7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Bridgestone Potenza RE003 vs Michelin PS3

TSHaloJ
post May 30 2015, 03:12 PM, updated 11y ago

Hi guys,

Since my tyre not in good condition, so I'm planning to change my tyre to either Bridgestone Potenza RE003 or Michelin PS3.

Current tyre:
Size: 195/60R15
Model: Bridgestone MY-02

Plan to change to use 55 series.

Any suggestion or comment on these 2 tyres? I need tyre which more fuel efficiency, good grips, good handling and reduce tyre noise.

Thanks for your comments.
redrose9802
post May 30 2015, 04:07 PM

105 posts

Haven't use re003 yet, but was on re002 and now changed to ps3. Noise-wise i think ps3 shud be quieter, performance wise i dunno....but i expect somewhat similar. But price-wise re003 a lot cheaper...my 205 45 17 price difference nearly rm90 per piece.

And i expect ps3 to last longer...
6UE5T
post May 31 2015, 01:56 AM

1,704 posts

Spec wise PS3 should be better in the wet with AA traction rating while RE003 might be better in the dry if looking at the lower tread wear and bigger block-ish tread pattern.
xxboxx
post May 31 2015, 07:43 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

Good grip will not give you fuel efficient. But since you going to change 60 series tyre to 55 series, you'll feel the car can go more mileage now, since the reading will be more than actual km traveled. Syok sendiri.

RE003 or PS3 both will give you good grip, and better experience than your current tyre.
TSHaloJ
post May 31 2015, 09:55 AM

QUOTE(redrose9802 @ May 30 2015, 04:07 PM)
Haven't use re003 yet, but was on re002 and now changed to ps3. Noise-wise i think ps3 shud be quieter, performance wise i dunno....but i expect somewhat similar. But price-wise re003 a lot cheaper...my 205 45 17 price difference nearly rm90 per piece.

And i expect ps3 to last longer...
May I know how long was the re002 last for u?

QUOTE(6UE5T @ May 31 2015, 01:56 AM)
Spec wise PS3 should be better in the wet with AA traction rating while RE003 might be better in the dry if looking at the lower tread wear and bigger block-ish tread pattern.
OIC... can't be both dry and wet be good? =.=

QUOTE(xxboxx @ May 31 2015, 07:43 AM)
Good grip will not give you fuel efficient. But since you going to change 60 series tyre to 55 series, you'll feel the car can go more mileage now, since the reading will be more than actual km traveled. Syok sendiri.

RE003 or PS3 both will give you good grip, and better experience than your current tyre.
Previous tyre was 185/65R14, then I change rim to 15". I think the tyre shop man change wrong tyre size for me as 195/60 was out of the diameter variance and the speed reading will be run out a lot.
Yes, RE003 or PS3 will definitely better than current Bridgestone MY-02 which is entry level of performance. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by HaloJ: May 31 2015, 10:36 AM
xxboxx
post May 31 2015, 07:11 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(HaloJ @ May 31 2015, 09:55 AM)
May I know how long was the re002 last for u?
Previous tyre was 185/65R14, then I change rim to 15". I think the tyre shop man change wrong tyre size for me as 195/60 was out of the diameter variance and the speed reading will be run out a lot.
Yes, RE003 or PS3 will definitely better than current Bridgestone MY-02 which is entry level of performance.  biggrin.gif
Yea, they change wrong size for you. Should be 195/55R15.

This size got many choices for performance or comfort.
Other than that 2 brands, you can also look for Toyo T1-R, or R1-R if you got deep pocket. Hankook Ventus V2 also an affordable choice.
redrose9802
post May 31 2015, 10:22 PM

105 posts

I only used it until 35k km, about 3 years...i dont travel a lot....

My other car is using 195/55r15 tyre...nitto neogen...am quite impressed with both its dry n wet grip, but not that kind on fuel consumption...

Last time i bought them the price is nearly similar to ps3...so between the two i think ps3 better...

MechaLEE
post May 31 2015, 10:26 PM

148 posts

btw what car r u driving ? cause weight of car also have some effects on tyre wear
6UE5T
post May 31 2015, 11:53 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(HaloJ @ May 31 2015, 09:55 AM)

Can, there are plenty tires like that. PS3 is actually considered to be one of the best all rounder tire in the market. If going big sizes and got bigger budgets, Michelin PSS is even better. There's also Goodyear F1 tires, very good all rounder. Usually look for tires with tread wear in the 200-low 300 and traction rating AA (UHP & max performance class tires) should give good dry & wet performance. But of course those extreme class tires which very much focus on dry grip ultimately will sacrifice wet performance as they'd need as much rubber on the road as possible, hence less grooves to channel out water.

Yes, your tire now is too big, should go for 195/55/15.
6UE5T
post May 31 2015, 11:55 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ May 31 2015, 07:43 AM)

You should look at the overall tire diameter, not just the tire profile. Going lower profile but with larger rims may still give the same total diameter, hence the same distance traveled.
xxboxx
post Jun 1 2015, 07:45 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ May 31 2015, 11:55 PM)
You should look at the overall tire diameter, not just the tire profile. Going lower profile but with larger rims may still give the same total diameter, hence the same distance traveled.
As you say, "may". But I say it is much smaller after based on the calculation. You know 195/55R15 is how much smaller than 195/60R15?
TSHaloJ
post Jun 1 2015, 09:20 AM

QUOTE(xxboxx @ May 31 2015, 07:11 PM)
Yea, they change wrong size for you. Should be 195/55R15.

This size got many choices for performance or comfort.
Other than that 2 brands, you can also look for Toyo T1-R, or R1-R if you got deep pocket. Hankook Ventus V2 also an affordable choice.
Toyo T1-R and R1-R seems to be hard core type. drool.gif
Just need some tyre for daily normal and abit performance use only. brows.gif
TSHaloJ
post Jun 1 2015, 09:33 AM

QUOTE(MechaLEE @ May 31 2015, 10:26 PM)
btw what car r u driving ? cause weight of car also have some effects on tyre wear
Nissan Sentra SE 2003. the last batch of the pre-facelift N16.

QUOTE(6UE5T @ May 31 2015, 11:53 PM)
Can, there are plenty tires like that. PS3 is actually considered to be one of the best all rounder tire in the market. If going big sizes and got bigger budgets, Michelin PSS is even better. There's also Goodyear F1 tires, very good all rounder. Usually look for tires with tread wear in the 200-low 300 and traction rating AA (UHP & max performance class tires) should give good dry & wet performance. But of course those extreme class tires which very much focus on dry grip ultimately will sacrifice wet performance as they'd need as much rubber on the road as possible, hence less grooves to channel out water.

Yes, your tire now is too big, should go for 195/55/15.
As I know PSS only have 18" and above. So didn't think of it.
Goodyear didn't give a good impression to me. sweat.gif
6UE5T
post Jun 1 2015, 11:33 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jun 1 2015, 07:45 AM)
As you say, "may". But I say it is much smaller after based on the calculation. You know 195/55R15 is how much smaller than 195/60R15?
Ah so you meant comparing that specific sizes, then yes you're correct. I thought you're comparing the TS original size to 195/55/15.
6UE5T
post Jun 1 2015, 11:39 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(HaloJ @ Jun 1 2015, 09:33 AM)
Nissan Sentra SE 2003. the last batch of the pre-facelift N16.
As I know PSS only have 18" and above. So didn't think of it.
Goodyear didn't give a good impression to me.  sweat.gif
PSS only has 1 size in 17' then the rest are 18 above.
GY F1 series are actually very good tires, handles very well both in the dry & wet, comparable to Michelin Pilot Sports.
Anyway for your size 195/55/15, you only have a rather limited options if going for UHP tires: PS3, GY F1-D5, Yokohama S.Drive are the most popular ones, maybe some Hankooks. PS3 should be your best choice.
TSHaloJ
post Jun 1 2015, 04:05 PM

I think RE003 too new to comment as not much user. Search around Klang tyre shop on last week which the stock not ready. Need to wait for few weeks.
so the current winner will be the PS3 for UHP tyre. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by HaloJ: Jun 1 2015, 04:07 PM
amad108
post Jun 2 2015, 04:44 AM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

PS3 for daily use.. its more comfortable due to soft sidewall, good performance in rainy days, and silent too
RE003 for occasionally track day.. harder sidewall for good steering response, grip should be better then PS3, in rain should be ok with average speed 80km/h..

if ur car also for family, not recommended RE003, if ur car only for urself then RE003 all the way..
TSHaloJ
post Jun 2 2015, 09:29 AM

QUOTE(amad108 @ Jun 2 2015, 04:44 AM)
PS3 for daily use.. its more comfortable due to soft sidewall, good performance in rainy days, and silent too
RE003 for occasionally track day.. harder sidewall for good steering response, grip should be better then PS3, in rain should be ok with average speed 80km/h..

if ur car also for family, not recommended RE003, if ur car only for urself then RE003 all the way..
Thanks a lot for your reply.
Most of the time my gf & I on the car. just weekend fetch parent for dinner or somewhere else.

I'm the type of driver more towards aggressive when alone or with gf. sweat.gif
Just drive smoothly when with family.

It's hard for me to choose between these 2 model.
amad108
post Jun 2 2015, 10:51 AM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

QUOTE(HaloJ @ Jun 2 2015, 09:29 AM)
Thanks a lot for your reply.
Most of the time my gf & I on the car. just weekend fetch parent for dinner or somewhere else.

I'm the type of driver more towards aggressive when alone or with gf.  sweat.gif
Just drive smoothly when with family.

It's hard for me to choose between these 2 model.
then from ur situation u describe, RE003 all the way.. its not like u have family yet.. fetch parents only weekend still ok.. summore RE003 cheaper by rm30-40 per piece.. but need to remember it maybe wear quite fast..
TSHaloJ
post Jun 2 2015, 12:11 PM

QUOTE(amad108 @ Jun 2 2015, 10:51 AM)
then from ur situation u describe, RE003 all the way.. its not like u have family yet.. fetch parents only weekend still ok.. summore RE003 cheaper by rm30-40 per piece.. but need to remember it maybe wear quite fast..
hmmm... thanks for advice.
I don't mind it wear fast coz I might change car near future. brows.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:42 PM