ozak
post Apr 4 2017, 07:22 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Apr 4 2017, 03:47 PM)
Guys,

aircond installer quoted if include 20a switch, need to add RM60. is it really that expensive?

i looked at Lelong and saw some selling less than RM20. What the difference between 1 Gang 1 Way Flush Switches (RM18.50) and 1 Gang 2 Way Flush Switches (RM48)?
It the aircon point direct to DB ?

If yes, don't need the switch.

But normally the installation include the switch.

1 Gang 2 Way Flush Switches (RM48) - Both Live and neutral terminate at switch.
ozak
post Apr 18 2017, 02:09 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(8sg9ft @ Apr 17 2017, 03:52 PM)
Noob question here, is it practical/common practice for an AC unit in the living room (downstairs) of an intermediate terrace house but with the outdoor/compressor unit placed at the AC ledge or balcony on the first floor?
As long as it between the spec, not a problem.

Each brand and HP aircon have the compressor pumping alleviation max spec. The spec will tell you how height the outdoor can install compare the indoor.

And the max distance between the 2.
ozak
post Apr 21 2017, 10:11 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(DanKa @ Apr 21 2017, 10:08 AM)
How did you know that the capacitor was faulty?

Blimey. I didn't know that capacitor only cost RM4!!!!
I changed a capacitor a year ago. The acond guy charged me RM30.
Labor and petrol free meh...
ozak
post May 14 2017, 10:59 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(tlcm5229 @ May 13 2017, 11:31 PM)
Anyone can recommend me good contractor to install air con?
Why people like to buy a aircon without a installer?

Cheaper?
ozak
post May 15 2017, 10:03 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(tlcm5229 @ May 15 2017, 09:27 AM)
My house need to do installation from living room to backyard which is not standard installation as you buy from air con package less than 10 ft length. A lot hacking and conceal need to do and normal installer won't entertain you and is not you like or not like.
You can tell them what you want and where to place. The extra installation work need extra charge from the std installation.

I go through 2 installation which is not std. Conseal and more than 10ft piping. As I require the outdoor unit to be place ontop the roof water tank area.

No problem for the installer and no complain.

Is it you're not agree with the price ?
ozak
post May 17 2017, 08:42 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(leekangtao @ May 16 2017, 11:57 PM)
you think our aircon can last more than 10 years? I still use r22
Mostly can last nore than 10yrs.

Mind already 9yrs+.

What's wrong with that?

ozak
post May 17 2017, 09:17 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(leekangtao @ May 17 2017, 09:00 AM)
people buy r410 or r32 to avoid r22 gas coz 2030 no more r22 gas. So I just buy the cheap r22 and expect it to last before 2030.
Why related the gas with the aircon lifespan?

Aircon don't require to pump gas in every service or every yrs.

R22 gas will be phase out cause depleted the ozone. Your responsible to takecare the enviroment. It is volunteer you want to do it or not.

Even it replace by R410, it is not totally gone for the R22 gas. It will cost higher since in the market getting less. Till the manufacturing totally no more produce r22 type aircon.

I knew this phase out since 16yrs ago. And my 9yrs+ aircon is using R410.

Never top up or low gas pressure since install time.

If tomorrow they told me no more r410 gas, it doesn't matter to me.
ozak
post May 17 2017, 10:40 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(leekangtao @ May 17 2017, 10:11 AM)
same I also haven't yet topped up the gas for my aircon. This is just to be pre caution if gas leaked in future for my aircon. For environment, I don't care la we only live 60-80 years old. ozone will not be gone for near future coz of r22 gas
It is not you to care. Your next generation and your kids.
ozak
post May 21 2017, 10:56 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(danielSinclair @ May 21 2017, 01:54 AM)

do you have any sample bill usage calculation for inverter vs normal aircond? i.e normal usage 9pm to 6am daily. how much we can save using inverter?
About 40% different from my old bill.

And change from 1hp to 1.5hp.

ozak
post May 21 2017, 01:21 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(danielSinclair @ May 21 2017, 01:08 PM)
that's amazing. how much your old bill? how many hours you used aircord daily?
RM100-RM110

Average 8hr.
ozak
post May 24 2017, 12:25 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(wuoi @ May 24 2017, 12:10 PM)
yeah, same here..
Aircond almost 10yrs now.

12mth x 10yrs = 120mth.

Bill save every month RM100x40% = RM40/mth (put it at RM30 or 30%)

120mth x RM30 = RM3600.

Enough for me to

1) buy new panasonic inverter air con now for RM2688
2) Left RM912 for future service. biggrin.gif
ozak
post May 28 2017, 09:10 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(ianlti @ May 28 2017, 08:36 PM)
Surprising Gree is not famous in Malaysia, their price are still quite expansive here.
It is famous in Sarawak.
ozak
post May 28 2017, 10:15 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(ianlti @ May 28 2017, 10:09 PM)
I read the main dealership is in Sarawak, Gree's aircon is very highly rated in china, recommended by most of my china colleagues, but their price is steep.
I thought it is cheaper than Japan brand?

I saw many people using gree brand in Sibu.
ozak
post Jun 5 2017, 08:45 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(keni988 @ Jun 5 2017, 12:10 AM)
Not condo owner but my aircond pipe(from master room to bath room to roof) installed with 3 bends no issue.
That is not 90deg bend. That radius bend cannot conseal into the wall.

BTW, why not cover the pipe? The piping is very ugly friendly to speak.
ozak
post Jun 7 2017, 07:32 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(fayerboll @ Jun 7 2017, 07:27 PM)
do the Lbox ceiling like in the picture. can't really explain to you. let the picture do it  laugh.gif

You're blocking the airflow on top.

Hot air suck from top of the aircon and flow out from the bottom front.

Read the manual how much space ontop require to be clear off.
ozak
post Jul 7 2017, 09:57 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jul 7 2017, 09:01 AM)
Already completed, now considering renovation planning phase  biggrin.gif
Generally required 10 to 12HP to cover the whole house. Around 8 units. 
Let's say 1HP aircond is 1.5k, so should be about RM15k for all the aircond
Considering vrv because it will be great to install on the flat roof, so the house exterior can be nice laugh.gif
Research daikin have vrv system in this range
the problem is their indoor is customize, no idea how the process  of mix and match

Now is to find if the price is OK hmm.gif
It is cheaper and economical to run if there is many aircon using. But if using mostly 1-2 aircon or 3, than is is not cheap to run.

Exam your pattern of usage. How many aircon will be use in a night or day.

Multisplit is very famous and normal in sg or some small country. 1-3 aircon per outdoor unit is normal in SG. You might option for this type smaller capacity if pattern of usage is smaller.

I also favor of multisplit instead of whole role of outdoor unit. Which is damn ugly, noisy and messy pipeline.
ozak
post Jul 11 2017, 09:39 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(wenzhenzhen @ Jul 11 2017, 09:09 AM)
Just asking, my existing house got 1 aircon. If I want to install extra 1 aircon, do I need to upgrade the electricity box??
Just add a mcb point and wiring to the aircon. Std procedure.

Your installer might tap from your room wall socket. If the aircon is 1hp.

But you have to check by yourself are the room wall socket is fully occupy or heavy loaded with electrical appliance.
ozak
post Jul 20 2017, 07:48 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jul 20 2017, 04:09 PM)
Hi guys,

I've got an installer quoting me 2.2k for hacking and piping works (copper and drainage) for 3 units of inverter AC of the following:

Living Hall 3.0HP
Master Bedroom 1 (MB1) 1.5HP
Master Bedroom 2 (MB2) 1.0HP

Attached is a diagram flow of my house.

Is 2.2k reasonable...? Price excludes AC installations and patching up.

[attachmentid=8978110]
Why don't hide away the outdoor unit ontop inner side ? The MB1 location. But more inner.

That should make your house front cleaner look. Without that ugly outdoor unit.
ozak
post Jul 20 2017, 10:25 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jul 20 2017, 10:09 PM)
The green rectangles are the outdoor unit... MB1 location is on rooftop concrete slab... Pardon the illustration, the outdoor unit is supposed to lean sideways blowing towards neighboring units so it should not face the front of house...
The MB2 and living outdoor unit will be noisy next to your room. If the left next wall is the room.

If possible , all outdoor unit fly up to the top. Same place as MB1.
ozak
post Jul 21 2017, 08:24 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jul 20 2017, 11:26 PM)
It is MB2 room... Behind the 2 outdoor unit is the MB2 toilet..., in between them there's no window, and both units won't be turned on at the same time so I'm not too worried about noise... If all 3 outdoor units throw up the rooftop then they may need pumps to work...?
The compressor is a pump. A 3hp probably have a elevation max of 30m. What is the house height till the roof.

The 3hp outdoor unit alone is already noisy. But I guess once you go to sleep, the living room aircon will be off.

BTW, check the 3hp outdoor unit size can fit into that 2nd storey space.

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:25 AM