QUOTE(dasecret @ Jan 26 2017, 11:37 PM)
It's a blessing in disguise that the fund did not make a distribution - one less agent to mislead prospects
I have to disagree, distribution is a terrible indicator for performance
Example
Public Ittikal fund
Distribution 3.5 sen per unit on 31/5/16
If one would bother to read its financial report
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a...qA%3d&tabid=260The actual return of the fund is
-2.63%It's really not difficult to check fund performance
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/application...formancenw.aspxI will have an allergic reaction the next time someone mention how a fund is good/bad based on its distribution
Anyway, infographic time
How is it possible for a fund with negative returns declare distribution you may ask
simple, from it's reserves built up from previous year

If the fund doesn't buck up soon, they will run out of reserves to distribute
1. Public Ittikal is a growth fund, its distribution policy is 'incidental'.
2. 2015: creation of units = 462,333 (x1000). 2016:creation of units = 680,889 (x1000)
3. That's over 462 million, and 680 million respectively of fresh purchases/investments.
4. Total size of the fund: over 4 billion.
The question should be: why distribution in 2016 when the growth (in performance) is negative?
Possible answer: Investors and agents see distributions as returns. No distributions = no good = failure = dump fund.
=========
"If the fund doesn't buck up soon..."
Fund Manager: "walao eh... my fund is hitting nearly 5 billion... these guys talk shop or talk kok?"
=========
Just kidding above. I would remained humble and would say that those investors injecting over 680 millions into the fund last year are smart money, continuing with regular purchases when the market is down.
Smart money from smart investors who do know what is distribution and how is its effect on the NAV price and the total value of their holdings.
=========================
QUOTE(AIYH @ Jan 27 2017, 12:51 PM)
I am not saying that UT is a bad product, dont worry

Just the fact that other than public mutual, there are other fund houses which have better performing fund for certain categories
For instance, PISSF
and Eastspring Investments Dana Al-Ilham
(both islamic malaysia general equity)
There are other funds which public mutual excel, like public islamic opportunities (islamic malaysia small cap)
Just that if you want customer to have the best, pick them the fund that public mutual do best

Be careful a bit when mentioning specific funds. Most of the good funds are oversubscribed and are closed to new investments. It could be a wild goose chase and a waste of time if the fund is shortlisted for consideration.
Some agents like to do this - showing the past performance of closed funds. A 'bait-and-switch' sales tactic.
PIOF is closed on Sept 2014. Am holding some units, not able to top up since then. Public Ittikal is also a closed fund (still open to EPF-UT scheme withdrawals.)
Cheers. Stay Invested. Once again: Gong Xi Fa Cai.