Travel Bangkok, Interesting places?

estara
post Feb 3 2009, 04:44 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(Ch0pst1cK @ Feb 2 2009, 03:08 PM)
not spoon feeding..u been a great help..

Added on February 2, 2009, 11:22 pmHey guys, I made a rough plan of my 5 day trip and hope u guys could give some suggestion... I also dont know where the station im suppose to stop at and the location of the place...

Got one question, BTS stop operation wat time?
BTS operation hr is from 6am-12am

My plan:

6th Friday
6.30 - REach airport
7.30 - Reach Watana mansion (Plan to stay here but dunno what is the nearest BTS station)Nearest station should be On Nut Station
8 pm - Go Lumphini station, Sumluan and have dinner, walk walk
10.30 pm - Back hotel

7th Saturday
7 am - Go to Jatujak market (Mochit station) and breakfast
12 pm - Go to Safari and Marine World (Can have lunch here or at jatujak marklet?)
7 pm - MBK Mall, walk walk, dinner
10 pm - Siam Paragon
I think Paragon's closed by that time

8th Sunday
7 am - Pratunam market and breakfast
11 am - platinum mall
3 pm - Grand palace, Wat Po, Wat Arun
7 pm - Go Nana station then Patpong dinner and walk walk
10 pm - back hotel

9th Monday
7 am - Floating market (either go ourselves or follow tour if <rm150 per person)
12 pm - Shopping and lunch somewhere

then dunno do wat during afternoon..any idea??

6 pm - Royal Dragon Restaurant (According to website got a lot of attraction.. but must i pay for each attraction/show i wanna watch?)
10 pm - back hotel

10th Tuesday
Dunno do wat.. any ideas??Go Chinatown...or walk around Siam Square...

12 pm - lunch

3 pm - go airport..You can check in 2 hours b4 flight instead of the usual 3 hrs for international flight.
Seems like a lot of place got no idea.. plz help me suggest...  rclxub.gif
If you can, do go to Ayutthaya. It'll take probably more than 1/2 a day to visit a few sites there plus makan.
QUOTE(dya_ungu @ Feb 3 2009, 10:12 AM)
thanx for the info, maybe i will go phuket for my next visit to bangkok smile.gif
btw i need more info regarding Bangkok Inter Place Hotel at Ramkhamhaeng 24 road
very blank about that area, already google but i cant find specific area for that hotel
i want to know whether Ramkhamhaeng 24 road:
1. any food stall within walking distance
Seems like there are a lot of shopping complexes around Ramkhamhaeng Rd and some foodcourt and restaurants.
2. the nearest BTS/MRT/bas station
Hmm...this location seems very far from BTS/MRT. Dunno about buses...take taxi lor...you can check in Google Map.
3. is that area easy to get taxi

I suppose your hotel can help you get one if the aren't any taxis around. I think taxis shouldn't be too hard to get.
QUOTE(Ch0pst1cK @ Feb 3 2009, 02:39 PM)
Ayuthaya same place as grand palace right?? iside my plan oso..where is pattaya how go there and what u have there? anyway can fit into my plan?
Ayutthaya and Grand Palace are different places! Ayutthaya's out of Bangkok.
estara
post Feb 3 2009, 04:56 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(Ch0pst1cK @ Feb 3 2009, 04:49 PM)
ok will probably include ayuthaya in my list then make a new plan...]

wat time the shopping mall there closE?? maybe will go siam paragon walk walk at the last day since ppl say is like klcc very expensive just to tengok tengok only...
You can probably fit Paragon in to your last day's morning session, before you go to airport. It's opened from 10am-10pm if I'm not mistaken. And cafes are opened till 11pm.
vermins
post Feb 3 2009, 04:57 PM

215 posts

Malls close around the same time as KL malls do. Around 10pmish. Hmmm, I wouldn't quite say Paragon is expensive like KLCC. Sure there are a lot of high end stuff that is beyond most people's affordability but there are also shops for the avg joe to go to too.
klsmurf
post Feb 3 2009, 05:04 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(dya_ungu @ Feb 3 2009, 03:23 PM)

i know sukhumvit is very strategic location, but unfortunately the cheap cheap package dont have accomodation at sukhumvit area
I'm curious, how cheap is the "cheap cheap package"? Since MAS and AirAsia fighting for passengers to Bangkok, I believe can get a better deal booking the flight separately and looking for hotels on-line. At least you get to choose which hotel / where to stay.
stimix
post Feb 3 2009, 05:15 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

There are numerous cheap budget hotels as well in Sumkhumvit if u google hard, I spotted numerous offering ~RM60-RM80 around that area b4 but can't remember the name oledi...wth the economic downturn those hotels might be cheaper than u expected. hmm.gif However hotels located near Nana is abit pricey..no doubt about that...get those deep inside the Soi or about 1km away from BTS if u are looking for cheap one..Still within walking distance rather than staying far away from city & incurring xtra on taxi rate!! BTW, the metre taxi rate is actually more expensive than KL if I'm not mistaken hmm.gif KL starting ~RM2 but in Bangkok starting from 35Bath.. hmm.gif (Well not so sure)..So imagine staying far at Ramkhamheng & incurring daily taxi rides of >RM30-RM40 to/fro Bangkok?..added up almost similar if u add abit for hotels near city ctr esp near MBK Mall area

QUOTE(klsmurf @ Feb 3 2009, 05:04 PM)
I'm curious, how cheap is the "cheap cheap package"? Since MAS and AirAsia fighting for passengers to Bangkok, I believe can get a better deal booking the flight separately and looking for hotels on-line. At least you get to choose which hotel / where to stay.
vermins
post Feb 3 2009, 05:26 PM

215 posts

Cabs in BKK do start at 35 baht. But the incremental rates aren't as stupid as KL's. Over a longer distance its a lot more worth it. Heck, the service is way better even, that I wouldn't mind a 35baht initial fee.
estara
post Feb 3 2009, 05:42 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(vermins @ Feb 3 2009, 05:26 PM)
Cabs in BKK do start at 35 baht.  But the incremental rates aren't as stupid as KL's.  Over a longer distance its a lot more worth it.  Heck, the service is way better even, that I wouldn't mind a 35baht initial fee.
I agree. Just for the service alone, I'm willing to pay what was stated in the meter.
dya_ungu
post Feb 3 2009, 05:54 PM

* look at my stars *
1,040 posts

QUOTE(klsmurf @ Feb 3 2009, 05:04 PM)
i took packageRM605 for 2 persons (returned air ticket + accomodation with buffet breakfast) 3D2N
hotel is Bangkok Inter Place, rated as 3 star hotel sweat.gif
dya_ungu
post Feb 3 2009, 06:58 PM

* look at my stars *
1,040 posts

QUOTE(Ch0pst1cK @ Feb 3 2009, 06:43 PM)
why so cheap?? where u book the tour?? can give me the details??

rm605 for 2 person or rm605 per person?
rm605 for 2 person, that means rm302.50 per person only smile.gif
i book from goholiday.airasia.com (flight + hotel package) buy in package is more cheaper than buy seperately
estara
post Feb 3 2009, 08:11 PM

599 posts

It's also good to check out these sites for reviews from past visitors on the hotels that you choose to stay(if they're on the list).

http://www.agoda.com
http://www.asiarooms.com/thailand/bangkok.html
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotels-g293916-...kok-Hotels.html
http://www.sawadee.com/hotels/bangkok.html (on the top left corner there's the travel reviews)
vermins
post Feb 3 2009, 10:21 PM

215 posts

Just get a prepaid card from one of the many providers. Costs bout 45-50 baht to sms back to KL. There are also international calling cards like iTalk.

From DIGI on roaming.. Its like Rm2 to sms back.
dya_ungu
post Feb 4 2009, 08:24 AM

* look at my stars *
1,040 posts

QUOTE(Ch0pst1cK @ Feb 3 2009, 07:09 PM)
How you book?? I try to book for 2 adult for 3 days still so expensive..

I book 6th march to 8th march Bangkok interplace hotel (3 star) 1 room with no additional cost total is RM 1287

Got any tactic how to book so can get cheap 1?  rclxub.gif
actually price for hotel no changes, only fare for air ticket always changing
that time when i book is under promotion fare, rm29.00 for one way (KL - BKK)

Added on February 4, 2009, 8:33 am
QUOTE(vermins @ Feb 3 2009, 10:21 PM)
Just get a prepaid card from one of the many providers.  Costs bout 45-50 baht to sms back to KL.  There are also international calling cards like iTalk.

From DIGI on roaming.. Its like Rm2 to sms back.
any recommended telco for prepaid, which is cheap to make outgoing calls local & international

This post has been edited by dya_ungu: Feb 4 2009, 08:33 AM
stimix
post Feb 4 2009, 09:02 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Well since it's cheap who care about distance to Bangkok right. The daily taxi rate compensate the cheap hotel+airfare you hv.. biggrin.gif

On the prepaid card, b4 buying, check whether the hotel having free hi-speed WIFI. If yes...call using your skype phone if u hv? (Those Nokia & PDA phone can install skype so it save alot provided u have skype credit in your a/c. It's dirt cheap calling bck to M'sia (~US$0.10/min if I'm not mistaken)....otherwise, u will not be calling so often, just use the promotional rate offer by your telco to call..for eg, Maxis having the 120 international IDD..I used it few times to call bck M'sia from Bangkok/Jakarta/Chiangmai/Manila.....1 call only about RM2.50 per 1-2 min. Normally for the whole Oversea stay of ~4 days wth 2-3 incoming calls & I call out 1 call per day, My total Oversea bill rarely exceed RM20. Avg ~RM10 only..Unless u wanted to Cook telephone porridge hmm.gif

QUOTE(dya_ungu @ Feb 4 2009, 08:24 AM)

any recommended telco for prepaid, which is cheap to make outgoing calls local & international
panda-man
post Feb 4 2009, 10:32 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Ch0pst1cK @ Feb 3 2009, 10:59 AM)
wat cabaret show?? where is it? which slot shud i fit in?? and hows my plan? ok r or got better arrangement? cuz i dunno the place sometimes nearby also i dunno then waste trip go twice.. hehe..plz hlp
cabaret show is the lady boy cabaret show. i never went but my family went and said it was cool. here is the site. i dunno of any other ones. but yeah.

http://www.calypsocabaret.com/

apparently its been there for ages.

This post has been edited by panda-man: Feb 4 2009, 10:33 AM
stimix
post Feb 4 2009, 11:54 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I have been to the one in Phuket..Mind you although all performed by Ah Kua but come of them Nong Poy quality... biggrin.gif . & The performance is so good wth such a nais sound system (The one in Phuket using BOSS system & the quality of the sound still the best I heard so far .till now..)

BTW, this is not those yuckss Tiger show or etc, more like entertaining although on certain occasion, those pretty Ah Kua do go down to the stage & hug spectators.. biggrin.gif ...At the end of ythe show, Ah Kuas will line up oputside the theatre & u can take photos wth them. rclxms.gif

In 1995, the ticket price is about 300bath/pax now not sure hmm.gif
QUOTE(Ch0pst1cK @ Feb 4 2009, 11:45 AM)
lady boy??..u mean ah kua.. eerr no thnx.. i tot got like those thai girl girl
estara
post Feb 4 2009, 12:49 PM

599 posts

Now Calypso Cabaret charge 1000 baht per person. Talk about yucky tiger show, it's really yucky...last time we had company trip to Phuket and the guys happily went to watch tiger show, all came out half way feeling sick and shitty. Heard all the gross stuff they do.
DrezzUp
post Feb 4 2009, 02:59 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(dya_ungu @ Feb 4 2009, 09:24 AM)

I used Ring Ring card fr Telekom where u can call back Malaysia . Cheap too. But it seems hard to find nowadays.
panda-man
post Feb 4 2009, 03:11 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Ch0pst1cK @ Feb 4 2009, 11:45 AM)
lady boy??..u mean ah kua.. eerr no thnx.. i tot got like those thai girl girl
ya lah the katois however you spell that. hehehe.
its not a sex show lah. its dancing and singing. supposed to be really fun.
if you want the thai girl show you can goooooooooo~ at your own risk and mental health. hahaha. you will be scarred for life i think huhuhu.

vermins
post Feb 4 2009, 04:23 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(dya_ungu @ Feb 4 2009, 08:24 AM)

The prepaids are all pretty much similar. I used 12call(AIS) when I was there. For calls I really would suggest using IDD call cards. They are just as easy to get as prepaids. You can even register the IDD card to your mobile number, just like iTalk. So you only need to register once, call the number and you'll just have to hit the number you want to dial.

Using pre-paid to make overseas calls.. well, you would be reloading quite a bit then, so you might as well use an IDD card to save the troubles. But if you insist.. then well, I think whatever provider you get from wouldn't matter if you can afford to fork that much.

This post has been edited by vermins: Feb 4 2009, 04:27 PM
yanio9
post Feb 5 2009, 09:17 PM

77 posts

hi all there ... i wanna do anyone have been ayuthhanya ... how u go there can go there by train .... n back by boat

126 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0717sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:06 AM