check out this hotel, it is said very near to SkyTrain and only around rm100 per night, check out
Bangkok City Inn
Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?
Apr 3 2008, 09:47 AM
164 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
check out this hotel, it is said very near to SkyTrain and only around rm100 per night, check out
Bangkok City Inn |
Apr 3 2008, 12:13 PM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
Comment in red:
QUOTE(jasperchai @ Apr 3 2008, 09:39 AM) hi wanna ask bout the operating hours for the following market/bazaar... 1) Pratunam--Only day time closed after 6pm 2) Chinatown--Only day time closed after 6pm 3) Suan Lum --Nite gigantic sounenir market open after 5/6pm - it is huge! 4) Chatucak--Only on weekend Morning till dunno what time Any other market/bazaar i fgtten plz list down .. tq Others include Patpong nite market very similar to the olden day Petaling street but wth added advantages..free eye washing on those open bar wth bikini babes dancing while u shop till drop..but beware..prices in Patpong is 2-3 times the prices in Suan Lum nite market and therefore u need to bargain >50% & not 30%! Khao San road...heard about the same nite market but to get there is troublesome..no skytrain/MRT except using water taxi from the last Skytrain station in Silom. |
Apr 3 2008, 12:31 PM
105 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
I am going to Bangkok backpacking or either staying in cheap hotels. I wanna stay near to some disco or drinking area. Going on the 17th. Just want to ask if there are any hotels recommended by you guys?
Apr 3 2008, 02:31 PM
1,684 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang / Malacca |
im a frequent business traveller to bangkok. the budget taxi's normally include a 50bht service charge. Toll is 65bht. and to my service apartment in sathorn is around 250 - 300bht depending on traffic and which route he takes. there is not double charge after mid night.
Apr 3 2008, 07:30 PM
50 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Apr 3 2008, 09:35 PM
157 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kenny Hill |
Im in bangkok now.The weather is so hot.God..everywhere is sale up to 80%.I just went to mbk,paragprn,siam centre.Damn..kaki sakit now.Massage in pratunam centre are only 180bht for 2 hrs full body massage.
Apr 3 2008, 09:43 PM
On the spot reporting
QUOTE(flameboy3 @ Apr 3 2008, 09:35 PM) |
Apr 5 2008, 01:19 PM
361 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: MilkyWay, Earth, AsiaPacific, Msia, WPKL, Setapak |
whr u all go to change thai baht?? im in kl area.
shld i bring USD along to BKK to xchg to baht at thr?? Added on April 5, 2008, 1:20 pmwhr u all go to change thai baht?? im in kl area. shld i bring USD along to BKK to xchg to baht at thr?? This post has been edited by jasperchai: Apr 5 2008, 01:20 PM |
Apr 5 2008, 07:06 PM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
I exchanged rm1-2k to THB here in KL, and brought another RM500 as emergency. Since I'm not exchanging like rm100-200 million, the few percentage points are negligible to me, compared to wasting time, money, petrol, parking, etc. to go somewhere to exchange in KL to save rm20. Or even in Thailand.
My Thai friend told me BKK accepts MYR, and no need to do double conversion from MYR->USD, USD->THB, unless you are bringing over rm1 million or more ? |
Apr 5 2008, 10:05 PM
U get better rate in KL rather than in BKK. So change all in KL. No need to convert to USD..rate is good oledi
QUOTE(jasperchai @ Apr 5 2008, 01:19 PM) |
Apr 5 2008, 11:53 PM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
QUOTE(jasperchai @ Apr 5 2008, 11:46 PM) thanks for d infor.. how bout small notes?? like 100baht? cos i've asked around in sgwang area... the money exchanger dun have... only 1000baht... That's quite standard for all money exchanger, they don't have small notes unless they happen to "buy" the currency from some clients earlier that day.You can exchange the smaller THB notes at hotel lobby, or buy something at 7-11 (water ?), etc. |
Apr 6 2008, 12:19 AM
361 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: MilkyWay, Earth, AsiaPacific, Msia, WPKL, Setapak |
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Apr 5 2008, 11:53 PM) That's quite standard for all money exchanger, they don't have small notes unless they happen to "buy" the currency from some clients earlier that day. oohh..... thank u thank u.... but the thing is i will b arriving midnite in bkk.. n i need to take taxi woh.. u think d taxi driver accept 1000baht?? if they can... thn im not worry anymore..You can exchange the smaller THB notes at hotel lobby, or buy something at 7-11 (water ?), etc. |
Apr 6 2008, 03:15 AM
6,249 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
btw 24-hr money changer service for THB-to-RM can be done at Hotel Malaysia at bangkok, although the rates aren't too good and they take a cut off the exchanged rate.
at least u know where you can do it 24-hours |
Apr 6 2008, 03:30 AM
1,850 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Suddenly I will be flying to bangkok for a 2 days 1 night trip.
Flight and accomodation pay by company. Actually go there for site survey for a project... Now im totally clueless bout bangkok.. Just wondering what is thing to do in bangkok? Good Food? Shopping? or see Aqua? I enjoy shooting... any places to recommend? our trip is a short one. so hope to do smthing that is more meaningful. Oh yeah.. rm exchange thai batt? how much should i get ready.? |
Apr 6 2008, 03:53 PM
8 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
was wondering...which night market is closest to chatucak?
intend to go there after chatucak.. thx |
Apr 6 2008, 04:12 PM
157 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kenny Hill |
Reporting in from bangkok.For those who coming here be prepare with the hot weather.Went to chatuchak yesterday morning.The place is bigg...huge.
Patpong same like petaling street and all the stuff at there is so mahal.Unless you going there for the show la... The best place is suan lum nite bazaar.Everythings is cheap,but must bargain hard la.Go to siam paragorn and discovery..alot of chicks Got my package for floating market halfday tour only 500baht per pax. Try to change money in KL....If you want cheap try masjid india or mid valley.The rate in lcct is high n same goes to bangkok.Rate for today rm 10 = 89 baht at mbk and silom area is rm10 = 91baht. Thats for now....will sambung later. p/s..today weather in bangkok is cold coz raining in the morning . This post has been edited by flameboy3: Apr 6 2008, 04:14 PM |
Apr 6 2008, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(flameboy3 @ Apr 6 2008, 04:12 PM) Reporting in from bangkok.For those who coming here be prepare with the hot weather.Went to chatuchak yesterday morning.The place is bigg...huge. my god... 9hrs in chatuchak also not enuf???? i planing to spend a few hrs only thr woh.....Patpong same like petaling street and all the stuff at there is so mahal.Unless you going there for the show la... The best place is suan lum nite bazaar.Everythings is cheap,but must bargain hard la.Go to siam paragorn and discovery..alot of chicks Got my package for floating market halfday tour only 500baht per pax. Try to change money in KL....If you want cheap try masjid india or mid valley.The rate in lcct is high n same goes to bangkok.Rate for today rm 10 = 89 baht at mbk and silom area is rm10 = 91baht. Thats for now....will sambung later. p/s..today weather in bangkok is cold coz raining in the morning . |
Apr 6 2008, 05:53 PM
Yes dun buy anything in Patpong 3X more than pratunam...unless u bargain 3X lower too-lah..
QUOTE(flameboy3 @ Apr 6 2008, 04:12 PM) Patpong same like petaling street and all the stuff at there is so mahal.Unless you going there for the show la... QUOTE(flameboy3 @ Apr 6 2008, 04:12 PM) Bro stimix,leg cannot tahanla...i massage almost every day |
Apr 7 2008, 05:56 PM
5,784 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Shah Alam |
QUOTE(flameboy3 @ Apr 6 2008, 04:12 PM) Reporting in from bangkok.For those who coming here be prepare with the hot weather.Went to chatuchak yesterday morning.The place is bigg...huge. Hey flameboy, i was in bangkok from 26-29th or march. I stayed at white lodge (Rm50 a nite twin sharing). yeah same soi as reno. Was my 2nd trip since June las yr. LOL, the room next to us had some rocking bed action @ 3am, woke up & had an ear peeped. Looked like they were busy doing some 'actions'. Went to chatucak on sat morn 8-11am as i've got a flight to catch back later that afternoon. Yeah tat place is freaking huge & hot. Got sick on the 2nd day, probably due to the intense heat & sudden change of air temp in Air Cond places. Went to almost the same places las year, but this time, had a walk around Lumphini Park, n boy oh boy, it was huge.Patpong same like petaling street and all the stuff at there is so mahal.Unless you going there for the show la... The best place is suan lum nite bazaar.Everythings is cheap,but must bargain hard la.Go to siam paragorn and discovery..alot of chicks Got my package for floating market halfday tour only 500baht per pax. Try to change money in KL....If you want cheap try masjid india or mid valley.The rate in lcct is high n same goes to bangkok.Rate for today rm 10 = 89 baht at mbk and silom area is rm10 = 91baht. Thats for now....will sambung later. p/s..today weather in bangkok is cold coz raining in the morning . |
Apr 8 2008, 05:42 AM
16 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Hi everyone. I tried to read as much as I could in this thread but I just couldn't make it very far. But please help me with this:
I plan to visit Thailand while I'm in msia this june. I plan to hit up ChiangMai, Bangkok, Phuket... will 1-2 weeks be enough? I plan to fly from city to city as they are pretty far. And for the most part, walk a lot or take simple public transportation. How much do hotels cost a night (say a 3-star) so I don't get ripped off. Also, do they use a meter in their taxi rides? I don't want to be the stupid tourist who gets ripped off. I appreciate it. It sucks not being able to speak the language but I'll try to pick up some important phrases. |
| Change to: | 0.0198sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:03 AM |