357 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Oct 3 2018, 09:52 PM
3,705 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Planet Earth |
Anyone uses aqara aircond companion?
Wanted to know if the position of the socket will affect the IR control |
Oct 3 2018, 11:15 PM
11,308 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Oct 4 2018, 08:03 AM
7,938 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
Oct 4 2018, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(y4ng @ Oct 3 2018, 10:27 AM) Dear all sifus, 1. Smart bulbs can dim, can change color temperature, some can even change color. Disadvantages are they are expensive and they are not bright enough. They are mostly connected via Wifi. Smart bulbs are mostly E27 type but there are some downlights as well. Xiaomi/Philips and Yeelight has smart downlight. This means you wont have much of a choice when it comes to choosing light fixtures. There are not a lot of light fixtures that uses E27 bulbs especially for ceiling lights. One more thing you should be asking - do you want just a super remote or home automation to control your lights?i have been a silent reader for this forum, learning a lot here. Just want to get opinion for a refurbished single storey house (new wiring, external conduit), industrial style. So far only wet works done, sewage done. Now pending grilles, external copper piping (DIY) and electric wiring. 1. Lighting - Planning to use stupid switch, with smart bulbs. Total 10 bulbs hall, 2 bulb per room (total 6), 2 per toilet (total 4), backyard 2, front 2. Total 26. logical? cos wanna have the yellow light / white light changing features. If opt for switches, erm...I need about 8-10 units. Which is better for new home? 2. Xiaomi Aqara Air Conditioning Companion, only 1HP A/C and below? Saw someone said 16A can be bought from China (https://item.jd.com/10781985686.html). Worth it to have this? Total 4 A/C, 3 rooms, 1 Hall. And a Air Curtain. 3. Smart sockets. I am planning to use a tank water heater, roughly 30-45L, so wanna do some schedule for it to on and off. OK ar? 4. Getting Xiaomi's AI thinge, to learn mandarin and have some companionship lol. Anyone using this? fun ar? 6. So many devices, my router...I haven't research. Need to get a proper one? Smart switches - some are connected via Wifi as well but they are others that uses a gateway and connect via Zigbee or Z Wave. Smart switches can only turn on and off the lights. 2. AC companion - with this you can monitor power usage. If you just want to control the AC like turn it on/off, change temperature, etc, you can also use cheaper IR blasters but positioning is critical (for both). If you are getting the AC Companion, yeah you have to buy the 16a socket but so far I havent found the plug. Im sure its available. 3. Why need to schedule your heater to turn on and off? I dont think you shower at exactly the same time everyday. Just turn on the switch when you are going to take your shower and turn off when you are done. No need smart switch or socket. IMHO its totally unnecessary 4. havent use before 5. what happened to no.5? 6. depends on your internet connection. nowadays gigabit connection is here so it really depends on your connection speed so better wifi routers are needed. For smart home devices, the important thing is range. Good signal is more important that bandwidth. btw do ask your electrician to pull a neutral line to all your switches since you are doing renovation. This will give you more choices later in case you decide not to use smart bulbs This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 4 2018, 08:15 AM |
Oct 4 2018, 08:25 AM
QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 4 2018, 08:03 AM) Basically speaking, the IR needs LOS (line of Sight). However, many IR receiver is sensitive enough to receive reflected signal even from wall. I placed my AC Companion on my TV bench since its opposite side of my AirconIf it is lying flat, the IR remote wont work cause the aircon is high up and my AC Companion is on a low TV console. It's led emitters are placed at the sides (see pic - black part) which doesnt help. So I got to tilt the AC Companion a bit, then only my AC can get the signal Mine is a Panasonic aircon. I tried with its remote and you really got to point it at the aircon. Cant get any reflected signals QUOTE ![]() I think this will work better since it fires every where - ![]() This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 4 2018, 08:48 AM |
Oct 4 2018, 08:55 AM
7,938 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 4 2018, 08:25 AM) I placed my AC Companion on my TV bench since its opposite side of my Aircon I think my Panasonic also, even with original remote control, need to aim direct to the unit If it is lying flat, the IR remote wont work cause the aircon is high up and my AC Companion is on a low TV console. It's led emitters are placed at the sides (see pic - black part) which doesnt help. So I got to tilt the AC Companion a bit, then only my AC can get the signal Mine is a Panasonic aircon. I tried with its remote and you really got to point it at the aircon. Cant get any reflected signals I'm not sure what is the exclusive reason for the use of air-con companion. On-Off at specific time - can be set on remote Monitoring power usage - well, monitor or not, you on the air-con when you need it |
Oct 4 2018, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 4 2018, 08:55 AM) I think my Panasonic also, even with original remote control, need to aim direct to the unit the AC Companion has a few functions - it is a gateway + alarm thing just like the Mijia Gateway but instead of a ring of lights, you get a IR blaster at the sides.I'm not sure what is the exclusive reason for the use of air-con companion. On-Off at specific time - can be set on remote Monitoring power usage - well, monitor or not, you on the air-con when you need it It is also a smart plug for higher amp usage like Aircon. You can turn on/off your AC even when you are not at home using your smartphone Yup can use other sensors to turn it on/off as well I bought it by mistake. If I have known earlier I would not buy this. Not that its no good but not suitable for my use This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 4 2018, 09:05 AM |
Oct 4 2018, 09:03 AM
1,187 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Nowhere |
QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 4 2018, 08:55 AM) I think my Panasonic also, even with original remote control, need to aim direct to the unit Can pair with door sensor - door open, switch off airconI'm not sure what is the exclusive reason for the use of air-con companion. On-Off at specific time - can be set on remote Monitoring power usage - well, monitor or not, you on the air-con when you need it Can pair with PIR sensor - no sense movement, switch off aircon (bit iffy if in bedroom or living room and you sleep like a log |
Oct 4 2018, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(areankim @ Oct 3 2018, 09:52 PM) Anyone uses aqara aircond companion? see how mine needs to be tilted a bit in order to get the IR signals Wanted to know if the position of the socket will affect the IR control I think you are better off getting the Xiaomi IR Remote Controller Of course if you wire the whole thing next to your Aircon, then this dont apply to you ![]() This post has been edited by idoblu: Oct 4 2018, 09:11 AM |
Oct 4 2018, 09:21 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 4 2018, 09:02 AM) the AC Companion has a few functions - it is a gateway + alarm thing just like the Mijia Gateway but instead of a ring of lights, you get a IR blaster at the sides. Hahah not really practical right plus the plug also different and need to use adapter and now look biggerIt is also a smart plug for higher amp usage like Aircon. You can turn on/off your AC even when you are not at home using your smartphone Yup can use other sensors to turn it on/off as well I bought it by mistake. If I have known earlier I would not buy this. Not that its no good but not suitable for my use This post has been edited by kelembai: Oct 4 2018, 09:23 AM |
Oct 4 2018, 09:24 AM
Oct 4 2018, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 4 2018, 08:55 AM) I think my Panasonic also, even with original remote control, need to aim direct to the unit Ya agree , how pratical it is should be consider.I'm not sure what is the exclusive reason for the use of air-con companion. On-Off at specific time - can be set on remote Monitoring power usage - well, monitor or not, you on the air-con when you need it |
Oct 4 2018, 09:27 AM
Oct 4 2018, 09:28 AM