7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.9, Please Read Post#1 and #3

BoomChaCha
post Jun 19 2015, 11:02 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jun 16 2015, 10:27 AM)
hahaha so silly!

but seriously, did BR revise your 5 yr FD rate downwards? How did you find out? Did they send u notification?

I better go chk mine   hmm.gif
No, I do not think BR has revised back my original rate.. sad.gif

I called to BR branch many times about this issue, the BR officer said
they need some time to calculate.

I found out because BR sent me letter, from the the letter I was informed
the interest rate was lowered by 0.10%..

I asked BR why this happened like this..?
BR officer said because of the negotiation rate...
I almost wanted to ask her:"Is this my problem..?
This is the rate you agreed ma.."

If yours is Berjangka, it should be no problem.
The problem is only for Mubeen FD.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 20 2015, 12:01 AM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 20 2015, 01:58 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 20 2015, 12:40 AM)
Bro, in the previous FD threads (couple years ago), it has been discussed/pointed out that ALL Islamic Product Dividends including BR "Term Deposit" are not guaranteed since it is based on "Profit Sharing" and one member even said that a BR officer informed her (I think she was girl) that the dividend rate can go down.

Unless a product is termed as Fixed Deposit, nothing is guaranteed  tongue.gif Then again not really correct - only up to RM250K of our money is "guaranteed"/insured by PIDM with a  particular bank.

That's why Public Bank current Step Up promos are called Term Deposit and not Fixed Deposit since they are based on Islamic Banking Principles and as such they can lower or increase the "interest rate" based on OPR.

Once again, for Islamic Products, there is no such thing as Fixed Interest Rate and that's BR's official reason why carpet man got 0% loan. Your money already used to give to carpet man at 0% interest, sure lah BR not making profit and that's why you getting less dividend, hahahahaha.
Captain, on BR's FD cert, as it is stated clearly like this:

Adalah dengan ini disahkan bahawa Bank Rakyat memberi akuan dan jaminan akan membayar berjumlah
RM ___________________ pada tarikh matang yang tersebut diatas kepada :
Encik Boom

So, Islamic and carpet man are not the issue in this case.. biggrin.gif BR has to honor what is printed on the FD cert..
BoomChaCha
post Jun 23 2015, 11:52 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 20 2015, 09:09 AM)
Uncle Boom, getting the 5 yrs rate from BR not that simple, eh ? shakehead.gif

Luckily the longest I have with them is 2 years and now going to <1 year. So far my experience is still positive with them.  biggrin.gif

But admire our High Magician with FREE RENTAS from BR !!  notworthy.gif
Ah Sir.. Like what our Big Magician said....no risk no gain ma....

QUOTE(magika @ Jun 20 2015, 09:20 AM)
No scared meh !  laugh.gif

Its interest rate is fixed. However dealing with banks with govt employees is a bit difficult to handle. There is a lot of tidak apa to handle. Uncle Boom blood pressure will shoot up higher then the interest rate.  shakehead.gif
Old ginger like me will not scare...... sweat.gif .... but still scare a little bit lah...

So Captain.. Ah Goat eats my money.....
I think BR will rectify lah...just do not know when BR is going to do it..?? sad.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 20 2015, 09:35 AM)
Wow, Uncle Boom your money has been used for my food/gifts. Come I will belanja you !  brows.gif

You eat my money.... cry.gif

QUOTE(magika @ Jun 20 2015, 12:56 PM)
  Not scared meh !

FD deposits are very safe. Does not matter which bank. BR hamper i used to throw away every year as dont think its healthy for consumption. My total withdrawal from BR is just to get a breath of fresh air and look at lenglui from other banks.

Ai...Scare a bit lah..... sweat.gif

I agree, foods inside BR hamper are mostly cheap junk foods, no good to our body..
I was thinking not to collect hamper from BR anymore, because I think it is just wasting my petrol, time and energy to
go to collect those junk foods that I do not eat; but if I do like this, BR will think I am arrogant wor..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 23 2015, 11:53 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 24 2015, 12:03 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 24 2015, 12:01 AM)
Ah Goat eats grass, not money.  brows.gif  tongue.gif
He he.. not only eat grass.. but also eat CD leh..... brows.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 24 2015, 12:04 AM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 24 2015, 12:13 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Castor Troy @ Jun 22 2015, 03:01 PM)
Today went to HSBC to open Advanced account for the 5%p.a. 3 months offer. Took me like 3hrs to complete the whole task (more of HSBC took 3hrs to service me)...  rclxub.gif pengsan
I forgot to mention, if to place FD in HSBC and Standard & Charteded Bank,
better to go there in the morning as early as possible.

Did you get a free regular size umbrella from HSBC? hmm.gif

It will cost more than RM 10 to buy an umbrella like HSBC umbrella...

BoomChaCha
post Jun 24 2015, 12:19 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(MichelleLin @ Jun 23 2015, 11:27 AM)
Hi I am from OCBC and we're running this promo. The effective rate is 3.925% p.a. for this promo. If you have any queries you can email limyc3@ocbc.com and we can assist you from there.

To register for the power bank you may also register at https://ringgitplus.com/en/fixed-deposit/OC...aving-Deal.html.
To make your placement at a nearest branch, you may refer to http://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/branch-listing.pdf

Hope this helps!
Hello... Michelle Leng Lui... lust.gif Welcome on board..

Can give special FD rate to lowyat members or not..?
I guarantee the quota will burst within 3 days.. biggrin.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 25 2015, 06:33 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 24 2015, 08:38 AM)
OK lah, admit also eats CD. Taste great ! Don't you also like it ? brows.gif Share, share !  tongue.gif
Wasai, from real world to virtual world ! Taking another step .........................???????  rclxms.gif 
Ha..? You want to eat me..? Come lah.. brows.gif

Yes, HSBC has a lot of paper work for FD..
But anyway, Congratulations..!! You made a right decision for this FD promo 5% cheers.gif
Especially during this inflation, we should try our best to get the best rate...
And in addition, you managed to open 3 a/c (2 individual + 1 joint).. worth it lah...

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 24 2015, 05:03 PM)
The other one I encountered is OCBC. But have good time looking at the leng lui RM.

Experience with HSBC not that bad. Have been CB customer for years so cannot remember "the first time" when I opened acct there.  tongue.gif
Haha, taking a swipe at some of the regulars ? 

I would go for FD with eyetertainment in mind.  icon_idea.gif But, I passed on the HSBC one. Too short in duration for me. Ah Boom brought gf's there to maximise his profits. Ha ha ha ! 
Ah Sir...of course I want to shoot to the maximum profit..... thumbup.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 25 2015, 06:39 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jun 24 2015, 06:05 PM)
Just rec'd a text from CIMB Bank
3.90% pa on 3 mths FD with min RM50k n valid till 30/6
Banks nowadays are asking for more FD deposit..
I think minimum RM 50K is too much... hmm.gif

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jun 25 2015, 06:08 PM)
the hidden agenda is, if you make any withdrawal, your rate will be reduced to 0.50% p.a, for that calendar month
Yes...not easy to withdraw from OCBC Smart Savers... sweat.gif
If want to withdraw, the best timing to do it is during first day of the month..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 25 2015, 06:45 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 25 2015, 07:04 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 25 2015, 06:43 PM)
laugh.gif Eat you ?  tongue.gif I am straight. Only eat CD. Not sure of you now ................ brows.gif
You don't know the man in the picture..? hmm.gif

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 25 2015, 06:54 PM)
mechanism works like traditional smartsaver account. very very  good interest rate if u don't need immediate fund.

I've been getting lots of free money by depositing 1k every month (as early as possible, usually 1st working day due to IBG, since interest is calculated over daily balance).
Free money..? Can share how do you get free money..? hmm.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 25 2015, 08:21 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 20 2015, 09:39 AM)
you are exactly correct - and Bro, like any other pyramid scheme, part of your "new deposits" besides paying for BoomChaCha's dividend will be used to entice others (by using your money to pay for stuff to give to others as free gift) to join in the fantastic run. The moment we have an Economy Collapse and NPL (from PLs which have no physical collateral) sky rocket, the party stops.
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 20 2015, 09:09 AM)
Uncle Boom, getting the 5 yrs rate from BR not that simple, eh ? shakehead.gif  tongue.gif

Luckily the longest I have with them is 2 years and now going to <1 year. So far my experience is still positive with them.  biggrin.gif

But admire our High Magician with FREE RENTAS from BR !!  notworthy.gif
Captain, Ah Goat Sir & Big Magician.... A Good News... thumbup.gif

BR paid my FD dividend calculated from the first day of May until 24th of June, total 55 days interest.

I calculated the earned interest rate based on 55 days in my iRakyat account..

BR did not lower my FD rate.
BR keeps their promise to give me back the original FD rate...

Must count correctly ma....Cannot miss one single cent....
BoomChaCha
post Jun 28 2015, 09:27 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 25 2015, 09:56 PM)
Ha ha ha, you really know how to express yourself ! Watchout that the Mxx (MIB ??)  will go after you  tongue.gif
MIB..? Men In Black..? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 26 2015, 12:27 AM)
Maybe you should look at it from another angle, if you did not calculate and assumed BR would pay you as promised, you would have been cheated.

And not first time BR have not paid you what they promised, previously you had to ask them to pay you the monthly dividend right?

Seriously Bro, if it was me I would be pissed off me time and would not give them any business..... then again I would never put my money in BR anyway, hahaha.
Captain.. I really do not think they have the intention to cheat me la... sad.gif

About the monthly dividend issue, the BR staff was not professional, she did not listen to what I said.
In fact, I was complaining 3 times of dividend issues which she did not listen to my request for monthly dividend carefully.
I suspect she is a half-deaf person..
Eventually she managed to solve the problems but this consequently wasting my time and energy.. sad.gif

I guess BR perhaps is the most polite bank in Malaysia... OCBC & Citibank also cannot fight..

No perfect bank in the world lah...
Remember couples years ago, the OCBC RM tried to cheat my Gold Art?
And also during last year, the arrogant AM Bank Senior RM (some-more a senior RM..?) asked me to keep my money at home..

QUOTE(magika @ Jun 26 2015, 09:42 AM)
like this must monitor blood pressure also  tongue.gif
Somehow u reminded me of "Uncle Scrooge" counting pennies late into the night.
In fact I monitor my blood pressure every day...
If my blood test report OK.. I am thinking to place another 5 years FD.... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 28 2015, 09:48 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 28 2015, 09:46 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 25 2015, 09:59 PM)
it's not. after 31 December, the rate goes back to 0.5% p.a. ... unless of course, OCBC introduce another promo rate that addon to the base rate of 0.5% p.a.

note: This account has a maximum withdrawal limit of RM25k per calendar year and no limit on deposits. Please visit any OCBC branch to remove this withdrawal restriction (to have unlimited transaction limit).
What does it mean by: Please visit any OCBC branch to remove this withdrawal restriction (to have unlimited transaction limit)? hmm.gif

Does it mean that we can go to the branch to remove this restriction so that we can make unlimited withdrawal transactions?
BoomChaCha
post Jun 28 2015, 09:55 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 28 2015, 09:49 PM)
I think is if you want to withdraw >Rm25k
Okay.... Thank You

I think this e-SmartSaver is a good deal..
but the bad side is the withdrawal... sad.gif

The Am Bank True saving account is a good deal too...
It looks like better than Affin Bank saving account...

I think I will open Am Bank True for sure...

BoomChaCha
post Jun 28 2015, 10:05 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 28 2015, 09:49 PM)
I think is if you want to withdraw >Rm25k
13)
Is there any maximum amount limit on e-SmartSavers account?
Yes, your yearly withdrawal amount is restricted to RM25,000.
Any transaction performed after your account exceeds this limit will be rejected.

14)
I wish to transact more than RM25,000 from my e-Smartsavers account. What should I do?
You need to visit our branch for a quick verifica tion for your account to have unlimited transaction limit.

Source:
http://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Accounts...tSavers_FAQ.pdf

If allow to withdraw more than RM 25K, then can consider ah..
What if need money urgently for heart bypass operation...., and cannot withdraw money to save life... then how..? sweat.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 28 2015, 10:17 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 28 2015, 10:10 PM)
That's why prevention. Eat some raw garlic everyday. Take fish oil. Cut down on KFC/Bak Kut Teh/Alcohol/cigarette and exercise.
Wah.. eat raw garlic everyday.. sweat.gif

KFC & Bak Kut Teh seldom eat..
Alcohol I do not drink..
I quit smoking more than 30 years ago...

You missed one thing.. take high fiber foods

Exercise.. biggrin.gif Ah Goat is a sport man..

This e-smartsaver cannot open account inside OCBC branch..?

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 28 2015, 10:20 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 28 2015, 10:24 PM

2,490 posts

One more drawback of e-Smartsaver is we cannot open joint account... sad.gif
This is quite inconvenience for senior citizen.... Unless if we take the 6-month risk lah...

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 28 2015, 10:27 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 30 2015, 01:40 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(peterchua5717 @ Jun 30 2015, 10:32 AM)
HI uncle Boom,

Currently i just have basic saving account for HSBC? any requirement to upgrade my saving account to HSBC advance in order
to place the FD account.
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 30 2015, 10:50 AM)
If I am not mistaken, only valid for new HSBC customer
I am not sure if it is eligible for new HSBC customer or for new Advance account customer..?? hmm.gif
But I think most likely (99.9%) Ramjade is right..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 30 2015, 01:46 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jun 30 2015, 01:59 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 29 2015, 03:55 PM)
i almost sent out my application, until i talked to customer service.

the problem (for me) is account closure. need to walk-in to branch to cancel.

it doesnt really work like M2U Savers (purely virtual/e-account) which can be managed fully in M2U. OCBC e-SmartSavers need some walk-in intervention (remove RM25k withdrawal limit, account closure).

not worth the promo rate 4.00% p.a., cuz i'm planning to close it after promo, which gonna waste my time/money later.

IF, only if, e-SmartSavers can be closed via Internet Banking, then i'm interested to sign-up.
Oh.. So need to visit OCBC branch at least times to use OCBC e-SmartSavers ..?
But for me is ok lah.. only 2 visit for 6 months.

Last time I had to go to Standard & Chartered bank every month to make monthly deposit just
for the 4.2% interest in my Just One saving account....

Birds olso die for foods..not to mention humans lah... sad.gif

Thanks for the info.... notworthy.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 25 2015, 06:22 PM)
Short term FD has its purpose. Right now I also have some 1 mth, 3mth FD placed. Some has been renewed. These are short term ones which I foresee to use them in the immediate future. I keep these at CB at low monthly rate as I can even call them to cancel it and use them immediatelybiggrin.gif

But for those FD which I don't foresee I will be using them, I placed them long term, 1 year, 2 years and 3 years.  biggrin.gif
Ah Sir.. when you cancel your Citi Bank 1 month FD before it becomes mature, do you still get the partial interest..? hmm.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jun 30 2015, 08:30 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 30 2015, 02:32 PM)
well, their definition of e-SmartSavers is that you can open it without stepping into the branch .... well, except for 2 reasons: remove RM25k per annum withdrawal limit and account closure.

the opening criteria is not favorable to existing OCBC customers where you need to resubmit softcopy documents. unlike MBB, you can open Savers/Savers-i easily inside M2U.
Ya....this is not e-FD.. hmm.gif
To ask customer to visit branch and resubmit documents are a bit troublesome la...

But usually high interest rate will exchange troublesome..

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 30 2015, 02:47 PM)
Wow, go to SCB every month previously to get the 4.2% interest for JustOne SA ? Really working so hard to make the money working for you ?  tongue.gif

That's why some people call me Guli Boom.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 30 2015, 02:47 PM)
Are you joking ? For 1 month FD, how to get partial interest ?  biggrin.gif  laugh.gif
This is hard to say la especially for Ah Sir like you..
Just like our Big Magician, he even can get Rentas for free...
BoomChaCha
post Jun 30 2015, 08:39 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 30 2015, 08:33 PM)
new account registration & document submission is via eForm. only when u need to remove the restrictions or account closure, then need to process at branch.
Yes..
But remove restriction means that I can withdraw any available amount in my e-smartsavers account? hmm.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0474sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:40 AM