Smart Home, Let's discuss

alucard89
post May 28 2023, 06:04 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 28 2023, 04:50 PM)
My homebridge is hosted on my Synology NAS, I kinda surveyed a bit but seems a bit trickier to do it on DSM for HASS.

Tuya based items works ok with HASS? It was pretty difficult to do local control on HomeBridge (which I can’t get it on local tsk, gave up!).

I bought the Broadlink cause it has RF for my fans.
Seems not that hard, follow this instruction since it’s for supervised hass with extra settings

https://mariushosting.com/how-to-install-ho...r-synology-nas/

There’s tuya integration, localtuya.
Haven’t really used those since i just flash custom firmware on the wifi devices, and pair with zigbee2mqtt for the zigbee ones.

For the tuya ir/rf remotes, you’ll need to set up tap to run and the command will show up in scenes.
alucard89
post May 28 2023, 08:26 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 28 2023, 08:02 PM)
The tuya integration is it need to look for the local key from developer account type?

Or the plug-in settle it for you?
Need to manually grab those info

https://www.home-assistant.io/integrations/tuya/
alucard89
post Jun 5 2023, 06:53 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 5 2023, 05:02 PM)
Best is learn yourself and setup. Once you know how to do it, you will know its not worth paying the exorbitant prices these companies charge just to do a simple smart home setup. Its not rocket science
yeah, also if one of those companies have their own smart home app. Then a few years later that company dies along with the server & apps making the smart devices installed useless/dumb.

I’ve seen a fair share of those including some smart bulbs I bought a few years back. Had to flash custom firmware on those
alucard89
post Jun 9 2023, 07:53 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(FirstNoob @ Jun 9 2023, 07:30 PM)
Anyone knows about lutron ? I got a quote for whole house lights and shades for about 180k.. and it can go higher ..
I thought that brand usually for americans, got uk/msian type here?
alucard89
post Jun 9 2023, 08:24 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 9 2023, 08:13 PM)
Same thought here, but they are really pricey lah 😅

180k consist how many switches and lights? How many sqft is your home btw… sounds like a mansion or Lutron is really expensive…

I like their dimmer switch design, doesn't seem like there's any similar type for asian market (it's usually the touch/knob control one)
alucard89
post Jun 9 2023, 10:51 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(FirstNoob @ Jun 9 2023, 08:48 PM)
26x80 semi d … lutron is very expensive .. but it’s impressive from what I see..
The cost is a bit ridiculous, you can definitely do more with just a fraction of that price
If you share what you plan to do for your home, can put some feedback there
alucard89
post Jun 13 2023, 07:11 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(SIEWBAO @ Jun 13 2023, 05:40 PM)
Is there any budget smart switch for Tuya recommend? So far i searched a few around Rm50+ for 1 and 2 Gang switch.
zigbee? wifi usually cheaper
alucard89
post Jun 17 2023, 12:21 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jun 17 2023, 11:32 AM)
RM50+ for 2 switches expensive? Normally these switches has 433MHz built in thus more expensive la. If you want cheap skate, then buy those box one and install at the light. Only support wifi and if spoilt, you have to climb up to change. These are RM10 or so only.
It’s cheap and those relay module is definitely useful for 2 way switches
alucard89
post Jun 17 2023, 12:22 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Jun 17 2023, 11:22 AM)
Hi All,

I have 2 Tuya Homekit Hubs, the Neo and Zemismart. Both can add Tuya zigbee products into Homekit. However, i noticed that my latest tuya zigbee device can be added into the Neo Hub, but does not appear in Homekit.

Its the Neo Zigbee Siren, photo below. Is there like a requirement from Homekit that does not permit certain devices?

Can still pair with zemismart hub?
alucard89
post Jun 17 2023, 12:36 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jun 17 2023, 12:34 PM)
Those RM10 one dont have S1 and S2 wor. Really basic on/off. Only way to operate manually is to trigger the boot status to ON. This way you can turn off the switch and turn back on to turn on the light manually.
Eh, i thought you meant this one

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.glIoZ
alucard89
post Jun 18 2023, 06:51 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jun 17 2023, 07:42 PM)
Wow, this is cheap. Usually would sell closer to RM20.
That rm20 one usually comes with power monitoring, cheaper than sonoff ones.
With the no neutral hack, installed each one for my 5 gang switch since there’s not much option out there
alucard89
post Jun 20 2023, 10:22 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Jun 20 2023, 08:30 AM)
Tried it last night, no dice. I think Homekit doesnt allow certain categories of devices. Oh well, cant utilize it directly in Homekit, will have to use it via the Tuya App or via dummy switch automations.
Interesting, I assumed any paired zigbee device would show up.
Probably can use zigbee2mqtt addon with homebridge
alucard89
post Jun 20 2023, 12:32 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 20 2023, 08:53 AM)
Speaking about these Tuya hub that is compatible with HomeKit... is there one with BLE support?

One of my room uses 11 pcs of Retouch GU10 eyeball... which is using sigmesh and connected to a hub via Wi-Fi I guess.

I originally tried to integrate via homebridge, but its cloud control. Then I tried to get the local control keys etc. Did not work. So much I feel like just changing to perhaps yeelight gu10 bulb that supports wi-fi and homekit.
Don’t think so

No keys since they’re not wifi device it seems
There’s a way to control the bt mesh using this, a bit technical

https://github.com/dominikberse/homeassistant-bluetooth-mesh

Then just expose it to homekit

Better grab tuya gu10 wifi bulbs, those homekit ones are a bit pricy
alucard89
post Jun 20 2023, 02:35 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Jun 20 2023, 01:35 PM)
Hmm… i would if i do have the time.. but i would need to buy a zigbee coordinator (conbee/sonoff)… and need to use docker on the raspberry.. and install zigbee2mqtt..

Thinking about it makes me tired. Haha. Ill just live without this siren being in homekit for now. But same as you, i thought anything paired with the zemismart/neo would turn up in Homekit. You learn somethign new every day
Yeah, you'd expect as long it's zigbee they can be added
There's even a zemismart siren listed that's supposed to work with the hub

https://www.zemismart.com/collections/devic...-zmhk-01?page=2

alucard89
post Jun 20 2023, 03:21 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 20 2023, 03:00 PM)
Actually I was able to get the local key from the Tuya developer platform, but when I tried to configure in Homebridge plugin it doesn't work. Not sure where went wrong though.
Maybe can try set automation in tuya app and set it up as scenes in homekit thru homebridge. Not the best choice but looks like doable

https://github.com/milo526/homebridge-tuya-...enes-to-homekit
alucard89
post Jun 20 2023, 05:11 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Jun 20 2023, 04:13 PM)
I think the one on the zemismart “works with homekit’ page is a smoke detector.. their zigbee siren doesnt seem to be listed in the works with homekit page
Ah right,I had one look and I thought it was siren
At least now can know which device type really works with homekit hub
alucard89
post Jun 21 2023, 09:39 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 20 2023, 04:58 PM)
This one uses network control... but this network quite jialat  dry.gif  this sigmesh... not very reliable. sometimes detect sometimes don't detect.

Using this then can control, but its via cloud. If I control from tuya app, then its local.
So it's not really working well with sigmesh
Are the retouch gu10 price around rm50 each? That's even more expensive than zigbee/wifi version

Any idea what's the chip inside? maybe can do chip swap and install homekit firmware. Assuming the cable inside is long enough you can pull the pcb like this

alucard89
post Jun 21 2023, 04:33 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Jun 20 2023, 02:31 PM)
Anyone feels like they’ve done all that they can with their smart home system? I kinda feel that way for now. Nothing much i want to add already. Covered most bases
Lighting, fans, vacuum, Tv, aircon, sockets, door locks, gate, cctv cameras, alarm, sensors (motion/contact/temperature/leak)..

Waiting for something new (besides upgrading to matter) to add on to my house.

Any recommendations?
remaining probably mmwave sensors
either the expensive one like fp2 with multizone or just cheaper ones by tuya (make sure no fans in the area)
alucard89
post Jun 21 2023, 04:36 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 21 2023, 09:50 AM)
I'm controlling the Retouch GU10 via BLE hub (Wi-Fi) so technically can talk to the hub to control just need have local control...
direct ble control seems complicated, involve some sniffing BT commands, then there's tuya's own bt protocol

https://community.home-assistant.io/t/contr...ith-ha/286029/2
alucard89
post Jun 23 2023, 05:07 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(SIEWBAO @ Jun 23 2023, 05:04 PM)
Hi, whats the basic thing to test smart switch? Zigbee hub, smart switch and a phone rite?

My house currently renovating, and i bought a smart switch from taobao, so i wanna test out if it really work before i bought a few more.
Like coverage test?
Might need to add zigbee repeaters if too far way from hub

For wifi devices, just more mesh wifi around the house

56 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.3363sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:13 PM