, now conviently located on main menu, and find a cool bar, have the device show it on a map, or make one click to call it directly. You can even store address and telephone number directly to your contacts to find the place again next time.

Making an Internet call with the Nokia N80 Internet Edition is as easy as making a regular voice call only the call is carried over WLAN.  The VoIP framework (based on the SIP protocol) is integrated into the Nokia user interface, and the Nokia N80 Internet Edition is allows for downloading compatible third party internet call applications. The wireless LAN wizard will help you locate and set up a WLAN connection, when you are close to a WLAN, either at home or a public hotspot.

The Nokia N80 Internet Edition comes in two stylish colors, patina bronze and pearl black, and is expected to be available from mid-September 2006.

All of the features and services listed above are dependent on the network, supported digital content formats, the compatibility of other devices and applications, and are only avaialbe in certain markets. Please refer to the user guide for more detailed information

Carmen00
post Sep 12 2006, 08:10 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Sep 12 2006, 08:24 AM)
For MSN messenger, you can try to search for eMSN on the various download links or My-Symbian link I provided smile.gif
thanks ya.. if ound it d...
but y N80 use wifi on9 will need to dl window explore 1??
which 1 need to dl??
any 1 know??
evilhomura89
post Sep 12 2006, 09:52 PM

5,886 posts

latest AP price should b RM1900 lidat
xtracooljustin
post Sep 12 2006, 11:12 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

anybody know wats da latest price for a Zitron N80? i travel btw KL-JB often so if i buy da phone from KL n if i hav any problem, can i send to any Zitron/Nokia Centre in JB to claim warranty?

Or must i go back to da same shop where i bought it from?

Also Mobile World magazine specify that da N80 got no FM radio tuner. is true?
TSSurvivor
post Sep 13 2006, 07:50 AM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Sep 12 2006, 11:12 PM)
Also Mobile World magazine specify that da N80 got no FM radio tuner. is true?
No FM radio???? Bro, u must never read Mobile World magazine ever again!! tongue.gif If N80 has no FM radio tuner, then how is it possible for me to listen to 988, Hitz FM on my N80??? biggrin.gif of cause it has!!! thumbup.gif
Jemi
post Sep 13 2006, 09:49 AM

688 posts

I'm proud owner of N80.

Lucky me, last night when I was riding my bike and there was others vehicle such motorbike & car behind me. And then I heard something dropping. First, I not really care about it. Anyway, the sound familiary to crystal case when you accidently drop it. immediately I look for my phone in phone pouch & my pocket but I can't find it. I straight away I turn back, I was shock my phone lying on the road where the others vehicle keep coming. Even few vehicle passby the phone none of them hit it. Thats amazing thing happend. Just a minor scratch on the phone.
iRonTech
post Sep 13 2006, 10:34 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(Jemi @ Sep 13 2006, 09:49 AM)
I'm proud owner of N80.

Lucky me, last night when I was riding my bike and there was others vehicle such motorbike & car behind me. And then I heard something dropping. First, I not really care about it. Anyway, the sound familiary to crystal case when you accidently drop it. immediately I look for my phone in phone pouch & my pocket but I can't find it. I straight away I turn back, I was shock my phone lying on the road where the others vehicle keep coming. Even few vehicle passby the phone none of them hit it. Thats amazing thing happend. Just a minor scratch on the phone.
wow...u r lucky dude. thumbup.gif
xtracooljustin
post Sep 13 2006, 11:50 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Sep 13 2006, 07:50 AM)
No FM radio???? Bro, u must never read Mobile World magazine ever again!! tongue.gif If N80 has no FM radio tuner, then how is it possible for me to listen to 988, Hitz FM on my N80???  biggrin.gif of cause it has!!!  thumbup.gif
i quote Mobile World magazine la... who would hav known that da magazine got mistake also?

wanna ask wats da audio n video files formats supported on da phone? hav to ask da users here...dun dare read from magazines or review liao.

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Sep 13 2006, 12:01 PM
TSSurvivor
post Sep 13 2006, 01:16 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Sep 13 2006, 11:50 AM)
i quote Mobile World magazine la... who would hav known that da magazine got mistake also?

wanna ask wats da audio n video files formats supported on da phone? hav to ask da users here...dun dare read from magazines or review liao.
It supports 3GP, MP4...AVI format is possible with SmartMovie software installed.
mohamadfazli
post Sep 13 2006, 01:24 PM

80 posts

i need update my firmware..

can i do it on my own?
unamed
post Sep 13 2006, 02:57 PM

386 posts

Proud owner of N80 here

Anyway i just wanna share my experience. It's been few days i use a hard plastic cover for my N80. It is a two piece and holds the phone by the side of the slider. Altough it seems fine and protect the phone from scratches, it turn out to be the opposite. When i opened it back i notice that the cover made some scratches to the phone. The plastic cover had little sharp plastic poking from the inside towards the phone which causes the scratches. ANd the scratches are not made when i opening or closing the cover, but is when the cover is alrdy intact.

Anyway i is krussel cover's bulky? Because i search around and i found it to be the leather type which is kinda bulky. And 1 more thing, is the original casing of N80 changeable?
xtracooljustin
post Sep 13 2006, 02:58 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Sep 13 2006, 01:16 PM)
It supports 3GP, MP4...AVI format is possible with SmartMovie software installed.
wat bout audio formats? wma n wmv format can or not?

by da way, from u guys experience, which brand 1GB memory card best compatible wif N80 wif regards to loading speed n not lagging?
TSSurvivor
post Sep 13 2006, 03:04 PM

I will survive...
795 posts

QUOTE(mohamadfazli @ Sep 13 2006, 01:24 PM)
i need update my firmware..

can i do it on my own?
No i do not think you can do it, except you have the specific tools and skills which i assume normal people won't have. If your phone is original set then just send to authorized service center to flash ur firmware. u will not be charged.

121 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:17 AM