Hi. Need some advise. Ist possible to connect xiaomi Aqara switch to google home? How about broadlink switch?
Yes but only through Home Assistant at this moment. Broadlink switch definitely can connect to Google Home via RM Pro but reviews of it are mixed. Why not use Sonoff switch?
This post has been edited by Fubar20: Oct 11 2018, 04:55 PM
Hi, I'm interested in implementing smart home features in my new condo unit, but have zero knowledge on the how and what is required. I'm thinking something along the line of smart door lock for the entrance door, several units of camera for monitoring remotely, alarm system, remote control of lighting/aircond units and smoke and fire detection alarm, perhaps coupled with several smart socket that could turn on and off other legacy appliances. How much does it cost to implement the above and is there a trusted and reliable contractor/vendor that could give advice and perform the installation?
Bulk for Raspberry Pi 3B+, 32GB micro SD with Hass.io and MQTT broker installed for RM240 not inclusive of postage
1. Two5Kid 2. kelembai 3. 4. 5. Yes.
Provided your Google Assistant (GA) on your phone have the same account as your Google Home, you can use GA when you are outside to turn your lights on/off.
Xiaomi works the same by you using the app when you are outside to control the Xiaomi Gateway in your home.
Ok, so let me get this straight. If I take xiaomi products out of the picture, I get a Google home mini and a wireless switch that is supported by Google home, I can control the light even when I'm outside?
Yes, definitely. If you are looking for lighting control by changing the switches, you can pm me for details.
Yes but only through Home Assistant at this moment. Broadlink switch definitely can connect to Google Home via RM Pro but reviews of it are mixed. Why not use Sonoff switch?
Thank you! For the reply. But how to set up Home Assitant? Is there easier way to set up HA? Really need raspberry pi to integrate HA to google home with Aqara?
Do u have guide of to setup broadlink switch so it can work with google home? Sonoff switches using neutral wire. My house no neutral wire. Difficult desire whole house.
Bulk for Raspberry Pi 3B+, 32GB micro SD with Home Assistant (Hass.io) and MQTT broker installed for RM240 not inclusive of postage
1. Two5Kid 2. kelembai 3. meLi 4. 5.
Anyone interested in this can add yourself in the list or PM me. Thanks.
QUOTE(Cimo @ Oct 11 2018, 07:25 PM)
Hi, I'm interested in implementing smart home features in my new condo unit, but have zero knowledge on the how and what is required. I'm thinking something along the line of smart door lock for the entrance door, several units of camera for monitoring remotely, alarm system, remote control of lighting/aircond units and smoke and fire detection alarm, perhaps coupled with several smart socket that could turn on and off other legacy appliances. How much does it cost to implement the above and is there a trusted and reliable contractor/vendor that could give advice and perform the installation?
There are two ways to go about it:
1) Buy an smart home ecosystem which have all the things you want. Example will be like Xiaomi and Smartthings.
2) Buy the things that you want and integrate it into Home Assistant. Make sure that it can work in Home Assistant by checking it here.Home Assistant Components
Not sure if there are any vendor doing this because most of it are setup by ourselves.
QUOTE(wraju03 @ Oct 12 2018, 10:11 AM)
Thank you! For the reply. But how to set up Home Assitant? Is there easier way to set up HA? Really need raspberry pi to integrate HA to google home with Aqara?
Buy from me on the list above and I can teach you. Home Asisstant Hass.io installation method is the most beginner friendly and there is a HUGE community support on forum and Discord Not really need using Raspberry Pi. Can use an old computer or if you have NUC, you can install on it.
QUOTE(wraju03 @ Oct 12 2018, 10:15 AM)
Do u have guide of to setup broadlink switch so it can work with google home? Sonoff switches using neutral wire. My house no neutral wire. Difficult desire whole house.
Check this YT below:
No neutral then use Broadlink or Xiaomi Aqara switch lor.
This post has been edited by Fubar20: Oct 12 2018, 10:43 AM
If you are not from IT background and without knowledge of changing/ modifying the script, please avoid the HOme assistant.
Not true. I am not from IT background and I don't use script in HA and I am using HA now. Lots of people who don't know how to code is also using HA. Code can be copied mia.
If take out xiaomi, without GH you can also control your light via apps.
Not true. I am not from IT background and I don't use script in HA and I am using HA now. Lots of people who don't know how to code is also using HA. Code can be copied mia.
copied and need to modify. And also getting token, dns port forward etc etc... not straight forward process .. if want to do smart trigger, need another code also...
Before that, some software need to install into pc so that you can access the raspberry pi...
copied and need to modify. And also getting token, dns port forward etc etc... not straight forward process .. if want to do smart trigger, need another code also...
Before that, some software need to install into pc so that you can access the raspberry pi...
Nah, it is straight forward. Lots of YouTube video on this.
What smart trigger? Never need it. No need install software on pc. Just enable Samba on Hass.io and you are good to go.
This post has been edited by Fubar20: Oct 12 2018, 11:36 PM
guys this switch is for my water heater. it uses 10 AMP and want to know which sonoff switch is suitable since this only have 2 live wires and 1 neutral?