Xiaomi Mi Box User Club, let's talk mi box!

zeese
post Apr 7 2022, 08:39 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(archief @ Mar 31 2022, 07:47 PM)
oh man... thanks for sharing...
i saw youtube channels (local) saying can load astro go apk on mi box... they didnt show the process, only show the after result.. which is kinda pointless... i want to know how to install
it was. i think astro updated their apps such that it wont be able to be installed in tvbox. I tried the hacked apk, shown a few pages back, also not working for me..
ck77
post Apr 7 2022, 09:39 AM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Apr 7 2022, 08:39 AM)
it was. i think astro updated their apps such that it wont be able to be installed in tvbox.  I tried the hacked apk, shown a few pages back, also not working for me..
Have you try this?
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=103680498
zeese
post Apr 7 2022, 10:30 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Apr 7 2022, 09:39 AM)
oh.. i didnt try. Thanks for pointing this out. I will check it out later..
ck77
post Apr 7 2022, 10:37 AM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Apr 7 2022, 10:30 AM)
oh.. i didnt try.  Thanks for pointing this out. I will check it out later..
It worked, I am using this method on my Chromecast with Google TV.
Need a mouse to navigate though.
sHawTY
post Apr 7 2022, 10:59 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jan 29 2022, 11:25 PM)
either Mi Box 4S or Mecool KM2, both should be around the same price and have local stock. I owned both
Simple question:
Does Mecool KM2 go deep sleep when you press the power button?
Or just standby mode exactly like Mi Box / Mi Box S

The problem with Mi Box / Mi Box S is that if you connect a webcam or an external HDD to it, these accessories don't go off when you put the Mi Box / Mi Box S in standby mode
linkinstreet
post Apr 7 2022, 11:51 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 7 2022, 10:59 AM)
Simple question:
Does Mecool KM2 go deep sleep when you press the power button?
Or just standby mode exactly like Mi Box / Mi Box S

The problem with Mi Box / Mi Box S is that if you connect a webcam or an external HDD to it, these accessories don't go off when you put the Mi Box / Mi Box S in standby mode
I think the default behaviour of all Android TV devices are deep sleep
sHawTY
post Apr 7 2022, 11:58 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Apr 7 2022, 11:51 AM)
I think the default behaviour of all Android TV devices are deep sleep
Can you help to test this on the Mecool KM2?

My HDD & webcam on my Hisense TV with its built-in Android TV goes off when the TV goes to sleep
Not on my Mi Box S, the standby light on the webcam is still on and the HDD is still warm even after 2 hours
linkinstreet
post Apr 7 2022, 12:13 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 7 2022, 11:58 AM)
Can you help to test this on the Mecool KM2?

My HDD & webcam on my Hisense TV with its built-in Android TV goes off when the TV goes to sleep
Not on my Mi Box S, the standby light on the webcam is still on and the HDD is still warm even after 2 hours
i'll try tomorrow. trying to remember where I stowed all of my webcam after MCO finished sweat.gif

EDIT: out of topic, but for Mi TV, the behaviour is to turn off the USB when the TV goes to sleep. i know this because my DVB-T2 booster has a very bright blue LED, and it's using the USB port of the TV for power. Whenever I put the TV to sleep, the booster will also turn off

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Apr 7 2022, 12:15 PM
sHawTY
post Apr 7 2022, 08:01 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Apr 7 2022, 12:13 PM)
out of topic, but for Mi TV, the behaviour is to turn off the USB when the TV goes to sleep
Same thing for my Hisense TV with built-in Android
All connected devices completely turns off when I put the TV to sleep

Only with Mi Box / Mi Box S the connected devices doesn't turn off. I'm hoping Mecool KM2 doesn't have this issue
I don't want my HDD to run all the time, that'll kill the drive faster sweat.gif
mikeeeee
post Apr 7 2022, 09:46 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 7 2022, 08:01 PM)

Only with Mi Box / Mi Box S the connected devices doesn't turn off. I'm hoping Mecool KM2 doesn't have this issue
I don't want my HDD to run all the time, that'll kill the drive faster sweat.gif
Even theres power to the HDD, your HDD doesn't goes to sleep if there's no activity after certain period ?
linkinstreet
post Apr 7 2022, 10:08 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 7 2022, 08:01 PM)

Most, if not all of my hdd in my PC are running 24/7 for years now sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Apr 8 2022, 10:46 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Apr 7 2022, 09:46 PM)
Even theres power to the HDD, your HDD doesn't goes to sleep if there's no activity after certain period ?
If it's connected to the Mi Box/Mi Box S, yes, it doesn't go to sleep at all
If it's connected to any TV with built-in Android, the HDD goes to sleep normally (tested with Hisense & Sharp TV)

And I'm not isolated on this matter. There are several threads reporting the same issue on Reddit with zero solution other than buying a USB hub with a power switch to every port (which is rather annoying if I have to flick the switch everytime I turn off my TV) sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Apr 8 2022, 10:48 AM
linkinstreet
post Apr 8 2022, 10:57 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 8 2022, 10:46 AM)
If it's connected to any TV with built-in Android, the HDD goes to sleep normally (tested with Hisense & Sharp TV)

And I'm not isolated on this matter. There are several threads reporting the same issue on Reddit with zero solution other than buying a USB hub with a power switch to every port (which is rather annoying if I have to flick the switch everytime I turn off my TV) sweat.gif
Tested on Mecool KM2 and KM7. Both USB hub are still powered during sleep
sHawTY
post Apr 8 2022, 11:15 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Apr 8 2022, 10:57 AM)
Tested on Mecool KM2 and KM7. Both USB hub are still powered during sleep
Damn sweat.gif
juzmafia
post Apr 8 2022, 01:20 PM

562 posts

Both TV and box board are designed differently but manufacturer can add software support to control the port. My TV(linux) USB port used to power on in standby mode but after few updates they disable it.

Try to look up for software provided by HDD manufacturer(if available) to configure the board which include spin down feature.
IMO, if spinning down/up in short period is basically useless.

There is one box that has the ability to shutdown USB port after 20 minutes but you might not be interested in it..😁
wirelessbuyer
post Apr 9 2022, 07:05 AM

346 posts

On my nvidia shield, there is a setting to keep the usb port off/on when go to sleep. However, on mibox it seems there is no such feature yet and it is always powered on even when sleep.

Alternatively, you can use any 2.5"/3.5" hdd enclosure that have built-in sleep feature, then just insert any of your hdd into it, both of my orico enclosure does have this feature, but you need to look for this feature in specific. It will require around 5 sec for the hdd to spin up before accessible when there is any activity on the hdd after idling.

The seagate 2.5" external hdd that I bought out of the box doesn't have the built-in sleep feature tho.
sHawTY
post Apr 9 2022, 11:40 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Apr 8 2022, 01:20 PM)
SNIP
QUOTE(wirelessbuyer @ Apr 9 2022, 07:05 AM)
SNIP
Meh, too much hassle. Much easier if I just buy a new TV with built-in Android laugh.gif
linkinstreet
post Apr 9 2022, 01:59 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 9 2022, 11:40 AM)
Meh, too much hassle. Much easier if I just buy a new TV with built-in Android laugh.gif
Use SSD for your external. No need to worry about spin up/spin down time anymore devil.gif
juzmafia
post Apr 9 2022, 03:35 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 9 2022, 11:40 AM)
..or save money by buying HDD enclosure with Auto Sleep feature like @wirelessbuyer suggested..
Even ugreen got that type of enclosure..

Personal experience, lost 3 new hdd(laptop) and one WD myBook(powered) hdd conected to TV usb port with auto off feature..

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Apr 9 2022, 03:59 PM
akkaz
post Jun 15 2022, 02:11 PM

176 posts

hi. is there any app can clear all cache?

229 Pages « < 226 227 228 229 >Top

0.0274sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:22 PM