Mar 25 2008, 02:36 PM
1,575 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Singapore, Chicago, Appleton WI, Bangkok, KL |
QUOTE(flameboy3 @ Mar 25 2008, 01:44 PM) Im going to bangkok next week on thursday and coming back on tuesday I just checked with my thai friend for you. suan lum night bazaar is still in business right now. |
Mar 25 2008, 09:56 PM
291 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
My turn to help out and share my experience of the BKK trip.
Just came back from BKK last night. Great trip and have lots of fun.. Reach The Elegance Suite hotel on thursday early morning(1.30am), wasted some time cause the taxi driver could not find the place even though I hv printed out the map in thai. The hotel is quite near(<10mins walk) to the Saphan Taksin BTS station and also the Chrao Phraya river. Took the river taxi to Grand Palace which costs ~RM1.50. Notice a lot of thai ppl wearing black, ask around and was informed that the King's sister passed away(no wonder there is many pics of her everywhere). Some section of the Grand Palace was closed for the praying ceremony. Ticket price is 250baht(this include the Vimanmek Mansion as well) Then head on to the Vimanmek(The World's Largest Teak Wood Mansion). Btw, they hv strict rules when entering the Mansion. No cameras, phones, bags, waist pouch whatever. You will hv to keep all your stuff in the locker(30baht), security will raba-raba you and then walk thru the metal detector. They hv about 4ppl manning the lockers and also hv security cameras, so don't worry about leaving your expensive cameras or stuff there. Night went to the Robinson shopping which is about 1min walk.. for dinner and massage. 100baht/hour for the leg massage. Think it's the cheapest. Friday morning, checkout and left our luggage at the lobby... went to the Floating market(500baht for transport, pickup at hotel) which about 100km away from BKK. To me, this is the highlight of my trip. Really enjoyed the tour. It's something unique and probably not found elsewhere in the world?(am I right to say this?). I think the tourist there are more than the locals! Check in to Unico Leela which is about an hour drive from Elegance. Bad traffic jam and the taxi driver was not happy. Fare was 110baht but he requested additional 40baht, pity him also since he has to endure the jam with a manual transmission taxi. Back to Unico Leela hotel, I would not recommed the hotel. Why? - there is contruction going on beside the hotel and they work throughout the night, noise pollution is bad. - the reception stuff is not friendly at all, maybe because we r asian?. - room is so-so. I would call it a windowless room. - 15-20mins walk to the Nana BTS Station. Might not be a problem when going out when you are still fresh and energy level is still high but might be a problem when you are tired and carrying lots of shopping stuff. 15-20min might look like an hour!. I would stay at Elegance Suite again. Although the location is a bit hard to find, the stuff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms is big and with a view. Do check out the roof top swimming pool. Very near to Robinson(McD and KFC). <10mins walk to Saphan Taksin BTS station. Guess that's all for now. Will continue later. Hope it's not too boring reading my write ups. Not really good at this. Hope the first timers would benefit from this. Added on March 25, 2008, 9:57 pm QUOTE(flameboy3 @ Mar 25 2008, 01:44 PM) Im going to bangkok next week on thursday and coming back on tuesday Confirm open. I was there last Saturday. This post has been edited by Blackbird: Mar 25 2008, 10:05 PM |
Mar 26 2008, 09:39 AM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
Bro Blackbird,
Glad u'r bck & enjoyed your trip there...You really got a real bargain to Floating market! Mine is via taxi which cost me thb800 & renting a motorboat at thb1000! Total =thb1800 / 3pax so about thb600/pax! BTW, u din goto Chinatown, Wat Arun, Wat Po (Sleeping Buddha & Penis shrine The thb100 foot massage is a real bargain. I tot thb120 at pratunam is the cheapest then.. |
Mar 26 2008, 04:43 PM
157 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kenny Hill |
Ok guys,im going to bangkok next week for shopping and sight seeing:hyper:
Thursday 3rd April 08 Arrive bangkok in noon via air asia. Check in at AONEINN (The hotel is near to the the M.B.K) Will go to MBK,Siam Square,Siam Centre,Siam Discovery Centre,Siam Paragorn and all around mbk area. Since all the place im going is walking distance so no problemla. Friday 4th April 08 Pratunam (Daytime Baazar) (will go here first coz its close at 6pm)(No idea How to reach there) Suan Lum(Nite Baazar) (Lumphini Station M.R.T) Nana (Wanna go there to eat or dinner coz heard that alot of halal food around there)(No Idea how to reach there) Silom and PatPong Saturday 5th April 08 Chatuchak Weekend Market (SkyTrain Mo Chit Station) Massage (Around M.B.K) RCA (Clubbing Sunday 6th April 08 Chatuchak (If got something miss out on Saturday,if not didnt go la) Rileks around hotel and look for trip to Floating Market. HealthLand Massage Centre (Since a lot of people saying bout this place..wanna check it out) (No Idea How to reach there) Monday 7th April 08 Floating Market Jim Thompson House (By Walking coz near my Hotel) Grand Palace ( No Idea how to reach there) The Famous Khao San Road (go by taxi) Tuesday 8th April 08 Check Out and hangout or do last minute shopping. Go back KL lor.. If my hotel dont provide tour to Floating Market where can i search for it?Dont want to get con by taxi driver.Any good Massage and Spa for me?Guys hope you can give me advise and tips.Thanks. This post has been edited by flameboy3: Mar 26 2008, 04:44 PM |
Mar 26 2008, 05:26 PM
Refer to my comment in blue:
QUOTE(flameboy3 @ Mar 26 2008, 04:43 PM) Ok guys,im going to bangkok next week for shopping and sight seeing:hyper: This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 26 2008, 05:29 PMThursday 3rd April 08 Arrive bangkok in noon via air asia. Check in at AONEINN (The hotel is near to the the M.B.K) Will go to MBK,Siam Square,Siam Centre,Siam Discovery Centre,Siam Paragorn and all around mbk area. Since all the place im going is walking distance so no problemla. So far so good Friday 4th April 08 Pratunam (Daytime Baazar) (will go here first coz its close at 6pm)(No idea How to reach there) You can walk there from Central Plaza (beside Siam Paragon but nearer to Sumkhumvit area) but it will be a tiring 2km walk from Central Plaza...or else from your hotel, take a taxi..it will not be so far away..probably around 3-4KM from MBK Suan Lum(Nite Baazar) (Lumphini Station M.R.T) Nana (Wanna go there to eat or dinner coz heard that alot of halal food around there)(No Idea how to reach there) Nana Skytrain station is direct from MBK - No problemo - just take the line heading towards On Nut (Tesco) - but dun go NANA dureing daytime....nothing there at noon...The halal area is somewhere around Soi3 wth lotsa arabs...Another Halal area is actually on the Northern part of MBK closer to Pratunam..can't remember the area....Anyway..the easiest to get halal food is the MBK foodcourt itself! - 2 Arab stalls & probably the Padthai is halal.... Silom and PatPong Saturday 5th April 08 Chatuchak Weekend Market (SkyTrain Mo Chit Station) Instead of Skytrain suggest u using MRT bcos the sky train station is abit far compare to MRT to Chatchuchak Massage (Around M.B.K) Dun think u can get cheap massage there...For cheap one goto Pratunam area or as what Blackbird found out Silom? RCA (Clubbing Sunday 6th April 08 Chatuchak (If got something miss out on Saturday,if not didnt go la) Rileks around hotel and look for trip to Floating Market. HealthLand Massage Centre (Since a lot of people saying bout this place..wanna check it out) (No Idea How to reach there) Monday 7th April 08 Floating Market Jim Thompson House (By Walking coz near my Hotel) Grand Palace ( No Idea how to reach there) Take river taxi from the last Silom skytrain station - check what blackbird did. or else MRT to Hualamphong train station & thereafter taxi to Grand Palace or 100% taxiThe Famous Khao San Road (go by taxi) Tuesday 8th April 08 Check Out and hangout or do last minute shopping. Go back KL lor.. If my hotel dont provide tour to Floating Market where can i search for it?Dont want to get con by taxi driver.Any good Massage and Spa for me?Guys hope you can give me advise and tips.Thanks. I heard u can get cheap package at Khao San road...Not sure since I only passby Khao san road not entering that Kwailow area. Nevertheless, lotsa Taxi drivers outside your hotel will offer cheap package to either Floating Market or Ayuthaya.....Be warned..ask the taxi driver to goto to non-motorised boat area because the motorised boat rental is not cheap!! >thb1500/boat unless u know how to bargain! |
Mar 27 2008, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 26 2008, 09:39 AM) Bro Blackbird, Oh yes, really enjoyed the trip. Glad u'r bck & enjoyed your trip there...You really got a real bargain to Floating market! Mine is via taxi which cost me thb800 & renting a motorboat at thb1000! Total =thb1800 / 3pax so about thb600/pax! BTW, u din goto Chinatown, Wat Arun, Wat Po (Sleeping Buddha & Penis shrine The thb100 foot massage is a real bargain. I tot thb120 at pratunam is the cheapest then.. No la, didn't managed to go to those places. Actually planning to go to Jim Thompson house on Monday, but decided to take it easy as we hv to be at the airport by 12pm. On our first day, took the river taxi during sunset and managed to get a shot of Wat Arun. It's an amazing view. Here it is, .Hahaha, I thought I could get cheaper! This massage center is actually inside the Robinson shopping, the foor court level. Quite a lot of customers. At 100baht, that is expected. This post has been edited by Blackbird: Mar 27 2008, 08:09 PM |
Mar 27 2008, 09:52 PM
31 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Hey guys!
My friends and I are going to Bangkok this June to watch a concert. Do you have any recommendations for accommodation? The concert will take place at Bangkok Convention Centre. I talked to a travel agent in Bangkok and she recommended that we stay at either The Residence Rajtaevee or First House Bangkok Hotel. She said they're cheap and close to BTS skytrain. Quite truthfully, I really am still clueless about accommodation. Too many choices |
Mar 28 2008, 06:29 AM
1,783 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Ingolstadt |
You'll get a cheaper rate if you book thru a travel agent.
Mar 28 2008, 10:01 AM
No not really those tour agents in M'sia (If that what u mean) is abit pricey!..For cheapest rate..go for internet booking...A very reliable & cheap hotel rate in Thailand, I always trust & booked via:
http://www.sawadee.com/hotels/bangkok.html QUOTE(4Rings @ Mar 28 2008, 06:29 AM) Added on March 28, 2008, 10:09 amFrom this website the room looks fantastic for a mere USD30/nite hotel..look like a boutique hotel! http://www.sawadee.com/hotel/bangkok/firsthousebkk/ But the location is near Pratunam area..So abit far from Skytrain/MRT QUOTE(juhjuh @ Mar 27 2008, 09:52 PM) Hey guys! This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 28 2008, 10:09 AMMy friends and I are going to Bangkok this June to watch a concert. Do you have any recommendations for accommodation? The concert will take place at Bangkok Convention Centre. I talked to a travel agent in Bangkok and she recommended that we stay at either The Residence Rajtaevee or First House Bangkok Hotel. She said they're cheap and close to BTS skytrain. Quite truthfully, I really am still clueless about accommodation. Too many choices |
Mar 28 2008, 12:42 PM
157 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kenny Hill |
Bro stimix.For the boat rental at floating market the rate is per person or for 1 boat?im doing solo trip to there.How much roughly for the non-motorised boat?
Mar 28 2008, 02:37 PM
That's per boat rate...for solo, I think buying package is better....The package going there should be around thb800-thb1000/pax. I saw one tourist agent along Rama 4 offering THB900...The cheapest is at Khao San road as more Farang/kwai loh there..& thus easier to get cheap rate.
No point taking a taxi of thb800 & the stupid taxi drop u at the motorised boat area & really kena ketuk! ..On the non-motorised boat, I read somewhere in virtual tourist should be ~thb150-thb200 /pax QUOTE(flameboy3 @ Mar 28 2008, 12:42 PM) |
Mar 29 2008, 01:52 AM
361 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: MilkyWay, Earth, AsiaPacific, Msia, WPKL, Setapak |
hi there.... wanna ask, izzit hard to get a cab at d airport during midnite? cos me n my fren will be taking d midnite airasia flight frm kl to bkk... and we nd transportation frm d airport to our hotel in silom area..
plz advice on d pricing... thanks in advance.... |
Mar 29 2008, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(jasperchai @ Mar 29 2008, 01:52 AM) hi there.... wanna ask, izzit hard to get a cab at d airport during midnite? cos me n my fren will be taking d midnite airasia flight frm kl to bkk... and we nd transportation frm d airport to our hotel in silom area.. Should be no problem, I reach ~11.45pm(BKK time) and there is plenty of cabs waiting in line. plz advice on d pricing... thanks in advance.... |
Mar 30 2008, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(jasperchai @ Mar 29 2008, 09:27 AM) thanks blackbird for d info... means aft we arrive at the airport we can get a cab easily at the entrance lah?? No double charge, but you will hv to pay for the toll though. For me, I paid ~ 65baht for the toll in addition of the 300baht for the taxi. Depends on your location. how bout d price of the cab?? will it be double charge since its midnite? |
Mar 31 2008, 03:00 PM
94 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(~berry~ @ Mar 29 2008, 04:03 PM) i'm planning to go bangkok in june. need some help for the accommodation you can check out Sawadee budget around RM100 per night any suggestions? they provide online booking service as well. i'm going bangkok and Chiangmai in coming 9th April |
Apr 1 2008, 02:28 PM
1,575 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Singapore, Chicago, Appleton WI, Bangkok, KL |
QUOTE(Blackbird @ Mar 30 2008, 05:43 PM) No double charge, but you will hv to pay for the toll though. For me, I paid ~ 65baht for the toll in addition of the 300baht for the taxi. Depends on your location. i could have sworn there was a 50% extra charge for after midnight....maybe i remembered incorrectly then. |
Apr 1 2008, 11:03 PM
40 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(khan @ Mar 31 2008, 03:00 PM) you can check out Sawadee they provide online booking service as well. i'm going bangkok and Chiangmai in coming 9th April |
Apr 3 2008, 01:29 AM
69 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Setapak |
QUOTE(daedalus @ Apr 1 2008, 11:03 PM) if want to check the hotel i can recommend a website u go and check the rate. below are the website link http://directrooms.com/thailand/hotels/ban...tels/price1.htm |
Apr 3 2008, 09:39 AM
361 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: MilkyWay, Earth, AsiaPacific, Msia, WPKL, Setapak |
hi wanna ask bout the operating hours for the following market/bazaar...
1) Pratunam 2) Chinatown 3) Suan Lum 4) Chatucak Any other market/bazaar i fgtten plz list down .. tq |
| Change to: | 0.0217sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:19 PM |