Nokia N80 Club Reborned!, Continue all our discussion here...

Lipsy
post Dec 15 2006, 01:36 AM

Hi all,

Juz spent almost 4hrs reading this thread + checking some of the links provided. Im planing to get a N80 too, hopefully next week. But im wondering will it be cheaper when N95 launch. And i cant afford to hv a Ori N80, Amedion's price list tag AP price at RM1,508.

Anyway, im no experince user of Symbian OS or mobile fans. Im still using my 7yrs old mobile, those black & white phone. However, due to work related I think its time to get a more powerful mobile, and i hope my IT network background helps. Still i hv some questions, please answer them. Thanks in advance and forgive me for my stupid Q.

01> What are the codes i need to key in to check the manufature date? #06#?
02> is there any program i can download mails in my Outlook Express into N80 using Wifi/bluetooth? Some sort like a data sync.
03> in case of system corrupted/virus attack, is there anyway to restore the system without sending to service? Or is there a some sort of config backup?
04> is the miniSD hotswap? I mean , can i pull the miniSD while the phone still on? Or i need to shut it down, before i can take it out?
05> software are installed in the phone's memory or can i specify it to install on the miniSD instead? like PC, can specify to install on other drive instead of C: ?dun wan to burden the phone's memory.
06> can N80 play RealPlayer files? RM? RMVB? Does it need an additional programs?
07> Do i still need to backup, if i bought my N80 and upgrade its firmware on spot?
08> Do N80 come with a default software to configure WiFi? Or i need to install the WLAN wizard.
09> Antivirus, is there any free or cracked version? I read Nokia offical site said u can get 1 mth free trial antivirus.
10> Is there anyway to hide your bluetooth without disconnecting it? I heard virus can be spread thru BTooth, especially you are using a BTooth handsfree. But i will want to get a BTooth handsfree and dun wan others to exploit is as loopholes.
11> Have anyone tried its Infra-Red function? I do still have equipments using IR. It will be nice to transfer data without bringing up my old laptop.
12> The only flaw i see in this N80 is the battery. Other than cut down the dual netowrk searching & WiFi, wat are the steps can be taken?
13> Any other way except for Survivor's way to add tapes to handle the "slide" problem. I suck at doing this delicate stuff.
14> Which 2GB miniSD goes well with N80? I heard Kingston is lifetime warranty, but is it good with N80?
15> Which BlueTooth handsfree work the best with N80?

So far tht's all, sorry for long questions list. But being a novice in this smartphone, i gotta ask.

And again, thks in advance.

This post has been edited by Lipsy: Dec 15 2006, 01:38 AM
Lipsy
post Dec 15 2006, 12:22 PM

Thks Survivor,

Anyway, i read some more in the forum and found this,

Waranty Code *#92702689# [*#war0anty#]
Menu:
1. Displays Serial Number.
2. Displays the Month and Year of Manufacture (0698)
3. Displays (if there) the date where the phone was purchased (MMYY) you can here set the Purchasing Date
(Warning: You can only do this once - so be careful what you write)
4. Displays the date of the last repairment - if found (0000)
5. The next screen has Transfer User Data? (the same option as the 8110)
6. To exit turn the phone off and then back on.

Taken from this Link

I wonder this will help to chk the manufaturing date. Can u confirm for me?

Im so glad miniSD is hotswap, as im alwiz in the rush.

As for antivirus, how rampant is the phone virus anyway? I really need to secure the phone as much as possible. Hoping to reduce my load by leaving my digital camera, laptop and MP3 player by getting a N80. I can't wait to work with my company's server, LAN and WiFi system.

This post has been edited by Lipsy: Dec 15 2006, 12:24 PM
Lipsy
post Dec 15 2006, 02:15 PM

yea, u r rite, i will be at least a moderate user. Planing to hv a car charger, yet it will do more damage to the battery in the long run. Gotta remind myself to chk the price of spare batt.

Anyway.. as i mentioned before, the only flaw i see in N80 is battery. Other than that, it fits all my basic requirements. And a little bit more built-in memory would be nice.
Lipsy
post Dec 16 2006, 02:25 AM

Thx Survivor, now i understand more about S60v3 OS. I wish bluetooth have much more secure options. But on 2nd thought, i dun really use BTooth much. Except for a BT handsfree, but the idea of using a AAA battery turn me off.

My next post should be a N80 proud owner... if i hv no more questions.
Lipsy
post Dec 16 2006, 10:55 PM

Anyone knows wat the difference between CLS Ap & normal Ap unit?
And what r the price difference?

I mean in terms of warranty, quality and so on. Not the phone's features.

This post has been edited by Lipsy: Dec 16 2006, 11:40 PM
Lipsy
post Dec 17 2006, 11:19 AM

Yea.. about 200 more for extra 3mths warranty. But im afraid is the quality of warranty, the seller told me CLS AP cover everything, while normal AP cover certain parts for 1 year while the screen, battery is only 1 mth.
Lipsy
post Jan 12 2007, 08:19 PM

Hi All,

Its been awhile, since my last noob post here.

And today I have bought my 1st N80 Internet version, cost RM2,000, Zitron original.

Charging it to full 8hrs ATM. Until then, will start to play the equipment.

Oh, add me into the list of owner.
Lipsy
post Jan 13 2007, 08:33 PM

It's me again,

Got a noob Question to ask. After plugging in the N80 to my PC using USB, how do I safely unplug it? Cant find the function to safely remove the phone.

0.0387sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:36 AM