GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!
Jan 5 2007, 02:42 PM
5,005 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: A galaxy far, far away... |
Just to ask, there was a post in another thread mentioning about the Malsing Maps (covering MY and SG)... Are those dedicated GPS maps or also used as normal electronic map?
Jan 5 2007, 03:06 PM
6,633 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: www.kelvinchiew.com |
those are maps for gamin devices...and its constantly updated...u want an updated map or a year old map?
Jan 5 2007, 04:39 PM
7,533 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Lowyat.net Malaysia Sex: Yes please |
QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 5 2007, 02:42 PM) Just to ask, there was a post in another thread mentioning about the Malsing Maps (covering MY and SG)... Are those dedicated GPS maps or also used as normal electronic map? by normal electronic map wat do u mean dude. if u asking if can simply use it to view around, yea of course u can do that. but i recommend using a normal paper map for just viewing |
Jan 5 2007, 06:34 PM
Icic, i was thinking whether the Malsing maps can also function as an electronic version of the standard paper-based maps, if i don't have a GPS service...
Jan 5 2007, 08:51 PM
3,466 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Malaysia |
Jan 5 2007, 10:42 PM
Thanks... I'll do that as soon as possible... Need such a map in electronic form, at least not so ma-fan to carry a paper-based one!
Jan 5 2007, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 5 2007, 10:42 PM) Thanks... I'll do that as soon as possible... Need such a map in electronic form, at least not so ma-fan to carry a paper-based one! lol, but i find paper one much easier to read. electronic when go beyong screen must load and all. and even worse when u have no idea the location u're looking for is N-S-E-W of your current position. map book can get overall view easier. But yea, u can use it alone as a electornic map |
Jan 6 2007, 12:55 AM
True true... Looks like both the GPS-enabled electronic maps as well as the standard paper-based ones have their own set of advantages... The best is still to have a paper map together with the electronic version complementing each other... Thats what GPS is for also right?
Jan 7 2007, 02:52 PM
yep definitely. before going out at an unknown place using GPS, i have a look using a paper map first before heading on the road. this way i can have a general direction to be heading towards.
Jan 7 2007, 06:41 PM
but gps will mark the road directions also ma.............so maybe u cna just scroll in the pda firest ma
Jan 7 2007, 08:59 PM
1,134 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Seri Kembangan |
QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 6 2007, 12:55 AM) True true... Looks like both the GPS-enabled electronic maps as well as the standard paper-based ones have their own set of advantages... The best is still to have a paper map together with the electronic version complementing each other... Thats what GPS is for also right? Once you have GPS + routable maps, you can throw away the paper maps, I have never used paper maps since two years ago. |
Jan 8 2007, 02:28 AM
Cool... So it has to be very effective for u eh?
Jan 8 2007, 02:50 PM
3,251 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Kuala Rompin, Pahang |
Any latest GPS device?
This post has been edited by Deani_77: Jan 8 2007, 03:01 PM |
Jan 8 2007, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(Kiding @ Jan 7 2007, 08:59 PM) Once you have GPS + routable maps, you can throw away the paper maps, I have never used paper maps since two years ago. lets say u on the road. GPS shows u a path thats damn traffic jam already. If u know the general direction of where u shud go, u can take a diff road, and force the system to reroute you to a better path |
Jan 8 2007, 04:10 PM
1,127 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL / UK |
QUOTE(Baronic @ Jan 8 2007, 03:25 PM) lets say u on the road. GPS shows u a path thats damn traffic jam already. If u know the general direction of where u shud go, u can take a diff road, and force the system to reroute you to a better path can the GPS detect traffic jam? (like can we see the roads around us if there are many cars?)one more thing. you said can reroute a better path. means the software oso shows direction of the roads? coz in KL those roads all like one way nia. |
Jan 8 2007, 04:14 PM
404 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(sniper msia @ Jan 8 2007, 04:10 PM) can the GPS detect traffic jam? (like can we see the roads around us if there are many cars?) No way, man. GPS detects ur coordinate, then realign ur coordinate on the digital map (software) on ur gadget. Its not a cam to capture image.QUOTE(sniper msia @ Jan 8 2007, 04:10 PM) one more thing. you said can reroute a better path. means the software oso shows direction of the roads? coz in KL those roads all like one way nia. It depends on ur map software. As for my mapking, yes. It shows one way road. Whn auto routing, it knows way to guide u accordinglyThis post has been edited by liewss80: Jan 8 2007, 04:15 PM |
Jan 8 2007, 04:15 PM
1,127 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL / UK |
QUOTE(liewss80 @ Jan 8 2007, 04:14 PM) No way, man. GPS detects ur coordinate, then realign ur coordinate on the digital map (software) on ur gadget. Its not a cam to capture image. Ok. Thanks for the info. That's really cool. It depends on ur map software. As for my mapking, yes. It shows one way road. Whn auto routing, it knows way to guide u accordingly |
Jan 8 2007, 05:09 PM
errr ................. gps can show u traffic jam meh?? what wat i know is..if u took an alternative road that u know, it will auto-recalculate your position to the place u want to go......so meaning if u miss a turn or someting, it will calculate and show u a new route to the location...so u no need make u turn and stress here and there...
edit: but wat i realise it always take the main road ...seldom take those small roads This post has been edited by porkchop: Jan 8 2007, 05:10 PM |
Jan 8 2007, 08:26 PM
Still, at least it gives u alternative routes to take if there is a traffic jam... It has to be very useful then, but how much does the service cost, btw?
And since i'm using a Z72s, how do i actually activate my Palm to become a GPS tracker? Obviously there is a need to purchase an extra device to take advantage of this capability ya? |
Jan 8 2007, 09:48 PM
service is FREEE.
just buy the GPS receiver = around rm300 - rm500 for a low budget one Go download the program + maps from malsingmaps (FREE - jsut register as a member in their FREE forum) |
| Change to: | 0.0245sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:50 AM |