QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Sep 8 2017, 02:39 PM)
Ues bought it use from local seller for 1k++Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai V2
Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai V2
Sep 8 2017, 02:48 PM
204 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Sep 8 2017, 03:12 PM
2,672 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Sep 8 2017, 03:18 PM
74 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Hi guys, would like to obtain some opinion on Dragonfly red V1.2 pair with a 32ohm IEM hybrid driver 2 BA + 2 DD. Normally listen to music via Spotify. Would welcome some better choice recommended portable DAC compare Dragonfly red pair with the mentioned IEM.
Sep 8 2017, 03:44 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
4,676 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(howie @ Sep 8 2017, 11:30 AM) Good day to all.Looking for a good dac/amp with balance out for my You can also consider SMSL, Topping, Audio-GD. None are balanced in your price range though. If you want balanced you need to increase your budget.JBL LSR305 active speakers.Budget RM1000.source PC/Laptop.Any recommendation? |
Sep 8 2017, 08:41 PM
204 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Sep 8 2017, 03:44 PM) You can also consider SMSL, Topping, Audio-GD. None are balanced in your price range though. If you want balanced you need to increase your budget. Saw some used dac( Saw some used dac (TRASAM DAC 3 (PCM1794A + XMOS) and Krog dsd ds100)in garage sales price within my budget range.Wonder hows the performance? |
Sep 9 2017, 12:06 PM
429 posts Joined: Aug 2017 From: Selangor |
Sep 11 2017, 10:10 PM
210 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(howie @ Sep 8 2017, 08:41 PM) Saw some used dac( Saw some used dac (TRASAM DAC 3 (PCM1794A + XMOS) and Krog dsd ds100)in garage sales price within my budget range.Wonder hows the performance? https://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/RA....5bdadf47pF0A7QAnother for your consideration, but not within budget. |
Sep 12 2017, 01:37 AM
Sep 12 2017, 05:32 AM
massdrop Liquid Carbon X is coming up on thursday. At $299.99 it's an amazing price!
Sep 12 2017, 07:09 PM
403 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Hi, im not sure if this is the right place to ask..
I'm using sennheiser wireless headphones HDR 165 which is previously connected to my AVR. in college i only have a dell monitor with line out port (not headphone out). i do not have problem to get sound if i connect to the pc, however, how can i get sound if i connect a PS4 or other media player directly to the monitor? is possible to this without AVR? (I've not tested this since my monitor and ps4 at 2 different place atm) is there options with our using external amp? if amp is needed, do i need an amp with multiple hdmi input (like my AVR)? if yes, can i have suggestion for those? (low budget) thank you |
Sep 12 2017, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(vcxv @ Sep 12 2017, 07:09 PM) Hi, im not sure if this is the right place to ask.. isn't line out basically like headphone out, just without the volume control?I'm using sennheiser wireless headphones HDR 165 which is previously connected to my AVR. in college i only have a dell monitor with line out port (not headphone out). i do not have problem to get sound if i connect to the pc, however, how can i get sound if i connect a PS4 or other media player directly to the monitor? is possible to this without AVR? (I've not tested this since my monitor and ps4 at 2 different place atm) is there options with our using external amp? if amp is needed, do i need an amp with multiple hdmi input (like my AVR)? if yes, can i have suggestion for those? (low budget) thank you |
Sep 19 2017, 12:17 AM
215 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Looking for an upgrade for my Aune X1 pro DAC+Amp to pair with Focal Elear and HD650.
Eyeing on Audio GD NFB11.28. Is it good enough? Notice that NFB-11.28 using same ES9028 pro with NFB-29.28/ NFB-28.28. Any significant difference between this 2 DAC/Amp? Noted that the price difference quite a lot. Will prefer single ended since i didn't own any balance cables. Any sifu here try Aune S6 before compare to Audio GD NFB-28 or NFB-29? |
Sep 19 2017, 01:34 PM
113 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Hi I need some advice on getting amp/dac for my upcoming hd6xx.
In preparation before hd6xx ships around dec any advice on getting a amp/dac combo? Please note I won't be upgrading beyond my hd6xx I consider this my end-game. I did some research on schitt stack plus a number of upcoming dac/amp combo on massdrop but I am still undecided as to what I should go for. For budget I probably go as high as Jotunheim but if that is overkill for hd6xx do let me know. Thanks for reading looking forward to all your advice/recommendations please help me as I am by no means an expert. |
Sep 19 2017, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(okf987 @ Sep 19 2017, 01:34 PM) Hi I need some advice on getting amp/dac for my upcoming hd6xx. other than schiit, apparently https://www.lehmannaudio.com/ are some of the best amp for HD6xx series.In preparation before hd6xx ships around dec any advice on getting a amp/dac combo? Please note I won't be upgrading beyond my hd6xx I consider this my end-game. I did some research on schitt stack plus a number of upcoming dac/amp combo on massdrop but I am still undecided as to what I should go for. For budget I probably go as high as Jotunheim but if that is overkill for hd6xx do let me know. Thanks for reading looking forward to all your advice/recommendations please help me as I am by no means an expert. also, you can find Lehmann clones on aliexpress. |
Sep 20 2017, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(okf987 @ Sep 19 2017, 01:34 PM) Hi I need some advice on getting amp/dac for my upcoming hd6xx. I own HD6XX for about a year now and it is definitely a keep. I have been changing my setup every now and then; so far, it just keep getting better. LCX would be my preferred choice but make sure you run it through balance. Note that, Jot has a good amp section but not Dac. iDSD black label is quite good actually.In preparation before hd6xx ships around dec any advice on getting a amp/dac combo? Please note I won't be upgrading beyond my hd6xx I consider this my end-game. I did some research on schitt stack plus a number of upcoming dac/amp combo on massdrop but I am still undecided as to what I should go for. For budget I probably go as high as Jotunheim but if that is overkill for hd6xx do let me know. Thanks for reading looking forward to all your advice/recommendations please help me as I am by no means an expert. |
Sep 20 2017, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(okf987 @ Sep 19 2017, 01:34 PM) Hi I need some advice on getting amp/dac for my upcoming hd6xx. Just an update: Schiit just released Magni 3.In preparation before hd6xx ships around dec any advice on getting a amp/dac combo? Please note I won't be upgrading beyond my hd6xx I consider this my end-game. I did some research on schitt stack plus a number of upcoming dac/amp combo on massdrop but I am still undecided as to what I should go for. For budget I probably go as high as Jotunheim but if that is overkill for hd6xx do let me know. Thanks for reading looking forward to all your advice/recommendations please help me as I am by no means an expert. |
Sep 20 2017, 04:42 PM
113 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Thanks for the replies
I currently have fiio e10k so an upgrade is in order. ahmadfaizadnan I assume when you mentioned LCX its the Cavalli Liquid Carbon on massdrop? I don't wanna wait till feb next year since my hd6xx arrives in dec. I was thinking of going for the Jotunheim now that you mention their dac isnt any good would I schitt stack suffice? Magni 3 + Modi 2? Or should I just stick with my e10k till feb 2018 and get one of massdrops dac/amp? |
Sep 20 2017, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(okf987 @ Sep 20 2017, 04:42 PM) Thanks for the replies If you want to go the Cavalli route i'd opt for their CTH amp instead. HD6XX is already warm sounding, I wouldn't want to pair that with a warm sounding dac/amp, unless that is your preference.I currently have fiio e10k so an upgrade is in order. ahmadfaizadnan I assume when you mentioned LCX its the Cavalli Liquid Carbon on massdrop? I don't wanna wait till feb next year since my hd6xx arrives in dec. I was thinking of going for the Jotunheim now that you mention their dac isnt any good would I schitt stack suffice? Magni 3 + Modi 2? Or should I just stick with my e10k till feb 2018 and get one of massdrops dac/amp? |
Sep 20 2017, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(okf987 @ Sep 20 2017, 04:42 PM) Thanks for the replies Yup, the massdrop Liquid Carbon and yeah, the waiting time is a bummer indeed. I owned LC V1 from cavalli and I am surprised how good that pair was. The bass is tighter and it doesn't bleed to the mids. The treble is amazing because it is pushed a bit forward and the soundstage is a tad bigger. Now that I use a 4 times more expensive amp, I felt like the LC comes quite close when I use HD6XX. Separation, clarity and more pronounced treble are the main improvements but by a small margins. But, the case is different with HD800. HD800 drastically improves with my current amp. I currently have fiio e10k so an upgrade is in order. ahmadfaizadnan I assume when you mentioned LCX its the Cavalli Liquid Carbon on massdrop? I don't wanna wait till feb next year since my hd6xx arrives in dec. I was thinking of going for the Jotunheim now that you mention their dac isnt any good would I schitt stack suffice? Magni 3 + Modi 2? Or should I just stick with my e10k till feb 2018 and get one of massdrops dac/amp? This is assumed that the LCX has the same sound as LC. We never know until we get the real thing. I had bifrost+valhalla2 in the past and they are quite good. Although, instead of buying that, I would suggest you go for modi multibit and LCX. By the way, what is your budget? It is easier to suggest what's good for you if we know what is your budget. QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Sep 20 2017, 05:46 PM) If you want to go the Cavalli route i'd opt for their CTH amp instead. HD6XX is already warm sounding, I wouldn't want to pair that with a warm sounding dac/amp, unless that is your preference. True, I wouldn't want that either. I have tried the HD6XX with mojo and it doesn't suits me. Regarding the CTH amp, I have a thought that it could be warmer than LC since it's a hybrid. |
Sep 20 2017, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(ahmadfaizadnan @ Sep 20 2017, 09:28 PM) Yup, the massdrop Liquid Carbon and yeah, the waiting time is a bummer indeed. I owned LC V1 from cavalli and I am surprised how good that pair was. The bass is tighter and it doesn't bleed to the mids. The treble is amazing because it is pushed a bit forward and the soundstage is a tad bigger. Now that I use a 4 times more expensive amp, I felt like the LC comes quite close when I use HD6XX. Separation, clarity and more pronounced treble are the main improvements but by a small margins. But, the case is different with HD800. HD800 drastically improves with my current amp. Early reviews so far classify the CTH more towards neutral though with a slight tinge of warmth.This is assumed that the LCX has the same sound as LC. We never know until we get the real thing. I had bifrost+valhalla2 in the past and they are quite good. Although, instead of buying that, I would suggest you go for modi multibit and LCX. By the way, what is your budget? It is easier to suggest what's good for you if we know what is your budget. True, I wouldn't want that either. I have tried the HD6XX with mojo and it doesn't suits me. Regarding the CTH amp, I have a thought that it could be warmer than LC since it's a hybrid. |
| Change to: | 0.0281sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:26 AM |