Travel Travel to Japan V7, Discovery Japan Start Here

Human Nature
post Jul 27 2015, 03:32 PM

- student of human nature -
26,530 posts

QUOTE(sleepy 1 @ Jul 27 2015, 03:30 PM)
I am going to Japan with my parents and wife during 26/12/15 to 5/1/16. We would land at Kansai airport at 10:20pm via AirAsia X. We plan to go to Osaka, Nara, Kyoto and Kobe for 4 ~days with Kansai Through Pass, then head to Tokyo for the remaining days with 7 days JR unlimited pass. Lastly, go back to Kansai area a day before we head back to Malaysia.

There are few question that I would like to ask....
1) Due to the late arrival time to the airport, can we still able to get the Kansai Through Pass Ticket at Airport?

2) Which transport should we catch from airport to hotel?

3) Where should we stay in Kansai area? (Please advise the reasonable price for accommodation as I am the person who pay the whole expenses)

4) Where would be the place/restaurant that we should try during the trip?

Your advise would be much appreciated.
Question (2) depends on question (3). So it is better for you to have rough plan first.
raist86
post Jul 27 2015, 03:43 PM

1,577 posts

I am going to Japan with my parents and wife during 26/12/15 to 5/1/16. We would land at Kansai airport at 10:20pm via AirAsia X. We plan to go to Osaka, Nara, Kyoto and Kobe for 4 ~days with Kansai Through Pass, then head to Tokyo for the remaining days with 7 days JR unlimited pass. Lastly, go back to Kansai area a day before we head back to Malaysia.

1) Due to the late arrival time to the airport, can we still able to get the Kansai Through Pass Ticket at Airport?

3) Where should we stay in Kansai area? (Please advise the reasonable price for accommodation as I am the person who pay the whole expenses)

RegentCid will be asking you to do some homework first. biggrin.gif

anyway, i'll help as much as i can based on my homework done. My direction is Tokyo to Osaka.

1) Kansai Through Pass can be purchased online via JTB Malaysia. office at Amoda or KLCC. even the JR Rail pass can be purchased there.

2) depends on where you stay. Usually train from airport is the most convenient. Tennoji is the main station for airport trains. from there, change trains to wherever your final destination is. Use Hyperdia / google maps to plan your route.

3) you plan to do day trips to nara, kyoto and kobe or spend 1 day each at those locations? for myself, i'm doing day trips out with Osaka as my home base. Because of that, i booked an apartment via Airbnb which is near Umeda station. Check out airbnb as there are rather good reasonably priced options there.
necrox77
post Jul 27 2015, 03:53 PM

85 posts

Well your trip almost same as mine but in different month.
Your flight will arrived quite late 10:20 pm and have to consider immigration + luggage maybe you will be out of terminal 2 around 11:00.
Last train is 11:09 n you got to walk or take bus to terminal 1 (4 km distance) and probably miss your train.

I have check only cheap option is by limosine bus to osaka station ( buy round tix for better offer) then you got either walk to your hotel (if nearby osaka station) or take taxi to your hotel.

So my advice is find hotel or homestay near osaka / umeda station for the 1st day when you arrive japan.
Also mention to hotel you will arrive very late for their side preparation (around 12-1am morning maybe)
lastlovesong
post Jul 27 2015, 03:57 PM

130 posts

For people who never experience snow before like me, is there big differences between those powdery snow in furona and normal snow in other place?

I plan to try skiing but there's too much ski resort in Hokkaido.
Many recommended furano for their powder snow but the fees kinda on the higher end side.

If people like me won't know the differences then better for me to choose cheaper skiing place.

This post has been edited by lastlovesong: Jul 27 2015, 04:02 PM
michlove
post Jul 27 2015, 04:28 PM

233 posts

item 1,2,3...you can google for it...

item 4...page 1 got alot info jor...it's not easy for us to list out the so many place/restaurant. Do some research first before asking here. When you face some problem for eg. how to take train to ulu ulu places then you ask for help here.

your questions are just to general and wide...
limchee
post Jul 27 2015, 04:56 PM

Sien
1,745 posts

looks like Airasia gonna announce new route soon. it's gonna be KUL-CTS.
dont tell me they cancel off Narita for Chitose... ffffffff
TSRegentCid
post Jul 27 2015, 05:07 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(staticxtreme @ Jul 27 2015, 01:10 PM)
hi regentcid, yes i also saw online another way is limousine bus. But question is they only drop at a few location

Keio Plaza Hotel
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
Shinjuku Washington Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku Station West Exit
Higashi-Shinjuku Station

But i booked airbnb and it is like 2 km walk in the middle of the night. can the bus drop you off at subway stations or something? the airbnb location is near hatagaya station..
Tokyo was extremly safe to walk. Even 1am morning the city still got people walking around. Tokyo stealing crime are almost zero.

2km slow walk enjoy Tokyo city night view. Time fly very fast. Enjoy the neon light

michlove
post Jul 27 2015, 05:08 PM

233 posts

JTS, If any of you are heading to Nagano from Dec to March, can consider this place : Nozawa Onsen. I've been doing some research for my next year's trip and this place looks breathtakingly beautiful. Eventhough I don't ski but I still can enjoy the scenery here and also lots of good food in this village smile.gif And if you are also an onsen lover, like me, what a better way to enjoy it naked in a rotenburo overlooking the mountains covered with snow and if you are lucky...watching the falling snow too.... wub.gif

Happy researching!
[attachmentid=4652221]
[attachmentid=4653950]
[attachmentid=4653958]

This post has been edited by michlove: Jul 28 2015, 09:14 AM
TSRegentCid
post Jul 27 2015, 05:12 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Jul 27 2015, 04:08 PM)
JTS, If any of you are heading to Nagano from Dec to March, can consider this place : Nozawa Onsen. I've been doing some research for my next year's trip and this place looks breathtakingly beautiful. Eventhough I don't ski but I still can enjoy the scenery here and also lots of good food in this village smile.gif And if you are also an onsen lover, like me, what a better way to enjoy it naked in a rotenburo overlooking the mountains covered with snow and if you are lucky...watching the falling snow too.... wub.gif

Happy researching!
[attachmentid=4652221]
I bosan already.....
Nagano area alot snow monkey......later those monkey rape you in onsen pool.
michlove
post Jul 27 2015, 05:17 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 27 2015, 05:12 PM)
I bosan already.....
Nagano area alot snow monkey......later those monkey rape you in onsen pool.
LOL...pls la...i know you bosan liao cos dunno how many hundred times u went d...sure the monkeys will rape ppl? last time i went, they sleep only wor...

[attachmentid=4652250]
TSRegentCid
post Jul 27 2015, 05:27 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Jul 27 2015, 04:17 PM)
LOL...pls la...i know you bosan liao cos dunno how many hundred times u went d...sure the monkeys will rape ppl? last time i went, they sleep only wor...

[attachmentid=4652250]
You didn't masuk pool. If you masuk they will gang bang rape you.

Hahaha
sacwoc
post Jul 27 2015, 05:35 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 27 2015, 06:27 PM)
You didn't masuk pool. If you masuk they will gang bang rape you.

Hahaha
Dont forget monkeys like bananas.......
michlove
post Jul 27 2015, 05:39 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jul 27 2015, 05:35 PM)
Dont forget monkeys like bananas.......
LOL. Rc hamsump today...
scorgio
post Jul 27 2015, 11:10 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(lightbringer @ Jul 27 2015, 03:31 AM)
Does the airport help you keep your luggage? I am worried that my luggage would be stolen when I'm sleeping.  sweat.gif
If u're paranoid, there're coin lockers. ¥300 ¥500 ¥700 for small medium & large.
lowyatter
post Jul 28 2015, 10:39 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(lastlovesong @ Jul 27 2015, 03:57 PM)
For people who never experience snow before like me, is there big differences between those powdery snow in furona and normal snow in other place?

I plan to try skiing but there's too much ski resort in Hokkaido.
Many recommended furano for their powder snow but the fees kinda on the higher end side.

If people like me won't know the differences then better for me to choose cheaper skiing place.
There are many places you can go that have powder snow.

With the construction of Hokuriku Shinkansen, Yuzawa and Nozawa are very accessible from Tokyo.

Hakuba is a bit further out but has more ski resorts.

kerelbort
post Jul 28 2015, 11:04 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Jul 27 2015, 11:10 PM)
If u're paranoid, there're coin lockers. ¥300 ¥500 ¥700 for small medium & large.
Last time I arrived at late night in KIX. we left our biggest bags in KIX and bring a small bag contain changed of cloth and toiletries.. we book an average room in airbnb that is close to airport and the owner does service of picking up from airport. so no worries of getting the bus whatsoever..

the next morning travel back to KIX, collect the bags, bought Kansai Through Pass and travel to our hotel in osaka.

coz I'm travelling with tolders.. so cannot just spend time in the airport waiting till morning..

michlove
post Jul 28 2015, 12:05 PM

233 posts

i just checked, KUL to CTS in august 2016 is RM496 for two pax return.....should I book? tongue.gif
raist86
post Jul 28 2015, 12:14 PM

1,577 posts

cheap wei..

problem is booking so far ahead... who knows AA later cancel the flight.

This post has been edited by raist86: Jul 28 2015, 12:15 PM
michlove
post Jul 28 2015, 12:15 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Jul 28 2015, 12:14 PM)
cheap wei..

problem is booking so far ahead... who knows AA later cancel the flight.
booking......Jan 2016
Human Nature
post Jul 28 2015, 12:33 PM

- student of human nature -
26,530 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Jul 28 2015, 12:15 PM)
booking......Jan 2016
steady

125 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top