Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

cybpsych
post Jun 25 2015, 10:07 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(nitehawk @ Jun 25 2015, 10:05 PM)
Does it mean we can remove the withdrawal over the counter any time this year?
that's what the FAQ written. you should read it.
cybpsych
post Jun 26 2015, 02:30 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Nom-el @ Jun 26 2015, 12:38 PM)
If you are looking for a savings account with high interest rate that allows withdrawal without affecting the rate, you can consider TRUE Savings account from AmBank, 2.8% p.a limited to 3 withdrawals a month. Check out this thread for more info: -

True by AmBank
yes, i'm aware of TRUE Savings by Ambank, i wasnt looking for options to open new savings account. i only share the news of OCBC e-SmartSavers account only.
cybpsych
post Jun 26 2015, 03:41 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Nom-el @ Jun 26 2015, 03:23 PM)
Thanks.  notworthy.gif
Actually, the message was in reply to Ramjade. Btw, thanks for sharing the news about e-SmartSavers.  notworthy.gif
thanks for sharing too wink.gif cheers!
cybpsych
post Jun 26 2015, 04:47 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 25 2015, 04:56 PM)
FYI, open OCBC e-SmartSavers Account from now until 30 September 2015 and you'll receive a special interest rate of 4.00% p.a. on account balances until 31 December 2015.

Just need to deposit minimum of RM50 monthly to enjoy this rate. Read more here and FAQ here.

[ APPLY NOW ]

Too bad, existing SmartSavers account holder not eligible to open e-SmartSavers account  mad.gif

Updated T&C:

7) I am holding a SmartSavers account. Can I open this e-SmartSavers account?
Yes, you can apply for it online.
Updated T&C:

7) I am holding a SmartSavers account. Can I open this e-SmartSavers account?
Yes, you can apply for it online.

thumbup.gif
cybpsych
post Jun 26 2015, 05:09 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jun 26 2015, 05:03 PM)
dude, thats a great news
haha yeah, i'm trying to open an account now, but the stupid page to create a Savings account points to opening Fixed Deposit ...

now on hold talking to OCBC customer service about this buggy page doh.gif
cybpsych
post Jun 26 2015, 05:27 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(jcxii @ Jun 26 2015, 05:10 PM)
How about the interest rate of the OCBC SmartSavers after December 2015? until further notice?
SmartSavers is the traditional savings account. no change.

e-SmartSavers is the online savings account, promo rate 4.00% p.a. until 31 December. After the end of promo, the promo rate shall no longer apply and the board rates for OCBC SmartSavers Account will apply.
cybpsych
post Jun 26 2015, 05:35 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Jun 26 2015, 05:28 PM)
hi all,

the ocbc online banking page (logged in) only shows option for smartsavers....no e-smartsavers... is it hidden elsewhere?
have talked to customer service.

there's no option to apply via internet banking (i've even argued the product page stated differenty)... you need to submit via online form here
cybpsych
post Jun 27 2015, 10:36 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jun 27 2015, 09:54 AM)
after submitting the online form, need to go to a branch or not?
no need. just need to IBG RM200 to first activate the account. refer full T&C here.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Jun 27 2015, 11:02 AM
cybpsych
post Jun 29 2015, 03:55 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 28 2015, 10:24 PM)
One more drawback of e-Smartsaver is we cannot open joint account... sad.gif
This is quite inconvenience for senior citizen.... Unless if we take the 6-month risk lah...
i almost sent out my application, until i talked to customer service.

the problem (for me) is account closure. need to walk-in to branch to cancel.

it doesnt really work like M2U Savers (purely virtual/e-account) which can be managed fully in M2U. OCBC e-SmartSavers need some walk-in intervention (remove RM25k withdrawal limit, account closure).

not worth the promo rate 4.00% p.a., cuz i'm planning to close it after promo, which gonna waste my time/money later.

IF, only if, e-SmartSavers can be closed via Internet Banking, then i'm interested to sign-up.
cybpsych
post Jun 30 2015, 02:32 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 30 2015, 01:59 PM)
Oh.. So need to visit OCBC branch at least times to use OCBC e-SmartSavers ..?
But for me is ok lah.. only 2 visit for 6 months.

Last time I had to go to Standard & Chartered bank every month to make monthly deposit just
for the 4.2% interest in my Just One saving account....

Birds olso die for foods..not to mention humans lah...  sad.gif

Thanks for the info....  notworthy.gif
well, their definition of e-SmartSavers is that you can open it without stepping into the branch .... well, except for 2 reasons: remove RM25k per annum withdrawal limit and account closure.

the opening criteria is not favorable to existing OCBC customers where you need to resubmit softcopy documents. unlike MBB, you can open Savers/Savers-i easily inside M2U.
cybpsych
post Jun 30 2015, 08:33 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 30 2015, 08:30 PM)
Ya....this is not e-FD.. hmm.gif
To ask customer to visit branch and resubmit documents are a bit troublesome la...

But usually high interest rate will exchange troublesome.. 

new account registration & document submission is via eForm. only when u need to remove the restrictions or account closure, then need to process at branch.
cybpsych
post Jun 30 2015, 08:42 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 30 2015, 08:39 PM)
Yes..
But remove restriction means that I can withdraw any available amount in my e-smartsavers account?  hmm.gif
This account has a maximum withdrawal limit of RM25k per calendar year and no limit on deposits. Need to visit any OCBC branch to remove this withdrawal restriction.
cybpsych
post Jul 1 2015, 09:37 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

OCBC Start Saving Deal – Double Savings Deal II
1 July 2015 - 31 July 2015

Min RM20k, 4.8% p.a. @ 3-month, equivalent amount into your Smart Savers Account.

More info: OCBC | Terms & Conditions

OCBC Start Saving Deal – Fresh Deal
1 July 2015 - 31 July 2015

Min. RM5k, 4.20% p.a. @ 12-month or 4.00% p.a. @ 6-month

More info: OCBC | Terms & Conditions

^-- RM40k placement in one receipt at any one of the promotions to receive this elegant Hugo Boss roller ball pen.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Jul 3 2015, 07:27 PM
cybpsych
post Jul 2 2015, 05:54 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

Hong Leong Bank - Priority Banking [HLB | T&Cs]
1 Jul 2015 - 30 Sep 2015

Enjoy Fixed Deposit rate up to 6.00%p.a. when you invest in selected Unit Trust Funds.

Added on
Hong Leong Bank - Priority Banking [HLB | T&Cs]
1 Jul 2015 - 30 Sep 2015

Enjoy Fixed Deposit rate up to 10.88%p.a. when you invest in selected Unit Trust.

cybpsych
post Jul 2 2015, 07:43 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(zcs @ Jul 2 2015, 06:01 PM)
Actually not only FD promo.. He is everywhere for providing first hand news!  notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 2 2015, 06:59 PM)
Looks like cybpsych has made a name of himself in LYN !  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
paiseh paiseh. just sharing info nia smile.gif
cybpsych
post Jul 3 2015, 02:55 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

Congratulations to our 10 eligible winners!
Source: HLB Facebook

Send us a private message and we'll guide you on how to redeem your RM80 worth of Zalora Vouchers!

1.Amizan Ali
2.Esther Yeong How Chuan
3.Gunavaathy Raj
4.Krishah Mahalingam
5.Liang Sammi
6.Lysa Farhana
7.Maha Subra
8.Sakunthala Raj
9.Tiffany Foo
10.Xiang En

cybpsych
post Jul 7 2015, 12:09 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

as shared by adele123 earlier smile.gif

FD Amazing 6+6 Campaign [ Maybank | T&Cs ]

Enjoy amazing rates with a minimum fresh deposit of RM25,000 for Individual customers or RM50,000 for SME/Business Banking customers in a single certificate on our 6+6 months Fixed Deposit.

Offer is open to Maybank customers and is applicable for Conventional Fixed Deposit placement of fresh funds made over the counter only at any Maybank branch in Malaysia. The campaign is valid from now till 24th July 2015 or upon reaching the overall limit, whichever is earlier
cybpsych
post Jul 9 2015, 07:12 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 25 2015, 04:56 PM)

OCBC e-SmartSavers Account [ OCBC | Promo T&Cs | FAQ | APPLY NOW ]

When you open an online SmartSavers account with us from now until 30 September 2015, you will receive a special* interest rate of: 4.00% p.a.

*Rates applicable on account balances until 31 December 2015.

If you withdraw money within the month, you will only receive 0.5% interest a year.
If you deposit minimum of RM50 monthly, you will be enjoying 4.00% interest a year until 31 December 2015.
OCBC e-SmartSavers can now be opened directly in Internet Banking portal for existing OCBC customers thumbup.gif

cybpsych
post Jul 10 2015, 04:13 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Jul 4 2015, 09:55 PM)
Nice, the 4% interest rate for OCBC e-SmartSavers account is on par with that of fixed deposit account, without the need to hold the deposit for more than 6 months (a requirement for fixed deposit).

1) I have OCBC Easisave Saving Account and access to OCBC Internet Banking. If I have opened and activated OCBC e-SmartSavers account, can I access this account via Internet Banking, and can perform deposit and withdraw money to and from e-SmartSavers account; and transfer between my two OCBC saving account?

2) Is it possible that OCBC may revise 4% interest rate, should there be any change to OPR?

3) Is there an annual fee for this account?
1) should be able to transfer between own accounts using Internet Banking.

Screenshot from Internet Banking > Transfer Fund. Note from screenshot: I only have SmartSavers. sweat.gif

2) OPR change, up to bank's discretion to revise the interest rate.

3) Dont think so. It's an e-account anyway thumbup.gif
cybpsych
post Jul 15 2015, 08:58 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

PB FD XTRA Campaign [ PBB | T&Cs ]

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top