67 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

TSBaronic
post Jul 16 2008, 05:17 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Jul 15 2008, 08:41 PM)
how come my garmin xp everytime i wanted to start using it, it will seaching for satelite bout 5 min?
is it normal or just becos my area has low gps coverage?

if let say im from pj wanted to go pj hilton, how am i setting the location of hilton so my gps will lead me the way from my current location to pj hilton?

million of thanks smile.gif
where actually are u trying to connect to the sattelite? indoors? near high rise buildings? bad weather? all affects GPS signal. no such thing as "low coverage, coverage same, just the signal"

just choose your destination as hilton, and on GPS, it wtill start from your current location after getting a fix
dannytanx
post Jul 16 2008, 11:10 PM

61 posts

yeah, I'm using Garmin TX & it's great
but I think my map is on Dec 2007 version, how to update the map? sweat.gif
Deani_77
post Jul 17 2008, 09:20 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(dannytanx @ Jul 16 2008, 11:10 PM)
yeah, I'm using Garmin TX & it's great
but I think my map is on Dec 2007 version, how to update the map? sweat.gif
From which source you get the map? May be you can ask them... Anyway you also can visit malsingmaps.com for free unofficial Garmin map.

dannytanx
post Jul 17 2008, 10:14 PM

61 posts

Master Deani_77,

I got it from lelong.com.my & how should i update the map from malsings?

also how do i change mile or feet to km or meter in GMXT? blush.gif
~Battousai~
post Jul 18 2008, 02:38 PM

4,477 posts

not sure what option..but i choose metric option straight ok de tongue.gif
dannytanx
post Jul 18 2008, 04:27 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Jul 18 2008, 02:38 PM)
not sure what option..but i choose metric option straight ok de tongue.gif
yeah, choosen metric & it's switch to km
TQ
Deani_77
post Jul 18 2008, 05:05 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(dannytanx @ Jul 17 2008, 10:14 PM)
Master Deani_77,

I got it from lelong.com.my & how should i update the map from malsings?

also how do i change mile or feet to km or meter in GMXT? blush.gif
No master lah... still newbie... blush.gif

You can read under topic Map Unlocking Guide, if you already have the unlock code.

If you don't have the unlock code. You still can use their free map.

1. Free S'pore & West M'sia Map, Jan 1, 2008
2. Free East M'sia Map, Jun 21, 2007

If I'm not mistaken. That file was in *.exe extension. That means you need to install it to your PC and you need to have Mapsource application. You can read here regarding the application. Install it then install the map file. After everything complete you can find that map under name GMAPSUPP.img inside Garmin\GPSMappers folder in your hard disk. Copy that file into Garmin folder inside your Memory card.

For changing that you can go to Settings\System in your GMXT application. Change it to what you always use - Metric

This post has been edited by Deani_77: Jul 18 2008, 05:10 PM

dannytanx
post Jul 18 2008, 05:11 PM

61 posts

okie bro
OwenMnM
post Jul 19 2008, 06:45 PM

327 posts

Guy, i have Garmin Mobile XT in my P320 (Eng version). It that possible can change/install the voice language to speak Cantonese/Mandarin ?

How to & where to get that voice file/pack ?

Million Thanks.
TSBaronic
post Jul 19 2008, 08:03 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

voice packs should be free i think. have u tried googling for garmin's site?
OwenMnM
post Jul 19 2008, 09:19 PM

327 posts

YUP. Google is my frn, but bad luck with it, cause no result of voice pack i can search/get.
TSBaronic
post Jul 20 2008, 11:39 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

maybe there's no voice pack available? lol. i dun use garmin
Deani_77
post Jul 20 2008, 12:04 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(OwenMnM @ Jul 19 2008, 06:45 PM)
Guy, i have Garmin Mobile XT in my P320 (Eng version). It that possible can change/install the voice language to speak Cantonese/Mandarin ?

How to & where to get that voice file/pack ?

Million Thanks.
Have you try search it out at Garmin Taiwan, perhaps you will find it there...

songbo
post Jul 20 2008, 08:48 PM

♥ ▬▬ ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ 爽吗 ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ ▬▬ ♥
1,029 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Jul 18 2008, 05:05 PM)
No master lah... still newbie... blush.gif

You can read under topic Map Unlocking Guide, if you already have the unlock code.

If you don't have the unlock code. You still can use their free map.

1. Free S'pore & West M'sia Map, Jan 1, 2008
2. Free East M'sia Map, Jun 21, 2007

If I'm not mistaken. That file was in *.exe extension. That means you need to install it to your PC and you need to have Mapsource application. You can read here regarding the application. Install it then install the map file. After everything complete you can find that map under name GMAPSUPP.img inside Garmin\GPSMappers folder in your hard disk. Copy that file into Garmin folder inside your Memory card.

For changing that you can go to Settings\System in your GMXT application. Change it to what you always use - Metric
hi i jus search and there are two files there. which one is for PDA? these two do not need to unlock rite?

File comment: GMAPSUPP for MXT Symbian
GM-MySInMXT.exe [14.24 MB]
Downloaded 12603 times

File comment: GMAPSUPP for all except MXT Symbian
GM-MySin.exe [14.89 MB]
Downloaded 22011 times

songbo
post Jul 20 2008, 08:53 PM

♥ ▬▬ ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ 爽吗 ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ ▬▬ ♥
1,029 posts

another question, there are so many maps, which is the best/latest? sry if this had been ask before, no time to read..

MapKing 5 Trial Version
Mapking 7 Trial Version
Mapking G10 Trial Version
Mapking 2007 Trial Version
MapKing for Nokia 330 Quick Guide
Mapking2007_S60

TSBaronic
post Jul 20 2008, 09:04 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

all those Mapkings are for different devices. The latest mapking (for PDA) is Mapking 2007 and R12. Both same, just different packaging thats all.
songbo
post Jul 20 2008, 09:15 PM

♥ ▬▬ ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ 爽吗 ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ ▬▬ ♥
1,029 posts

thanks for the reply. mapking doubt solved.

now which malsingmaps should i get for PDA?
cos from the files:

Downloaded 12603 times

File comment: GMAPSUPP for all except MXT Symbian
GM-MySin.exe [14.89 MB]
Downloaded 22011 times

izzit for PDA or symbian phone?? rclxub.gif
OwenMnM
post Jul 20 2008, 10:10 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Jul 20 2008, 12:04 PM)
Have you try search it out at Garmin Taiwan, perhaps you will find it there...
Still can't get/search any voice pack/file from Garmin Taiwan.

Or maybe Garmin no support for voice pack/file rclxub.gif
Deani_77
post Jul 21 2008, 07:52 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(songbo @ Jul 20 2008, 09:15 PM)
thanks for the reply. mapking doubt solved.

now which malsingmaps should i get for PDA?
cos from the files:

Downloaded 12603 times

File comment: GMAPSUPP for all except MXT [b]Symbian
GM-MySin.exe [14.89 MB]
Downloaded 22011 times[/B]

izzit for PDA or symbian phone??  rclxub.gif
I highglight the version you should download.

songbo
post Jul 21 2008, 10:12 AM

♥ ▬▬ ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ 爽吗 ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ ▬▬ ♥
1,029 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Jul 21 2008, 07:52 AM)
I highglight the version you should download.
many thanks notworthy.gif

one more question, u all normally use Holux for PDA?

how abt Routee?
Routee Bluetooth GPS receiver using SIRF III chipset which is sensitive and accurate rite?

hows Routee compare to Holux M1000B? which one do u all recommend? i heard holux not accurate sometimes, izzit true?
or any other good suggestion at similar price range?

67 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:32 PM