656 Pages « < 250 251 252 253 254 > » Bottom

Smart Home, Let's discuss

lennylsl
post Jan 14 2019, 04:54 PM

44 posts

Sorry for the noob question but for HA on QNAP, can i just buy any zigbee / zwave usb stick and i'll work? or only from a certain brand??
soonwai
post Jan 15 2019, 02:24 AM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(trojan horse @ Jan 15 2019, 01:53 AM)
a lot more expensive ah? Yeelight is already at RM80 or so per bulb leh
where to buy Aqara? can use phone to control?

Yeelights also around rm80 or 90 right?
The usual places, 11street, Lazada, Shopee... Aqara is also by Xiaomi. It's their brand that's compatible with Apple Homekit. So, yeah, can control by Siri (phone or Mac or HomePod).

I'm guessing you're an Android user. The Aqara stuff also works with their Mijia Hub. There're many many more devices that will work with Mijia. However I don't know much about that as I'm only interested in the ones that work with Homekit.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Jan 15 2019, 02:25 AM
alucard89
post Jan 15 2019, 08:35 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lennylsl @ Jan 14 2019, 04:54 PM)
Sorry for the noob question but for HA on QNAP, can i just buy any zigbee / zwave usb stick and i'll work? or only from a certain brand??
Better to get the ones already tested and working from the HA forum.
For z-wave stick, just make sure it's on the same frequency for your z-wave devices since they vary based on region.
Fubar20
post Jan 15 2019, 10:22 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(trojan horse @ Jan 15 2019, 01:53 AM)
a lot more expensive ah? Yeelight is already at RM80 or so per bulb leh
where to buy Aqara? can use phone to control?

Yeelights also around rm80 or 90 right?
I got mine around RM 60 at Lazada. RGBWW Yeelight.
Aqara need a hub if you want to use it. Only if u want to spend in the Aqara ecosystem
soonwai
post Jan 15 2019, 12:27 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(trojan horse @ Jan 15 2019, 02:57 AM)
ahhh... yea, I'm an Android user, that's why I know about Yeelight hahaha

and I have a Google Home already, so Yeelight will work well and can link them up
Lucky to be an Android/Google/Alexa user. You have many more and cheaper options. For Apple Homekit, Aqara seems to be the cheapest at the moment.
lennylsl
post Jan 15 2019, 12:52 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 15 2019, 08:35 AM)
Better to get the ones already tested and working from the HA forum.
For z-wave stick, just make sure it's on the same frequency for your z-wave devices since they vary based on region.
Thanks.... will any zwave stick work as in compatible with HA? or must be from a few brands only....
alucard89
post Jan 15 2019, 12:59 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lennylsl @ Jan 15 2019, 12:52 PM)
Thanks....  will any zwave stick work as in compatible with HA? or must be from a few brands only....
You can check the list here

https://www.home-assistant.io/docs/z-wave/controllers/
lennylsl
post Jan 15 2019, 02:10 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 15 2019, 12:59 PM)
Thanks...
Fubar20
post Jan 19 2019, 02:14 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 15 2019, 12:27 PM)
Lucky to be an Android/Google/Alexa user. You have many more and cheaper options. For Apple Homekit, Aqara seems to be the cheapest at the moment.
Can use Siri control from Mi Home app somemore.

th3game
post Jan 19 2019, 09:25 PM

235 posts

hi all

anyone knows how to track monthly electricity usage thru DB? device like ELCB(rccb) that can be mounted on DIN rail with feature u can track with apps?

Fubar20
post Jan 19 2019, 09:34 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(th3game @ Jan 19 2019, 09:25 PM)
hi all

anyone knows how to track monthly electricity usage thru DB? device like ELCB(rccb) that can be mounted on DIN rail with feature u can track with apps?

The video is pretty old and not sure if available here. U can google around.

idoblu
post Jan 19 2019, 09:45 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(th3game @ Jan 19 2019, 09:25 PM)
hi all

https://maevi.my/product/energy-meter-1-phase/
https://maevi.my/product/energy-meter-3-phase/
https://maevi.my/product/maevi-gateway/
adamw
post Jan 22 2019, 05:45 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,356 posts

Need to buy a ZigBee dimmer switch urgently, any idea any physical shops that carry this item in Klang Valley?
Niuminoid
post Jan 22 2019, 06:18 PM

323 posts

Any sifu here able to identify are these wall switches with or without Neutral? Please help confused.gif

2 gang

1 gang
idoblu
post Jan 22 2019, 06:22 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

This post has been edited by idoblu: Jan 22 2019, 06:25 PM
Zot
post Jan 22 2019, 07:33 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Niuminoid @ Jan 22 2019, 06:18 PM)
Any sifu here able to identify are these wall switches with or without Neutral? Please help  confused.gif

These are lisht switches with no Neutral obviously. The switch just cut off the L wire circuit. The N are looped at light point on ceiling.
Niuminoid
post Jan 22 2019, 08:51 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 22 2019, 07:33 PM)
[/spoiler]

These are lisht switches with no Neutral obviously. The switch just cut off the L wire circuit. The N are looped at light point on ceiling.
Thanks for ur replied. Sifu can u pls explain more? I’m totally no idea about it.
May I know which type of Aqara should I purchase?

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Fubar20
post Jan 22 2019, 08:56 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Niuminoid @ Jan 22 2019, 08:51 PM)
Thanks for ur replied. Sifu can u pls explain more? I’m totally no idea about it.
May I know which type of Aqara should I purchase?

This.
Niuminoid
post Jan 22 2019, 09:05 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Jan 22 2019, 08:56 PM)

This.
Sifu can u pls guide me on how to connect each wire to this aqara 2 gang switch? Do I need to remove the existing loop wire?
Zot
post Jan 23 2019, 08:20 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Niuminoid @ Jan 22 2019, 09:05 PM)
Sifu can u pls guide me on how to connect each wire to this aqara 2 gang switch? Do I need to remove the existing loop wire?
I'm not sure if you have mentioned what you intend to do before. I can't find it. If have not mentioned what you planned to do, please brief other experts here (obviously I'm no familiar with these Aqara switches).

It seems to me that the switch is not a dual gang switch in a sense similar to normal dual gang switch that you shown before. It looks to me that this Aqara switch is more suitable to act like single pole dual way switch, not dual gang single pole switches (expert out there, correct me if I'm wrong blush.gif )

The looping wire (L) should be kept looping. I believe the loop is to provide power to other light switches. In usual practice, the L wire in looped to power 6 other lighting points.

656 Pages « < 250 251 252 253 254 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:34 PM