7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Smart Home, Let's discuss

epicure
post Apr 13 2023, 09:03 AM

229 posts

U can have a look at your alarm wiring diagram, maybe you can also tap the terminals so that you can use the alarm’s basic functions outside of the main app..

Yes, the server sometimes is slow to load up, sometimes it doesnt even load at all.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 12 2023, 04:55 PM)
Ahh yes, I also have the IOT board but... the server is so slow lah.
epicure
post Apr 14 2023, 10:30 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Apr 13 2023, 09:05 PM)
I have seen a Tuya module that duplicate the keypad to cloud but you need check if it's suitable for Vivos or not.  My friend using it for CPT keypad and he says it's very good.
Hi Adam, this sounds very interesting! Can share the module info/link? Would really love to study this !
epicure
post Apr 14 2023, 10:42 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Apr 14 2023, 10:39 AM)
I only know it works well with this alarm set.
No prob, but can you share the tuya module info? I’m interested in learning how it works. If it doesnt support my alarm its ok too. Just interested in learning more
epicure
post Apr 14 2023, 01:18 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Apr 14 2023, 11:56 AM)
the distributor technical staff give me this diagram but he says only work for their XA series but I think if your keypad have similar wiring can give it a go!
Thanks for the reply and diagram adam, appreciate it. But i think you misunderstood … haha. can i know what model of tuya module your friend used? So that i can look for it, to know the input/ouput/voltage/dry contact requirements so that i can check if my alarm can support it..

really appreciate if you can share the tuya module model/info

As a matter of fact, i think it will work, as you can see my wiring diagram is pretty much the same.. Do share the tuya module model thanks!

thanks!

This post has been edited by epicure: Apr 14 2023, 01:21 PM
epicure
post Apr 26 2023, 09:23 PM

229 posts

Just wanted to update, it works !

ZigBee smart switch arms/disarms the vivos (works in homekit and tuya).

When armed, vivos alarm sends 12V to the DV relay which closes the loop of a ZigBee contact sensor, giving me a status in homekit/tuya. Once contact sensor is open or closed, stateful dummy switch turns on or off accordingly, allowing me to use that in Google home to announce that the vivos alarm is armed.

Works all ways. Keypad engages the relay. Vivos app engages the relay. Homekit/ tuya engages the relay.

Couldn't be happier.

QUOTE(epicure @ Apr 12 2023, 01:27 PM)
I think i pretty much got my solution, after a lengthy discussion with my friend

The 12V + and 12V - outputs from the alarm panel, will feed into a 12VDC relay, which then i will output to a Normally open and COM pair of cables. Then i will solder these to a reed sensor on a zigbee door sensor, which will then give me a closed door for when the alarm is armed, and open door when alarm is open. Then all i need to do is create an automation in homekit, which says that when that certain door is closed, then arm the aqara security , which will then show me a symbol of alarm being armed. In essence, when the main wired alarm is armed, then the aqara alarm is also armed (pretty convenient).

Now i just gotta buy the items to get this into motion.

Also, the alarm panel has a remote in.. which means that you can actually wire up a traditional RF receiver from autogate to the alarm panel. However, since i’m goin the smart route, i will be getting a zigbee module with RF built in. That way, i can arm and disarm using Tuya/Homekit/Google Home/Alexa and also use RF remote 433Mhz to arm the alarm.

In a nutshell,
1. Tuya/Homekit/Google Home/Alexa and also use RF remote 433Mhz to arm the alarm.
2. Alarm Panel will output 12V DC+ to relay, which will activate door reed sensor, and arm aqara alarm - to show dumb alarm is armed.

All will be present in Homekit, in theory. now just gotta get these items and try it out.
Thanks!
epicure
post Apr 27 2023, 07:39 AM

229 posts

umm not really, if you go back to my post, i can arm with a Normally Open and COM input

the 12V relay is status of the alarm output to the 12V relay + contact sensor combo

I think you probably can look for your wiring diagram to see if you can use or not. My one also uses keypad or app.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 26 2023, 11:27 PM)
So your alarm system can be armed by that 12V relay? Neat... mine need to type in keypad number before it arm or disarm... I can't use this concept I guess?
epicure
post Apr 27 2023, 07:48 AM

229 posts

If you use homekit, you can integrate your tuya zigbee devices into homekit using the zemismart homekit zigbee hub

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Apr 19 2023, 08:10 AM)
I use both aqara and tuya, aqara is good quality but problem is it can't integrate with tuya and others unless you use IFTTT or some third party service and ifttt needs to pay once exceed 2 automations

Also zigbee is nice, my unifi router once connect to more than 7 tuya wifi devices, it starts to go crazy and disconnects some, need to buy new router that can handle so many devices.

Also aqara automations run offline locally, meaning if internet down disconnected, the automations will still run and because it is run locally the response time is blazing fast, soemtimes I even thought I forgot off the lights when I enter my bedroom
epicure
post Apr 27 2023, 07:49 AM

229 posts

Aqara zigbee devices are local when they are controlled using homekit. but when used in Aqara/Mi Home app, they run on the cloud

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 20 2023, 11:49 AM)
Wait... Aqara is running local?

I have both the Aqara app and HomeKit... I usually control via HomeKit, but when I control via Aqara app... it lags (seems like via cloud).
epicure
post May 9 2023, 08:58 AM

229 posts

PSA

Recently bought some Sonoff (Itead) zigbee plugs, to expand my zigbee mesh.. hit and miss.

The round ones, that look like the typical wifi smart plugs sold by Itead under the brand Woolley work with the Tuya hub, but 2 switches appear. However, they do route the zigbee mesh.

Unfortunately, the Sonoff S26 (the larger type with a chin) do not work with Tuya Hubs, Both my Neo and Zemismart would not pick it up. So, had to buy a Snoff Zigbee Bridge to use them.

epicure
post May 9 2023, 09:06 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ May 1 2023, 03:02 PM)
I using D1 switches no neutral

Ur right the range is the shittest of all. I have to shift my hub to middle of house to make sure all working. Based on aqara app, I have a door sensor and motion sensor right beside the D1 switch and both are showing acceptable zigbee signal, but the switch is showing 100% poor zigbee signal but I have a aqara cube 2 meter even further away from the switch and it have better signal 75% poor signal.

So meaning the aqara d1 switch is bad signal maybe because is no neutral so it must connect directly to the hub
Funnily, i have alot of D1 switches (no neutral) and they never dropped off the zigbee mesh network. They are spaced out pretty far from the Hub, but my hub is att the center of the house. So i guess its pretty even coverage.

The funniest thing is, i also have a D1 Neutral, paired to another aqara hub ( and the aqara app). And even though it is pretty near to the hub, it would drop out and show offline now and then.

Its pretty weird how aqara’s zigbee mesh works. Tuya ones are pretty solid so far, no dropouts if ever.

epicure
post May 10 2023, 10:05 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ May 9 2023, 06:01 PM)
China D1 or global D1? Mine all China ones behind the switch is all Chinese wordings, if global one behind is English wording but more expensive. Got YouTube review people say global one better won't simply DC
Mine are all Chinese, both neutral and non neutrals

epicure
post May 15 2023, 01:16 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(Iptvfan @ May 15 2023, 01:12 PM)
Hi need advice

The aqara se1 panel need neutral wire but my switch box dont have. But it is next to my aircond switch (rocker with red light those). The aircond switch got neutral wire? If got can i borrow it for the se1? Thank u sifus.
Can, tap to incoming side, not outgoing of aircond double pole.
epicure
post May 23 2023, 08:48 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 22 2023, 10:01 AM)
Updated my Apple Home to "new architecture" and ended up all my automation stopped  sweat.gif .

Rebooted everything and it worked fine... btw now that I'm curious... if I want a more advance automation... I can do HA, but still use HomeKit for interface when want to turn on manually?

My set-up now is...

Aqara, LifeSmart --> HomeKit
Kasa, Panasonic, Mi Home --> HomeBridge --> HomeKit

So if I were to do the HA..

Aqara, LifeSmart, Kasa, Panasonic, Mi Home --> HA --> HomeBridge --> HomeKit?
With HomeAssistant, u no longer need Homebridge. You can control everything from HA. I installed it before, but was too over my head for the tweaking of each setting. I think im getting old, so homebridge to just route the items into Homekit is easier for me. Besides, home minister will prefer homekit, and not HA.

But if you do have the time, HA opens up a whole world of monitoring, automation and etc. Not to mention things like NodeRed.

epicure
post Jun 17 2023, 11:22 AM

229 posts

Hi All,

I have 2 Tuya Homekit Hubs, the Neo and Zemismart. Both can add Tuya zigbee products into Homekit. However, i noticed that my latest tuya zigbee device can be added into the Neo Hub, but does not appear in Homekit.

Its the Neo Zigbee Siren, photo below. Is there like a requirement from Homekit that does not permit certain devices?

epicure
post Jun 17 2023, 01:54 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jun 17 2023, 12:22 PM)
Can still  pair with zemismart hub?
I’ll give that a try tonight, see if it pops up in homekit if once paired with the zemismart. But funny thing is, the siren is by NEo, and the hub that its connected to now is also neo, so compatibility should be even better since its the same manufacturer. But ill give it a go anyways, will report back

epicure
post Jun 17 2023, 02:01 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(SIEWBAO @ Jun 13 2023, 05:40 PM)
Is there any budget smart switch for Tuya recommend? So far i searched a few around Rm50+ for 1 and 2 Gang switch.
I’d go with zigbee, due to it being local, and not dependant on your wifi network. Furthermore, the wifi switches mostly require you to connect a capacitor if you dont use a neutral cable.

Zigbee switches ranges

Pricier (RM110-Rm140) - Aqara, but pretty good quality. Their cheaper switches are the E1’s, but limited to 2 gang. Unless you go for the 3 gang which needs a neutral cable. Apple Homekit compatible.

Mid Range (RM60-RM110) - MOES, Zemismart - Zemismart is better quality, MOES is hit and miss. Functions well, gets your devices into Homekit (if you use apple home and a homekit zigbee hub) and google/alexa etc.

Lower end (RM40-RM60) - the generic switches that could come under brands like ROVF, AUBESS etc. Not really sure on the brands. But some may not offer google home connectivity, but most of them have alexa. These switches may lack some functions like power outage memory, multi control association and etc.

Once matter is really prevalent, i would assume these switches may come down in price, due to widespread availability.
epicure
post Jun 20 2023, 08:30 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jun 17 2023, 12:22 PM)
Can still  pair with zemismart hub?
Tried it last night, no dice. I think Homekit doesnt allow certain categories of devices. Oh well, cant utilize it directly in Homekit, will have to use it via the Tuya App or via dummy switch automations.

epicure
post Jun 20 2023, 01:35 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jun 20 2023, 10:22 AM)
Interesting, I assumed any paired zigbee device would show up.
Probably can use zigbee2mqtt addon with homebridge
Hmm… i would if i do have the time.. but i would need to buy a zigbee coordinator (conbee/sonoff)… and need to use docker on the raspberry.. and install zigbee2mqtt..

Thinking about it makes me tired. Haha. Ill just live without this siren being in homekit for now. But same as you, i thought anything paired with the zemismart/neo would turn up in Homekit. You learn somethign new every day
epicure
post Jun 20 2023, 02:31 PM

229 posts

Anyone feels like they’ve done all that they can with their smart home system? I kinda feel that way for now. Nothing much i want to add already. Covered most bases
Lighting, fans, vacuum, Tv, aircon, sockets, door locks, gate, cctv cameras, alarm, sensors (motion/contact/temperature/leak)..

Waiting for something new (besides upgrading to matter) to add on to my house.

Any recommendations?
epicure
post Jun 20 2023, 04:13 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jun 20 2023, 02:35 PM)
Yeah, you'd expect as long it's zigbee they can be added
There's even a zemismart siren listed that's supposed to work with the hub

https://www.zemismart.com/collections/devic...-zmhk-01?page=2
I think the one on the zemismart “works with homekit’ page is a smoke detector.. their zigbee siren doesnt seem to be listed in the works with homekit page

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.4918sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:33 PM