Smart Home, Let's discuss

kelembai
post Oct 16 2018, 12:50 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Oct 16 2018, 12:33 PM)
nod.gif Ya, safety factor. Don't run at near max rating.
A 5V micro usb charger rated minimum 2.5A and ethernet LAN cable. Later u can change to using WIFI on the Pi.
This charger to power the Pi? or do you has any link to buy it

This post has been edited by kelembai: Oct 16 2018, 12:53 PM
Zot
post Oct 16 2018, 01:00 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 16 2018, 12:45 PM)
yup. I really don't trust what they claim to be able run on 16A.

The relay is able to run on 16A. But what about the copper strip and connector? Can you push a 4mm wire into the connector ?
The article on its website sometimes mentioned max current 16A and sometimes 15A laugh.gif

Anyway, this was a test done on website:

Fubar20
post Oct 16 2018, 01:05 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 16 2018, 12:45 PM)
yup. I really don't trust what they claim to be able run on 16A.

The relay is able to run on 16A. But what about the copper strip and connector? Can you push a 4mm wire into the connector ?
hmm.gif Failure at the weakest link as always.

QUOTE(kelembai @ Oct 16 2018, 12:50 PM)
This charger to power the Pi? or do you has any link to buy it
Something like this. Disclaimer: Not affiliated with this vendor and never bought from there.

5V USB 2.5A
Zot
post Oct 16 2018, 01:14 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Oct 16 2018, 01:05 PM)
hmm.gif Failure at the weakest link as always.
Something like this. Disclaimer: Not affiliated with this vendor and never bought from there.

5V USB 2.5A
Well, a table Current vs Gauge stated that AWG 12 can handle 20A. The AWG 20 is only 2mm wire diameter. I guess it is good size to handle 16A current giving some safety margin. smile.gif
Fubar20
post Oct 16 2018, 01:23 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 16 2018, 01:14 PM)
Well, a table Current vs Gauge stated that AWG 12 can handle 20A. The AWG 20 is only 2mm wire diameter. I guess it is good size to handle 16A current giving some safety margin.  smile.gif
confused.gif You mean AWG 12 is 2mm diameter, right?
Zot
post Oct 16 2018, 01:35 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Oct 16 2018, 01:23 PM)
confused.gif You mean AWG 12 is 2mm diameter, right?
Opps my mistake. I mean AWG12 ... not AWG20 blush.gif

This table is rated at 30C, higher than what I said before.

https://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/wire-gauges-d_419.html

This post has been edited by Zot: Oct 16 2018, 01:38 PM
Fubar20
post Oct 16 2018, 02:15 PM

1,187 posts

Bulk for Raspberry Pi 3B+, 32GB micro SD with Home Assistant (Hass.io) and MQTT broker installed for RM240 not inclusive of postage

1. Two5Kid
2. kelembai
3. meLi
4. wraju03

Anyone interested in this can add yourself in the list or PM me. Thanks

Update 1:

Still got one space left for the bulk. Fast fast take. biggrin.gif
The parts already ordered and on the way. Target date if finished installed this week will shipped out to you all by next week. thumbup.gif

kelembai
post Oct 16 2018, 03:22 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Oct 16 2018, 02:15 PM)
Bulk for Raspberry Pi 3B+, 32GB micro SD with Home Assistant (Hass.io) and MQTT broker installed for RM240 not inclusive of postage

1. Two5Kid
2. kelembai
3. meLi
4. wraju03

Anyone interested in this can add yourself in the list or PM me. Thanks

Update 1:

Still got one space left for the bulk. Fast fast take.  biggrin.gif
The parts already ordered and on the way. Target date if finished installed this week will shipped out to you all by next week.  thumbup.gif
Lai lai lai
ozak
post Oct 16 2018, 04:45 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 16 2018, 01:00 PM)
The article on its website sometimes mentioned max current 16A and sometimes 15A  laugh.gif

Anyway, this was a test done on website:

Never run a heater on such small device. You can add a ssr for heater run to be safe. Never direct.

Even just 5A or 6A, never direct relay on heater.

This is what I do.
gotham11
post Oct 16 2018, 06:21 PM

171 posts

Hi, any sifu can help me, I tried to set up my Xiaomi gateway, I checked my modem is 2.4 ghz, but, despite reset (long press) the gateway button, but still my handphone Mi Home app cannot detect the gateway, I used to able to detect the Mi Universal Controller before, now, I bought gateway (with whole bunch of smart accessories), Dafang CCTV, Temp/ RH sensor... wanted to put all of them to link to gateway zigbee... but, first step already failed... gateway also tak boleh detect.... sad.
idoblu
post Oct 16 2018, 06:52 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(gotham11 @ Oct 16 2018, 06:21 PM)
Hi, any sifu can help me, I tried to set up my Xiaomi gateway, I checked my modem is 2.4 ghz, but, despite reset (long press) the gateway button, but still my handphone Mi Home app cannot detect the gateway, I used to able to detect the Mi Universal Controller before, now, I bought gateway (with whole bunch of smart accessories), Dafang CCTV, Temp/ RH sensor... wanted to put all of them to link to gateway zigbee... but, first step already failed... gateway also tak boleh detect.... sad.
Your gateway from China? China type plug? You got set as Mainland China server?
Does your SSID have any special characters?

This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 16 2018, 07:41 PM
h11g
post Oct 16 2018, 08:02 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 16 2018, 11:47 AM)
You can use the sonoff by additional SSR to control the heater. This is the safest way.
What's a SSR?
Fubar20
post Oct 16 2018, 08:09 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Oct 16 2018, 08:02 PM)
What's a SSR?
Solid State Relay

Wiki
luvox
post Oct 16 2018, 08:28 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Oct 15 2018, 11:16 PM)
i measure with a amp meter, max amp is 10A
U need to check ur smart home switch maximum loand. I think sonoff touch 600w/gang max. Only allow max 2-3A. U need to check
luvox
post Oct 16 2018, 08:30 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(gotham11 @ Oct 16 2018, 06:21 PM)
U can try to plug the hub very very near to ur route.
gotham11
post Oct 16 2018, 10:19 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 16 2018, 06:52 PM)
Your gateway from China? China type plug?  You got set as Mainland China server?
Does your SSID have any special characters?
Yes, gateway from China. But I set Singapore as recommeded.
China Type Plug, but use an universal plug. The chinese lady voice asked me to activate my APP.
My SSID only character.

gotham11
post Oct 16 2018, 10:20 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Oct 16 2018, 08:30 PM)
U can try to plug the hub very very near to ur route.
It is a Semi D, but not really far, like 10 meter away but thru a brick wall.
gotham11
post Oct 16 2018, 10:22 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(gotham11 @ Oct 16 2018, 10:20 PM)
It is a Semi D, but not really far, like 10 meter away but thru a brick wall.
I also try to use Scan Devices Nearby. But, also cannot get it.
idoblu
post Oct 16 2018, 10:41 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(gotham11 @ Oct 16 2018, 10:19 PM)
Yes, gateway from China. But I set Singapore as recommeded.
China Type Plug, but use an universal plug. The chinese lady voice asked me to activate my APP.
My SSID only character.
Try set to Mainland China
idoblu
post Oct 16 2018, 10:46 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

I like the newly updated Google Home and Alexa app
Alexa seems to get my Sonoff switches and Plugs wrong but GH gets them right.

656 Pages « < 214 215 216 217 218 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:57 AM