67 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

GPS (general: wat is it? how does it work?), Get your answers here!

stimix
post Jan 8 2007, 10:16 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Not all Palm can install Garmin Que..Pls check from this link:

http://www.palmx.org/mambo/index.php?optio...id=99&Itemid=45

From Malsingmaps WIKI only the following Palms are able to use Garmin Que:

Sony Clie UX50
PalmOne Tungsten T3
Sony Clie TH55
PalmOne Treo 650
Sony Clie TJ37
PalmOne TX
PalmOne Tungsten E2
The map setup/upload is similar to PocketPC.

This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 8 2007, 10:20 PM
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 8 2007, 10:19 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Oh ok, that is cool... Thanks for the info though... And the PalmX link really helps explain everything! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by THT United Gadgets: Jan 8 2007, 10:22 PM
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 8 2007, 10:23 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 8 2007, 10:16 PM)
From Malsingmaps WIKI only the following Palms are able to use Garmin Que:

Sony Clie UX50
PalmOne Tungsten T3
Sony Clie TH55
PalmOne Treo 650
Sony Clie TJ37
PalmOne TX
PalmOne Tungsten E2
The map setup/upload is similar to PocketPC.
Whoa, looks like my Z72s is out... Too bad, but there are other ways to access GPS using my handheld ya?
stimix
post Jan 8 2007, 10:33 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I'm not so sure..not a palm user but u probably can check wth the moderator of the site i.e Dr Azmi Tamil...He is also a Sr member of Malsingmaps & the above WIKI from Malsingmaps is updated by him....
raist86
post Jan 9 2007, 04:15 PM

1,577 posts

I'm planning to get a gps bluetooth receiver to pair it with my IPAQ RX3715. Is there any compatibility issues which i need to know about? Which GPSrs should i purchase? Would prefer to hear from people who are actually using the device and not just specification based opinions. Am gonna use it for road navigation in malaysia. What sort of accuracy can i expect?
StormZ
post Jan 9 2007, 06:31 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Jan 9 2007, 04:15 PM)
I'm planning to get a gps bluetooth receiver to pair it with my IPAQ RX3715. Is there any compatibility issues which i need to know about? Which GPSrs should i purchase? Would prefer to hear from people who are actually using the device and not just specification based opinions. Am gonna use it for road navigation in malaysia. What sort of accuracy can i expect?
hello bro,

good to know i have a company here...hehe...im too using RX3715....and enquired around the forum....and finally today i got to use my GPS..hehe....

i dont think there is any issue with using the GPS with the system...just one thing la bro.....u have to run Garmin Que and GPS Proxy(if u using non-garmin gpsr) together ...so, might take up some memory ....so, adjust the pda accordingly ...pls, the map from malsing maps....quite big in size also, and have to load the maps onto the pda itself....i dunno how to transfer the Garmin folder to my storage card, eventho the main program is installed in the storage card...

im forgot the model of the GPSr im using...HS01..somthing like that...its just a normal one....cheap as well...im just borrwing my frenz one..to test with my pda....to make sure it works....

accuray wise...very very good i would say....it had spot on the speed i was travelling....and tells u perfectly where to turn n all....

and it re routed whenever i missed the turns.....quite good..and im very satisfied...but one thing i can suggest la .....buy a good GPSr....coz the one im using...takes damn long to get a fix.....

if anythin i could help...pls let me know....
TSBaronic
post Jan 9 2007, 08:20 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

Instead of staying on position, waiting to get a fix, drive a bit. gets a fix faster. No idea why, sometimes maybe the position u are currently has bad GPS reception, so as u move, u can perhaps come to a good position. I remember once i was waiting a frickin 45 minutes for reception, still cannot get a fix! got pissed off and fed up, so i started driving. Drive about 500m away from the spot suddenly, got a fix already!!!
easirider
post Jan 9 2007, 09:06 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Jan 9 2007, 04:15 PM)
I am using 1 with the rx3715. Running on Garmin que with gpsproxy. Accuracy mostly depends on the type of gps receiver you're using. Get the 1 with sirIII chipset. There is someone doing a bulk for holux236 gpsr at the bulk section. Price is quite good atr 350(I got mine at rm450 last time).

Since I'm quite hopeless with direction on the road, navigation with que is quite good with malsingmaps.
kuokyeow
post Jan 9 2007, 10:19 PM

221 posts

anyone using 818 pro?
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 9 2007, 11:46 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Well, so its similar to WiFi spot hunting lah, whereby u have to drive around until a location with strong signals is detected... So how are u guys finding your respective GPS devices and services, btw?

At least i can gauge your responses before really considering getting a unit... biggrin.gif
stimix
post Jan 10 2007, 09:35 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 9 2007, 11:46 PM)
Well, so its similar to WiFi spot hunting lah, whereby u have to drive around until a location with strong signals is detected... So how are u guys finding your respective GPS devices and services, btw?

At least i can gauge your responses before really considering getting a unit... biggrin.gif
Not really..satelite requred clear sky and all the 24 satelites are up there the stumbling blocks are those highrises, mountains, thick vegetation or u r inside a car wth Vcool tint or even inside a house.. Reason being satelite signals are very-very weak and thus required open sky.. To mitigates these problems, normally hardcore GPS addicts will hooked up their unit to an external antenna just to get "clearer Sky"

However during cold start (First getting satelite fix) u will need atleast 5 minutes to detect the signal but the nxt acquisition of signal should be fast probably less than a min especialy those wth QuickGPS built-in GPSr (HP6515/HP6965)

raist86
post Jan 10 2007, 11:41 AM

1,577 posts

Is garmin que available for free or do i need to purchase it? What about gpsproxy? Am gonna get the holux brand GPSrs in bulk section if it's still available after CNY.. (now pocket empty) lol
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 10 2007, 11:53 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 10 2007, 09:35 AM)
Not really..satelite requred clear sky and all the 24 satelites are up there the stumbling blocks are those highrises, mountains, thick vegetation or u r inside a car wth Vcool tint or even inside a house.. Reason being satelite signals are very-very weak and thus required open sky.. To mitigates these problems, normally hardcore GPS addicts will hooked up their unit to an external antenna just to get "clearer Sky"

However during cold start (First getting satelite fix) u will need atleast 5 minutes to detect the signal but the nxt acquisition of signal should be fast probably less than a min especialy those wth QuickGPS built-in GPSr (HP6515/HP6965)
Well well, looks like i will have problems with receiving GPS signals... My car is coated with V-Cool actually, but what type of antennas can be hooked up with the GPS unit? Can't be those normal radio antennas, right?
porkchop
post Jan 10 2007, 12:00 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

nope need those special antenna wan..its flat surface
THTgadgets.com
post Jan 10 2007, 12:07 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Where to get it then? Should be from computer shops lah right? And how much is it?
stimix
post Jan 10 2007, 12:31 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Jan 10 2007, 11:41 AM)
Is garmin que available for free or do i need to purchase it? What about gpsproxy? Am gonna get the holux brand GPSrs in bulk section if it's still available after CNY.. (now pocket empty) lol
In normal circumstances, Garmin Que is a proprietary S/ware of Garmin & normally comes wth their GPSr. however you can download this s/ware freely from their website which is linked via Malsingmaps. It won't work directly unless u purchased a Garmin GPSr. To solved this someone hv found a way (long time ago) by using 3rd party s/ware i.e using "GPS Proxy" which is freely available via the above link and thus enable the running of Garmin Que without buying their h/ware. So in that sense it is free! biggrin.gif . Subsequent to installation of both s/ware u need to upload the patched maps from Malsingmaps to enable u to view & navigate. (However the setting up of so called "Free software might be a pain for first timer...including me previously.. rclxub.gif )

Similarly to Mapking, where Malsingmaps are now able to run in this format..U need to purchase Mapking G10 software first b4 u can run Malsingmaps. Thus it is not free in that sense...but the Maps are still free.... the installation setting up is so easy.....

This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 10 2007, 12:39 PM
stimix
post Jan 10 2007, 12:36 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 10 2007, 12:07 PM)
Where to get it then? Should be from computer shops lah right? And how much is it?
There are numerous discussions on external antenna in Malsinmaps & there are also numerous bul purchases there...rite now someone is offering bulk purchase of ext ant at RM50/unit (so far the cheapest!)

However b4 u buy check on the socket first..probably u cannot hooked up the ext ant directly and thus u need another internal re-radiation unit (~RM100 - Online shop from HK) hooked up to the ext ant.

xyber9
post Jan 10 2007, 01:11 PM

605 posts

Which GPS receiver is most suitable of the Dell Axim x51v? Any compatiblity issue with WM5 os?
stimix
post Jan 10 2007, 02:19 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(xyber9 @ Jan 10 2007, 01:11 PM)
Which GPS receiver is most suitable of the Dell Axim x51v? Any compatiblity issue with WM5 os?
If u're running either WM2003 or WM2005, all BT GPSr that support both will work. However look for BT GPSr wth the latest chipset ie Sirf111 which is the current Taiko of all GPSr...

THTgadgets.com
post Jan 10 2007, 03:44 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

I should be going to Ikano Center later today... Dunno whether the IT Planet store there has any GPS units for demo or not leh? huh.gif

67 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:42 AM