Xiaomi Mi Box User Club, let's talk mi box!

juzmafia
post Oct 7 2018, 02:24 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(aaron_my @ Oct 7 2018, 02:09 PM)
Can anyone install and play unifi tv in oreo?
I can install but it stuck at loading the first page b4 singing in.
if u have external storage formatted as internal storage then check if the app is install on internal or shared storage..
if it is on shared storage then move it to internal storage..

u can refer to this post by @kupongson at Nvidia Shield TV who had similiar problem as u..
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=90494638
juzmafia
post Oct 7 2018, 10:07 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(aaron_my @ Oct 7 2018, 02:33 PM)
BTW can i ask how do i moved it to internal storage ?
Can try as per below:-
go to 'setting>apps'
choose the app: playtv@unifi
click on 'storage>change'
choose internal storage..
juzmafia
post Oct 9 2018, 09:58 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(luminaryxi @ Oct 9 2018, 09:14 PM)
yeah need the mouse tongue.gif, btw the astro on the go cannot work ler, i sideloaded it, mebbe my apk cacat? or i need another programm installed so astro otg can run?
if ur mibox is running android oreo then go to keyboard setting and change to 'Gboard' ..
juzmafia
post Oct 15 2018, 05:04 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(elmond @ Oct 15 2018, 04:56 PM)
only different is the remote which have a menu button.
another different is Bluetooth 4.2..
juzmafia
post Nov 15 2018, 05:11 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(charleyz @ Nov 15 2018, 01:06 PM)
I am forced to use the wireless mouse with my MI Box 3 for Netflix. It is such a pain, as the MI remote unable to scroll . Has anyone had such issue with the remote especially when using in Netfix app?  The other apps dont pose such issues, only Netflix.
which version of netflix app u r using? mobile or Android TV?
Official Netflix for Android TV should be remote friendly..

juzmafia
post Nov 16 2018, 12:03 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(charleyz @ Nov 16 2018, 10:47 AM)
My googleplay on MIBox 3 is faulty. Hence I downloaded this version Netflix_v6.15.0 build 31503_apkpure.com.apk

I will try again for Netflix for Netflix (Android TV) 6.1.0 build 2424 (arm-v7a) (Android 5.1+), hope this fixes the issue I am facing.

Thanks Jusmafia!!
ur welcome..

i'll suggest u to fix ur google play coz easy for u to download official android tv apps and future app update on ur mibox..

what version is ur mibox? international or china?

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Nov 16 2018, 12:04 PM
juzmafia
post Nov 16 2018, 02:40 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(charleyz @ Nov 16 2018, 02:10 PM)
Its China version (MiBox 3 enhanced)... tried many times to resolve the Google play ...the screen freezes at login submission. Gave up on that. had a string of files to install in sequence and all from forums. Gave up eventually.
it seem that ur mibox is not running on official Android TV OS..
so i'm not sure if u will be able to use official Android TV apps on ur mibox..
juzmafia
post Nov 16 2018, 09:30 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(charleyz @ Nov 16 2018, 05:53 PM)
do I risk of bricking my MiBox 3 by running the Android TV OS ? Anyway will try the official Neflix app tonight as see how it goes. I will update later for the benefit of all who are following this thread.
off course there are risks of bricking but i don't see any benefit by doing it since u wont be able to use official features like google cast or assistant and DRM compliance will still remain same...
infact u may encounter new problems..

if u really need Android TV ux/ui then better get certified box and u'll be able to watch netflix HD/4k..
juzmafia
post Nov 23 2018, 12:29 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Nov 23 2018, 02:51 AM)
i heard Mibox S is certified is that true?  hmm.gif  or should i be going with shield tv 2017 which is confirmed certified. or is this mibox S worth looking at ?  hmm.gif

hm... found a video  sad.gif

Depends on ur usage..
do check/compare on the specs, ports, software and customer service support..
both Shield TV and Mibox S are running on official android tv..

juzmafia
post Nov 23 2018, 03:12 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 23 2018, 02:24 PM)
how do u do local playback with shield?

is it the same like mibox, no native player but use other player app?

which app u find best for video and audio output quality - kodi, mx, vlc?
1. Plex, Kodi , VLC or Archos

2. there is android tv built-in player which only support basic feature like play, pause, fast forward and rewind.

3. personally I prefer Kodi/plex due to auto resolution and frame rate switch except for HDR movies which i play on my TV player via kodi dlna.

i dont have audio system yet so can't comment on audio quality/output..

juzmafia
post Nov 24 2018, 08:17 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Nov 24 2018, 05:19 AM)
yes i was thinking of just add kodi (mostly this), and plex. then can NFS to a NAS over the local lan.

or is connecting them (nas to mediabox or hdtv) via HDMI better for this? hm.
NAS <lan> Router <lan> Shield <hdmi> TV

QUOTE(Reckoning @ Nov 24 2018, 10:20 AM)
Hello guys. Im user of cheap android box before.

Thinking of getting Mi Box. Will the experience be the same? I can install easily like typical android box?

Which Mi Box should i get? Prefer got wifi 5ghz.

Please guide me. A bit confusing of the mi box types out there.
latest Mibox S.
u can still install android mobile app via sideload but not all app will be compatible and remote friendly..

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Nov 25 2018, 12:27 AM
juzmafia
post Jan 11 2019, 05:48 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(khl1127 @ Jan 10 2019, 11:02 PM)
Hi,all sifu here. I have mi box MDZ-09-AK from my friend. I would like to install AOTG. I follow the step from here. But I get the message “purchase service is temporary unavailable.please try again later. Error code IAB503.1”  any one can help me? Thanks in advance
Since u able to install and run the app, u can try doing as per following if ur box is already rooted but i'm not sure if this will work:-

1. Install Google Play store, Google play services, Google Service Framework and Google Account Manager
2. Login to ur Google Play store and the run Astro Go

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Jan 11 2019, 06:36 PM
juzmafia
post Jan 12 2019, 03:14 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(Azuan90 @ Jan 12 2019, 02:41 AM)
I already off text to speech but dont know how its still on in utube app..
Do you have any other app under 'accessibility' setting?
If yes, then try turning off those apps..
juzmafia
post Feb 10 2019, 04:30 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(ThorWP @ Feb 10 2019, 03:39 PM)
hi all, i tried installing astro apk in my mi box s, but somehow, after close and restart, there is no icon appearing anywhere. how do i get the icon to open, so that i dun have to reinstal everytime i want to watch astro.
Use sideload launcher >> https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...ideloadlauncher

Or create shortcut banner with TvApp repo >> https://github.com/ITVlab/TvAppRepo/release...ity-release.apk

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Feb 10 2019, 05:46 PM
juzmafia
post Mar 9 2019, 01:22 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(veron4best @ Mar 9 2019, 12:12 AM)
installed Astro Go. but when want to login.

have this message "You don't have an app can do this"

what does this mean?
U need to sideload google chrome..
juzmafia
post Sep 14 2019, 05:00 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(leftist @ Sep 14 2019, 04:50 PM)
Cannot..have to download apps..its ok i will googled it
X-plore - to access files on both internal and external storage.
File Explorer by Anker - Simple and easy to use on Android TV.

Nova, VLC or Kodi(advance) - to play media files with ability to switch frame rate.
MX player - play media files but w/o frame rate switch.

Make sure to allow permission to access external storage on those apps.

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Sep 14 2019, 11:54 PM
juzmafia
post Oct 15 2019, 03:01 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Oct 15 2019, 01:43 PM)
msia version comes with 3-pin plug ?

but that doesn't justify the 300+ price tag lol
One Is import from oversea(rm249) and another one is ready stock(rm329)
Both are Global version..

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Oct 15 2019, 03:02 PM
juzmafia
post Nov 18 2019, 06:56 PM

562 posts

Xiaomi is testing Android P for Mibox S, currently it is in second beta and most probably it will receive official Amazon Prime app with other improvements.

Xiaomi Android P Change Log:-
• Reading and writing via USB;
• New settings menu interface;
• Audio via USB;
• Special access for apps, such as overlap; Amazon Prime video as system app
• New interface when pressing the volume button;
• Screenshot while holding on / off button pressed;
• Options to manually select audio formats, such as Dolby Digital plus and AAC
• DD+ to DD conversion

p/s: Mibox 3 also may receive Android P

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Nov 18 2019, 11:12 PM
juzmafia
post Nov 18 2019, 11:55 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(niceguypenang @ Nov 18 2019, 09:19 PM)
will it able to resolve the aotg issue?
I'm not sure about it. Need to wait stable version..
Knowing Xiaomi, usually their beta version are better than stable version..😅

Btw, have u tried watching AOTG using browser.
Try experiment between different browsers.
juzmafia
post Sep 18 2020, 11:27 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(sairay @ Sep 18 2020, 10:41 PM)
Need advice. Just found out puffin browser need to pay subscription d. Any recommendations any other browser that can be install or point me to correct link so that I install others. Tvbrowser don’t work for me which I try. Thanks
Personally have been using TV BRO:-
> Remote D-Pad button act as mouse cursor
> Support Tabs & Bookmarks
> Support changing User Agent
> Able to download files

Download link >> http://tiny.cc/tvbro
Need to sideload since it is only available on mobile version playstore but not Android TV playstore due to google's policy.

Alternative, there is Firefox for Android TV but recommend to use it with remote that has 'Menu' button for best experience.
>> https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/mozilla/firefox-android-tv/

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Sep 18 2020, 11:38 PM

0.0245sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:04 PM