Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

cybpsych
post Oct 2 2015, 11:53 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 2 2015, 10:38 AM)
Bro, I just got back yesterday and headed straight to my watch dealer - no time to read any posts here yet to update Post #1.

It's a new month and we can expect some new FD Promos. This thread is close to 2500 post and time for a new thread. And you rightly pointed out recently that Post#1 has not been updated frequently (as I was away most of the time). And I will be flying off again next week. Therefore, I won't be starting new V.10.

I propose that cybpsych takes over this thread and start V.10 immediately as many times he was the first to highlight many of the new FD promos.

aiya captain, small kauci like me only look-see-look-see from online, then report back for sharing (or referencing).

some masters here calling RMs and visiting branches, they more qualify to be TS thumbup.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 2 2015, 02:20 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Oct 2 2015, 02:17 PM)
online or hv to walk into bank?
read first.

How to sign up for this campaign?
Please visit any Maybank or Maybank Islamic branches for more details and if you are an existing Premier Wealth Centre customer, please contact your Relationship Managers.
cybpsych
post Oct 2 2015, 08:29 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

same existing deal.

OCBC Save & Grow Deals [ OCBC | T&Cs ]

You worked hard for it. Now make it grow with 4.2% p.a. returns over 13 months. Get the most out of your money with the OCBC Save & Grow Deals.

Note: 6 months @ 4.00% p.a.
cybpsych
post Oct 2 2015, 11:07 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 2 2015, 09:09 PM)
No experience with Ocbc
How is their customer service?
first time experience so far so good. services are good too.

applied fd promo + opening casa (smartsavers) last year, the staff managed well.

I'll be there probably next week or so to withdraw my casa (been dumping 1k/mth to gain max interest tier) and put to a decent fd promo (probably uob or mbb)
cybpsych
post Oct 2 2015, 11:20 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 2 2015, 11:13 PM)
Upon maturity, can v uplift via online?
not sure, didn't really asked last time laugh.gif

whn i placed my fd, I instructed to credit back into casa, principal + interest. I'll funnel the principal to reduce my house loan (also ocbc), hence I didn't think of stepping into the branch.
cybpsych
post Oct 3 2015, 07:31 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 3 2015, 07:02 AM)
very worthy compilation.

from risk point of view, having an extra 0.3% without PDIM coverage is no a wise choice, won't you think so?

I would like the ask the wise ones...

cybpsych, which package is your pick?
not really worthy la, just play play with the numbers, see if it make sense biggrin.gif

my fund would be from OCBC. gotta look at other aspects, including tenure, maturity date, convenience, etc.

1st choice MBB 5+5mth (expect to mature in Aug 2016, give me time for reinvestment from Aug-Sep 2016 onwards)
2nd choice PBB 12mth, dont mind lower rate but i got CASA there, in case need one.

been looking at UOB, pretty straightforward, no casa needed, but too far from my residential address (if they really check ur distance must be within 10km radius mad.gif )

any promo longer than 12mth, can KIV first biggrin.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 3 2015, 06:42 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 3 2015, 05:49 PM)
Good, you got the full T & C on this offer ! Thanks !  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

As I mentioned on Thursday, that branch that I went in said they are allowed this offer on 1/10 only ! They also said they have to apply to the HQ to have this offer for their customers.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Ha, for Penang that list only show mainly mainland side !  tongue.gif
best part is, hlb published 3 languages for the T&Cs, but not the promo page. blink.gif

monthly interest crediting seems nice, but a bit mahfan to open another CASA for HLB sweat.gif furtheremore, HLB doesnt have good high-interest CASA too.
cybpsych
post Oct 3 2015, 06:44 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 3 2015, 06:17 PM)
RHB better come out with promo otherwise there are a lot of maturing outgoing funds going to HLB, as last year 15 months step ups are maturing..

anyway, are there better deals then HLB 4.26% 15m?
rhb got promo already, but not attractive jer

cybpsych
post Oct 4 2015, 10:27 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Oct 4 2015, 10:24 AM)
HLB 4.26% 15m with CASA (not sure how much) requirement means the effective 4.26% is not true.

anyone wants to calculate the real effective rate incl casa requirement?
casa for interest creditiing la. but just treat the interest in casa as negligible lor, so the 4.26% is for FD only.
cybpsych
post Oct 4 2015, 10:31 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 4 2015, 10:30 AM)
Your reply crossed mine.  tongue.gif The interest can be used for makan makan and if bigger amount go for another FD placement.  tongue.gif
yalor, good also geh thumbup.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 4 2015, 01:31 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(wca @ Oct 4 2015, 12:36 PM)
If HL credit interest monthly into the SA, consider "activity" isn't it? hmm.gif
diff bank may define 'activity' differently.

I kena 2 times from pbb. casa went into dormant. but I know I got interests credited into it. to reactivate it, I must make withdrawal over-the-counter.
cybpsych
post Oct 5 2015, 09:34 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 5 2015, 09:10 AM)
It is in a way similar to MBSB's 18 mth 4.5%. Both are GIA i type, not FD. Capital & returns not guaranteed. But you can terminate it before end of 12 mth with no penalty and with monthly interest.

Risk wise I think it is lower than MBSB. I have the MBSB 18 mth 4.5% which pays at end of 18 mth.

Anyway it depends on the person to decide and access his risk/return appetite, same as going into ASNB funds.  brows.gif
after reading your attachment earlier, and this comment above, seems to be ok to put some eggs in mbb 12mth GIA biggrin.gif

btw, casa requirement, does it need islamic casa? i got Wadiah Savings and M2U Savers.
cybpsych
post Oct 5 2015, 10:22 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 5 2015, 10:21 AM)
Wadiah Savings is Islamic CASA
yeah, i was thinking if MBB allow M2U Savers to be used for interest crediting for this GIA laugh.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 5 2015, 10:28 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 5 2015, 10:23 AM)
I foresee the downside likely depends on OPR. But if OPR moves up, the return will increase based on what the MBB manager told me.  biggrin.gif

But the risk should be low. Even FD also carry risk. It is a matter of how low and how high.  tongue.gif
aint all FD have this OPR disclaimer in their T&Cs? smile.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 5 2015, 10:41 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 5 2015, 10:40 AM)
The clause is to protect Banks so tat they can revised promo rate
yes, that's their SOP in all the FDs T&Cs
cybpsych
post Oct 5 2015, 10:50 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(TNH @ Oct 5 2015, 10:49 AM)
anyone know how to view maybank e fix deposit statement?
no such statement.

it's a simple page, location is where you put the eFD.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0428sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:28 PM